Tuesday, November 30, 2010

The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa

I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the eARC :)  Never thought I would actually get approved, and it was definitely one of the best Thanksgivings ever.  Woke up everyone in my house from their Thanksgiving nap with my screaming and hyperventilating.  


Goodreads summary:


My name is Meaghan Chase. 

I thought it was over.That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron fey that will drag me back, kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished prince who's sworn to stay by my side. Drag me into the core of a conflict so powerful, I'm not sure anyone can survive it. 

This time, there will be no turning back.


My Thoughts 
*(I'm going to try to make this spoiler free, but may contain a couple spoilers from the first 2 books):


Loved this.  So much love.  I've loved the first two books as well, but this may be my favorite :D  The Iron Queen picks off right where The Iron Daughter left off.  Meaghan must defeat the Iron fey and prevent them from destroying all of Faery (did I spell that right?) all under 400 pages.  And don't worry, there is plenty of Ash, Puck, and Grim along the way :) 


It might not have been as obvious in Iron Daughter, but Meaghan has really matured in this series.  Went from being the typical awkward high schooler, having to depend on others to guide her, to a strong, and confident individual.  I think Julie Kagawa ended this book perfectly.  It blew me away of how perfectly everything fit together, and how right it felt.  


Something to be thankful for is there shall be a fourth book!  Not much details yet, but it's called The Iron Knight and I believe it is focusing on Ash.  At the end of Iron Queen, there is a little snippet which leads perfectly into the Iron Knight.  So I'm extremely extremely extremely excited for that. 


Overall: 5/5 stars. Legit.  On February 1, 2011 run to a bookstore.  

Sunday, November 28, 2010

Bad Apple by Laura Ruby


Title:
Bad Apple

Author:
Laura Ruby

Page Numbers:
247

Publisher and Date Published:
2009 by HarperTeen

Summary (from Inside Cover):
"If I really wanted to open up, I'd confess that I really am the liar everyone believes I am."
High-school junior Tola Riley has green hair, a nose ring, an attitude problem, and a fondness for fairy tales, which are a great escape from real life. Everyone thinks she's crazy; everyone says so. Everyone except Mr. Mymer, her art teacher. He gets her paintings and lets her hang out in the art room during lonely lunch periods.
But then rumors start flying and Tola is suddenlt the center of a scandal. The whole town is judging her - even her family. When Mr. Mymer is suspended for what everyone thinks is an affair, she has no choice byt to break her silence. Fairy tales won't help her this time . . . so how can she tell the truth? And, more importantly, will anyone believe her?

About the Author (from the back cover): Laura Ruby
Laura Ruby lives in Chicago with her faily. She spent much of her misguided youth writing angry, angsty poems and dyeing her hair lots of colors not found in nature. She is the author of GOOD GIRLS and PLAY ME as well as several other books for children and adults. You can visit her online at http://www.lauraruby.com/ .

My Thoughts:
Tola is suspected of being the victim of her art teacher, Mr. Mymer, abusing her in a love affair at an art museum. This story, told in Tola's point of view, tells what really happened, that she was in no way, shape or form, abused or in a love affair with him. Its a book that anyone can relate to,  whether they are currently a teenager in high school going through typical teenage stuff in the book, or an adult remembering what it was like to be that girl. She gets bullied, has friends, has a good boyfriend (sorta - they're not offically going out), and is the typical teenager. Except for the fact she has green hair, is obbsessed with the gruesome Grimm's tales, and is accused of wrong-doing.
I liked this story, and I think you will too, so I encourage all to go out and buy it today!!
I can not wait to check out other books by Laura Ruby!! :)

My rating:
4.9/5 stars


Fall Contest Winners!

No one entered the fall contest, so there are no winners. :(
Be sure to enter the next contest!!!!!!!

Why I Love PrincessReviews Giveaway Winners!!!

Congratulations to:
Daisy - who won a necklace
Aik - who won SillyBandz
Vivien - who won a signed picture of the creator of PrincessReviews

Thank you all who entered!

An email was sent out, please reply by December 1st to claim your prize!

Gratitude Giveaway Winners!!!!!!!!!!

I would like to start off by saying Thank You to everyone who participated in the Gratitude Giveaway held at PrincessReviews! Because of all of our wonderful followers, we had 82 entries!!!!!!!!! :)
Since we had over 75 entries, 4 winners were chosen to recieve one of the 5 books listed below.
The winners are...drum roll, please.....
1. Jacque Stengel!!!!
2. Lisa Faber!!!
3. Linda Henderson!!
4. Lora1967!

I have emailed them and if they do not reply before December 1st, 2010, a new winner will be chosen!

Thier prizes:
   

Saturday, November 27, 2010

Grown Ups

  Title: Grown Ups
Length: 102 minutes

Rating: PG-13

Genre: Comedy

Release Date: June 25, 2010

Director: Dennis Dugan

Writers: Adam Sandler, Fred Wolf

Stars: Adam Sandler, Salma Hayek, and Kevin James

IMDb Summary: After their high school basketball coach passes away, five good friends and former teammates reunite for a Fourth of July holiday weekend.

IMDb Rating: 5.8/10 stars

My rating: 9.8/10 stars

My Thoughts:
When Coach "Buzzer" passes away, Lenny, Eric, Kurt, Marcus, and Rob, get together to go to his funneral. Lenny only has a day to stay, since his fashion designer wife, Roxanne, has to be in Milan for a fashion show. He convinces ber to stay one more day, and by the end of the 2nd day, she will not go and wants to stay. The movie is about the grown ups being the kids, and teaching the kids how to be kids. Greg, Lenny's son, (played by Jake Goldberg <3 ) beats the son of the guy on the other basket ball team that lost when coach buzzer was still alive and they demand a rematch basketball game. When it comes down to just Lenny and that guy, Lenny can easily win, but decides to be the better person and lets the other team win. When asked why he did this, he replies "They need to learn how to win and we need to learn how to loose".

I thought it was a good movie and I enjoyed it, but let me know what you thought!

Six Word Saturday



Six Word Saturday is a meme hosted by Show My  Face, where you have to describe your life or something else in a phrase using only six words.

I'm describing:
My Dog

Description:
My dog is nice and smart.

You're turn! Describe your dog (or if you don't have one, why you don't have one) in 6 words in  the comments section!

Then check out these cool blogs!
http://www.showmyface.com/2010/11/six-word-saturday_20.html

Pet Bloggers Hop



The Pet Blogger's Hop is just another blog hop where we go from blog to blog and see all the new blogs out there!

Friday, November 26, 2010

Weekend Brain Parties

Weekend Brain Parties is a meme created by me where there is an acedemic question that needs answering and the correct answers get put into a giveaway.

Last week's winners:
None. No one entered. :(

This week's question:
About how much money do people in the USA spend on Black Friday alone?



Don't forget to get your blog in it too!

Five Questions Friday!


http://fivecrookedhalos.blogspot.com/search/label/five%20question%20friday
Question for Friday, November 26th: Today's Questions all come right off the top of my wee lil' brain! (PS...feel free to come to my community to offer up your best question suggestions...we're in need of some new ones!)


1. What is your favorite part of a Thanksgiving meal?
The turkey! And all the other good food!
2. Are you a host or a guest for Thanksgiving this year?
Guest at my grandmother's
3. When you think of one Thanksgiving tradition, what comes to mind?
The traditional dinner and going to my grandmother's
4. You have two pieces of pie in front of you and you HAVE to eat one...do you choose pumpkin or pecan?
Pumpkin
5. Are you a Black Friday Shopper?
Nope :(

Social Parade Follow on Friday

Smart and Trendy Moms

Social Parade Friday is where you go around to other blogs and follow them!

(Again I can't seem to get the linkly list, so click on the button to go to it!)

Hop Along Friday!

Hop Along Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Chubby Cheeks Thinks. It is all about going to new blogs and seeing what blogs you like! 

I'm not sure how to post this linky up, so go here for the list of awesome blogs to visit!

Aloha Friday!

Aloha Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Kailani at An Island Life, where the goal is to take it easy on postings on Fridays.
For the meme, a simple question is asked, and the answer doesn't have to be long.

This week's question is:

Black Friday . . . love it or avoid it?


My answer:
I'd love to go shopping on a Black Friday, but I never have. So for now, it's avoid it.

What's your answer? Post below in a comment!

(Linky is not here because I'm not paying $5 for it)

Thursday, November 25, 2010

Holiday Hop Sponser!

We have found a sponser for the Holiday Gift Giveaway Hop! :)

Jasmere is willing to donate a $25 credit to thier site to us for the giveaway!  Unfotunatley, it is only open to people from the United States of America. :(

If you have another sponser that would be willing to donate something internationally, I'd really appreciate it if you could help out! Send me an email at princessreviews@aol.com if you can! Thanks!


On another note, leave me a comment saying what Christmas/Winter Holiday item(s) you want me to giveaway here, and whether you want it US, Us/Can, or Inter. 
Thanks!

Happy Thanksgiving!

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

Happy Thanksgiving, to everyone here, from PrincessReviews!

Here at PrincessReviews, we are thankfull for our wonderful followers!

What are YOU thankful for? We want to know! Leave a comment telling us what you're thankful for!!!

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Breaking the Spine's Jill. Blogs can post what book they can't wait to read!

I have a ton of books that I have that I have not yet read, but can't wait to read!

The current book I have that I can't wait to read the most is If You're Reading This, It's Too Late by Pseudonymous Bosch.
 I got this book at last year's book fair and can't wait to start it!

Summary (from Wikipedia):
For 500 years, the secret society of the Midnight Sun has been waiting for the homunculus, the man-made man, to rise, and now the evil Dr. L and Ms. Mauvais are going to throw Cass and Max-Ernest to the sharks unless they tell them where he resides. After going on an excursion with their science teacher, the two are tricked by Dr. L after receiving a note from Pietro saying he will meet them on a ship, from which they barely escape. After finding out their teacher is really Owen, the accent changing member of the Terces Society, they are introduced to the great magician himself, Pietro, who gives them a mission: find the homunculus before the Midnight Sun does. Max-Ernest also finds out that 'Terces' is "secret" backwards. Cass is grounded when she returns home, because she was missing for too long. While on the Midnight Sun ship, Cass and Max-Ernest discover a strange ball, which enables her to hear all types of sounds by putting it to her ear and makes wonderful music when held carefully. Cass also discovers a birth certificate. The name is unrecognizable, thus making Cass wonder if she was the wrong girl the Terces Society wanted. She ignores it, even though it pains her, and continues her mission.

This time teaming up with a new classmate named Yo-Yoji as well as Max-Ernest, the three need to escape the grasp of their parents, and find the alchemist's grave... but Dr. L and Ms. Mauvais have other plans.

Teaser Tuesday



I know I'm a day late, but I still want to participate!

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading.

Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
Grab your current read
Open to a random page
Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers.

My Teasers:
from Bad Apple by Laura Ruby

pg. 103
"When my mom sits down, she doesn't even look at me. She's as rigid and virtuous as a nun."

3 part reviews? What?

Why was my last review in 3 parts, you ask?
Well, I reviewed it on my phone, same as this post. Since I am not paying for internet on my phone to actually create a post, I have to send a text message email to this blog as my post. My phone only allows me to send 1000 characters (letters, numbers, symbols, and spaces) per message. Every time I hit that 1000 mark, it won't let me type anymore and I have to send a new message, which posts as a new post.
For more info on email posting, you can comment this post or email me at princessreviews@aol.com and I'll send you some more info on how to do it, or at least how I do it.

Thank you for your understanding, and I hope you continue to come back to PrincessReviews.
Please realize that I will use Blogger.com to create most of my posts, not my phone, so this 3 part reviews thing will be rare.
Again, thank you! Come again!

This message was sent using the Picture and Video Messaging service from Verizon Wireless!

To learn how you can snap pictures and capture videos with your wireless phone visit www.verizonwireless.com/picture.

Note: To play video messages sent to email, QuickTime� 6.5 or higher is required.

Part 3 of Raven Stole The Moon Review

from Scratch, the main character is a woman who lost a loved one 2 years ago, exactly.

I would give this book a 2\5 on my liking, but I think for quality I'd have to give it a 3.7/5.
Check out this book if you want, or not.

Review of Raven Stole the Moon part 2

Stein is the author of three novels, including the New York Times bestseller The Art of Racing in the RAin and How Evan Broke His Head and Other Secrets, and a play, Brother Jones. He has worked as a documentary filmmaker, and he lives in Seattle with his family.
My Thoughts on the Book:
I thought this book was very dry and boring with WAY too many words! I started this book over a month ago and am only on page 130 because it is so boring. I am writing this review without finishing it because it was too wordy and time consuming to finish. All that has happened to Jenna so far in this book is she has travelled back to Alaska to get herself together after freaking out at a party. If I did not recieve this book complimentary of a review, I do not think I would have picked it to read by myself, but I do not regret getting it. I like to expand my reading horizons past what I would normally read, and this book has done that for me.
I did however, like how, just like in the book Simply

Raven Stole the Moon by Garth Stein Review - Part 1

Title: Raven Stole The Moon
Author: Garth Stein
Page Numbers : 441
Publisher and Date Published: HarperCollins Publishers, 2010
Back of the Book Summary:
When Jenna Rosen abandons her comfortable Seattle life to visit Wrangell, Alaska, it's a wrenching return to her past. The hometown of her Native American grandmother, Wrangell is located near Thunder Bay Resort, where Jenna's young son, Bobby, disappeared two years before. His body was never recovered, and Jenna is determind to lay to rest the aching mystery of his death. But wispers of ancient legonds begin to suggest a frightening new possiblility about Bobby's fate, and Jenna must sift through the beliefs of her ancestors, the Tlingit, who still tell of powerful, menacing forces at work in the Alaskan wilderness. Armed with nothing but a mother's protective instincts, Jenna's quest for the truth behind her son's disapperance is about to pull her into a terrifying and life-changing abyss.
About the Author: Garth Stein
Garth
This message has been sent using the picture and Video service from Verizon Wireless!
To learn how you can snap pictures and capture videos with your wireless phone visit www.verizonwireless.com/picture.
Note: To play video messages sent to email, Quicktime@ 6.5 or higher is required.

ReviewBlog101's New Assistant!

Attention, my good followers!
I am now a co-author on ReviewBlog101, so I will be posting some reviews and interviews on there that I am not posting on here. If you love me, please follow ReviewBlog101 as well as PrincessReviews to get all of my reviews, interviews, articles, giveaways, contests, etc. 
Thank you all, and have a wonderfull Thanksgiving! :)  

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Review: Sleepless by Cyn Balog BOOK and SIGNED SWAG GIVEAWAY! (Guest Post!)

Guest Post by Trisha Wolfe


Review: Sleepless by Cyn Balog BOOK and SIGNED SWAG GIVEAWAY!

I received some awesome signed swag from the super nice Ms. Balog and want to share the wealth! I'll also be giving away a copy of SLEEPLESS. All you need to do to be entered to win is follow my site http://yabound.blogspot.com/  +2, comment on the review +2, and tweet about it (leave link in comment box) +2. Not necessarily all of those things, but if you'd like to do all three to earn extra points, GREAT! All you need to really do is comment on this post =) To check out what I'm giving away there's a pic on my website @ http://trishawolfe.com/  Good luck!



From Goodreads: Eron DeMarchelle isn't supposed to feel this connection. He is a Sandman, a supernatural being whose purpose is to seduce his human charges to sleep. Though he can communicate with his charges in their dreams, he isn't encouraged to do so. After all, becoming too involved in one human's life could prevent him from helping others get their needed rest.


But he can't deny that he feels something for Julia, a lonely girl with fiery red hair and sad dreams. Just weeks ago, her boyfriend died in a car accident, and Eron can tell that she feels more alone than ever. Eron was human once too, many years ago, and he remembers how it felt to lose the one he loved. In the past, Eron has broken rules to protect Julia, but now, when she seems to need him more than ever, he can't reach her. Eron's time as a Sandman is coming to a close, and his replacement doesn't seem to care about his charges. Worse, Julia is facing dangers she doesn't recognize, and Eron, as he transitions back to being human, may be the only one who can save her....


Even once they've become human again, Sandmen are forbidden to communicate with their charges. But Eron knows he won't be able to forget Julia. Will he risk everything for a chance to be with the girl he loves?




Review: When I saw this book on the shelf in my local book store, I thought, how sweet! It appears to be a fast read, the binding not being too thick, and the beautiful flower cover comes across girly sweet. What I discovered, however, was the opposite. Sure it starts off rather sweet, fast and to the point (which I like) but it takes the reader through the lives of true teenage emotions and problems, though there is the supernatural element involving Eron being a sandman. Eron lost his life, but not himself. Although he has become a sandman after his death, he is still the person he was nearly 100 years prior. Eron is a strong, charming, attractive and positive character. I liked him right from the start. Julia’s personality and social phobia challenges I could relate to very well, more than well, it was like reading about myself as a teenager. Julia starts off very dependent on her boyfriend, Griffon, who is the classic macho jerk at their school. She lets him make decisions for her and even depends on his candid sense of humor to desensitize her so she doesn’t have to feel. But once Griffon is killed in a car accident, Julia is faced with having to deal with people and the reality of herself and problems. When she meets Eron there is an instant connection to him, though he is rather unlike what she is accustomed to in boys. Eron is a gentleman, treats her with respect and guards her with his life. I was pleasantly surprised by the plot of this book. I live to read paranormal romance and thought that this would be slack in the romance department, but found the building of true love, not just lust, between Julia and Eron, refreshing. Overall this book held my attention and I think that it is a wonderful read for young women coming into the age where boys are becoming a big part of their lives. The book also teaches, not in a beating over the head kind of way, that no girl should allow anyone to talk down to them or treat them with disrespect. And that they have to find their own voice and strength to get through difficult situations. I am definitely going to read this lovely love story again.



Check out the Author Miniview (little interview) with Ms. Balog here.


I give Sleepless 4 flames


Author Cyn Balog

Hardcover, 215 pages

Published July 13th 2010 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers


**To see how you can get a guest post on here, click here.

Sunday, November 21, 2010

100 Follower Giveaway!!!!!

Thank you to everyone who is following PrincessReviews!!!! :)
You make this blog so much. It would not be possible to have and do half the things we do without such wonderful followers like you!!!!

There are 3 very important follower numbers we have passed (99, 100, 101), so we have 3 prizes to give away to our followers! To enter, YOU MUST BE A FOLLOWER!!!!!

The prizes are:
An Avon snowflake necklace
A YooHoo & Friends keychain
A pack of Disney Princess SillyBandz



All you need to do to enter is be a follower! To enter, just fill out the form below:


Thank you!!!! Our next follower giveaway will be when we reach the 500 follower point! So tell your friends!!!

The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein

This is an excellent book! IF you liked Marley and Me, then you will love this book. It takes the reader on a journey thru the eyes and life of man's best friend--a dog. It is written as if Enzo ( the dog )is telling the story. It takes you from his puppy years until the end. It shows how that the love between a man and his best friend expand through time and is always there for you. You can always count on the companionship and loyalty even in the worst of time. This book is a definite read for all animal lovers!

Saturday, November 20, 2010

Book Blogger Hop - November 19-22, 2010

Book Blogger Hop

For what it is, how to enter your blog, etc, go here.

This weekend's question:
"Since Thanksgiving is coming up next week, let's use this week's Hop to share what we are most thankful for and what our holiday traditions are!"

My answer:
I am most thankful for my dog, all of my followers, my grandmother, and my friends and family. Each Thanksgiving, my daddy is usually working, so we have our dinner at my grandmother's house before actual Thanksgiving Day, with turkey, cranberries, stuffing, the usual. Then the next day, on Thanksgiving, we watch the parade.

Your answer:
Let me know in comments below!

Friday, November 19, 2010

PrincessReviews Author

Just a reminder:
If you would like to post for PrincessReviews, email Tasha at princessreviews@aol.com and she'll send you some information and you'll be all set to go! You can post giveaways, contests, reviews, interviews, articles, whatever is normally up on PrincessReviews.
Or if you just want a single post up, look for the Guest Post post in the list of posts on the sidebar and fill out the form. We'll have your post up in no time!
If you would like an advertisement for a good cause up, email princessreviews at aol dot com and we'll put it up, maybe.

And don't forget to TELL FRIENDS about PrincessReviews! :)

Weekend Brain Parties! November 19-22, 2010


This Weekend's Question:
How many words can you create from the term Deoxyribonucleic Acid? 
In you're answer, be sure to list all of the words. You cannot use 2-letter words or proper names! This includes place names as well. You also cannot include abriviations, such as CID or DNA. 
For a bonus point, (include this in your answer BEFORE you list all of the words!) what is Deoxyribonucleic Acid?

You are playing for:
A virtual badge that you can print out and display non-virtually, or you can email to your friends and brag about.

The form:

The Linky for Blogs and Websites to Enter:

What is Weekend Brain Parties?

What is Weekend Brain Parties?
Weekend Brain Parties is a new thing that I have come up with to again involve the blogging community. All blogs can participate, and they can either have thier own question for followers to answer, or use mine. Weekend Brain Parties lasts from Friday to Monday, and each weekend a new linkly will be created that you will have to put your blog link in if you are participating.

How do I participate?
Just fill out the form I provide and a winner will be picked the next week and announced when the next Weekend Brain Party gets put up.
If you are a blog/website that would like to participate, each week add your link to the linky so people can start visiting your site!

Do I need to participate each week?
Nope! Do it as many times as you want, or as few as you want. That is why for blogs we have a different linky each weekend.

How do I start?
Look for the Weekend Brain Parties post in my list of posts.

Queen Anne County High School Swim Team Fundraiser!

Attention to all followers in the MD, DE, VA, or DC area!!!!!!!!
The Queen Anne County High School Swim Team, located on the Eastern Shore of Maryland, is having a Family Night and Silent Auction at Doc's Riverside Grille (http://www.docsriversidegrille.com/) on Wednesday, December 1, 2010 from 7-9 PM.
There will be a silent auction (*MORE ITEMS STILL NEED TO BE DONATED*), which all of the profits and a portion of Docs' profits will be going to the Swim Team at QACHS. They will use this money to purchase equipment to use, apperal, and other sport-related items.
Please pass along the message to anyone you know who might be able to come, and we hope you can come!

*This message was asked to be put up by a follower who wishes to remain annonymous.
If you have a message you would like put up, email Tasha at princessreviews@aol.com
Doc's Riverside Grille
511 Chesterfield Avenue
Centreville, MD 21617-2309
(410) 758-1707

+If you have any items, or know any one with items, that you/they are willing to donate, please email me at QueenTasha97@aol.com and I will be sure the follower having me put this up gets the information. It was mentioned that they need all items by November 29th, so keep that in mind. 

Sponsers for the Holiday Hop Giveaway!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ATTENTION ALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I am still in need of a sponser for the Holiday Hop Giveaway!

Please contact me ASAP if you are interested!

Below is the form you need to submit if interested and the link to the original post asking for help. That post has all the information on it.
PLEASE GET BACK TO ME ASAP!

http://5678princessreviews.blogspot.com/2010/11/what-is-holiday-gift-giveaway-hop-and.html

Thursday, November 18, 2010

101 Followers!

WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We have offically reached 100 followers, and counting! Currently, we have 101 followers, which means it is time for another giveaway!
I'm a bit busy right now, but by Monday, we should have a new giveaway up.
Until then, don't forget to look for the other contests and giveaways going on!

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

Gratitude Giveaway





Hello! We are participating in this year's Gratitude Giveaways to thank all of our fabulous followers this year! If you are not currently a follower of PrincessReviews, you need to be to participate in this giveaway! You may follow this blog in 1 of 2 ways to participate in the giveaway - follow on Google Friend Connect or Networked Blogs.

You are only required to follow this blog in one of the two ways to participate.
For extra entries, you can follow us both ways, add Princess Reviews on facebook ( www.facebook.com/princessreviews ), and be an email subscriber.

The prizes are:

  • A to Z Mysteries:
    • The Falcon's Feather
    • The Canary Caper
    • OR BOTH!
  • Unforgettable Americans
    • Harriet Beecher Stow and The Beecher Preachers
  • Suddenly Supernatural
    • School Spirit
  • Daughters of the Sea
    • Hannah
    •  


If you win, you may pick your prize out of these. If we have more than 25 people enter, 2 winners will be chosen. More than 50, 3 people will win. If there are 75 people entered, 4 will win, and if 100 people or more enter, all books will be given away! So tell you're friends, and ENTER!

How do you enter, you ask? Simply fill out this form!


Thank you!
The giveaway closes at 11:59 PM on Sunday, November 27, 2010. A winner(s) will be chosen and posted sometime the following week. They have 48 hours to reply or a new winner will be chosen. Winners are chosen using Random.org

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Matched Giveaway WINNERS

Sorry this is a day late.  Yesterday was very very hectic, but I picked the winners today!

Thanks to everyone who entered and spread the word!  :D  And because we reached more than 50 entrants, there is a second winner!  So congrats to...

1st winner: Elizabeth Briggs
2nd winner: Samantha Estrada

I shall email you both soon about the details!

*Edit:  Unexpected complications have arisen, but its not necessarily a bad complication... So I will probably email you both tomorrow!

Saturday, November 13, 2010

The Spirit Thief by Rachel Aaron

Sorry that I've been slacking on my reviews!  I've been trying (keyword: trying) NaNoWriMo and so far its been kinda flop because I am easily distracted and changed my story 4 days into it.  (And I just need writing lessons lol.)  Most of my reviews have been YA so I'm reviewing something different today. 


Title: The Spirit Thief
Author:  Rachel Aaron
Published October 1st by Orbit
ISBN: 0316069051
Series: The Legend of Eli Monpress #1


Summary (from Goodreads): 
Eli Monpress is talented. He's charming. And he's a thief.

But not just any thief. He's the greatest thief of the age - and he's also a wizard. And with the help of his partners - a swordsman with the most powerful magic sword in the world but no magical ability of his own, and a demonseed who can step through shadows and punch through walls - he's going to put his plan into effect.

The first step is to increase the size of the bounty on his head, so he'll need to steal some big things. But he'll start small for now. He'll just steal something that no one will miss - at least for a while.

Like a king.



My thoughts (quickie review):  
I love thief books, just putting that out there.  I haven't read that many but there is something very appealing about thieves... they're kinda like ninjas!  But April, you may ask, what do ninjas have to do with the book?  Pretty much nothing... so onto the review!


The book starts off with Eli, having a lovely conversation with a door.  Which in my opinion, sets up the mood of the book and Eli's character perfectly.  In the world of Eli Monpress, everything has a soul.  Yes, this includes rocks, trees, and doors.  Eli goes to far lengths to raise his bounty and one of the many who try to capture him is Miranda, sent from the Spirit Court to end Eli's abusive ways on using spirits.  On the outside, Eli just seems like the thief who steals for no reason other than to steal and raise his bounty.  However, I think we learn more about that in the next book ;)  


I LOVED Nico.  I cannot even express with words of how much I love her.  Even though she is more of a side character, I just think she's pretty badass and I'm a sucker for romance.  I adore her and Josef's relationship :D  I am so excited for book 3, which is titled The Spirit Eater (which I would assume, is about her).  


Even though in some ways the book was not what I expected, it had lots of exciting surprises :D.  Despite the fact that the synopsis, title, cover is about Eli, I personally didn't think of him as a main character.  Most of the book was from Miranda's perspective, which turned out being okay because I think she is easy to relate to and I think you get a good perspective from her, not really knowing what's going on, etc.  I like how it switches around and each character has their own little problem and sub plot which will probably be tied up in the end.  


Overall: I loved it!  Fun, witty, and entertaining book of fantasy.  4.5/5 :D 


Yes, I struggle with emoticons :P.  I'm really trying to stop using them.  Probably annoying to see in a review.  :P

Joann I. Martin Sowels Interview and GIVEAWAY!!!



Check out her Brookehaven Vampires series website here!

1. Which genre would you classify you're books as being?
Young Adult Paranormal Romance


2. How would you describe the target audience for your books?
Although it’s classified as young adult, anyone who loves vampires would enjoy the series.

3. Do you enjoy being an author?
Yep.

4. What is the best part about being an author?
Readers loving the book. I love hearing how much people are enjoying Laney and how happy it makes them.

5. Why did you decide to start writing?
 I couldn’t find a book to fill the need I had. It seemed that at the end of each book I read it was missing what I was looking for. So I wrote what I wanted. I wrote what was missing.

6 What is something you did not know before you started writing?
A whole heck of a lot! I have learned so much from writing and publishing Laney. I could probably write a book on it…. Maybe I will. LOL!

7 Do you do any research on any of your books' subjects?
Yes. I read a ton of vampire books, fiction and non-fiction, while I was still working on Laney’s story in my head. I also did quite a bit of online searching for things here and there too.

8 Where do you get your ideas?
 My ideas come from everywhere. I can be reading a book, watching a show or movie or even listening to music and an entire scene will pop into my head. People watching is another great place for me to get ideas.

9 If you could have one of your characters over for dinner, who would you pick and why?
I would pick Felix because he is so fascinating to me. I can’t go into too much detail about him yet but he’s been around for some time now and he has lots of great stories. Plus he always has candy.

10. Who is your favorite author?
I don't have a favorite author, I have several favorite series. If I like a series I will follow it to the end, but that doesn’t mean I will read anything that author writes. I like a specific genre and I rarely stray from it. The top five book series I absolutely love (meaning I’d read them over & over) are: Charlaine Harris’ Sookie Stackhouse, J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter, Rachel Caine’s Morganville Vampires, Christopher Paolini’s Inheritance Cycle & Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight Saga.




Joann is nice enough, she is willing to give away a SIGNED COPY OF LANEY, the first in the Brookehaven series!
All you have to do is fill out this form! There are tons of extra ways to win, too!
 
Giveaway ends on December 13 (you have 1 month!)
 
Her twitter is @joannsowles

website: http://www.brookehavenvampires.com/
FB fan page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Brookehaven-Vampires/137895539569115

Random.org will be used to choose winners

 

Sunday, November 7, 2010

Guests Posts!

Hello!
Here at PrincessReviews, we are striving to create a more friendly atmosphere where the viewers are not just boring readers, but actual interacters.
One way we allow our readers to interact is through comments. We do not have security questions slowing down the rate you can comment and making commenting more difficult. Another way we have the viewers interacting is through contests and giveaways, which there are plenty of currently up, so go check them out.
Our newest way to get the readers to interact with us and become more a part of PrincessReviews and less a part of some outside world that is aware of PrincessReviews, but not involved with it, is the ability for readers to create posts that if approved will be up on PrincessReviews in no time!

Each Sunday we will post a new post submitted by one of our guests. At the bottom will be the form to submitt your entry so you don't need to keep coming back to this page. The guest will be able to have the title, the post, and thier name on the post, so everything is genuinely the reader's post, except for the submit form at the bottom.
The post can be about anything that you want, except for advertising. You may include a little advertising, but your whole post cannot be about advertising. Since this is a review site, we enccourage reviews, and even interviews if you can get them. We also allow and encourage articles, as long as they are not the actual articles, and if they are, be sure you state that and we will say it was your idea to post it, but we will give credit where credit is due.

To submit an entry, just fill out this form here:


Thank you!

PS. Please leave some comments with what you think of this idea and what other things we can do to have you more involved with us here.

Review: Grambo - Smories

Smories is an online site where kids read children books out loud in a video where other children can listen to a story being read to them. It is a terrific site and you can check it out here.
Grambo is the story of a child sneaking away on vacation with his grandmother because he found a GPS in her bag from her last trip, and he is curious of her. Following her, Ryan finds out that she is a government spy! When they come back from the mission, no one believes him when he tells his parents she is a spy.
It is a good short story, so I'd give it 4/5 stars. I especially like that anyone can watch it and it is a good story for a little one to hear while getting ready for a nap, doing something quiet, or anything else. You can check it out here, and the Facebook event for it here.

Thursday, November 4, 2010

What Is The Holiday Gift Giveaway Hop? And SPONSERS NEEDED!

Hello!
We are currently looking for sponsers for the Holiday Giveaway Hop!

What is the Holiday Gift Giveaway Hop?
"Simply Stacie, Little Yayas, My Wee View, Review Retreat and Stockpiling Moms are very excited to announce a very special giveaway event that is coming this December called the Holiday Gift Giveaway Hop. This is not your regular giveaway hop. Its a themed giveaway hop modeled after our very successful Follower Giveaway Tours. The prizes will all be cash and gift cards! And guess what? WE WANT YOU TO JOIN US!"


How Does It Work?
"Each blog will host their own giveaway, but will be linked up through the Holiday Gift Giveaway Hop linky. Entrants just need to “hop” from blog to blog via the linky entering all the giveaways.
The theme of this hop is holiday gifts that are easy and quick to ship. The prize must be either cash (ie. paid via Paypal) and/or gift cards. They can be of any amount from any store! You can have one or both and its up to you what the prize is as long as it fits into either of those categories.
Giveaways must be easy to enter. The main entry must be something that is quick and easy to do. For instance, you can have the entry be “Follow my blog on Google Friend Connect” or “Follow me on Twitter”. Choose your entry method based on what areas of your blog you want to build up your following.
The hop will start on December 1 at 12:01 am EST and end on December 5 at 11:59 pm EST.
Sound interesting? Fill out the form below if you think this is something you would like to join. We will add you to our mailing list and send you more details as the date gets closer. We anticipate this to be a high traffic event that will be heavily promoted so it will be awesome opportunity for you to get your blog name out there!
Start planning now! Think about what you want your prize to be. Do you want to do a cash giveaway? Or a gift card giveaway that you either purchase yourself or find companies to offer gift cards to their stores. It’s totally up to you and there is no minimum prize value!
We are so excited for this event and hope you join and help us make it a huge success!"

If it is in italics, then it came directly from here. To sign your blog up, click here.

What do I need from Sponsers?
All I need is 1 or more giftcards.

What will I give you in return?
It depends on what package you want. Packages depend on the amount the giftcard or total amount of giftcards you are willing to donate is worth. Scroll down for the package information.

When is the Holiday Gift Giveaway Hop?
December 1st-5th, 2010

What are the packages?
Gold Package- Sponsor donates a GC of $100 or more. Includes feature post (300 words), sidebar button for 1 month, Facebook post, Suggest page to Facebook Friends and an additional entry for following you on Facebook.

Silver Package- Sponsor donates a GC of $50 to $99. Includes sidebar button for 1 month, Facebook post, an addition entry for following you on Facebook.
Bronze Package- Sponsor donates a GC of $49 to $26. Includes sidebar button for 2 weeks, Facebook post, additional entry for following you on Facebook
Plastic Package- Sponsor donates a GC of $25 or less. Includes sidebar button for duration of Holiday Hop, Facebook post

How do you let me know you want to/can sponser me?
Email me or fill out the form below:


Thank you! Be sure to be here on December 1-5, 2010 for the actual Hop!

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Teaser Tuesday

teasertuesdays31

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


•Grab your current read
•Open to a random page
•Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
•BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
•Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My Teaser Tuesday Sentences:
"These are desperate times, John Ferguson, he thought. And they demand decisive action."
~page 81 of Raven Stole The Moon by Garth Stein

1st Annual BlogGiving!

Happy BlogGiving!

What is BG you ask?
Well, since I messed up with the dates for Blogfest this year, it is when I have a bunch of blog's and you guys get to visit them! Some might have giveaways and contests up, but it is not reccomended of them, and do not blame me or them for not having them.

How long does BG last?
BlogGiving lasts for the entire month of November!
We will be doing this each year, but this is the only year where I already have a list of blogs and you cannot add your own. At the end of the list of blogs, I will tell you what it will be like next year.

How do we get our blogs to participate?
Well, this year, the list for blogs is already closed, but you can help in the spirit of it by posting about it, and including the list of blogs in your blog or website.

Here's the 2010 BlogGiving list!:


and here are some more blogs that need to be added: (ignore the numbers)
171 Marilyn's Romance Reviews


172 Romance Author Buzz

173 The punching bag fights back

174 Girls Just Reading

175 Bookish Delights

176 Books from Bleh to Basically Amazing

177 Wendi Zwaduk: Romance To Make Your Heart Race

178 Eating YA Books

179 Reading, Reading & Life

180 Simply Stacie

181 Just Another New Blog

182 Book Obsessed

183 Books and Needlepoint

184 Brizmus Blogs Books

185 IB Book Blogging

186 Simplify with Sybil

187 PrincessReviews

188 Bookvisions

189 Graced With Books

190 Notorious Spinks Talks

191 bookmarked

192 Roof Beam Reader

193 Curling Up By The Fire

194 The Romance Reviews

196 Reflections with Coffee

197 Odyssey Books

198 A Reader's Adventure

199 Reading Without Restraint

200 One Book Shy of a Full Shelf

201 MoonCat Farms Meanderings

202 Girls After Dark

203 JaMonkey

204 She Reads

205 Fiction Flurry

206 Inspiring Sisters

207 Travel The Ages

208 Lille Punkin' Reviews

209 Novels On The Run

210 Alice Audrey

211 Cuzinlogic

212 Cleverly Inked

213 Not So Ordinary Girls

214 The Bibliophilic Book Blog

215 My Disorganized Ramblings

216 Darkly Reading

217 Peaceful Reader

218 Inspired by Fiction

219 Coffeelicious Bookaholic

220 BK Walker Books Etc

221 Walker's Muse

222 Immortality and Beyond

223 An Avid Reader's Musings

224 Rants n' Rascals

225 {...is a book whore}

226 The Home of the Seven Tails

227 Mia Ma Miah's Diaries

228 Crazy-for-Books

229 Book-lover Carol's Reviews

230 A Bibliophile's Paradise

231 Desperado Penguin

232 Sapphire Romance Realm

233 The Neverending Shelf

234 Chew & Digest Books

235 That's Swell!

236 Madame Perry's Salon

237 Allison's Attic of Books

238 Biz Mommy

239 Once Upon A Chapter

240 Reading, Writing and Waiting

241 Talking with Tundra

242 Talking with Tundra

243 Harris Channing, Author of Erotic Fiction

244 Book Bookie

245 Review Blog 101

246 Read All Over Reviews

248 Krista D Ball's Blog (Zombie-Free)

249 DK's Everything Romance Books

250 a thousand Books with Quotes

251 Cherry Mischievous
252 Roof Beam Reader
253 Stephanie Barko, Literary Publicist
254 Dollycas's Thoughts
255 A Little Bookish
256 Jordan Deen
257 Narratively Speaking
258 Sharon's Garden of Book Reviews

What Will BlogGiving be like Next Year?
Next year, you will get to sign up for BlogGiving yourself. All blogs and websites participating will be required to have at least 1 giveaway up for the entire month of November. There will be no minimum or maximum value to what you giveaway and the list of the other sites must be on your giveaway post so that people may countinue along the blog hop, hopping from one blog to the next. We will also have a button that we hope you will put on your site, though that will not be required.

How will I be able to sign up for it for next year?
You may be able to sign up more ways too, but for now:
There are 3 ways:
Sign up while it is going on by adding your website or blog to the linky list on the offical post in November 2011.
Sign up in September 2011 to the post where we explain it for that year and have a linky link up so you can start getting ready.
Sign up now by reserving your spot by filling out this form:


So, get to hoppin now! And start getting ready for next year's because 2011's BlogGiving will be bigger and better than this years!

Monday, November 1, 2010

Stomp Out Bullying


Bullying happens everywhere - online, in school, outside of school. For more information on what bullying is exactly, and other effects, reasons, and ways of bullying, click here.

What is Stomp Out Bullying? (Directly from the website)
STOMP Out Bullying™ - a national anti-bullying and cyberbullying program for kids and teens is a signature program of Love Our Children USA™ who since 1999, has been the national nonprofit leader and 'Go-To' prevention organization fighting all forms of violence and neglect against children in the U.S.

STOMP Out Bullying™ focuses on reducing and preventing bullying, cyberbullying, sexting and other digital abuse, educating against homophobia, racism and hatred, decreasing school absenteeism and truancy, and deterring violence in schools, online and in communities across the country. It includes peer mentoring programs in schools, public service announcements by noted celebrities, in-school education, online and social media campaigns..
Both the STOMP Out Bullying Program™ and its Annual WORLD DAY OF BULLYING PREVENTION - BLUE SHIRT DAY™ initiative bring awareness and educates kids and teens, parents and schools about the issue. It offers hope for every student who experiences the harmful effects of bullying and teaches parents to keep open communication with their kids and teens and to look for signs. It also educates school administrators across the country, who have swept this issue under the rug for far too long. Funds raised for the campaign go towards in-school education, public awareness and education, a dedicated web site, brochures and materials to assist bullying and cyberbullying prevention education and peer mentoring in schools.
Today's students are at risk, and that risk grows more and more everyday as the popularity of the Internet increases. Today our youths are exposed to so much more than we were years ago. And years ago, when a kid or teen threatened to kill someone they didn't mean it. Today students have access to guns and the threat to kill someone is no longer idle.
The issues of bullying and cyberbullying have increased to epidemic proportions. As a form of violence against children of all ages, these issues have caused a crisis. Some victims are so tormented that suicide has become an alternative for them. It has everyone worried. Not just the kids and teens on its receiving end, but the parents, teachers and others who may not understand how extreme bullying can get. Love Our Children USA works aggressively to prevent these issues and to help those affected by it.
Adults must empower the victims and help change the behavior of the bullies. Schools must react swiftly and redirect negative behaviors into positive and productive solutions.
Bystanders who witness the assaults, harassment and threats must not remain silent.
Parents must teach their kids and teens kindness, compassion and respect and schools must do the same.
Our kids and teens need to know they are valued and protected.
Love Our Children created STOMP Out Bullying™ to put an end to this crisis, to keep children of all ages safe and to create bullying prevention education and peer mentoring in schools.
Please join us in our efforts to educate and advocate and most of all to STOMP Out Bullying™!

What YOU Can Do To Help (also directly from the website):
For Kids and Teens

Report Bullying
Don't be afraid to tell an adult. Telling isn't tattling! You are helping someone.
Who should you tell?
You could tell your parents, teacher, school counselor, school nurse, coach or any adult you trust. Be sure to tell exactly what happened ... who was bullied, who the bully was, where and when it happened. Even if you suspect a kid is being bullied, it's a good idea to report that, too. Most adults really do care about bullying and will be glad that you told them about it.
If you tell an adult and you don't think they are doing anything about the bullying or if the situation isn't improving, tell another adult. Keep telling adults until someone does something to help.
Be A Friend To Someone Who Is Being Bullied
Just being supportive to a person who’s been bullied is comforting. It shows that someone or many people care.
When someone is down they need a friend. Be there for the person who is being bullied. Be a buddy on school grounds, get together after school, include them in activities, Walk home with them, sit with them on the bus. Being an understanding and supportive friend means so much. Show a kid who is being bullied that you care about them.
Stand Up To The Bully
If you feel safe and comfortable, tell the bully that what they are doing is mean and wrong. It's not cool and they should stop. Keep it simple. Do not bully them back. If you are not comfortable standing up to the bully, tell an adult.
For Adults
Stop and listen to the child who has been bullied and take all complaints of any type of bullying seriously. Being responsive is key to help you take the appropriate steps you’ll need to help.
It doesn’t matter how you have been touched or impacted by bullying … the important thing is that you can do something to change your school, playground or neighborhood environment.
If you represent a media outlet wishing to run our public service announcements in your region, please contact us. If you are a teacher, guidance counselor or school administrator please contact us for four free posters. We ask that you pay for S/H.
You may also visit our Adults Page and check out our Tip Sheets which offer information and best practices to support kids who have been bullied, as well as reducing and preventing bad and aggressive behaviors.
Bullying is a serious issue that needs to be stopped. Get involved and STOMP OUT BULLYING today!