Sunday, January 23, 2011

Trickster's Girl

Author: Hilari Bell

Page Count: 288

Ages: 12 and up

Grades: 7 and Up

Trim: 5-1/2 x 8-1/4

Publication Date: January 2011

Genre: Science Fiction

About the Author: Hilari Bell has written more than a dozen novels of science fiction and fantasty, including the critically acclaimed  Farsala Trilogy. She lives in Denver, Colorado.

Summary: from the back of the book
A century after 9/11, in a high-tech, high-security world, magic is the last thing on anyone's mind.
Something bad is happening. Trees are dying. People are getting sick. Fifteen-year-old Kelsa's father died from cancer - a particularly aggressive case, the doctors said. Science has no answers.
Then Kelsa meets a boy. He's the most beautiful boy Kelsa's ever seen, but he's also very strange. He claims to be Raven, the mythological creature. He keeps going on about magic and an impending ecological disaster and that Kelsa must help him save the world.
Maybe he's crazy.
Or maybe he's telling the truths people have forgotten. And maybe she should help him, even if doing so means risking her own life.

My Thoughts: Kelsa, a girl who was super close to her dad who just died, met a boy named Raven who is persistant in having her help save the Earth and both his and her worlds. She goes all the way through Utah, the US, Canada, and Alaska helping him and doing illegal things. So much so that the police have her on the most wanted list and have called her mom, who thought she was in Chicago with her aunt. To find out what happens, read the book.
This book really struck home that we really do need to take care of our planet if we want to be able to have good things, like oil (which in the book they didn't have because the Earth had ran out of oil) and no tree plague to kill the trees and cause cancer which no one can cure. I thought that Global Warming and the things that us humans did to effect that weren't true, that it was just the natural Ice Age, Warming Age, Ice Age, Warming Age squence of the Earth that we were going through, even though I had heard what could happen and what was starting to happen. Well, when I heard what was starting to happen (before I read this book) I was reconsidering but still keeping my thoughts that it was the Earth's nautral cycle. But, after reading this book, my mind has been set that Global Warming is real and we truely do need to start taking care of it. 
I absoultely loved all the magic this book had in it, and making me sure of the global warming was just an added bonus. I strongly recommend having everyone check out this book. Though I would up the grade level to 9th grade, because it does have some cussing and illegal things we wouldn't want going into 7th grader's minds. 

My rating: 4.8/5 stars 

Island Paradise

Island Paradise is a new store that is just taking off but I know that it will become popular quickly. It's only avaliable online, though. I recomend everyone check it out! It's about summertime and it's themes are the beach, summer, and vacation. Please tell everyone about it! Check it out at http://www.cafepress.com/IslandParadise1

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

2-in-1 Reviews! ROMEO & JULIET

Search Amazon.com for romeo and juliet


Both of these reviews are of Romeo+Juliet, but one is of the 1996 Film Version (with Leonardo DiCaprio) and one is of the original play.

"For never was story of more woe Than this of Juliet and her Romeo." This line was spoken by the Prince in the play and told by the TV broadcaster in the flim version of Romeo and Juliet. Romeo and Juliet is a play that was written in 1592 by the great William Shakespeare. It was later adapted to film in 1996 by Baz Luhrmann. The play and the movie shared some simillarities along with some differences. Baz Luhrmann created a new take on the Romeo and Juliet story with differences in setting/plot and weaponry, but stayed relative with the language and characters.
In the movie, this classic love story takes place in Verona Beach, California (USA), but in the play, it takes place in Verona, Italy. The plot is different because neither the Friar or Paris are at the tomb when Romeo arrives in the movie, yet they both were in the play. In fact, in the play, Romeo killed Paris. So another difference is that Paris lives in the movie. When Romeo dies in the play, Juliet is still asleep and has not yet awaken from the posion, whereas, in the movie, Juliet is awake when Romeo takes his life. The means of Romeo taking his life vary as well, and the way Juliet takes her own life is also different. These are key points in the weaponry difference of the movie and play. Romeo buys a posion that he drinks to die in Shakespeare's version, but in Luhrmann's version he takes drugs to die. Juliet kills herself by stabing her stomach with Romeo's sword in the play and kills herself by shooting herself in the head in the movie. Two very different ways to die for the both of them.
Even though there were obvious differences between the two, there were also things that stayed the same, like the language and characters. Both are of old-tyme Elizabethan English. Baz probably kept the language the same for the movie to keep the storyline close to the classic. The characters also remained the same. With different characters, it would not be the Romeo and Juliet that people are familiar with and would be completely different. Romeo is still a Montague, Juliet a Capulet. Everyone still holds the same authority they did in the play as they do in the movie. With different styled language and new or different characters, Romeo and Juliet would not be Romeo and Juliet.

A tragedy is when a narrative ends unhappily. Baz Luhrmann created a sad, depressed mood for the last act of the 1996 movie, Romeo and Juliet, to emphasize the tragedy of Romeo and Juliet. He created this mood by using a lot of candles as the lights in the church tomb. Sad music was also used to create this tone. The mood that I felt during this was sad. The mood led up to the sad ending of the deaths of Romeo and his Juliet. The death, the candles, and the music allow all the viewers of the film to leave feeling sad.
Language and characters remained the same in the 1996 take of Romeo and Juliet, while Shakespeare’s original and the movie differ in plot/setting and weaponry. The 1996 version was not the only film of Shakespeare’s classic. Another was produced in 1968, which stayed more along the lines of the play and was less adapted to modern times. I found the 1996 version to be much more entertaining and I enjoyed it more. I’d definitely recommend the 1996 version to anyone! Romeo and Juliet is not as bad a play or movie as I would have thought.

Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare:

Title:
Romeo and Juliet

Author:
William Shakespeare

Published:
1592 (originally; many more have been made since then)

Pages:
varies on which publisher you get it from

Genre:
Tragedy, Drama

Overall Rating:
3.8/5

My Thoughts:
This was really hard to understand, as the lanuage used was so old and everyone spoke in poems. But once I broke it down and understood the meanings of what was being said, it wasn't a bad story at all. I would recommend it for college students because of the hard langauge.

Romeo and Juliet the movie


William Shakespeare's Romeo & Juliet starring Leonardo DiCaprio, Claire Danes, John Leguizamo, and Harold Perrineau is a wonderfull recreation of Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet. I absoultely LOVED it and would reccomend it to anyone of any age! Go check it out today!
(Sorry this review was so short and not properly formatted! I'm a bit tired after typing that essay!)

Tuesday, January 18, 2011

House of Anubis

House of Anubis is Nickoledon's newest hit TV show. Some might say I'm a little old to be watching Nick, but I have to say, House of Anubis has me hooked! It just premired world-wide on Nick, but it has been in other countries besides the US for a while now, but it's just now coming to America.

House of Anubis is about 2 main things, and I'm sure somehow they are connected. 1st - Patricia's best friend, Joy, has gone missing and Patricia is going to find out what happened. Somehow the teachers, Joy's parents, and even the police are all in on it. Patricia is determind to find out what's going on. 2nd - Some old lady is telling Nina she is the one and she can find the treasure, but not to let the bad guy see. Nina and her friends think she is just a nutty old woman, until they find an old recorder in the attic and hear some suspicious things.
Other things happen as well, like the relationship of Mick and Amber, and her friend Mara who would do anything for Mick, even cheat for him, the romance between Nina and Fabion, Mick's hatred of Mara, Alphie's obssession with Amber, the secret club Sibuna, and so much more!

So go watch House Of Anubis today!
New episodes on Nick every weekday at 7!

Check out the website here: http://www.nick.com/shows/house-of-anubis/

Monday, January 17, 2011

PrincessReviews Update

Hello everyone! I'm sorry I've been really busy and haven't done much with the blog; so much so that it's starting to seem like this is more of April's blog than it is of mine! I've been really busy with Swim Team, Finals, Job's Daughters, school in general, and the snow knocking out my internet service.
But don't worry! I'm working on an awesome new review which I hope to be up by the end of the week. I'll also post the winner of the last giveaway by the end of the week as well. So, even though we've been in a kind of slump lately, 2011 will be the best PrincessReviews year yet, and I plan on making it so!

Updates of my life:
This is the prime time for my swim team. The season started in November and goes until the end of Feburary. It's also been hectic because our usual practice pool is not avaliable to use so everyday we must travel a half hour to and from the avaliable pool that we now use. It runs really late because of that issue, and I've had to drop The International Order of the Rainbow For Girls that I am in.
I've also been really busy going to The International Order of Job's Daughters (review to come) events that I must attend and watching some of my new favorite TV shows so I can have some good things to review later.
Finals are quickly approaching and I had to take the HSAs (High School Assessments) all last week and have finals all this week, so school has been pretty busy as well. The new semester starts soon, so i'll have all new classes and have to get ready for that, too. So school is definately hard right now, but it should slow down again in a few weeks.
The snow is knocking out our computer internet which makes it hard to do anything. But don't worry I'm trying to keep up with reading and posting new posts.

Updates on the Blog I Plan To Make:
TONS of new reviews!!!!
Anything else you want, please feel free to leave me a comment!

um..... I think that's about it for now... let me know if there's something else you want to know, or anything. Feedback is always excepted.
Thank you!

~Tasha!~
owner of PrincessReviews

Sunday, January 16, 2011

IMM (1) and Update

Hi peoples :) I'm sincerely sorry for my lack of posting these past two weeks.  I've had a huge reading slump (I blame the recent Buffy obsession) and school has been pretty busy.  But this week I got some pretty awesome books and thought I'd post an update :) I'm hoping that once the craziness of the new semester is over, and once I finish all seven seasons of Buffy, then I'll get back onto my normal reading track!


I normally don't get that many books, but this week was a good week :)


IMM is a weekly meme hosted and created by Kristie at The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea at Pop Culture Junkie.


What I won from Badass Bookie (2011 Debutante Event): An ARC of Wither by Lauren DeStefano! 







What I won from Mundie Moms (BIR2010): A copy of Losing Faith by Denise Jaden! 


What I won from Laura Kreitzer: An ARC of Shadow of the Sun by Laura Kreitzer!


What I won from The Well-Read Wife: UK copy of Linger by Maggie Stiefvater!

Monday, January 3, 2011

Reading Resolutions Giveaway!

Yes, it's time for ANOTHER giveaway! :)
This one is the Reading Resolutions giveaway, hosted by Candance at Candace's Book Blog!


New Year's Reading Resolutions


The Prize:
Teen Idol by Meg Cabot
 (it looks different than this though because its a hardcopy and this is the paperback image)


How to Enter:
Follow this blog somehow and leave how you follow and your email in a comment below.
IF YOU DO NOT LEAVE YOUR EMAIL WE HAVE NO WAY TO CONTACT YOU IF YOU WIN!
Please leave a seperate comment for each way you follow. (Twitter and Facebook count, too)

Dates:
Starts january 3, ends january 9

Saturday, January 1, 2011

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

So I started having a spazz attack in Personal Finance when I checked my e-mail and saw I got approved to read Delirium :) So I would like to thank NetGalley and Harper Collins for the eARC :)


Title: Delirium
Author: Lauren Oliver
Hardcover, 440 pages
Expected publication: February 1st 2011 by HarperTeen

Goodreads Summary: 


Before scientists found the cure, people thought love was a good thing. They didn’t understand that once love - the deliria - blooms in your blood, there is no escaping its hold. Things are different now. Scientists are able to eradicate love, and the governments demands that all citizens receive the cure upon turning eighteen. Lena Holoway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured. A life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy.

But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable: She falls in love.



My Thoughts:


I'm not sure why, but Dystopian lit has really been bumming me out lately.  I wasn't the biggest fan of Matched, and Mockingjay... well, I can't even talk about Mockingjay right now.  Maybe not ever.  (I cried for an hour and a half after reading it)


So when I heard all the raving reviews of Delirium, I was worried that I might be disappointed... And that it wouldn't live up to all the hype.  Well, in my personal opinion, yes.  It does live up to the hype.  


I felt that I could really relate to Lena.  In the beginning, she is very accepting of the way society is, and of the "cure".  The ease of allowing someone to make decisions for you, and this false sense of happiness seems like an easy way to be accepted in society, where all her life she has been followed by the rumors about her mother, the "sympathizer".   I was also completely in love with the romance between Lena and Alex.  It was really sweet, yet had an underlying sense of tension that I loved :) I also loved how it changed Lena, and showed her that love was not some fatal disease, and that love brought out her beauty. 


The ending. OMFG the ending. I'm not going to spoil, but it left me speechless.  And then I was bawling like a baby.  This may not mean much since I cry for EVERYTHING, but even after I was done reading the book, it put me in this weird state where I couldn't really think about anything.  I kinda just spent some time reveling in the awesome.  


*I generally try not to talk about covers since I don't include them in the rating, and authors most of the time don't have anything to do with the cover.  But I noticed, like a week ago, THERE'S A PERSON ON THE COVER.  Yeah, I'm blind.  But I kinda just wanted to point that out.  


Overall: 5/5 stars :) I would recommend to any Dystopian fans, or fans of awesomeness in general.  


I think from now on, I'm going to try to link to some other people's reviews, since I can't write to save my life.  So here is Ginger from GRead's wonderfully written review :)