Saturday, September 25, 2010

John Steinbeck - Of Mice And Men

 Title:
Of Mice And Men

Author:
John Steinbeck

Page Length:
107 pages

Publication Date:
1937, 1938, 1965, 1978, 1993 (This edition published in 1993)

Recommended For:
High School and up, even though it is only 107 pages

Summary: (from the back of the book)
They are an unlikely pair: George is "small and quick and dark of face"; Lennie, a man of tremendous size, has the mind of a young child. Yet they have firned a "family", clinging together in the face of loneliness and alienation.
Laborers in California's dusty vegetable fields, they hustle work when they can, living a hand-to-mouth existence. For George and Lennie have a plan: to own an acre of land and a shack they can call their own. When they land jobs on a ranch in the Salinas Valley, the fulfillment of their dream seems to be within their grasp. But even George cannot guard Lennie from the provcations of a flirtatious woman, nor predict the consequences of Lennie's unswerving obedience to the things George taught him.

My Thoughts:
I found the book to be quite boring and if I had not had to read it for Honors English, I probably would not have. However, it is a book about the hard times back in the early 1930s and is about acheiving the American Dream. It is a good classic that teaches history, and for that I would recomend it.

We had to keep a journal of each chapter, which I will now paste below:
Chapter 1:

At the beginning of Chapter 1, I noticed they did a part just for the setting before starting the story. I also noticed how it was very descriptive, and how George and Lennie's characters are the opposite of what I would expect. I would think George be the big one, Lennie the small one. I noticed Lennie's issue and that he acts very young and doesn't quite know what he is doing and tends to get into trouble because of it.
Chapter 2:
Chapter 2 was very boring and not a lot took place that I thought was important, besides meeting most of the characters. I felt bad for Candy because he does not have a hand. Curley I do not care for, for he is rude for no reason. I love the old dog, because it is a dog, and I didn't really notice anything I thought to be important for the rest of them.
Chapter 3:
I almost cried during Chapter 3 when they had to kill the old dog! If I was Candy, I would've taken the gun and shot Carlson for wanting to kill my dog! Lennie spent lots of time with the puppies that night, as would I, except I would've known not to take it away from the mommy being only a day old. Compared to their life now, I would be just as hopeful about their future life as Lennie, George, and Candy are, and I would have pitched in as well. When Curley came in to the room, I knew there would be trouble. I feel bad for Lennie because he was getting beat up pretty bad and he didn't know to fight back.
Chapter 4:
Crooks is lucky to have so many more personal items than the other men, but he has to sleep on straw in a barn, which is definitely not lucky. Having so many books tells me that Crook can read and is a smart man, especially for being African American because back then they weren't very smart at all. Lennie will probably get in trouble for telling Crook about the rabbits and such. Crook is one mean, mean man! He knows Lennie is like messed up and he's tormenting him. How rude! I agree with Crooks; he is sick! Candy is smart and Curley's wife is a weird, sick person. I don't like his wife.
Chapter 5:
Poor Lennie doesn't know his own strength and kills everything he touches. I feel sad that the puppy died, but Curley's wife had it coming. She told him to feel her head, and she saw what happened when he did it to the puppy. Curley is a strange, angry little man. I agree with George that they should just lock him up and not kill him, but I also agree that Curley would never let that happen and would want him dead.
Chapter 6:
Lennie's mind is odd because he sees the rabbits and his dead Aunt Clara talking to him. George is very sad and upset, but Lennie doesn't know. George is dutifully trying to kill Lennie, and Lennie is letting him because he's looking for rabbits. He is very nervous and can't do it, but when the people get super close, he has to and so he shots Lennie in the back of the head, having Lennie fall to the ground. Carlson and Curley are much like each other - they don't care about anyone but themselves. When George and Slim are upset that George had to kill Lennie, they wonder why they aren't excited and happy.

New Review Format!!!

I loved how April reviewed her book, and I have seen pretty much all other review blogs review their books in the same way. I wanted to review mine like that too, a while ago, but thought that since I didn't start like that, it'd be weird to review like that from now on. But oh well! 'Cause now, that is our review format!

Title:
Author:
Page Length:
Published Date:
Recommended for:
Summary:
What The Reviewer Thinks:
Anything else:

* to all reviewers at PrincessReviews - it doesn't have to be written exactly in that format, but close.

Review: (ARC) Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick

Eeek sorry this is late :( But it is here!

Title: Crescendo

Author: Becca Fitzpatrick

Publication Date: October 19, 2010 by Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing

Pages: 432

Recommended for ages 13/14 and up

Genre: Paranormal YA
*For more info on book 1 (Hush, Hush), click here

Summary (from goodreads):
The sequel to the New York Times Best selling phenomenon, Hush, Hush!

Nora should have know her life was far from perfect. Despite starting a relationship with her guardian angel, Patch (who, title aside, can be described anything but angelic), and surviving an attempt on her life, things are not looking up. Patch is starting to pull away and Nora can't figure out if it's for her best interest or if his interest has shifted to her arch-enemy Marcie Millar. Not to mention that Nora is haunted by images of her father and she becomes obsessed with finding out what really happened to him that night he left for Portland and never came home.

The farther Nora delves into the mystery of her father's death, the more she comes to question if her Nephilim blood line has something to do with it as well as why she seems to be in danger more than the average girl. Since Patch isn't answering her questions and seems to be standing in her way, she has to start finding the answers on her own. Relying too heavily on the fact that she has a guardian angel puts Nora at risk again and again. But can she really count on Patch or is he hiding secrets darker than she can even imagine?

For those who have eagerly awaited Crescendo since last year, I will tell you now, it is worth the wait! I'll admit that the first half of the book was a little hard to get through, because every 5 pages I would scream, "WHY ARE YOU SO STUPID NORA!?!" Sigh. Nora's annoyingness was a problem I had with the last book too, but here she is a little more reckless and... well petty IMO. But Patch is still Patch. I have much love for Patch. I commend him for his ability to put up with Nora. And his hotness. 'Nuff said. For the other characters, Vee gets more hilarious, Marcie... is Marcie, and Rixon... well you'll learn more about Rixon. Crescendo was tons better than Hush, Hush IMO and I think that those who weren't fans of Hush, Hush, should give Crescendo a try!

Overall: I'm one of those strange individuals who doesn't always love good books. So I have two ratings. For how much I loved it- 4.5/5. For quality of (plot, characters, writing, etc.)- 4/5.

*For those who have no idea what this book is: Do you like hot, sexy, witty bad boys? Pick up Hush, Hush. Now. Like right now. This is the end of my review so you might as well just jump out the door and run to the nearest book store. Feel fortunate you will only have to wait 1 month till Crescendo!

After writing this post, I've realized I lack the ability to spell Crescendo correctly 50% of the time.

I don't know all the etiquette for ARCs. I was gonna post my fave quote, but realized that could be a bad idea. So here's a quote from Hush, Hush.

"You smell good, too,” said Patch

It’s called a shower.” I was staring straight ahead. When he didn’t answer, I turned sideways. “Soap. Shampoo. Hot water.”

Naked. I know the drill."




Monday, September 20, 2010

New Poster!

I would just like to welcome April to our PrincessReviews team! She is now an author and can post to the site. She has already done one post, with a terriffic job!
If you would like to be interviewed by April or have her review something for you, email her at PrincessReviewsA@aol.com (and as always, mine is PrincessReviews@aol.com and Amber's is AmberReviewsP@aol.com )
Thanks and welcome aboard!

PS. If you want to find out how you can post for PrincessReviews, email me at PrincessReviews@aol.com

Sunday, September 19, 2010

Speak Loudly for Speak

Hi, I'm April. This is my first blog post, and its actually not a review... So hopefully I don't get fired. *puppy dog eyes*

What I wanted to blog about today was this lovely little article traveling around the twitter-sphere called "Filthy books demeaning to Republic education."

The article by a fellow Missourian* named Wesley Scroggins has managed to anger authors and book lovers alike. In his article, Scroggins discusses the need to ban books for being sexually explicit, profane, and immoral. "In high school English classes, children are required to read and view material that should be classified as soft pornography." He then targets the book Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson, who in my opinion is a BRILLIANT writer of a BRILLIANT book. He also mentions the necessity to ban "Slaughterhouse Five" by Kurt Vonnegut and a book called "Twenty Boy Summer" by Sarah Ockler.

Of course, book fans are usually irritated when people want to prohibit others from reading a book. What would give you the right to restrict peoples' libraries? However Scroggins' main mistake was to classify Speak as "soft pornography". For those unaware, Speak is about a girl who is traumatized after she is raped and she eventually learns to overcome her fear and struggles. I don't know about you, but I really don't classify rape as "soft pornography". I hate to break it to you Scroggins, but rape happens. It really doesn't matter how much you try to cover it up and keep teenagers ignorant, it's really not gonna do much. Teenagers today probably know friends who have had sex, have sex themselves, or plan to have sex very soon in the future. It's really not going to corrupt their "innocent" minds when they read Speak. Today I have read blog posts where rape survivors were actually benefited from reading this book. Speak has won numerous awards and is wonderfully written. I really don't see the benefits of banning this book.

I personally don't think that anyone really has the right to tell others what they can't read. So on September 25 I am participating in Banned Books Week. You can find more info here.

If I am not fired by the end of this week, I WILL post a review of something. Promise.

*Yeah, I'm from Missouri. No, we are not all hypocritical red necks. Thanks for shaming our state and confirming stereotypes Scroggins.


Saturday, September 18, 2010

Sites

Since I did not participate as much in BlogFest this year as I said I would, as promised, we are having our own. Here are the lists of sites that was on BlogFest that you can check out if you want to, even though the one I was supposed to put up I did have up.


1 Karissa's Reading Review


2 Kritters Ramblings

3 From the Shadows

4 At Home With Books

5 icefairy's Treasure Chest

6 Enna Isilee

7 I'd So Rather Be Reading

8 The Unread Reader

9 Tynga's Reviews

10 Manga Maniac Cafe

11 Insane Hussein

12 Broken Teepee

13 Alisha's World

14 JoJos Book Corner

15 Good Choice Reading

16 CMash Loves To Read

17 The O.W.L.

18 Leksi Designs

19 Blog de Suck

20 Every Last Page

21 Paperback Dolls

22 Creatively Green

23 Helen Smith

24 Smash Attack Reads

25 Mundie Moms

26 My Reading Room

27 Little Yayas

28 The Hiding Spot

29 Late Bloomer Online

30 From the TBR Pile

31 You Have How Many Kids??

32 Geeky Bloggers Book Blog

33 Confessions of a California Cheer Mom

34 Diabetic Snacker

35 Natural Diet Solutions, Healthy Recipes

36 Diva's Bookcase

37 Reading Angel

38 Jodibee Designs

39 Book of Secrets

40 denise weber

41 A Little Hope...Amidst the Chaos

42 Dream For Your Life

43 To Read or Not To Read

44 Page Turners

45 DebsHere

46 Niki's Book Reviews

47 KMN Books

48 Rae Summers

49 Play Smart Blog

50 Simply Ali

51 Books, According to Nicole

52 Wicked Readings by Tawania

53 Blkosiner's Book Blog

54 Booksnob

55 Michelle and Leslie's Book Picks

56 Among The Muses

57 Love To Read For Fun

58 Musings of an All Purpose Monkey

59 Arena Blake

60 Say it Rah-shay

61 Young Adult Books Reviewed

62 Chronic Bookaholic-Strictly Happy Endings!

63 Once Upon a Twilight

64 The Hidden Haven

65 Baba's Farm Life

66 Let's Just Give It Away

67 Boo's and rawr's

68 Elephants On Trapezes

69 A and C Book Junkies

70 Oh My Books!

71 Cate Masters

72 Seductive Musings

73 true media solutions

76 Dream Books LLC

77 Crochetize world

78 Leontine's Book Realm: A Naughty Romance Reader At Play

79 Candace's Book Blog

80 Fang-tastic Books

81 Roxanne's Realm

82 Si, se puede

83 Confessions of a Bookaholic

84 Tiffany's Bookshelf

85 The Book Worm's Library

86 vvb32 reads

87 Lovin' & Livin' Life Reviews

88 World According to Books

89 Chubby Cheeks Thinks

90 Survey Junkie

91 Surviving Motherhood

92 One Big Adventure

93 I Heart Monster

94 Review Retreat

95 Edgy Inspirational Romance

96 Lale on Lit

97 My Place by the Sea

98 Bitten by Books

99 Family Volley

100 Books with a Cup of Coffee

101 bitten by paranormal romance

102 Chrissy's World Of Books

103 Farmgirl Writes

104 Being Tazim

105 Ex Libris

106 Ex Libris

107 Earl's Daughter

108 The Many Thoughts of A Reader

109 Reading At The Beach

110 Gelati's Scoop

111 Gelati's Scoop

112 Country Bookshelf

113 Vampire Book Club

114 Supernatural Snark

115 Genre Reviews

116 Saving Obsession

117 Leeswammes' Blog

118 The Bookkeeper

119 Tethered Mommy

120 Mom vs. the Boys

121 today & everyday

122 Writing is a Blessing

123 Dr. Bill's Book Bazaar

124 Reader Girls

125 Still Blonde after all these YEARS!

126 I Just Wanna Sit Here and Read!

127 A Moment With Mystee

128 noodleBubble niceBlog

129 Dark Faerie Tales

130 a book adventure

131 Ten Cent Notes

132 Patiently Waiting Books

133 Happy Birthday Author

134 The Smiling Pains of Novelist Destiny Booze

135 Fangs, Wands, & Fairy Dust

136 Life With 4 Boys

137 In the Hammock Blog

138 Crazy Cat Lady's Library

139 Stiletto Storytime

140 margaret West Paranormal Romance Author

141 Rayment's Readings Rants and Ramblings

142 Pure Imagination

143 A Mommy In Mayhem

144 Reading Through Life

145 Mom to Bed by 8

146 Lisa (A Life Bound By Books)

147 Dollycas's Thoughts

148 Minding Spot

149 Cherry Mischievous

150 Books and Things

151 Bluerose's Heart

152 about happy books

153 Mommy's Minute

154 Two Little Cavaliers

155 The Bibliophilic Book Blog

156 Malevolent Dead

157 Budget Savvy Diva

158 Brain Foggles

159 Amusing Reviews

160 starmetal oak book blog

161 Happy Mom Of 5

162 What Book is That?

163 A Blog about Nothing

164 Colloquium

165 Ashley's Bookshelf

166 Book Dads

167 TheCouponQueenBee

168 girlsinthestacks.com

169 Authors By Authors

170 BookHounds

171 Marilyn's Romance Reviews

172 Romance Author Buzz

173 The punching bag fights back

174 Girls Just Reading

175 Bookish Delights

176 Books from Bleh to Basically Amazing

177 Wendi Zwaduk: Romance To Make Your Heart Race

178 Eating YA Books

179 Reading, Reading & Life

180 Simply Stacie

181 Just Another New Blog

182 Book Obsessed

183 Books and Needlepoint

184 Brizmus Blogs Books

185 IB Book Blogging

186 Simplify with Sybil

187 PrincessReviews

188 Bookvisions

189 Graced With Books

190 Notorious Spinks Talks

191 bookmarked

192 Roof Beam Reader

193 Curling Up By The Fire

194 The Romance Reviews

196 Reflections with Coffee

197 Odyssey Books

198 A Reader's Adventure

199 Reading Without Restraint

200 One Book Shy of a Full Shelf

201 MoonCat Farms Meanderings

202 Girls After Dark

203 JaMonkey

204 She Reads

205 Fiction Flurry

206 Inspiring Sisters

207 Travel The Ages

208 Lille Punkin' Reviews

209 Novels On The Run

210 Alice Audrey

211 Cuzinlogic

212 Cleverly Inked

213 Not So Ordinary Girls

214 The Bibliophilic Book Blog

215 My Disorganized Ramblings

216 Darkly Reading

217 Peaceful Reader

218 Inspired by Fiction

219 Coffeelicious Bookaholic

220 BK Walker Books Etc

221 Walker's Muse

222 Immortality and Beyond

223 An Avid Reader's Musings

224 Rants n' Rascals

225 {...is a book whore}

226 The Home of the Seven Tails

227 Mia Ma Miah's Diaries

228 Crazy-for-Books

229 Book-lover Carol's Reviews

230 A Bibliophile's Paradise

231 Desperado Penguin

232 Sapphire Romance Realm

233 The Neverending Shelf

234 Chew & Digest Books

235 That's Swell!

236 Madame Perry's Salon

237 Allison's Attic of Books

238 Biz Mommy

239 Once Upon A Chapter

240 Reading, Writing and Waiting

241 Talking with Tundra

242 Talking with Tundra

243 Harris Channing, Author of Erotic Fiction

244 Book Bookie

245 Review Blog 101

246 Read All Over Reviews

248 Krista D Ball's Blog (Zombie-Free)

249 DK's Everything Romance Books

250 a thousand Books with Quotes

251 Cherry Mischievous

252 Roof Beam Reader

253 Stephanie Barko, Literary Publicist

254 Dollycas's Thoughts

255 A Little Bookish

256 Jordan Deen

257 Narratively Speaking

258 Sharon's Garden of Book Reviews

Thursday, September 16, 2010

Daughters of the Sea : Hannah

It is 1899, the last year of the 19th centry. Hannah Albury is a 15-year old orphan, who, since reaching proper age, is no longer allowed to stay at the Home for Little Wanderers, the orphanage she attends. When she is claimed "unsuitable" for any type of job in Boston, where she lives, she is sent on an orphan train out to Kansas, where there will be an auction for her. An older couple, a Reverend and his wife, feeling sorry for the girl, decide to take her in as thier own. However, Hannah is terribly sick. She has redness all over her, and whereever she goes, she leaves a salt-crystal-like trial. The doctors do not know what it is or what is causing it. But Hannah does. She knows it is that she is too far away from the sea and the ocean. She must get back. Upon telling her new owners this, they agree, but are a bit disappointed. So she catches the next train and heads back to the orphanige in Boston, where a new person has taken over. She is much nicer than the older woman. Mrs. Larkin, the new orphanige person, gives Hannah a book about being in the maid business and sends her off to an interview to work for the Hawleys. She gets the job. Lila and her cat, Jade, hate Hannah for many reasons. While they are on their trip to Maine, they try to hurt Hannah, so she swims into the sea to escape. Many strange things have been happening to Hannah. The salt and redness have gone, but she cries the crystals, and leaves the bath tub itchy, along with having scale-ish patterns on her legs. When she goes into the water, she descovers she is a mermaid.
Kathryn Laskey is a terrific author and I cannot wait to read more of her books, espiecially in the Daughters of the Sea series.
She is also a very descriptive writer, like on page 199, the paragraph:
"As they sailed by, Hannah caught a glimpse of a girl standing at the edge of one rock looking longingly at the horizon. Hannah inhaled sharply. It was almost as if she were seeing a mirror image of herself. The girl was the same height and had a willowy build that seemed to bend into the breeze. But mostly it was the way the sunlight caught the girl's hair. It was just after dawn and the reddish tones of her hair sparkled and seemed touched by a delicate greenish cast. In another few minutes the sun would be higher and Hannah knew that the girl's long, blowing curls would reupt in a dazzling conflagration of red flames. She felt something quicken instide her."
My favorite part of the book however, is probably page 217, when Ettie, the youngest of the Hawleys (only 9 years old), says ""She's so stupid."". Why is this my favorite part? Well because it proves that even back in 1899, kids will be kids and say mean and rather harsh and cruel things. It is proving that no time was a time when things were perfect and no one faught or called each other names.

So, would I recommend this book? Claro que si! Of course! Check out this book yourself, and you'll recomend it too!

Recommended for people 10 and up.

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

The Liar's Lullaby by Meg Gardiner

Meg Gardiner does it again, in this novel involving forensic psychiatrist Jo Beckett! Her character Jo is asked to help solve whether a famous Rock Star committed suicide or if she was murdered. This novel is filled with lots of what-ifs only to keep you guessing right up til the final page. This novel is for you if you enjoy reading Patricia Cornwell, or any other forensic writter. I can't wait to see what adventure Jo Beckett will be entangled with in Meg Gardiner's next novel!

Shop Til You Rock Summer Tour

This past summer, Shop Til You Rock had a country-wide tour across the US where you could listen to a free concert preformed by a famous band, play the new Just Dance game for free, get your hair colored and pose in front of the screen, spin a prize wheel, and enter to meet Demi Lovato. It sounds like great fun, and it is, if people know things. It was very unorganized, the preformers preformed an hour earlier then all the signes, people, and onlines said, and no one even knew where the event was to be held! It was truly a disappointment.
Though some seems like it was tons of fun, just not the one I went to. I plan on going next year, and you should too. Then we can see if it's really worth all the fuss.

For more info, check out http://www.shoptilyourock.com/

FreeKibble and FreeKibbleKat Interview with Founder Mimi

I know we've been telling you to go to FreeKibble without much of what it is, so here is an interview I had the pleasure of having with Mimi, the founder and owner.


1. When did you start FreeKibble? We started freekibble.com on April 1st, 2008.


2. Did you start FreeKibbleKat at the same time? If not, when did you start that? We started freekibblekat.com on June 1st, 2008.

3. How did you decide you wanted to start it? I really wanted to help out my local animal shelter, the Humane Society of Central Oregon, in a bigger way than just volunteering. (Which I still love to do)! I then came across the site freerice.com, which is a website that donates rice to homeless people. I thought that it would be great if we could do something like that but for animals.

4. How many pieces of kibble are donated per day about? Per year? Close to 1 million pieces on the weekdays and 750.00 on weekends for dog and cat combined - about 6.5 million per week!

5. In total, how much kibble have you collected? Over 3,866,322 meals as of right now, and over 275 tons of dog and cat kibble. We've donated food to over 100 shelters, rescues and food banks across the country.

6. How does it work? Do you pay with your money for the kibble earned through answering questions, or do shelters provided the kibble? We're very happy to say that we have an exclusive kibble sponsor - Halo, Purely for Pets, that donates all the kibble generated. The food is delivered directly to the shelters. And, it's a very high quality, all natural food which makes a big difference to the pets waiting to find homes!

7. Do you have any pets? What kinds? I have a Golden Retriever dog named Aspen and a Maine Coon cat named Dot. (Or Dorthy, from the Wizard of Oz!)

8. How can we try to get our local shelter added to the list of shelters already provided for? People will e-mail us asking if their local shelter can become a part of freekibble and we e-mail them back asking for some more information... How much kibble the shelter would need monthly, the shelters contact information and how the shelter would benefit from receiving the kibble, etc. We can not add all the shelters that request food but we do try to feed as many as possible based on what shelters need it the most.

9. Can you tell us a little bit more about yourself and what you do at freekibble? I am 14 years old and love going to events with my local shelter and raising awarrness. I also love horseback riding, hanging out with friends, playing soccer, playing with my dog, and swimming in the pool, river, or lake. As for what I do with freekibble... I answer the e-mails that are sent to us, spread the word, think of questions, volunteer at my local shelter with the dogs and cats and some other things.

10. Is it just you, the shelters, the question-answerers and the pets, or do others work with you at FreeKibble? Besides the people you just mentioned, my mom and dad are a HUGE help and do this full time. I could not do it without them! Also, the people that work for Halo, really help us out. Without them we would not be able to keep the sites going and feeding more animals.

11. Thank you so much! Is there anything else you would like to say or have me post on my blog? You are very welcome! One last thing I would like to add - To everyone that doesn't think they can make a difference, you can! Just do what you love doing in a way that helps the community, animals, the environment or whatever else it might be. Anything and everything helps!


Don't forget to go to FreeKibble and FreeKibbleKat EVERY DAY to help donate food to those who need it!

You can go to the sites by clicking the banners below! Thanks for all your help!





FreeKibble.com

               




FreeKibbleKat.com

     

Monday, September 13, 2010

Blogfest

So sorry everyone! I have been super busy with school, and I swear, back in July when I signed up for blogfest, it was happeneing in October!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks for all who stayed though and continue to/ now follow me. I promise we will have our own blogfest sometime soon.

Sorry!!! And thank you!


PS. No one enter any contests or giveaways. :( So no one won. :(

Sunday, September 12, 2010

Blogfest 2010!

Blogfest is soon! Who's super ready and excited?!?!?! I know I am!

We're going to have giveaways and much, much more! be sure to check it out!

Bookvisions

Monday, September 6, 2010

Life Above All at the Toronto Film Festival!!!

  Life Above All is the movie version of Allan Stratton's Chanda's Secrets. It will be playing at the Toronto International Film Festival for anyone who would like to see it. Anyone wanting to see it can get times, theatres and full description at the following link: http://tiff.net/filmsandschedules/tiff/2010/lifeaboveall



The trailer can be seen at his website: http://www.allanstratton.com/
 
 
Thank you and spread the word!

Wednesday, September 1, 2010

Dark Peril is in Stores NOW!


As of yesterday, Dark Peril by Christine Feehan is in stores!
 
Read Chapter 1 here!

 


CHRISTINE FEEHAN'S OFFICIAL HOME PAGE http://www.christinefeehan.com/ 
Christine Feehan Productions

P.O. Box 181
Mendocino CA 95460
United States




View the full email I recieved parts of this in here.

Charles Benoit Interview


1. Do you like pie?

Naturally. I don't trust people who don't like pie. No, wait, that means more for me--so everybody should stop eating pie.



2. What strategies do you use to overcome writer's block?
I have a conversation (out loud, using different voices) with one of the characters in the book, just chatting about stuff, trying to keep the imaginary voice in character. I especially like asking what they think of the book so far and what they think of the way I've written them as a character. Crazy, perhaps (my wife and neighbors would tell you it is most definitely crazy) but after ten minutes or so I have a much better idea what needs to happen next.



3. How old were you when you had your first book published? What book was it?
I was a wee lad of 46. Relative Danger came out in 2004 and was the darling of fans and critics alike.



4. Before you sit down to write, is there something you always do beforehand?
I usually play my tenor sax for about an hour. I've only been playing for 8 years or so and I'd have a hard time making a middle school band, but it's fun. I also like to listen to the song that I've picked as the theme song for the book I'm working on. For You it was Flagpole Sitta' by Harvey Danger, for the new one I'm working on it's Into Action by Skye Sweetnam, although I like the original version by Tim Armstrong a bit better.



5. How long does it take to write a book?
On average, a full year. And that's writing for 2 hours, every day.



6. What genre do you like to write most?
Genre's a sticky term because it sets peoples' expectations in directions I might not want them to go - let's just say I like to write books about people in strange situation who are in way over their head with no idea how to get out.



7. What other authors are some of your favorite?
Donald Westlake (who also writes under the name Richard Stark), P.G. Wodehouse, Megan Abbott, Roald Dahl, Larry McMurtry, Jason Starr to name a very few.



8. Do you listen to music to help you concentrate?
Only before I write. When I'm writing I have to have it quiet.



9. About how many emails do you get daily?
20+, but most are from folks in Nigeria or Liberia, asking me to help them transfer $1,000,000 from banks in their countries to my account.



10.Is there anything else you'd like to say?
I want to know what led you to invest your time and money on creating and maintaining a book review site. And do you ever get any mean emails from authors who were upset about how you reviewed their books?

Search Amazon.com for Charles Benoit