Friday, September 30, 2011

Advice Posts

Hello! Some blogs have Advice Columns. Some days, I don't know what to review or post about. On these days, I would like to post an "Advice Column". I know you might not want advice from me, but it could also be like a suggestion column where you give me suggestions on the blog.
Please either post questions as comments on here, or email me them at princessreviews at gmx dot com. Thanks!

Thursday, September 29, 2011

Weekend Brain Parties

Last Weekend's Question:
Who wrote the Vampire Diaries?

Answer:
LJ Smith

Bonus:
What channel is it on?

Answer:
the CW

This Weekend's Question:
When is your school's homecoming?

Hint:
There are no wrong answers.

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

Pillow Pets

It's a pillow, it's a pet! It's a pillow pet!
Pillow pets are cute and cuddley pillows in with animal heads. They have a velcro latch so they can become a stuffed animal. I have many and they are cool and awesome. I recommend them.

PS. Sorry this is a short post. I'm tired and I don't feel well and I have to go to dance in a few minutes.

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Dance Studio Instructor

This is a high school report submitted by Tasha Nicole Haight and is credited to Tasha.


Dance Studio Instructors are dance instructors that work and teach in a dance studio. They must specialize in at least one type of dance, such as ballet, jazz, hip hop, or modern. Studio instructors choreograph, or create, dances and teach them to their students. Once the students know the dance, it is the instructor's job to help perfect the dance. The instructor needs to set the dance to music, pick out costumes, and have a recital or competition to show off what his or her students have accomplished.


Anna Pavola, Nicolai Legat, Pierre Beauchamp, Jules Perrot, Valentina Pereyakslavic, Arthur Murray, and Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire are some popular people who were once studio instructors sometime in their life.

To be a studio instructor, college is not required. However, as previously stated, they must specialize in a form of dance. People can specialize in a dance type by having completed a lot of classes of that type of dance and by continuing to go to classes, even when they are an instructor themselves. Studio instructors must be good communicators, be creative and physically fit, be able to teach well, and be able to be honest, fair, and sensitive at the same time. Most importantly, a dance instructor - be it a studio one or not - should love to dance!

Going to college is always a good thing, even if it is not required. If you get hurt and can no longer dance, then you need a back-up plan. College can provide you with that. Some good classes to take in college to become a dance studio instructor are Education, Dance, Business, and Management. Many colleges offer these classes. Butler University, for example, provides a BFA in Performance, BA in Pedagogy, and a BS in Arts Administration. To be admitted into Butler University's dance program, you must also be admitted academically. Kent State also has classes a studio instructor might be interested in, and a common Major-Minor combination at Kent State is a Major in Education and a Minor in Performance.

You could become a studio instructor almost anywhere in the world. You need to be at a dance studio, but geographically most places have studios. The environment is a clean one, where learning is made easy. The starting salary is about $13-25 per hour or class, and can become as much as $50 or more once the instructor is more experienced and has received more credit and a good reputation. Studio instructors can be as young as in High School to start, and can be as old as they want to be until they encounter a physical disability that prevents them from dancing, such as a broken leg, torn ligament, or something of that nature.

Work hours are typically very long in the days, and sometimes even at night. Studio instructors teach classes and sometimes might need to teach private lessons for those who need or want extra help. Job Monkey interviewed a Salsa Dancer who said, "Sometimes I work from 10 in the morning and I don't get home until 10 at night." But the work can pay off and you can be able to advance to being a studio owner, company owner, or professional choreographer if you wish and put forth the effort. If you do become a studio or company owner, one way to Build a Better Business is to update and maintain a website.

As with every career, there are pros and cons, advantages and disadvantages. Some great advantages are that you get paid to do what you love, you get to meet new people, whether they be students, dancers, choreographers, or other instructors, you get to dance all day, and you stay in shape. Unfortunately, there are some disadvantages as well, such as having long work hours, getting little to no rest, and needing to keep your energy level high all the time. But hopefully loving what you do makes up for all the bad things!

Monday, September 26, 2011

Where Have You Gone, Charming Billy?


Title:
Where Have You Gone, Charming Billy?

Author:
Tim O'Brien

Summary: (ClassZone)
Billy Boy Watkins steps on a mine in Vietnam, blowing off his foot. The shock of the incident grips Billy and in his ensuing panic, he dies from a heart attack. Private First Class Paul Berlin, a young, inexperienced soldier, witnesses this event and has an intense reaction to Billy's tragic death. Seized by the irony of a young man literally scaring himself to death, Paul must deal with his own fears as he moves through the jungle with his company later that same day.

About the Author: (Wikipedia)
Tim O'Brien (born October 1, 1946 in Minnesota) is an American novelist who often writes about his experiences in the Vietnam War and the impact the war had on the American servicemen who fought there. He has held the endowed chair at the MFA program of Texas State University-San Marcos several times, from 2003 to 2004, then from 2005 to 2006, and a third time from 2008 to 2009.

I'd Recommend to...
Teachers to use in class

My Rating:
4.7

My Thoughts:
Private First Class Paul Berlin is finishing his first day in the army in the Vietnam War. He is scared senseless and pretends that he is not a solider in a war and that he is back home camping. When Tony, or Buff, talks to him about Billy Boy Watkins's death, Paul cannot stop laughing. Billy Boy died of a heart attack because he was so scared. The story tells of Billy Boy's death and Paul's non-ability to stop laughing and Paul's own fears. It is a short story and a good one to read about war and how though soldiers are thought to be brave and courageous, they are still human and are still scared.

Sunday, September 25, 2011

How to Interpret Your Dreams: Guest Post by Jimmy Henderson

How to interpret your dreams


By Jimmy Henderson

Dreams can be a means to self-or spiritual development, as they are an easy way of receiving information on aspects of our personality that need further work. We also read in sacred scriptures that angels can appear to us in dreams. They can therefore also be a source of guidance.

Keep a dream journal

Keeping a dream-journal is a valuable tool in remembering your dreams, as they usually fade very quickly. You will discover that if you write the details of your dreams down immediately after you wake, your process of recall will become easier. The journal also helps you to provide structure to your work of interpreting the dream.

Dreams are assembled in your subconscious. When you dream, your subconscious is communicating with you by presenting symbolic images in a dramatised and metaphorical form. Being able to record your own ‘language’ of dream-images in a journal will therefore help you interpret your dreams as well as any other visions you may encounter during your spiritual work.

Some dream-images are quite common, as our symbolic processes are the same. However, their meaning usually differs as a result of each person’s unique background and past experiences. I will therefore be supplying you with basic rules and guidelines to help you explore and interpret your own exciting and enigmatic world of dreams.

The dimensions of your dream

The way your dream is put together is very important as it contains elements or clues to its meaning hidden within its context, structure, form and composition. It also uses your present view of the world and framework of concepts, beliefs and ideas. There are a number of different dimensions or levels in your dreams, each having its own set of symbols and meanings. For instance, the background always suggests the context or theme of the message. Try to recall if your dream was light or dark and involved a natural scene or buildings of some sort. What you see as the background is only a clue to the underlying theme of the dream and should not be taken literally. For instance, the sea is often considered a metaphor for the ebb and flow of everyday life, with tides flowing in and out as events unfold. A dream playing out against the backdrop of the sea would probably suggest a problem or situation arising in your normal day-to-day life which requires attention. Likewise, a dream-scene taking place in a desert (which is usually desolate), may suggest a situation in which you feel isolated and alone and are seeking assistance. A dream playing out in semi-darkness may indicate that you are in a crisis (having trouble seeing your way forward). The idea is find a connection between the background of your dream and your present circumstances, needs or state of mind, by looking at the symbolism involved.

Once you have jotted down the background details, the next important step is to remember the immediate surroundings in your dream. This will provide you with more information on your present situation and state of mind as well as your outlook on the world. For instance, in ‘looking out’ onto the world, you would normally use the windows of your home or office. And in your dream, any building in which you find yourself would be a metaphor for ‘where you are’ at the moment. Try to recall the characteristics of the structure, as these can usually be related to your current situation or world-view. For example, a ‘small’ window could suggest your having a limited outlook on life. A dark and damp building could relate to your being in an unpleasant situation or having a negative view of the world. And a building or house in shambles could suggest that your present situation, state of mind or outlook, is chaotic.

Moving away from the immediate surroundings in your dream, focus on the activity which took place. The type of drama, scenario or situation that is being played out, reveals the content of the message, which as I said, could be related to an unfulfilled need in your life or to some other issue which requires attention. You now need to ask yourself how the activity in your dream can be applied (metaphorically) or related (symbolically) to your present situation. For instance, a scene involving travel could be a call for change, or the broadening of your boundaries and the opening of your mind. A battle or conflict in your dream could be referring to a similar situation within yourself. Any threatening situation may be a warning of a matter that urgently needs to be resolved, something which is a real threat to your mental well-being or inner peace.

The next dimension involves the actual images, characters and objects that were presented. In terms of Gestalt psychology, every object or person (character) in a dream represents a certain aspect of yourself and you will need to ask yourself what aspect of your personality the figure represented. Look at the attributes of the characters involved. Were they large or small, aggressive or loving, threatening or supportive? For example, a poor, abused and helpless child could suggest your wounded ‘inner child’. A richly dressed, opulent figure could symbolically point to abundance or a desire for riches, depending on the context and what actions are taking place. For example, a fight with another figure in your dream could be pointing to a conflict within yourself that needs to be resolved.

Finally, consider each object that appeared in your dream. Each will have a particular symbolic significance and add detail to the final meaning of your dream. Objects can often be interpreted in terms of their practical uses or effects in everyday life and applied (metaphorically) to your present situation or path in life. For instance, a large boulder on your path would suggest an obstacle to be overcome and a crossroads, a decision to be made. Once again, the guideline is to consider what you will need to do in real life when confronted with such a situation or object and re-phrase the answer in a metaphorical form.

To unlock the final meaning and message of the dream, you will need to learn to link and combine the information obtained from each level or dimension of symbols, into an integrated whole. This is a straightforward process which involves applying your knowledge and reasoning.



The role of intuition

Your intuition can also play a great role in interpreting your dreams. You can actually learn to ‘sense' the meaning of dream-scenes, activities, characters and objects with practice. The development of intuition will be discussed in a later article.



¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬

Jimmy Henderson a well-known metaphysical teacher and regular radio talk show guest. He is the author of a number of articles as well as two self-help books entitled ‘Multi-Dimensional Thinking’ and ‘Multi-Dimensional Perception’ which are available on Amazon.com.

And through his website www.jimmyhendersonbooks.com

Saturday, September 24, 2011

Intution and the Ego-Voice: Guest Post by Jimmy Henderson


Intuition and the ego–voice

By Jimmy Henderson
We all presently function under the guise of a false sense of self or ‘ego’ formed by our experiences in this world. The ego is not who we really are, but is little more than an accumulation of self-awareness surrounded by a collection of self-centred thoughts and beliefs, doubts, fears and insecurities. Somewhere in the midst of all this clutter is still that oasis of pure consciousness (our true nature or authentic self) which sometimes reveals itself in moments of guidance, insight and intuition.

This self-limiting chatter from the ego is usually known as self-talk or mind-talk. However, I prefer the term ‘ego-voice’, which links it clearly back to our self-image and feelings of self-esteem. Put simply, the ego-voice is that which we are continually telling ourselves, and, unfortunately, in most challenging situations, usually takes the form of negative self-statements or beliefs. For example, ‘I will never accomplish this’, ‘I am not good enough’, or ‘I will never find anyone else’. This is not intuition, which originates on a far higher level than the ego. And when working with intuition, it will be important to distinguish between the ego–voice and true intuitive messages.

There are a few guidelines which will help you in this regard. For instance, the ego-voice is usually quite self-deprecating, loud and persistent, whereas true intuitions are constructive, more fleeting and gentle. Perhaps this can be better understood using the analogy of a fisherman. It requires years of practice and dedication in order to be successful at fishing. I have seen them standing patiently for long hours in the early hours of the morning. If you speak to them they always have a prior expectation and a high level of confidence that they will catch a fish. When the line has been cast, an experienced fisherman can tell the difference between the subtle nibble of a fish, the tugs or movements of the currents and being stuck in the rocks. A bite is fleeting and subtle, but still precise. The fisherman responds quickly and without thinking. It is only once the fish has been properly hooked that he or she will reel it in. Once the fish is landed, fishermen are always very happy and grateful for this gift of the sea.

Let us apply this analogy to our own attempts at working with intuition. It takes time to perfect our intuition (practice and dedication). Second, we should always reveal an expectation and full confidence that the intuition will be forthcoming. Third, we can learn to tell the difference between a true intuition, the ego-voice, or normal conscious thinking. A true intuition is also fleeting, transient, yet immediate and precise. There is no thinking involved. If it is in the form of an image, the impression will remain briefly even if our attention lapses for a moment, whereas an impression or image produced by an overactive imagination will disappear as soon as our attention is shifted. Any intuitive message should receive an immediate acknowledgement and expression of gratitude. This cements our relationship with our subconscious mind.

Controlling the ego-voice

Our intuition works best with a quiet and balanced state of mind. And the good news is that the chatter and mind-content that produces the ego-voice can be stilled and eventually cleared of negativity. This stillness comes from the rediscovery of our inner spiritual centre through the practice of meditation. And the ego-voice which tells us that we are a failure or that no-one cares can be directly challenged through counselling or the use of positive affirmations.



Jimmy Henderson is a metaphysical teacher and author of a number of self-help books and articles. www.jimmyhendersonbooks.com

Friday, September 23, 2011

Mind-Techniques for Motivation and Success: Guest Post by Jimmy Henderson

Mind-techniques for motivation and success


By Jimmy Henderson

We all have a subconscious part of our mind which functions as a sort of ‘automatic pilot’ to regulate our bodily functions such as breathing and heartbeat as well as some important mental activities. Throughout our lives we have filled up this subconscious mind with beliefs about ourselves which form unwritten ‘rules’ and govern our thinking and perceptions. The problem is that, if these beliefs are limiting or negative, they can reduce our level of motivation and chances of success.

If we really wish to be self-motivated and achieve success, we have to create the psychological space for this to happen by seeing ourselves as having an almost limitless potential and not allowing ourselves to be governed by these self-imposed limits. Fortunately, research has shown that we can change these negative internal ‘rules’ simply by assimilating powerful new thoughts and ideas about ourselves and the world. And there are a number of subliminal mind-techniques we can use to do this:



Affirmations

Affirmations are positive statements directed at self-empowerment which we repeat to ourselves over and over until they filter through into our subconscious mind where they replace the negative beliefs. For example,


• ‘I release all negative thoughts about myself’

• ‘I am a positive and successful person’

• ‘I will not allow this person, situation or event to hold me back’

• ‘I will not be bothered by the negativity of others’



It often helps to stand in front of a mirror when we do this. Affirmations should be repeated at least three times a day.



Intentions

An intention is more powerful than an affirmation, but requires a very specific state of mind, being a single and precise thought as to exactly what we expect or require from ourselves. It is like an instruction to our subconscious mind. However, it must be simply-worded and unambiguous. It can be said out aloud, or in our minds, but it is useful to begin by stating these intentions verbally until we become used to the process.

Here are a number of examples:

• ‘I now remove all negative thoughts from my mind’

• ‘I now begin this project with the view of success’

• ‘I now open my mind to only thoughts of success’



The power of an intention is that there is no hesitation or doubt, and this is proven by saying it only once with total confidence and conviction, then releasing it by putting it out of our minds. Once we have set the intention, we need to proceed with our next action with the full belief that what we have said, will actually happen.



Meditation

Our state of mind is very important for motivation and success, and we can easily change this by using certain mental exercises. Research has shown that the best state for reducing anxiety and reaching a point of focus, clarity and creativity is the Alpha wave state. This is a low frequency brainwave pattern which has been shown to be ideal for relaxation and working with the mind. When practicing this technique, soft, meditative music can also be played to enhance the effect.



A simple method of reaching this state is by means of slow counting and moving our focus away from our surroundings to our breathing.



For example, sit quietly and comfortably, close your eyes and begin to breathe to a count of one to four. Focus on nothing else but the counting (either aloud or in your mind).

Breathe in 1,2,3,4, hold your breath, 1,2,3,4, breathe out 1,2,3,4, hold your breath 1,2,3,4, breathe in 1,2,3,4, and so on.

Carry on with the counting and breathing until your mind is free of all thought, completely quiet and you feel totally relaxed.



Try to meditate in this way for at least twenty seconds a few times each day. This will help to clear your mind of distractions and provide you with a deeper self-awareness and insight which are useful for decision-making and ultimately, success.



Visualization

Research also shows that our subconscious mind cannot always differentiate between an inner (imagined) experience and an identical real-life situation. An example of this would be the cold sweats, rapid breathing and increased heart-rate we experience during a bad dream.



Second, we all have the power to create a mental picture of any scene or situation within our consciousness. And this has a similar effect on our body and emotional state as what would occur had we experienced this event in real-life. In other words, we can change our negative and limiting internal ‘rules’, as well as de-motivating emotional states, simply by sitting quietly and visualizing ourselves as happy and achieving a goal or a desired outcome in our career.



This sounds a bit like daydreaming, but it is far more focused and powerful, and as I said, can change our subconscious feelings and self-beliefs, making us feel more confident and positive, at least for a while. However, over time these feelings can become embedded in our subconscious and bring about real change. In fact, psychological research has shown that the more positive and confident actions resulting from this exercise can actually become a self-fulfilling prophecy and attract those very situations which we have visualized.



This exercise can also be used in conjunction with a vision-board, in which we paste or stick

cut-out pictures representing our desired successes on a board, and use these pictures as a basis for our visualization.



Jimmy Henderson is a trauma counsellor as well as a well-known metaphysical teacher and regular radio talk show guest. He is the author of a number of articles as well as two self-help books working with the power of the mind entitled ‘Multi-Dimensional Thinking’ and ‘Multi-Dimensional Perception’ which are available at Exclusive books. He is currently completing his MA degree in Cognitive Psychology with UNISA.





Thursday, September 22, 2011

Weekend Brain Parties

Last Weekend's Question:
When is Halloween?

Answer:
October 31.
It should hurry up!

Bonus:
What will you be?

Answer:
there is no correct answer.

This Weekend's Question:
Who wrote The Vampire Diaries?

Hint:
the books, not tv show - tho the show was based off the books.

Bonus:
What channel is the TV show on?

Hint:
its on Thursdays. 

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Cat Calls

Cat Calls (FREE short story)Title:
Cat Calls

Author:
Cynthia Leitich Smith

About the Author: (her website)

New York Times best-selling and award-winning author Cynthia Leitich Smith writes fiction for everyone, but she has a particular affection for young readers, from kids to twenty-somethings.
Cynthia's fiction is noted for its diversity, humor, lyricism, imaginativeness, compelling action, and mid-to-southwestern settings.

Summary: (her website)
none

I'd Recommend To....
anyone

My Rating:
4.8/5

My Thoughts:
Cat Calls is a free short story on Amazon.com. It's about a girl named Tiffany whose father died before she was born. She gets to spend the whole summer with her grandmother who is a physic fortune teller and who is leaving Tiffany to  be the teller tonight. By herself. The first fortune turns out horrible, but then she starts to get the hang of things. When she has a vision about Trevor that scares her, she goes after him, only to find out something extremely interesting and amazing.
It was a really good short story and it really makes me want to read more books by Cynthia. I suggest you check it out. 

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

The Leap

Title:
The Leap

Author:
Louise Erdrich

About the Author: (goodreads)
Karen Louise Erdrich is a Native American author of novels, poetry, and children's books. She is an enrolled member of the Anishinaabe nation (also known as Ojibway and Chippewa). She is widely acclaimed as one of the most significant Native writers of the second wave of what critic Kenneth Lincoln has called the Native American Renaissance.

Summary: (goodreads)
none

I'd Recommend to...
Anyone

My Rating::
4.7/5

My Thoughts:
The narrarator owes her life to her mother 3 times. The first is when a tragic accident kills her mother's first husband, and her sister. Her mother was Anna of the Flying Avalons and one afternoon they were performing and out of nowhere a storm errupts. Lightning stikes the tent, killing Harry and burning Anna's hands. In the hospital, she meets her second husband, the narrator's father, becoming the second time her life belongs to her. The last is when a fire starts and the narrator is trapped in her room. Her mother uses her acrobatic skills to swing into the house and save her child. They jump out of the window.
That took some real courage on Anna's behalf. The child really couldn't help being held onto while her mother jumped. For you see, it was when Anna was falling at the accident in the circus that she could have died and that her first child did die. It took a lot of guts for her to use her acrobatics again to save her child. That just goes to show you what a mother will do for her kid.
We read this book in English 2 Honors last week and it was a cute short story. Basically, the whole book is one big flashback except fot the begining and some little sentences when she's saying that its one of the three times.

Monday, September 19, 2011

The Pedestrian

Title:
The Pedestrian

Author:
Ray Bradbury

About the Author: (goodreads)
Ray Bradbury, American novelist, short story writer, essayist, playwright, screenwriter and poet, was born August 22, 1920 in Waukegan, Illinois. He graduated from a Los Angeles high school in 1938. Although his formal education ended there, he became a "student of life," selling newspapers on L.A. street corners from 1938 to 1942, spending his nights in the public library and his days at the typewriter. He became a full-time writer in 1943, and contributed numerous short stories to periodicals before publishing a collection of them, Dark Carnival, in 1947.

Summary: (goodreads)
none

I'd Recommend to....
Anyone

My Rating:
4/5

My Thoughts:
Its a dark, cold, November night in the year 2053. Leonard Mead is out for a walk. This is unusual -no, unheard of! No one goes out and walks anymore, they all just sit infront of their televisions, rotting away like a bunch of couch potatoes. Everyone execpt Leonard. Every night for the past 10 years he has gone out for a walk. He doesn't even own a television set!
As he is out, minding his own business, talking to the houses he passes, a robot police car - the only one for 3 MILLION people - stops him. When asked what he is doing, he replies walking, and when asked why, he replies to see and to walk. These answers do not satisfy the police car, and poor Leonard is arrested.
Leonard exemplifies mental courage and the courage to be different. His house is warm and bright while everyone else's is like tombstones, and again, he doesn't own a television set when everyone else does. He would rather be out walking then rotting away. He is a writer when no one reads anymore. In all ten years, he has never seen another person walking. It definately takes courage to be different, and he is definately different. Lady GaGa also chooses to be different, and so did Rosa Parks. Rosa refused to give up her seat, showing courage to be different, since everyone else was following the law.
Some people might think Ray Bradbury is being overly pessimistic about the power of television and technology in the future, but remember, when he wrote this story, tv was the latest thing and all anyone wanted to do was watch it. How was he supposed to know that the buzz of it would fade? After all, he really did get stopped by a police man for talking a walk because it was so out of the ordiany.

Sunday, September 18, 2011

Of Mice and Men: The American Dream

I previously reviewed this book, back in September of 2010. This review is more of an intense review of Steinbeck's American Dream as described in Of Mice and Men. This was part of a report I handed in in 9th grade. Again, feel free to critisize in the comments below!

Title:
Of Mice and Men

Author:
John Steinbeck

About the Author: (goodreads)
John Steinbeck III was an American writer. He wrote the Pulitzer Prize-winning novel The Grapes of Wrath, published in 1939 and the novella Of Mice and Men, published in 1937. In all, he wrote twenty-five books, including sixteen novels, six non-fiction books and several collections of short stories.

Summary: (goodreads)
The tragic story of the complex bond between two migrant laborers in Central California. They are George Milton and Lennie Small, itinerant ranch hands who dream of one day owning a small farm. George acts as a father figure to Lennie, who is a very large, simple-minded man, calming him and helping to reign in his immense physical strength.


I'd Recommend to...
8-9th grade
 
My Rating:
4.5
 
My Thoughts:
The American Dream is defined in many ways. Based on some research and this story, the definition that most relates to Of Mice and Men's American Dream is being able to have and create the ideal life with nothing or little to start with. John Steinbeck, the author of Of Mice And Men, does not believe that the American Dream is attainable. If he did, then he would have had less obstacles for his characters to overcome, and at least one of them would have attained the American Dream. Instead all of them did not reach it and some even died, like Curley's wife and Lennie.

George and Lennie had their own American Dream that Candy and Crook also eventually dreamt. The place they are looking to buy is 10 acres with a windmill. "Got a little shack on it, an' a chicken run. Got a kitchen, orchard, cherries, apples, peaches, 'cots, nuts, got a few berries. They's a place for alfalfa and plenty water to flood it." (57) They also want to build a place for rabbits, and a smokehouse to cook the bacon, ham, and sausages they would get from the pigs. They would can the fruit and tomatoes when they came in, and have thick cow or goat cream. They want a place where they can live and belong, without having to run anywhere or get into any trouble. But, like all great rewards, there were some challenges that came first.
There are many challenges toward the American Dream in Of Mice And Men. Even today there are some challenges. Most of the characters in Of Mice and Men have one or more disadvantages. For example, Lennie has the mind of child, even though he is a giant adult. George's main disadvantage is that he must take care of Lennie. There are plenty more as well, like how Crook is black and crippled, or how Candy is old and missing a hand. All of these prevent them from achieving their American Dream. Nowadays, people also have challenges, like not being able to afford something. Cancer and other sicknesses are also problems that happen that could stop you from getting the American Dream.
Even if it was easy to achieve, there would just a be a more higher dream, which would not be attainable. The American Dream keeps you going and pushing yourself. If everyone or anyone could reach it, we wouldn't work as hard, unless there was a new American Dream, which there very well could be. But it would be set higher and be just as impossible as the American Dream now. Some people even question that there is an American Dream.
~Written by Tasha Nicole Haight, 2010.

Saturday, September 17, 2011

Conflict in Relationships: Guest Post by Jimmy Henderson

 CONFLICT IN RELATIONSHIPS


By Jimmy Henderson

There are a number of reasons for conflict and breakdowns in partner to partner relationships. From my own experience, however, I believe one of the main causes to be the human ego or pure selfishness. This occurs when one of the partners entertains thoughts or beliefs that he or she has a right to do or act as they please and tends to dominate the other, resulting in a lop-sided relationship where the winner takes all. This can lead to underlying and strong feelings of resentment and eventual withdrawal on the part of the other partner, who may feel that he or she is not having his or her own needs met or that he or she is losing his or her identity or self-esteem. Couples caught up in such a downward cycle can begin to lead separate lives, lose their feelings of love and intimacy and eventually enter into what can be called an “emotional divorce”, where there is no longer any communication, sharing or interest in the other person. In extreme cases, selfishly motivated thinking and behaviour can lead to emotional or physical abuse.

Our spouse’s or partner’s NEEDS are, and should be, very important to us. I would like to briefly discuss these needs at this point.

Firstly there is the need for ACKNOWLEDGEMENT and SUPPORT. Every person has a need to feel accepted, respected or to be regarded as important, especially when he or she has committed to a relationship. The greatest gift we can give to our partners is the freedom to be themselves. We always need to uplift, encourage and empower each other to be the best we can be, always giving support and praise when it is due. This kind of support needs to be there both in good and bad times. Manipulating or controlling our partner or treating him or her as anything less than a worthy and full partner, will be destructive to his or her self-image and personality and could eventually destroy his or her health as well as our relationship. In my many years of counselling experience, I have often come across wives who even use illness in order to try and get the attention and support they deserve.



Second, all people, especially those involved in relationships, have a need for SECURITY. Part of this sense of security is to feel that we are able to trust and respect our partners insofar as their beliefs, ethics, morality and behaviour is concerned. I am sure you would agree that It would be extremely difficult to trust someone who is out partying every evening when he or she could be at home helping with the kids. The rule here is to use moderation, as going overboard, whether in drinking, partying or being away from home, will only make a concerned spouse or partner nervous and insecure and affect the relationship. Behaving irresponsibly, especially with regard to money, can put a lot of strain on a relationship. A good relationship can often weather the storms of hardship. However, financial problems can only make a bad relationship worse .

Our partners need to see that we are committed to the relationship, are willing to work at it and not merely get up and walk out when the going gets a bit tough. In relationships we become each other's teachers and the lessons are not always easy. In life, we can’t always get what we want and to selfishly expect our spouse or partner to always meet our own needs without any hard work, dedication, time, effort and degree of self-sacrifice on our part, is unreasonable and wrong.

Finally, spouses or partners have a need for INTIMACY. This includes being able to communicate and to share our feelings and thoughts with each other. From my experience, many couples are simply no longer really able to talk to each other or to say what they really feel and think in a decent way. Screaming or shouting at each other is not communication. Partners who do not take the time to at least sit quietly and listen to each other once in a while, can only expect problems with intimacy. This need for intimacy also means being willing to spend time with each other and most importantly, to actually touch or hold each other. Humans “bond” by means of the sensation of touch. Ignoring our partner or being ignored, either by avoiding communication or physical contact with our partner, is a sign of problems to come.

A well-balanced relationship is one where partners communicate reasonably well and most of all, create the space for each other to find fulfilment in themselves and in the relationship. This is done by first respecting each other, in spite of differences of outlook and opinion and having a genuine feeling of caring and concern for the well-being of the other.

If you are experiencing problems in your relationship, it may well be that you are not meeting your partner’s needs in one or more of the above areas and experiencing a reaction. Of course, being willing to acknowledge that we are having problems is the first step in correcting the relationship and being willing to give up our time and energy in doing something about it, would be the second requirement.

Seeking advice from family or friends may not always be the ideal solution, because no-one else can truly know your pain, thoughts and real situation as well as you yourself. Acting on the bad advice of someone who does not truly understand can bring more complications. It is better to seek help from properly trained and empathetic counsellors either from a church or a non-governmental organisation who are involved in community or marital counselling, or else a professional.

I hope that this information will be of benefit to those of you out there who are feeling just a little unhappy in your marriage or present relationship. And to those who have recently ended a marriage or lost a relationship, the good news is that you can love and be loved again.

Jimmy Henderson a trained trauma counsellor and regular radio talk show guest. He is the author of two self-help books entitled ‘Multi-Dimensional Thinking’ and ‘Multi-dimensional Perception’ which are available at Exclusive Books as well as his website www.jimmyhendersonbooks.com

Friday, September 16, 2011

Weekend Brain Parties

Last Weekend's Question:
What year did the terrorist attacks happen on 9/11 in the United States?
Hint:
It was 10 years ago.
Answer:
2001

Bonus:
What grade was Princess Tasha in during the attacks?
Hint:
She is in 10th grade now.
Answer:
Kindergarten
Fun Fact:
We had to stop drawing and coloring and watch it happen on TV, then we had to pray.
For like the rest of the school day.

This Weekend's Question:
When is Halloween?

Hint:
the end of October

Bonus:
What will you be?

Hint:
There is no correct answer. 

Thursday, September 15, 2011

iSearch 2010 - Werewolves



This is a paper about Werewolves that I wrote myself last year for a school project. I hope you enjoy and I hope to get some feedback on it, so please, leave comments on what I can do to make it better, what you liked about it, what you hated about it, etc.
All feedback is greatly appreciated.
Thank you,
Tasha <3


The Story of My Search

"Tyler is a werewolf", said Damon, a vampire on one of my favorite TV shows, The Vampire Diaries. Wow, a werewolf, I thought to myself, Werewolves are awesome. I decided I would research werewolves for my I Search project. I knew some things about werewolves, like that most people think they only change during a full moon, but some turn every night. Others, only turn when it's cold out. I also knew that the 3 main ways to change were to be born into it, to get bit by one, or to be injected with the blood of a werewolf. Some other ways I knew could change them were if they killed someone, even by accident, after they were cursed to be one, and if they kissed a non-purebred werewolf. (The non-purebred had to be born into werewolcy.) I wanted to learn more ways people became werewolves, some werewolf history, and when werewolves changed, along with some other minor things, like what hurts them, and if they were real or not. Because I wanted to research werewolves, I wanted to find out more about when they change, how to become a werewolf, and their history.

In order to do this research project, I had to do many things. First, I had to choose a topic. Then I had to come up with three main questions for it; When do they change, how do people become werewolves, and what are some history facts about werewolves? Once I had my questions, it was time to research. As soon as Ms. Watkins had located books for us to use on Alexandria, I headed into the library to get to work. First, I used an encyclopedia book to receive information. Then I used the databases to get even more information, but most was on Twilight, so I hopped on Google and, with the search words werewolf and werewolves, found an article I could use. Noodletools created a Works Cited page for me, using MLA Advanced Format, with the information I provided. I made a title page, and using QQT (Questions for Quality Thinking) mad good paragraphs with the notes I took, and got started writing this paper about Werewolves, my topic.

The Results of My Search

The History of Werewolves is something I wanted to do more research on. The 15-16th centuries were known as the 1400s and 1500s. Columbus was just discovering America around this time. 200 people believed to be werewolves were killed in Pyrenees in the 14-1500s, because they murdered and ate people and were thought to have shape shifted. People thought werewolves were devil servants, like witches (Guiley 317). It was a harsh time and I do not agree that people should be killed for being, or thought to have been, a werewolf. Werewolves were only feared because they could turn wolf and when wolves, eat livestock, horses, and other animals. Mostly, they are harmless.

While researching the history of werewolves, I found out some history on the word werewolf. "The word 'werewolf' or 'man-wolf' was first recorded in Old English in the 11th century in the Ecclesiastical Ordinances of King Cnut" (Guiley 316). Werewolves are creatures that have the ability to shape shift into wolves, and back into their human form. "The shape-shifting ability is called "kuanthropy" or "cyanthropy" which derives from cyanthrope, or man-dog" (Guiley 315). There are even some things written about werewolves being true or not. "King James 1 of England wrote in his Demonology (1597) that werewolves were not people under the influence of the devil, but suffered from delusions and melancholia, and imitated wolf behavior" (Guiley 317). Others think that werewolves could be no more than witches and other magical creatures. "In many cultures, witches, sorcerers, and other magically empowered shift into the forms of wolves" (Guiley 317).

One of my questions was How do people become werewolves?. A wolf strap is just the pelt of a wolf forming into a belt. "By using a so-called wolf strap, any person could transform himself into a werewolf" (Legends of Germany). All they would need to do to turn is put on the strap. To regain their human form, all they would need is for someone to call out the name of the werewolf. Other ways to change back is to throw a piece of iron or steel over it. It is thought that early humans have created strong bonds with wolves. There is proof that many animal cults have had humans gain animal powers by putting on the animal's skin (Guiley 316).

Involuntary and voluntary are the two main types if werewolves. Cursed people are involuntary werewolves, while voluntary are people who gain magic and can become a werewolf when they want. "Characteristics of both types of werewolves are an insatiable desire for the raw flesh and blood of animals and humans, insatiable sexual lusts, wolfish behavior such as howling and running about on all fours, savage attacks on animal and people, and exhaustion after werewolf episodes end. Voluntary wolves change by completely disrobing, donning a girdle or belt made of wolf skin or human skin, rubbing the body with magical ointment, drinking rainwater out of a wolf's footprints, reciting magical incantations, and being aided by the devil or his demons" (Guiley 318).

The last thing I wanted to research about werewolves were how often they change. In Greek, Norse, Scandinavian, Icelandic, and Teutonic legend, werewolves turn on full moons and are either born into it or ask the devils to turn them (Guiley 316). According to Full Moon Exerts No Pull on Frequency of Epileptic Seizures, a full moon does not affect when a werewolf changes. "Contrary to myth, epileptic seizures are not more common during a full moon", said Selim Benbadis, MD, associate professor of neurology and neurosurgery at the USF College of Medicine. "In fact, we found the number was lowest during a full moon and highest during the moon's last quarter" (Full Moon).

The Reflections of My Search

I learned many things while doing this I-Search paper. For example, when learning about my topic, I learned that a very common way to change into a werewolf is by putting on a wolf pelt, and a way of changing back is putting metal over the wolf form. I learned some things about the reasearch process as well. Revising the thesis statement is something I learned you have to do. Just like I learned, you have to use books, databases, and the internet too. I learned many things about werewolves and the research process, including werewolf history, how to become a werewolf, and how often they change.

Works Cited


Asmus, F, et al. Werewolf Lengends of Germany. University of Pittsburg, 27 Feb. 2010. Web. 10 Nov. 2010. .

Dayton, Leigh. “Half man, half wolf Creatures like werewolves are as old as humanity itself. (This week).” New Scientist 172.2318 (2001): 19(1). Gale PowerSearch. Web. 9 Nov. 2010. .

“Full moon exerts no pull on frequency of epileptic seizures.” NewsRX 19 June 2004, Obesidy. Fitness & Wellness Week ed.: 379. Gale PowerSearch. Web. 9 Nov. 2010. .

Guiley, Rosemary Ellen, ed. The Encyclopedia of Vampires, Werewolves, and Other Monsters. New York: Visionary Living, Inc, 2005. Print.

Phantom, Andrew Dowd. “Conference explores the unexplained (Eau Clare, WI).” Leader-Telegram [Eau Clare, WI] 21 Oct. 2008: n. pag. Gale PowerSearch. Web. 9 Nov. 2010. .



Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Skate Zone, Crofton, MD

The Skate Zone in Crofton, MD is a rollerskating rink. They have an arcade and a place for food. You can either bring your own skates or rent theirs. I went there for a rollerskating trip with Jobs Daughters and I had tons of fun. They do fun games, lights off, backward skate, and more. They play popular music and even have giant televisions playing on the walls. Phineas and Ferb was on while I was there! :D
Its a good place to go if you're looking to go rollerskating in Maryland. I had fun and I'm sure you will, too.

Tuesday, September 13, 2011

DeMolay

DeMolay is the boy equivenent of Job's Daughters. It is another Masonic Youth Organization, but you do not have to be a mason to join, for since they are boys, the adults of the organization hope one day they will become Masons themselves. Each year they're main event is Conclave, and any masonic organization personell may attend. They have lots of dances, too. At the Valentine's Day Dance,they even auction off themselves!
um....The DeMolay are fun to hang out with and its a good group for boys. It looks good on college applications, too and some can even get scholarships. Its definately something to think about joining.

Monday, September 12, 2011

Back-To-School Giveaway WINNER!

RANDOM.ORG was used to generate a number between 1 and 4, since we had 4 comments on the Back-To-School Giveaway post. The number it picked was 1, so therefore....drum roll, please......

JACQUE STENGEL 
has won a copy of 
LITTLE WOMEN: A JUNIOR NOVEL 
by
LOUISA MAY ALCOTT

Congratulations!! Please reply to/send me and email with your address and we will get the book out ASAP!
Thank you!!

Sunday, September 11, 2011

Obama 9/11 Speech: National Unity, Personal Loss - Huffpost Politics on AOL

politics
Obama 9/11 Speech: National Unity, Personal Loss

WASHINGTON — Searching for unity long vanished since the day terrorists astonished America, President Barack Obama will hail national resilience and remember hurting families when he gives the main speech of his Sept. 11 commemorations.

Obama will honor victims at each of the sites where nearly 3,000 people were killed in the 2001 attacks – first at ground zero in lower Manhattan, then in Shanksville, Pa. and at the Pentagon. Yet his only address to the nation will come at night, lasting about 15 minutes during an event at the Kennedy Center in Washington.
The message to expect from the president: America's character is stronger than the blow inflicted by al-Qaida or any other threat to the country, Obama deputy national security adviser Ben Rhodes said Friday in an interview with The Associated Press.
The president also will put an emphasis on how lives have changed for the families affected by 9/11 and for the troops who have served since that day. It has been a period in which more than 6,000 service members have died and 45,000 have been wounded in the Afghanistan and Iraq wars.
"This is something that had an extraordinary toll on individual Americans, and that's what can't be lost amid the broader debates this country has had," said Rhodes, who handles strategic communications for the National Security Council and has been involved in shaping Obama's Sunday remarks.
"You've had families who have had to rebuild their lives. You've had troops that have had to serve. That's very much where his focus is going to be."
Nearly 3,000 people were killed when al-Qaida terrorists hijacked four airplanes and steered them toward the symbols of American democracy and power.
Two planes first crashed into the towers of the World Trade Center, which soon collapsed in fire. One smashed into the Pentagon. And the last one, believed to be intended by hijackers for the White House or the Capitol, plummeted into a Pennsylvania field as passengers fought back to avoid calamity.
The White House insists Obama has no intention to change his plans amid a credible but unconfirmed threat of an al-Qaida attack in New York or Washington around the Sept. 11 anniversary.
After an early departure from Washington, Obama will take part in a formal ceremony Sunday morning in New York, joined by former President George W. Bush among other familiar leaders.
Obama is expected to make a short reading, perhaps a few minutes long.
He will then visit Shanksville and the Pentagon, where broader commemorations will have already taken place, to lay wreaths and meet with family members.
In the evening, Obama will give his remarks during the "Concert for Hope," a ceremony of music and readings intended to offer a sense of renewal.
Rhodes said the president, in looking back at the last decade, will seek to reverse the divisiveness of the national debate without dwelling on it.
He said Obama is likely to make the broader point that the United States has endured a terribly difficult time, from the blow of Sept. 11 to the ensuring wars, and come back to degrade the al-Qaida network, kill Osama bin Laden and begin to wind down two long wars.
Obama has been previewing his message, writing in a USA Today opinion column this week that the United States emerges from its major tests stronger than it was.
"That's the America we were on 9/11 and in the days that followed," Obama wrote. "That's the America we can and must always be."
Compared to the time of the attacks, one-third of people think the willingness of people to help each other out has gotten worse, according to a new poll by The Associated Press-NORC Center for Public Affairs Research. About 45 percent have seen no change. A smaller number, 22 percent say it has improved
The view about unity among leaders is far bleaker. A total of 71 percent of people say bipartisanship and cooperation in government has worsened.
Obama was a state senator in Illinois at the time of the attacks.
He has recalled going home that night and staying up late, diapering and burping his newborn daughter Sasha, who is now 10. Obama said he remembers wondering what kind of world she would be inheriting.
The president and first lady Michele Obama visited Arlington National Cemetery where they paid tribute to members of the military killed in the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan on Saturday.
One day before the 10th anniversary of the Sept. 11 attacks, the Obamas made a pilgrimage to Section 60 of the cemetery. The White House says that's the burial ground for military personnel killed in those two wars. Those conflicts have claimed 6,213 military personnel.
At one gravesite, the Obamas stopped to talk with members of a family who appeared to be visiting a grave. The Obamas chatted a few minutes, posed for pictures and gave out handshakes and hugs.
Then the Obamas, hand in hand, strolled along one of the rows between identical white tombstones, pausing at some markers.

Saturday, September 10, 2011

7 Kinds of Ordinary Catastrophes

7 Kinds of Ordinary CatastrophesTitle:
7 Kinds of Ordinary Catastophes

Author:
Amber Kizer

Genre:
Realistic Fiction

Summary: (Goodreads)
Okay, so here's the deal: there are books about volcanoes erupting and meteorites hitting Earth and plane crashes where the survivors have to eat people—those are extraordinary crises.

That's not what this book is about. I'm more the ordinary catastrophe type. This second semester of my sophomore year, there are basically 7 KINDS OF ORDINARY CATASTROPHES: high school, boys, heartbreak, family, job, friends, and the future.
Well, I guess everyone's life is full of ordinary catastrophes. These are mine. Hi, I'm Gert Garibaldi. Welcome to my crazy life.

About the Author: (Goodreads)
Amber Kizer is not one of those authors who wrote complete books at the age of three and always knew she wanted to be a writer. When she faced a rare chronic pain disorder her freshman year of college, she knew she was going to have to learn to live outside the box. After one writing workshop, she fell in love with telling stores and she’s still going strong. Her characters tend to be opinionated, outspoken, and stubborn—she has no idea where that comes from.

A food lover, she plans trips around menus, wishes cookbooks were scratch and sniff, and loves to make complicated recipes—especially desserts. When she’s not reading from a huge stack, she’s coaxing rose bushes to bloom, watching delightful teen angst on television, or quilting with more joy than skill. She takes her tea black, her custard frozen, and her men witty. She lives in the Seattle area with a menagerie of animals that seems ever changing.
An avid learner, she focused on the writing craft and her unpublished works won awards from PNWA, San Diego RWA, and the Saskatchewan Romance Writers. Her first young adult series sold at auction to Delacorte Press with ONE BUTT CHEEK AT A TIME premiering, in hardcover October 9, 2007. The paperback will be released December 9, 2008
The star of Amber’s series Gert Garibaldi has been called “honest, brash, and outspoken” and her books take on traditionally taboo subjects.
The second in the series FROM BUTT TO BOOTY will be out December 9, 2008. Amber currently has three other books under discussion and looks forward to seeing them on bookshelves in the coming years.
Comfortable in the classroom, with kids or adults, she regularly teaches workshops to all levels of writers. Find her on the web at www.AmberKizer.com or www.OneButtCheek.com, watch a movie-style book preview at www.YouTube.com or listen to an audio excerpt at http://www.booktalkradio.com/.

I'd Recommend To....
High School

My Thoughts:
Gertrude Garibaldi is a sophomore in High School with friends, a boyfriend, a brother, and a family. Everything seems completely fine. But things start to take a turn for the worst when her boyfriend, Stephen, dumps her for her arch enemy, Jenny. Her best friends, Clarice, Maggie, and Adam, have guy troubles of thier own that she tries to help with. Oh, and even when she was going out with Stephen she has a major crush on Lucas. She trys out for soccer to impress him, and because after she backtalks her teacher, she has to. She ends up making Varsity, though the loose almost every game.
After the season is over, her dad makes her get a job. She gets one at a donut shop, thinking it will be fun, but ends up getting sick of it and eventually fired. And if that's not bad enough, her dad experienced a heart attack and had to immediately go through 4-part cardiac surgery bypass on him and they're all suffering through that.
He gets better over time and Mike, her brother, and Heather plan to get married. Heather helps Gert to get a new job at a doctor's office, and she even gets accepted into a Exchange Student program where she gets to visit other countries - and they're willing to give her scholarships for it! Things definately seem to be improving. Oh, did I mention she gets an A on the term paper that its impossible to get an A on? Yeah. She's good, even in a crisis.
This was a book I had recieved quite a while ago to read and review on here, but I got it in EBook format before I had a Kindle, so I just now got to read it. Sorry about the delay!!
Its definately relatable. Maybe not at the parts about her dad, but for the most part, most teenagers can relate to it, which I think makes it easier to understand. It talks a lot about some inappropriate things, so I wouldn't recommend a kid or immature person reading it.

My Rating:
4.2/5

Friday, September 9, 2011

Weekend Brain Parties



Last Weekend's Question:
What type of manicure has a natural color base and white tips?

Answer:
French


This Weekend's Question:

What year did the terrorist attack happen on 9/11?

Hint:

It was 10 years ago.

Bonus:

What grade was Princess Tasha in during the attack?

Hint:

She's currently in 10th grade.

Thursday, September 8, 2011

Sophisticate's Hairstyle Guide

I don't know about you, but when its time to get a haircut, I look all over the place- the internet, hair books, and magazines. One of these magazine's is Sophisticate's Hairstyle Guide. It is full of different hair ideas. From styles you can do yourself, to makeovers by Jersilious cast members, to interviews from the lasted television stars, to cut-and-snip pictures of haircuts, and more, this magazine has it all. A major reason I get this one instead of other hairstyle magazines is that its the cheapest in price. Most of the hairstyles aren't really me, but its still a good magazine to look at when its time for a new 'do.

Wednesday, September 7, 2011

Goodbye to Some

Hello. I'm sad to say this, but we have lost a few members! If you would like, feel free to say some nice things about them on this post.
People that have once worked for PrincessReviews that no longer do:
Erin Messer
Katelyn Gunderson
Cameron Sellner
Kati Lear
April Xu
Shi Nu Lim

We are sorry things could not work out and hope you are happy. =)

Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Back-To-School Giveaway

Well, it's now September 6th - the day after labor day. This means everyone should be back in school! I know, that's kind of a bummer, but not completely! That means its time for a giveaway on PrincessReviews!
We are giving away a paperback copy of Little Women by Louisa May Alcott, a Junior Classics for Young Readers.
To enter, just leave a comment with your email. You must be a GFC follower of PrincessReviews.
That's it! Its that simple!
You have from now until Saturday, September 10, 2011 to enter!
Good luck!

Monday, September 5, 2011

The Smurfs

The Smurfs PosterMovie:
The Smurfs

Length:
103 minutes

Rating:
PG

Genres:
Animation, Adventure, Comedy

Director:
Raja Gosnell

Writers:
Peyo, J. David Stemm

Stars: (IMDb)
Hank Azaria, Katy Perry, Jonathon Winters, Neil Patrick Harris

Summary: (IMDb)

When the evil wizard Gargamel chases the tiny blue Smurfs out of their village, they tumble from their magical world and into ours.  


My Thoughts:
Like most 3D movies these days, it didn't seem very 3D-ish to me. But it was a cute movie.
Poor Clumsy let Gargamel into the Smurf Village and got chased into a waterfall vortex, sending 5 smurfs into New York City where they meet two new friends and eventually stop Gargamel and find their way home.
My sister and grandmother liked it a lot.

Sunday, September 4, 2011

Airel

AirelTitle:
Airel

Author(s):
Arron Patterson, Chris White

Summary: (Goodreads)
All Airel ever wanted to be was normal, to disappear into the crowd. But bloodlines can produce surprises, like sudden mysterious illness. Then there’s Michael Alexander, the new guy in school, who is impossibly gorgeous…and captivated by her. Somewhere in the back of her mind she can hear the sound of pages turning, and another, older story being written. It is the story of an ancient family, of great warriors, of the Sword of Light, and the struggle against an evil so terrible, so far-reaching, that it threatens everything she hopes for even now. Airel knew change would be inevitable as life went on. But can she hold on when murder and darkness begin to close in and take away everything she loves? Will she have what it takes when the truth is finally revealed?


My Rating:
4.7/5


I'd Recommend to....
12+


My Thoughts:
This book reminded me a lot of The Blood of Cain
One fateful moment has changed Airel's life forever. Imagine, you walk into a crowded coffee shop before school to get a drink, and see a stranger. That instant has changed your life forever and you are now not even human. Well, it happened to Airel! Now she is witnessing murders, being kidnapped, falling in love, and getting her heart broken. Oh, and her love's job in life is to kill her. But her new found abilities are going to make that a bit difficult for him, even if she's madly head-over-heels for him.
And then there's the story of Kreios, a Son of God, and his brother, Tengu, the Seer, who wants to kill all Sons and Daughters of God. Not to mention Stan, who wants to become the new Seer. Yeah, theres a lot going on, and it can be confusing at times, but hey, that just makes it more real.
In the beginning of the story, when Airel is just a normal teenaged girl, every girl can relate to her, which sometimes makes the story hard to bear. But as she goes through some of her wierd adventures, it becomes more of the story we're all looking for when we pick up a good book, and it's easy to get lost into it and visualize it. I think this would make a really good movie, and though I'm not a big fan of movies, it'd be one I'd have to see!
Michael is the 2nd book in the Airel Saga, and I'm definately going to have to check it out!! You should, too!

Keep Reading,
Tasha

Saturday, September 3, 2011

MidShore Crab Feast

  
Amber and Trish talking to people about the Masonic Youth.
Last Sunday, right before Hurricane Irene became the most destructive, me, my sister, and my mom went to the Masonic Mid-Shore Crab Feast to promote the Masonic Youth, such as Job's Daughters, DeMolay, and Rainbow. It was raining pretty hard, as Hurricane Irene had already started. But it wasn't cancelled, so we drove to Easton, MD. 
We had planned on setting up a table and just leaving it for people to come look at and take some information from, but the wind had a different idea. Each time we set it up, the posters and fliers would be blown away, so we packed it up and decided to just go from table to table after we ate. 
The food was good, but not as good as I thought it would be. They had plenty of food, though, since most people did not show up because of the hurricane. They had crabs (of course), hamburgers, cheeseburgers, hot dogs, crab cakes, fried chicken, corn, watermelon, coleslaw, shrimp, macaroni salad, and clams. It was a lot of food, and no one would go hungry. 
Some people came from Bel Air, MD, others from La Plata, MD. That's a long way away from Easton, Md! Others were local, such as Ridgely, Md, and Easton. And to come during a hurricane as well! These people had some major determination! It was a good turnout, about 50 people, because it was during a hurricane. Over 300 had already ordered tickets to it before the hurricane hit, so compared to that, it wasn't a lot of people. But oh well. We got 2 potential Rainbow Girls/Jobs Daughters, and 2 potential DeMolays, so it was pretty good, I'd say. 

Friday, September 2, 2011

AdHere

Hello! AdHere is a blog where your blog gets advertised - for free! Check it out by going to my profile and clicking on the blog AdHere! It's a great way to get more viewers to your blog. Just email princessreviews@gmx.com your blog name, link, and description. Make sure the subject is ADVERTISE ON ADHERE BLOG! and it'll go up immediately! Have fun advertising for free on AdHere!

Thursday, September 1, 2011

Darkfall

The Healing Wars: Book III: DarkfallTitle:
Darkfall

Author:
Janice Hardy

Series:
The Healing Wars
Book:
3

Publication:
Balzer + Bray
October 4, 2011

About the Author: (back of book)
Janice Hardy is also the author of THE SHIFTER and BLUE FIRE, the first two books in the Healing Wars trilogy. She lives in Georgia with her husband, four cats, and one nervous freshwater eel. You can visit Janice online at http://www.janicehardy.com/.

Summary: (back of book)
War has come. Nya's the one who brought it. And the people love her for it.
With Baseer in shambles and Geveg now an impenetrable military stronghold, Nya and the Underground have fled to a safer location-without Tali. Nya is guilt ridden over leaving her sister behind and vows to find her, but with the rebellion in full swing and refugees flooding the Three Territories, she fears she never will.
The Duke, desperate to reclaim the throne as his own, has rallied his powerful army. And they are on the move, destroying anyone who gets in the way.
To save her sister, her family, and her people, Nya needs to stay ahead of the Duke's army and find a way to build one of her own. Past hurts must be healed, past wrongs must be righted, and Nya must decide: Is she merely a pawn in the rebellion, a symbol of hope-or is she ready to be a hero?

My Rating:
4.6/5

I'd Reccomend to...
people who have read the first 2 books!
Young Adults/Middle Schoolers

First Sentence:
(THIS IS AN ARC, SO IT MIGHT NOT BE THE FIRST SENTENCE OF THE ACTUAL BOOK!!)
The missing are harder to accept than the lost.

My Thoughts:
Okay, so, let me just start out by saying that I did not read books 1 or 2 in the series. This had me completely baffled at some points, though for most of it, it was fairly easy to understand. I think in general it would have been much, much more comprehendable if it had a map on the first two pages like some books do. Again, I had the Advanced Review Copy, not the acutal book, so please don't come post negative comments if the real book does have a map on it!
I gave you the summary from the back of the book and I'm really tired, so I'm not going to write my own summary right now - I'm sorry! If you truly want me to, leave me a comment saying so and I will. Just not tonight.
I can say that while reading it, for most parts, I was thinking Wow, this would make a great movie! and it really would! I hope it does eventually make it into a movie - I'd love to watch it! I can also say I'm pretty sure I fully understand the cover image, after I read to the end. Its really clever and I'm glad that it has to do with a major turning point in the story. Of course, after I read that far, I had to finish it to see if they would stay alive or not!! The good thing is....Oh wait! I can't tell you because that would be like the biggest spoiler of all time!!! So you're gonna have to read it to find out!!
I really liked this book and I think most people would, its just that it'd make more sense if you read the first two books prior to reading this one - the third one. And you have time to read the first two, too, since this book doesn't come on sale until October 4, 2011!! Thats over a month away, so get reading so that by then you'll be ready for this book! :D

Happy reading,
PrincessTasha<3