Saturday, April 30, 2011

Lemonade Mouth

Title:
Lemonade Mouth

Length:
about 2 hours

Rating:
None, but it is on Disney Channel, so it is kid friendly

Genre:
Musical

Release Date:
April 15, 2011

Directors:
Patricia Riggen

Writers:
April Blair (movie version)

Stars:
Bridget Mendler, Adam Hicks, Hayley Kiyoko, Blake Michael, Naomi Scott

IMDb Summary:
"Lemonade Mouth" tells kids and tweens that building your confidence rocks and finding your destiny rules. The story follows five disparate high school students - Olivia (Bridgit Mendler), Mo (Naomi Scott), Charlie (Blake Michael), Stella (Hayley Kiyoko), and Wen (Adam Hicks) who meet in detention. They realize they are destined to rock, and ultimately form a band that becomes a champion for students sidelined by the high school elite. Written by Ruby

IMDb Rating:
7.0/10

My Rating:
4/5

My Thoughts:
One fateful day, 5 strangers have detention together. During detention they discover their band-ish abilities and together form a band. Lemonade Mouth becomes an insta-hit and helps kids be heard. It's a very inspiring movie and I reccomend it to children ages 8-12.

Sunday, April 10, 2011

US Book Giveaways

US Book Giveaways is a website created by Kati Lear and co-authored by me, Tasha Nicole.
US Book Giveaways is a wonderful website, inspired by UK Book Giveaways, that gives you the links to giveaways in the United States and International. It combines giveaways from a bunch of sites and blogs and puts them all in one place, where someone can just go and pick the giveaways they like and enter them! Giveaways are seperated by US Giveaways and International Giveaways. Both have many giveaways to choose from! Enter 1 or enter all! It's your choice! But you should go there today!

Friday, April 8, 2011

LEAKED

UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA ADMISSION ESSAY

ESSAY QUESTION: Have you changed your life, or has your life changed you?


Written by Skylar Mackenzie
Best known as Sky Mackenzie, award-winning* actress and star of the critically acclaimed series, Family Affair, in which she played popular twin sister Sara Buchanan. She is also well known for her groundbreaking work on the buzzed about new TV show, Small Fries. (*Teen Choice Award)

I should get one thing straight before I start: I don’t do essays. If anything, I’ve always paid other people to do my grunt work. You know the dark and dirty deeds I’m talking about: things like picking the marshmallows out of my Lucky Charms, fetching my Michael Kors pants from the dry cleaner in two hours instead of the usual twenty-four, or running to Whole Foods twice in one day to get me more organic veggie sticks. For a while, even my homework was done by committee. Most teen stars do, and if they say they don’t, they’re lying. I know someone who gave Bill Gates’ Harvard-educated nephew two tickets to the after-party for Clooney’s latest flick in exchange for writing their English literature final paper.
My point is this: I’ve always been the type to let my life rule me. Why wouldn’t I? I have a pretty fabulous life. My clothes get hand-delivered to my house without those annoying price tags. My best friends have names like Kaitlin, Kim, Kourtney, and Fergie, and the people worth knowing on Wilshire Boulevard all know my name (as do the paparazzi that are always willing to pay my parking tickets in exchange for flashing them a brilliant smile). Unlike some of my friends (cough, Kaitlin), I don’t question my choices. When my team makes a decision for me, I stick with it and never look back. That’s how I got some of my favorite roles. It’s also how I met some of my favorite ex-boyfriends. I like taking a backseat to life and I don’t feel a smidge guilty. It’s liberating.
I know, I know. Speaking your mind is a powerful thing, blah, blah, blah. But if you’re not careful, it can also bite you in your pilates-toned butt. My manager Nadine says I shouldn’t use my college admissions essay to write about things like free Louboutins or my run-in with Ke$ha or how whiny my friend Kaitlin can be. (You should see her when she’s cramming for a final and studying lines for a taping of our TV show and she’s missed a date with her boyfriend Austin. Geez, it’s enough to make me want to lock her in her dressing room and leave her there till the sobbing stops, but even I’m not that mean. Instead I just bring her Oreos and that usually calms her down.) I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t open my mouth and tell the world what I thought about everything from Charlie Sheen to those scary “As Seen on TV” pajants. I can cut you down to size in ten seconds if I want to, but I’m also smart enough to know when to let the world spin like a top around me. When it comes to the important stuff in my life, I let my well-paid team do the heavy lifting. That’s just who I am, and I think that’s what the universe wants me to be. And if it turns out the universe doesn’t?
Too bad.

Weekend Brain Parties!

Last Weekend's Question:
What Are The Names Of The Workers At Princess Reviews?

Last Weekend's Answer:
Tasha, Amber, Trish (Patricia), Katelyn, Kati, April

This Weekend's Question:
Solve For X:
10X+51-4X-37+64=X+5


This Weekend's Hint:
It is a simple algebra problem. Look at your algebra notes or ask your parents.

Friday, April 1, 2011

Giveaway: Angel Burn by L.A. Weatherly

What a better way to celebrate such and amazing book other then to do a giveaway. All three blogs Kati works on has been approved to do a combined giveaway. There will be 3 copies of Angel Burn by L.A Weatherly given away on Bewitching booksPrincessReviews

I absolutely loved this novel, you can check out Kati's review.
Here's a little more information about the book itself:

Willow knows she’s different from other girls, and not just because she loves tinkering with cars. Willow has a gift. She can look into the future and know people’s dreams and hopes, their sorrows and regrets, just by touching them. She has no idea where this power comes from. But the assassin, Alex, does. Gorgeous, mysterious Alex knows more about Willow that Willow herself. He knows that her powers link to dark and dangerous forces, and that he’s one of the few humans left who can fight them. When Alex finds himself falling in love with his sworn enemy, he discovers that nothing is as it seems, least of all good and evil. In the first book in an action-packed romantic trilogy, L. A. Weatherly sends listeners on a thrill ride of a road trip – and depicts the human race at the brink of a future as catastrophic as it is deceptively beautiful.

INTERVIEW With L.A. Weatherly


Welcome to Bewitching Books!
Let me first just say I loved Angel Burn I devoured it! It was amazing!

Thank you! I love it, too, so that's music to my ears. 

Would you like to tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

Well, I'm originally from Little Rock, Arkansas, which is where I grew up. I've also lived in Arizona, Idaho, and Oregon, and have now lived in the UK for 15 years with my English husband. Americans always think my accent is English now, but the English still think I sound very American (except for when they think I'm Irish, for some strange reason!) Angel Burn is my 34th published book - 35th if you count the UK version, titled Angel -and is also my first YA novel.

How did you come up with the idea of Angel Burn?

The main characters, Alex and Willow, have been in my head for a long time now. I knew that I wanted to write a love story around them where the hunter fell in love with the hunted; it was just a matter of finding the right story. A supernatural aspect felt right, because then Alex, who I knew would be an assassin, could be saving the world rather than being on the wrong side of the law. ;) I played with a lot of ideas, but wasn't sure what I wanted to do until one day about a year and a half ago, when I was in a bookstore and saw a display of non-fiction angel books...and suddenly thought, 'What if angels aren't what they seem...?' The story came together very quickly after that!

How did you come up with Alex (He is an amazing character)?

Thank you! But I have to say that I didn't come up with Alex. He just is who he is - by some wonderful blessing of the writing gods, he came to me fully formed years ago, and has been hanging around in my head ever since, demanding that I find a story for him. 
Did music have any influence on the book (I loved the playlist)?

I love the playlist, too! It was created by the fantabulous Anna Howarth at Usborne, the UK publisher. Music didn't have an influence in the creation of the book, but it definitely did in the writing of it. I like to listen to what I think of as 'soundtrack' music while I write - music which is dramatic and emotional, but doesn't have words (or at least not words in English, which I might find distracting). There were several CDs that I played almost non-stop when writing Angel Burn, by Sarah Class and Karl Jenkins. Currently I'm listening to a lot of Bear McCreary, who was the composer for the recent Battlestar Galactica TV series. Wonderful music; I can just see the scenes playing out in front of me on the big screen as I type away! (I also listen to the playlist a lot, and have given Alex a Kings of Leon t-shirt in Angel Fire, the sequel, in honor of it.)

Was it difficult coming up with the title?

The UK title is Angel; it was actually Candlewick's idea to re-title it Angel Burn in the US - which is such a completely perfect title for it that I have no idea why I didn't think of it myself. Especially seeing it on the cover, where the word 'Burn' has such an eerie dominance.

Did you have a choice in the cover (It is beautiful!)?

Thank you, I think so, too! No, it was a total surprise to me, but I couldn't be more thrilled with it. I carry a photo of it on my phone and bore everyone I see with it. (This is not a joke. I do actually do this.) 

How about the latest news on you? 

My life at the moment is pretty much consumed with writing Angel Fire, the sequel to Angel Burn. I'm in that totally obsessive stage now where I can just about see light at the end of the tunnel (if I squint and wear my glasses), and really can't do anything else apart from eating, drinking and breathing the story. I think my husband is looking forward to hearing less about Alex, Willow and the other characters someday - or at least not having my eyes glaze over when he's talking to me anymore. ;)

Was any characters based on anyone close to you?

No, not really. Characters just sort of come to me; writing about them is a process of getting to know them, rather than 'creating' them, per se. Though having said that, I think we've all known a Beth Hartley in high school - the beautiful perfectionist over-achiever who always gets straight As. And since I'm from the south myself, Cully is probably broadly influenced from people I've known there. (I LOVED Cully; he was so much fun to write!)

When your not writing what do you do to unwind?

'Not writing'? Sorry, you appear to have lapsed into some strange language which I don't understand... no, just kidding! I love to cook - it's a great way to unwind at the end of the day, and even better, I tend to get story ideas and insights into the scenes that I'm working on as I do it. Something about chopping and stirring must be very conducive to the creative process. I love walking, too, and the same thing goes for that.

How long did it take to write Angel Burn?

Well, I had the characters in my head for well over a decade before I wrote it - but then once I finally found the right story idea for them, it all came together pretty rapidly and almost seemed to write itself. So, on the one hand it took over ten years, and on the other about seven or eight months.

Who is your favorite character in Angel Burn?

Oh, tough question! If I'm honest, I'd have to say Alex, since I'm as in love with him as Willow is. ;) But I absolutely adore Willow as a character, too - I love the fact that she's a strong female character who doesn't NEED a boyfriend, and is completely capable of making her own decisions.

RANDOM::

If you had to pick three things to take with you on an desert Island what would they be?

Hmm. Is this an uninhabited desert island, where I have to eke out my survival? Or some place like Bermuda, with white sand and luxury hotels? 

If the first option: a shortwave radio so I can call for help (I am so not a roughing it girl); a survival kit that includes things like fish hooks, etc.; and some sort of instant hut that I could live in. 
If the second option - a good beach read, sunscreen, and my credit card!

This or that:
Coke or Pepsi: Coke
Cat or Dog: Cat
Car or truck: Car
Laptop or Computer: Laptop (I should have said 'computer' there, to make it all 'c's...)

Is there a question you wish I would have asked? Whats the question and your answer?


How about..."Did anything happen during the writing of Angel Burn that you didn't expect?" And the answer is yes, definitely. The one thing I always KNEW was going to happen in Angel Burn was that Alex was going to kidnap Willow to take her to New Mexico with him. I originally wrote the whole road-trip sequence that way, but then when I read it over, it just Did. Not. Work. The physical realities of how you might keep someone captive on such a long trip made Alex such an unpleasant character that I couldn't imagine anyone falling in love with him - so I had to find a reason why Willow might want to go with him on her own, instead. It gave me a few sleepless nights (the deadline was looming by then!), but I'm glad I listened to what the characters were telling me and did it their way instead!

Thank you for some great questions, Kati - I really enjoyed them!





Rules:
- Be 13 or older
- Can only enter on one blog duplicates will be deleted.
- Fill out This Form

Extra Entrys:
+1 Follow on Facebook
+1 Follow on Networked Blogs
+1 Leave a comment below

Angel Burn

Author: L.A. Weatherly
Series: Unknown
Publisher: Candlewick
Publication Date: May 24, 2011
How Received: ARC
Rating: 5

Summary:
Willow knows she’s different from other girls, and not just because she loves tinkering with cars. Willow has a gift. She can look into the future and know people’s dreams and hopes, their sorrows and regrets, just by touching them. She has no idea where this power comes from. But the assassin, Alex, does. Gorgeous, mysterious Alex knows more about Willow that Willow herself. He knows that her powers link to dark and dangerous forces, and that he’s one of the few humans left who can fight them. When Alex finds himself falling in love with his sworn enemy, he discovers that nothing is as it seems, least of all good and evil. In the first book in an action-packed romantic trilogy, L. A. Weatherly sends listeners on a thrill ride of a road trip – and depicts the human race at the brink of a future as catastrophic as it is deceptively beautiful.

Review: I started this book online only got four chapters in. I loved it then and I still love it now. This is a non forgettable book. Its amazing and pays great attention to detail. I love how the two story's start out different then intertwine. Now normally I never understand why an author would write in two different point of views but this is just... Wow I loved it it made the chemistry between Alex and Willow more memorizing. When they met its crazy intense that you just cant put the book down even if you need to sleep. The chemistry between Willow and Alex is stunning from the beginning. It is such a strong pull and the fight it I dont know how they did it. But eventually it will be to much to fight anymore. There is so much I want to say about this book but cant because i don't want to post stuff you shouldn't know. Lol. But just saying best book EVER! Ok one of the best books. I started looking for L.A weatherly on Facebook and such as soon as I was just about done with the book. I found out that Angel Burn was originally Published as Angel in the UK. But back to the story. This is one of the most romantic most touching books I have EVER read. I can not wait for Angel Fire in October this year! I completely recomend this book. This is a must read all the way!

Thank you Candlewick press for sending me an ARC!
Review by Kati

Weekend Brain Parties!

Last Weeks (well, 2 weeks ago)'s Question:
Which royal person majorly influenced ballet?

Correct Answer(s):
King Louis XIV (King of England)
Catherine Di Mendi (Queen of France)

This weeks question:
What are the names of the workers at PrincessReviews?

Hint:
The answer is found somewhere on this site!