Sunday, October 31, 2010

Fall Contest

Fall Contest!
It's fall! Time for a contest!

PRIZES:
1st place: 1st place ribbon
2nd place: 2nd place badge
3rd place: 3rd place certificate
Rules:
You must be 13 or older to enter
Open to USA residents only

How To Enter:
Create a fall outfit for your favorite character from a book. It can be hand-drawn, computerized, or real clothes put together.
Send to princessreviews@aol.com
You can create as many as you want, each outfit is a new entry. Send each outfit in a new email or it will only count as 1 entry.
Starts:
TODAY!

Ends:
November 26th at midnight EST.
Winner will be anounced the 27th and emailed later that day. They will have 24 hours to reply or a new winner will be chosen.

How Winner Will Be Chosen:
Winner will be based on the ablitly to create an outfit that has to do with fall in some way based on a character from a book.

Why I Love PrincessReviews Giveaway!

Why I Love PrincessReviews
GIVEAWAY!!!

YAY! Everyone, let's celebrate! PrincessReviews has recieved over 50 fans! In celebration, we are hosting a giveaway!

PRIZES:
1st place: Necklace
2nd place: SillyBandz
3rd place: signed picture of the creator of PrincessReviews

Rules:
You must be 13 or older to enter
Open to USA residents only

How To Enter:
Just fill out this form!
 

Starts:
TODAY!

Ends:
November 26th or until at least 10 people enter. Whichever is longer.

How Winner Will Be Chosen:
Random.org will be used to pick a winner. Winner will be contacted that day and will have 24 hours to reply or a new winner will be chosen.

Good Luck!
For another giveaway with no real reason, let's get 100 followers! That giveaway will be even bigger and better! So go tell your friends!

Blog Awards!

Hello!
I would like to create blog awards to give to some very awesome blogs! Each week I would put up a poll for a certain category blog, and you guys would vote on the one you think is best for that category, then I'd email it it's award!
So, what I need all of you to do, is nominate some blogs and blog categories below! Just leave a comment!
Thanks!

Saturday, October 30, 2010

Enter to win an ARC of MATCHED!

Hello :D  So I recently got an extra ARC of Matched and decided to use it for a giveaway :)  So all you have to do is enter through the form!  Comments are appreciated, but you can only enter through the form!  If you have any questions, leave a comment! (This is my first giveaway I've ever done.  I am probably forgetting something huge lol)  US only (sorry, I am poor)


And for the heck of it, I'm just going to throw in some mystery swag :)  


Edit:  I'm going to give my slightly worn away too if I get 50 entrants :)


Fill out THIS FORM to enter!
I will contact the winner via email on November 11th *am changing the date to the 15th 
and will announce it on the blog and on twitter @ramen_addict   


*Not an actual picture of the actual ARC.  But if you do win, you get the nicer of my two copies :) 


EDIT: tweeting should be +2 entries on the form, not +1.  For the people who have already entered, I gave you the correct number of entries.   Sorry about that!

Book Blogger Hop October 29-November 1, 2010

Book Blogger Hop

What is the Book Blogger Hop? (answer directly from Crazy-for-Books.com)
In the spirit of the Twitter Friday Follow, the Book Blogger Hop is a place just for book bloggers and readers to connect and share our love of the written word! This weekly BOOK PARTY is an awesome opportunity for book bloggers to connect with other book lovers, make new friends, support each other, and generally just share our love of books! It will also give blog readers a chance to find other book blogs to read!


The Hop lasts Friday-Monday every week, so if you don't have time to Hop today, come back later and join the fun! This is a weekly event! And stop back throughout the weekend to see all the new blogs that are added! We get over 200 links every week!!

This Week's Question: "What is the one bookish thing you would love to have, no matter the cost?"


My Answer: Pretty much like every other book lover, I would like my own personal library, larger than some people's houses. It would have floor-to-ceiling shelves filled with books on every wall, and more in the space in the room not on the walls. In the very center would be 2 regular computers and 1 laptop. The laptop would be to work on the blog, 1 computer to read online books, and the other computer just for fun. It would have the most comfertable leather chairs in the world around the library, with 2 tables in it, 1 for homework and such, the other for reading at a table. The table chairs and computer/laptop chairs would be wooden straightback chairs, and a couple foof chairs would also be spread about the room. The floor would be a dark wooden floor, the walls a dark mahogany or brown, and the ceiling mahogany or dark red.

The Blog I Checked Out From The List: #162. Oktopus Ink

Matched Giveaway!!!!!

We will be having a giveaway for an ARC copy of Matched soon! The book comes out November 30th, so check out the giveaway on the Contests and Giveaways soon!
The post sould be up between today and tomorrow!!

Friday, October 29, 2010

Gleek Out!



About The Show (by Fox):
GLEE follows a group of eager and ambitious students as they strive to outshine their singing competition while navigating the cruel halls of McKinley High. Although New Directions lost at Regionals, they now have their sights set on making it to Nationals and defeating their arch rivals, Vocal Adrenaline.

The glee club's fearless leader is Will Schuester , a talented young teacher with hip-hop skills and a heart gold. New Directions' aspiring stars include Rachel, a pitch-perfect singer with an unfaltering determination to be popular; Finn, the heartbreakingly cool quarterback who struggles with his personal life; Kurt, the baby-faced soprano with a fierce eye for fashion; Mercedes, a powerhouse vocalist whose diva attitude rivals the greats; Artie a physically disabled performer with killer vocals and a dream to dance; and Tina, a goth chick with a soft side. There's also arrogant and cocky crooner Puck; ice-cold queen-bee-turned-teen-mom Quinn; and the dynamic dimwitted cheerleading duo of Britanny and Santana. With his heart in the right place, Will is determined to help the kids take Nationals, but at every turn he must battle with his nemesis, Sue Sylvester, the conniving cheerleading coach; and his evil ex-wife, Terri. Mr. Schuester's only allies at McKinley are OCD-afflicted guidance counselor Emma Pillsbury and supportive parents like Kurt's dad, Burt Hummel.

My Reviews:
Its currently TV's hottest musical cast, covering multiple hit songs, owning them big time, showing charting power on the charts, and also bringing in GREAT ratings for a debut show. Being highly compared to High School Musical, this cast definitely stepped it up a notch with the whole musical thing. Great vocals by everyone, they sing, they act, they dance. WOW. It's an awesome show that covers REAL teenage issues in school and in life.

Brace Yourself For Season 2!

Catch Glee every Tuesday, 8pm on Fox.

Sunday, October 24, 2010

Mostly Ghostly: Who Let The Ghosts Out

 
Movie:
Mostly Ghostly: Who Let The Ghosts Out
Genre:
Family
Duration Time:
93 minutes

Actors:
Madison Pettis, Luke Benward, Sterling Beaumon, Brian Stephanek, Kim Rhodes, David DeLuise


Directed by:
Richard Correl
Producers:
Mostly Ghostly
Came Out:
September 30, 2008
Summary: (from IMDb)
Based on the successful book series by R.L. Stine, Max Doyle finds he has a few friends living in his house that only he can see.

My Thoughts:
Max wants to be a magician. For his school's Halloween Talent Show, he is doing a magic act. While preparing, he utters the words "From the light of Earth, the dark descends. Should they return that all depends". Hearing these words, Phears, while heading back to the tunnel in Max's basement, thinks that Max and his former enemies's children, Tara and Nicky, are working together to destroy him. Later that night, the now ghosts, Tara and Nicky head into Max's house thinking it is there own, not remembering how they died or anything after. Phears plans on letting out all the evil ghosts on Halloween. Nicky, Max, and Tara must work together until then to stop him, before it is too late.
Up until The Boy Who Cried Werewolf yesterday, this was my favorite Halloween movie starting when it came out, pushing The Little Vampire to 2nd. I would litterally go around the house singing the end song all October.
Everyone should go check it out.
My rating for this movie would be a 9.7/10, 5 stars, 2 thumbs up!

Hocus Pocus

  Movie:



Hocus Pocus
(also known as Abracadabra)
Genre:
Comedy, Fantasy, Family, Horror
Duration Time:
96 minutes
Actors:
Bette Midler, Sarah Jessica Parker, Kathy Najimy, Thora Birch, Omri Katz,

Directed by:
Kenny Ortega
Producers:
Walt Disney Pictures

Came Out:
July 16, 1993
Summary: (from IMDb)
In the year 1693, 3 sisters, Winifred, Mary and Sarah were executed for their unforgivable witchcraft. One fateful Halloween night, that unpleasant honor went to adorable little Emily Binx, sister of teenage Thackery, who immediately ran to his sibling's aid when he heard she'd been lured by Sarah Sanderson to the witches' home in the woods. This was not a well thought out plan though, and the cost was not only the life of his sister Emily, but his own humanity as well. Emily's lifeforce was drained from her body by the three Sanderson witches, and big brother Thackery Binx was transformed into an immortal black cat, cursed to live forever with the guilt of his failure to save his sister! Luckily for the rest of the children of Salem, the Sanderson sisters were captured that night and hung for their crimes, but not before their living book of spells revealed to them a curse to bring the three back from the dead on All Hallow's Eve when a virgin lights the black flame candle. 300 years later, teenager Max Dennison is a newcomer to Salem, struggling to adjust after growing up in a California lifestyle. It isn't going well for Max. Bullies are stealing his sneakers right off his feet, the girl of his dreams snubs him due to his lack of interest in Halloween, and his little sister, Dani, is ever the pest. Now, he must spend the evening escorting her door to door for trick or treating while their parents enjoy the town Halloween dance. Things are about to go from bad to worse for Max, however. Just when he believes things are looking up after he and Dani convince dream-girl Allison to take them to the old Sanderson house, Max's efforts to impress the girl lead him to light the black-flame candle himself, bringing Sarah, Mary, and Winifred Sanderson back from the dead! From there on out, it's a non-stop, fun-filled chase as the witches pursue the children, determined to make sassy-mouthed Dani the subject of their next youth spell, which must be performed before dawn or else the witches will be gone forever! With the immortal, talking black cat Binx guiding them along, Max, Dani, and Allison work together to outrun, outwit, and outlast the evil trio and their magical arsenal, with the fate of all the children of Salem hanging in the balance!
Written by Anthony Pereyra {hypersonic91@yahoo.com}


My Thoughts:
Hocus Pocus is the classic halloween movie. I enjoy watching this movie each year and you should too!
The Summary gave away most of it, so I'm just going to give you my ratings and leave you be so you can go off and watch it yourself!

My rating for this movie would be a 8.5/10, 4.5 stars, a thumb up!




The Boy Who Cried Werewolf


Movie:

The Boy Who Cried Werewolf
Genre:
Family, Horror

Duration Time:
on Nick it played from 8-10:50 with commercials. I could not find the actual duration time.
Actors:
Victoria Justice, Chase Ellison, Matt Winston, Brooke Shields, Brooke D'Orsay,
Directed by:
Eric Bross

Producers:
Nickelodeon

Came Out:
October 23, 2010

Summary: (from Nick.com)
Meet the Sands family -- David and his two children Hunter and Jordan (played by Victoria Justice!). After falling on hard economic times, the Sands find out their long lost relative, Dragomir Ducovic, has willed them his mansion in Wolfsberg, Romania! Naturally, they hop on a plane to check out their new home, Wolfsberg Manor, an ancient gothic castle lorded over by the mysterious Madame Varcolac (played by Brooke Shields). Now the Sands are living large! But nothing is ever as easy as it looks. Especially with a band of bloodsuckers on the loose! Before the Sands clan gets their hands on this mansion, they'll have to undergo some... transformations. Things will get... hairy? Put it this way: you're not gonna believe how crazy things get when a full moon rises in Romania! Are you brave enough to watch?!?


.

My Thoughts:
I loved this movie! I love werewolves, vampires, and all other supernautral creatures. This movie was excellent and I love it. My new celebrity crush is Chase Ellison. LOL.
But seriously, this is like a seriously awesome movie. I would recommend it to anyone and everyone. It makes me want to lower the ratings I gave The Little Vampire because this movie was so much better.
Victoria Justice did not disappoint in this thrilling movie. Her fans would definatley approve.
My rating for this movie would be a 5/5, 5 stars, 2 thumbs up!
*****

Saturday, October 16, 2010

Nightlight, A Parody


Click Here To Download The First Chapter

Title: Nightlight: A Parody
Author: The Harvard Lampoon
Published Date: November 3rd 2009 by Vintage

Summary: About three things I was absolutely certain. First, Edwart was most likely my soul mate, maybe. Second, there was a vampire part of him–which I assumed was wildly out of his control–that wanted me dead. And third, I unconditionally, irrevocably, impenetrably, heterogeneously, gynecologically, and disreputably wished he had kissed me.

And thus Belle Goose falls in love with the mysterious and sparkly Edwart Mullen in the
Harvard Lampoon’s hilarious send-up of Twilight. Pale and klutzy, Belle arrives in Switchblade, Oregon looking for adventure, or at least an undead classmate. She soon discovers Edwart, a super-hot computer nerd with zero interest in girls. After witnessing a number of strange events–Edwart leaves his tater tots untouched at lunch! Edwart saves her from a flying snowball!–Belle has a dramatic revelation: Edwart is a vampire. But how can she convince Edwart to bite her and transform her into his eternal bride, especially when he seems to find girls so repulsive?

Complete with romance, danger, insufficient parental guardianship, creepy stalker-like behavior, and a vampire prom,
Nightlight is the uproarious tale of a vampire-obsessed girl, looking for love in all the wrong places.

Reviewer's Thoughts, have a piece of my cake:
Technically. Basically. Honestly. I love this book with all my heart (that was corny...). If you watched that movie, that parody of Twilight movie - Vampire Sucks, you'll probably realize that the directors are just telling the entire story again, in a funny way. As for Nightlight, it's a completely different story, with some elements in it that'll make you think of Twilight. Now, that's original! Before you start reading - Kristen Stewart/Bella Swan fans, she can be a bit obsessed and over herself in this parody (she thinks everyone is seduced by her charm), but don't hate her. :-)

My Ratings: 5/5 (love is in the air)

"I should have known he wasn't a vampire. He failed to meet the three telltale criteria for vampirism: speaking in an old-timey way, being pompous, and having sparkly skin."

Friday, October 15, 2010

The Amanda Project


Title: Invisible I (The Amanda Project 1)
Author: Melissa Kantor
Published Date: September 22nd 2009 by HarperTeen

Summary: Callie Leary has exactly one thing, and one thing only, in common with Nia Rivera and Hal Bennett: They were each chosen by Amanda to be her guide. When Amanda arrived at Endeavor High, she told Callie she moves around a lot and always picks one person to help her navigate the choppy waters of a new school. Why did Amanda lie?
Following a course that they suspect Amanda deliberately plotted, Callie, Nia, and Hal piece together some cryptic clues. But they find more questions that answers and quickly realize that before they can figure out what happened to Amanda—the girl who changed their lives—they'll need to solve the most important mystery of all:WHO IS AMANDA VALENTINO?

Reviewer's Thoughts, think think think:
Interesting plot , fairly confusing and suspenseful story.
INVISIBLE I is just the start of a new book series and I'm definitely excited. As you read, you realize that Amanda kept a lot of secrets, even from the people she was supposedly really close with. She seems like a genuinely good person though, as she does try to help Callie, Hal, and Nia...the only friends of hers we know of - yet. This book does not reveal Amanda's whereabouts, of course, but with the ever-accumulating notes and clues, it seems like Amanda might not be that far away. But Amanda is not the only one missing, either. Callie has no idea where her mom went and, as you read, she starts to second-guess the ideas she once had. But who can she talk to, when Amanda's gone, as well? I love the idea of this book, and that it will be a series with various authors picking up the storyline under the name of Stella Lennon. The next book doesn't come out for another year, sadly, but I do know it's written in Hal's point of view (not Callie's), and that the author is a male instead of Melissa Kantor. If you view the book's website, you find all sorts of fun ways to get involved, and you never know what or how you may show up in the series. It's all very fascinating and definitely a wonderful way to get people reading these books, even if they aren't normally readers.

My Ratings: 3.9/5


...Read Till You Drop...

Pre-Order it HERE!


OMG! The LAST BOOK in the Shiver Trilogy by Maggie Stiefvater, FOREVER, is almost here! I can't wait, and I know you can't either! So click on the link above and pre-order a copy of it today!

Thursday, October 14, 2010

Susan Williams Beckhorn Interview




1. Why did you become an author?
I became an author because I feel that writing is what I do best and what brings me the most joy.
2. What are you reading right now?
I'm reading The Young Pioneers by Rose Wilder Lane. It's wonderful and makes me wish Rose had written more books
3. What are you writing right now?
I am working on revisions of a sequel to Wind Rider (a YA which takes place 600 years ago and which focuses on the origins of horseback riding) and also an easy chapter book about a puppy learning to be a good camp dog.
4. What's your favorite book?
Rascal, by Sterling North
5. What's your favorite movie?
Disney's Swiss Family Robinson, (but Wyss's book is better.

The Little Vampire



Movie:
The Little Vampire

Genre:
Action/Adventure, Comedy, and Kids/Family

Duration Time:
1 hour, 45 minutes

Actors:
Jonathan Lipnicki, Richard E Grant, Alice Krige, Anna Popplewell, Jim Carter

Directed by:
Uli Edel

Producers:
Anthony Waller, Alexander Buchman, Larry Wilson, Richard Claus

Came Out:
October 27, 2000

Summary: (from Celebrity Wonder)
Dreaming every night about a secret enclave of vampires, Tony Thompson (Jonathan Lipnicki) is hardly a typical 9-year-old boy. His family just moved from California to Scotland, and Tony is having a hard time adjusting to his new friends, his new school, and his new life. That is, until he meets Rudolph, a little vampire who is also 9, and who takes Tony on great adventures, introducing him to the vampires he dreams about at night. Based on a series of German children's books written by Angela Sommer-Brodenburg, THE LITTLE VAMPIRE is a sweet and kid-safe tale of the horrific.



My Thoughts:
OMG! I absolutly LOVE the Little Vampire! It was my all time favorite movie when I was littler and to this day I love it. I would definatly recommend this movie to anyone, though I think kids would delfinatly like it better than adults.
My rating for this movie would be a 5/5, 5 stars, 2 thumbs up!
*****

Pretty Little Liars Season 2

Do you love Pretty Little Lairs? Can you not get enough of it? Are you tired of the break and want to get back to the new episodes?
You only have a little bit longer to wait!
ALL NEW SEASON OF PRETTY LITTLE LIARS
JANUARY 2011 on ABC Family!
Don't miss the new dramas between "A", Emily, Spencer, Hannah, and Aria!
The new season premieres Monday, January 3rd, 2011 at 8/7!

Inkpop Unpublished Originals :-)

Just for the record, there's this site called Inkpop.com, where aspiring authors can upload their writings chapter by chapter. And if your story make it to the Top 5 Picks, it might get published!!! Anyway, here is the latest Top Pick on Inkpop.com~

Title: The Tree Have Eyes
Author: Cara Ruegg
Tags: Romance, Mystery, Horror, Historical Fiction
Published Date: [it's unpublished, take note of copyrights!]
Link: http://inkpop.com/projects/25893/the-trees-have-eyes/



Nature was her only witness; it had eyes but no mouth.
Young and beautiful women are said to be deadly but what about the man that lusts after them or the woman that envies them? All steps start small as all sins start small....then they turn massive! Can this wretched monster cover up his steps before he is found or will an unlikely girl beat him at his own game?
Introducing Lillian Swan, a young eighteen-year-old girl who has way more problems than this narrator would have you believe. She is a struggling novelist who after rejection following rejection finds herself in peaceful Mablestem. The only problem is, the mask is the only peaceful aspect. Behind the mask lies a dangerous killer who now has set his eyes on pretty Lillian. The question now isn't whether this new book of hers will be a bestseller but if she will live. . .

Reviewer's Thought, have a piece of my mind :-)
First of all, I've got to warn you about this: the story has 82 chapters and some of it might be slightly too long. But of course, I also have to tell you this, once you read the first chapter - boom! - you're under the author's spell, you'll never stop reading until you finish it. It's the most amazing thing I've read, long, but worth the time. I recommend this to any readers who loves a good mystery with a twist of romance.

My Ratings: 4/5 (I'm giving this masterpiece lots of love)

Happy Reading :-)

Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl


Title: Beautiful Darkness

Author: Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Page Length: 512


Publishing Date: October 12, 2010 (Today!)


Recommended for: ages 13+

Thanks to the wonderful people at http://www.slcl.org/teens/blog/ I got an ARC so my review will be up at that website soon.  Because thats my county library blog, I decided to leave out some things, so I sound less like a weirdo.  


Thanks also to Regan Coomer who I got some Beautiful Darkness swag from!  You should check out her blog, she has a contest going on where you can win an ARC of Gathering Darkness by Kelley Armstrong.


Summary (from Goodreads): 
Ethan Wate used to think of Gatlin, the small Southern town he had always called home, as a place where nothing ever changed. Then he met mysterious newcomer Lena Duchannes, who revealed a secret world that had been hidden in plain sight all along. A Gatlin that harbored ancient secrets beneath its moss-covered oaks and cracked sidewalks. A Gatlin where a curse has marked Lena's family of powerful supernaturals for generations. A Gatlin where impossible, magical, life-altering events happen. 

Sometimes life-ending.

Together they can face anything Gatlin throws at them, but after suffering a tragic loss, Lena starts to pull away, keeping secrets that test their relationship. And now that Ethan's eyes have been opened to the darker side of Gatlin, there's no going back. Haunted by strange visions only he can see, Ethan is pulled deeper into his town's tangled history and finds himself caught up in the dangerous network of underground passageways endlessly crisscrossing the South, where nothing is as it seems.


My thoughts: 
Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl have done it again.  Sequels are usually a hit or miss, and Beautiful Darkness manages to be as good, if not better than its predecessor.  Personally, I think the Caster Chronicles series is a literary masterpiece.  (I may be stretching it a little).  But seriously, these books are phenomenally and beautifully written.






Beautiful Darkness picks up right where Beautiful Creatures ends, and brings us back to the little southern town of Gatlin County that we all love to hate.  

This book is truly an emotional roller coaster from start to finish.  All your favorite characters from the first book have returned, and there are also new characters as well! (John Breed... sa-wooon) The ending left me wanting more and I am very excited for the next book!  

I would recommend it for those who loved Beautiful Creatures or anyone who is in need of a good book, but because this is a sequel, I would recommend reading the first book first.  If you weren't a fan of the first book, I would still give Beautiful Darkness a try!  


Overall: 4.5/5 :D Sometimes it gets a little slow because it is a long book, but I loved it!  Like I said a million times already, the writing is fantastic!

Monday, October 11, 2010

Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

Title:
Wicked Lovely


Author:
Melissa Marr

Page Length:
328

Published Date:
2008 (paperback edition)

Recommended for:
Ages 15 and Up

Summary on the back of the book:
Rule #3: Don't stare at invisable faeries.
Rule #2: Don't speak to invisable faeries.
Rule #1: Don't ever attract their attention.
Aislinn has always seen faeries. Powerful and dangerous, they walk hidden in the mortal world. When the rules that have kept Aislinn safe from them stop working, everything is suddenly on the line: her freedom; her best friend, Seth; her life; everything.
Faery intruige, mortal love, and the clash of ancient rules and modern expectations swirl together in Melissa Marr's stunning twenty-first centry faery tale.

About the Author:
Melissa Marr (from the inside of the book) -
Although I was voted "most likely to end up in jail" in high school, I decided to get an MA and teach Lit and Gender Studies to college students across the country. Along the way, I've been unable to resis trying new things - including working an archaeological dig, slinging drinks at a biker bar, and getting farulous tattoos.
I call all of this research for my writing. To fill my craving for new experiences, I've lived in Pennysylvania, North Carolina, and southern California, and I plan to keep roaming with my family as widely and as often as possible. This year, I think, I'm living in Virginia.
Please help feed my addiction to meeting interesting new people by visiting me on the web at http://www.melissa-marr.com/ .

My Thoughts:
This was a good book, but it was kind of slow. I liked how Aislinn kept refusing Keenan, and how it was sorta supernatural with the faeries, but I don't know. I don't really like it, but I do. I'm sort of in the middle.
It definatly is for ages 15+ because of the things they do and the language. So if you're 15 or older, you should check it out and tell me if it's worth it, because I just can't decide.

Saturday, October 9, 2010

Review- The Hollow by Jessica Verday

Title: The Hollow


Author:  Jessica Verday


Page Length: 513


Publication Date: 2009


Summary (from Goodreads):  When Abbey's best friend, Kristen, vanishes at the bridge near Sleepy Hollow Cemetery, everyone else is all too quick to accept that Kristen is dead and rumors fly that her death was no accident. Abbey goes through the motions of mourning her best friend, but privately, she refuses to believe that Kristen is really gone. Then she meets Caspian, the gorgeous and mysterious boy who shows up out of nowhere at Kristen's funeral, and keeps reappearing in Abbey's life. Caspian clearly has secrets of his own, but he's the only person who makes Abbey feel normal again...but also special.
Just when Abbey starts to feel that she might survive all this, she learns a secret that makes her question everything she thought she knew about her best friend. How could Kristen have kept silent about so much? And could this secret have led to her death? As Abbey struggles to understand Kristen's betrayal, she uncovers a frightening truth that nearly unravels her—one that will challenge her emerging love for Caspian, as well as her own sanity.

My Thoughts:
I was very excited to read this book since my friend told me about it.  The cover was haunting and just screamed "BOOK THAT HAS SUPERNATURAL SCHTUFF".  Yeah, what I expected and what I got didn't really match up.  This book was beautifully written, had very original and Gothic elements in it, and yet I couldn't completely love it.  If you noticed the number of pages (or you just skipped it) this book has 513 pages.  Of course this isn't a bad thing, I for one love reading long books when I have the time.  However, this book was long and very, very, very slow.  And outside of the Legend of Sleepy Hollow that is mentioned, the traditional YA supernatural elements are not really noted until the last 50-ish pages of the book.

The story begins when we learn of Kristen's, Abby's best friend, death.  So for the majority of this book, Abby is mourning Kristen, which is of course normal for any teenage girl.  However, this book could have definitely been cut in half and we would have still got the main parts of it.  Because really, no one cares how her holidays were, or what she does at school, when it really isn't important to plot or forwarding the story.  When Abby meets Caspian, things start to get a little mysterious, but that too gets dull after 400 something pages.  However, I think the last 100 pages are so are enough for me to want to read the next book, Haunted.

The most interesting part of Abby was her hobby of making perfume.  Outside of that, I wouldn't really call her an interesting character.

Overall: Apparently, the second book Haunted is really good, so when I read it, I'll let you guys know if Hollow is worth it.  But I would give it 3/5 stars.  I probably wouldn't recommend it for those who like fast, action paced books.  

Sunday, October 3, 2010

Hershey Park

So, I was going through some of the blog's stuff, getting ready to do the monthly update (one of the updates is that I changed the dates for the updates - haha), and I found this post that was supposed to have been published back in July but was never published.
Sorry about that.
But here it is, later is better than never:

Hershey Park!
Located in the beautiful Hershey, PA, Hershey Park is litterally "the sweetest place on Earth". From going on a free tour of the chocolate factory, to riding the Farinheight, any age can have fun here. Shows, rides, stores, restuarants, and ZooAmerica are just some of the many attractions here. Grab your friends, your family, and your crazy neightborhood hobo, and meet the wonderful characters of Hershey today.

(I know it's short - back in July my posts weren't very long)