Sunday, October 30, 2011

Geraldo No Last Name

Title:
Geraldo No Last Name

Author:
Sandra Cisneros

I'd Recommend to...
English students

My Rating:
2/5

My Thoughts:
Geraldo No Last Name is about Marin's friend telling the story of what happened to Marin. She met a guy named Geraldo at a dance, then he was killed in a hit and run car accident. She was the last person to see him alive, so she has been questioned by many.
This is an extreemely short story - not even two pages long. We read it in English to learn about style, and most of the students didn't like the story at all. I didn't think it was that bad, but it definatley seemed a bit pointless, and I didn't really get anything out of it. It didn't even help me learn about style, which it was supposed to.

Saturday, October 29, 2011

To Kill a Mockingbird

Title:
To Kill a Mockingbird

Author:
Harper Lee

Published:
1960

Summary: (back of the 50th Edition book)
The unforgettable novel of a childhood in a sleepy, Southern town and the crisis of conscience that rocked it, To Kill a Mockingbird became both an instant bestseller and a critical success when it was first published in 1960. It went on to win the Pulitzer Prize in 1961 and was later made into an Academy Award-winning film, also a classic.
Compassionate, dramatic, and deeply moving, To Kill a Mockingbird takes readers to the roots of human behavior-to innocence and experience, kindness and cruelty, love and hatred, humor and pathos. Now with over 18 million copies in print and translated into ten languages, this regional story by a young Alabama woman claims universal appeal.
Harper Lee always considered her book to be a simple love story. Today it is regarded a s masterpiece of American literature.

I'd Recommend to:
High School and College students

Rating:
3.5/5

My Thoughts:
“Jem was a born hero” (Lee 52). Jem, his sister, Scout, their father, Atticus, and their friend, Dill, are all a part of the stories that are To Kill a Mockingbird. Originally a bunch of short stories, Harper Lee, author of To Kill a Mockingbird, put them together to create a bestseller, winning herself a Pulitzer Prize in the process. It was published in 1960, and has never been out of print since. It’s even sold over a million copies every year! It has inspired many – politicians, artists, writers, and even regular people. It’s been so inspiring that a well-seen movie has come out of it. Based on the recognition it has received along with the life lessons Atticus and the other adults in the book have taught the children and the fact that there are still racial and bias injustices nowadays, it is obvious that Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird is clearly of strong contemporary significance, not merely pleasant, undemanding reading.

Children, as well as some adults, of today’s time can still apply the life lessons taught in To Kill a Mockingbird, being one of the reasons it is of strong contemporary significance. Though he taught many of the lessons in the book, Atticus did not teach this one. The neighbor, Miss Maudie did. When Scout was questioning the Radleys, neighbors of the Finches, about their social activities and religion, Miss Maudie wisely stated, “There are just some kind of men who-who’re so busy worrying about the next world they’ve never learned to live in this one” (Lee 60). The underlying message in this quote is to live in the moment. Do not always worry about what will happen way in the future, because if it prevents you from having fun now, it’s not always worth it. Miss Maudie taught a general life lesson that can be applied to anyone, of any age, at any time. Another reason for To Kill a Mockingbird to be a masterpiece is that there are still issues of racial and bias injustices. One of the main parts of the story was that Tom Robinson, an African American, was accused of having an inappropriate relationship with Mayella Ewell, a white woman. Though Atticus proved Tom completely innocent, making it clear there was no possible way he could have done what he was accused of, Tom was still found guilty by the jury because he is not white. It is true that there are no more major issues today, but people, especially in the South, are still not equal, as stated in the Constitution with “All men are created equal”. If so, then why has that still not been accomplished? Caucasians still seem to be superior to African Americans and that is one thing that is happing in To Kill A Mockingbird, making it still relevant today, which is what “contemporary significance” means.
Though like most critics, there are many different points of views, and one happens to say that To Kill a Mockingbird is merely pleasant, undemanding reading. One reason people seem to think this is because they claim that the narrator is an unreliable resource. Of course, that is not true. Scout is a child as the story takes place. She is very reliable because she was actually there first hand and children’s minds can remember more and comprehend a lot more than the average adult mind, because they are more open to things and they have yet to be taught most judgments that adults end up putting in their minds. Because of that, they are extremely reliable because they tell “the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth” as Atticus, being a lawyer, would say. In “The Long Life of a Mockingbird”, a book called Twitterature is quoted, as a fan with a Twitter account agrees that children are a more reliable source for information. It says “@BooScout went to the trial. Tom seems innocent. Also, it occurs that our town is full of racists. Perhaps only the eyes of a child can see the truth” (Philpot 53). Another attempt at proving that To Kill a Mockingbird is intended for a light, leisurely read is that the plot is all over the place and that there are a lot of unnecessary details, which is absolutely absurd. The first part of the story has to do with Boo Radley, which is where most people find that there is no real meaning. Boo Radley is extremely important because at the end, it is because of him that Jem and Scout live. “Taking the one man who’s done you and this town a great service” (Lee 369) was said when Mr. Author “Boo” Radley was mentioned, near the end. As stated before, To Kill a Mockingbird was originally a bunch of short stories, which if you think about it, makes it certain that each chapter does indeed have a part in the story. Part 1 sets the scene up for Part 2 and without it, you would have little idea of what was going on, and by the resolution you would be totally lost. This proves that each section and each little piece and detail of the story are very important and cannot be lost.
To Kill a Mockingbird has been overly proved that it is not merely pleasant, undemanding reading, and is indeed a work of strong, contemporary significance because of the injustices and life lessons still relevant to today’s society. There definitely is still value in the storyline that makes it a classic and makes it still a book people can read and relate to in the present, though it is no longer 1930 (when the events in the story took place) or 1960 (when the book was originally published). The opposing side trying to prove that Harper Lee’s prize-winning novel is not very memorable does have some good points, but each of their claims can be refuted and proven incorrect. It is an opinion though, whether the book is major or not, but either way, any sensible reader would quickly agree that it contains strong, contemporary significance.

Works Cited
Lee, Harper. To Kill a Mockingbird. New York: Grand Central Publishing. 2010. Print.
Philpot, Chelsey. “The Long Life of a Mockingbird.” The Horn Book Magazine May-June 2011: 51-55. Print.

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Four Weddings

TV Show: Four Weddings

Channel: TLC

My Thoughts: Four brides all attend and rate and judge each others weddings to see who will be rewarded with a dream honeymoon based on the scores the other brides give them. They're judged on overall experience, venue, dress, and food.
This show is on everyday after What Not To Wear, so naturally, I watch t his too. Its cool to see how the different weddings are and to see how people judge weddings. Some of the dream honeymoons they've had has not seemed so spectacular to me, though. But it also shows how much they spent on the wedding, so you can see like how much things cost.

I'd Reccommend to...late teens/early twenties/bored people

My Rating: 4/5

This message has been sent using the picture and Video service from Verizon Wireless!

To learn how you can snap pictures and capture videos with your wireless phone visit www.verizonwireless.com/picture.

Note: To play video messages sent to email, Quicktime@ 6.5 or higher is required.

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

What Not To Wear


TV Show: 
What Not To Wear

Channel: 
TLC: The Learning Channel

My Thoughts:
What Not To Wear is a fabulous show that is on every day. Family and friends can nominate people that they think need a fashion makeover to be on it, and the few selected get to go through a whole makeover. They get shown why what they wear is inappropriate and learn how to make it better. They go shopping by themselves, then with the professionals, get their hair and makeup done, and get to reveal it to their hometown. Most starting points are how most people dress, so it's great to see how - and why you need - to improve your own wordrobe and style. 

My Rating:
4.8/5

I'd Reccommend to:
anyone who wants to be more stylish

Saturday, October 8, 2011

Advice/Feedback Post #1

If you have any feedback, comments, or critizism about PrincessReviews, or would like to have your advice answered, please leave a comment below
 Hi tasha. I'm going through a very difficult situation and could really use some advice. I have an 18 month old daughter and her father wanted nothing to do with us. So I just decided to leave him alone. Now I've been seeing this guy for awhile and I just found out I'm pregnant. The problem is he still lives with his sons mother. Theyre not together he lives there for his son. He wants me to have an abortion which I never believed in. I actually want to have this baby I'm just afraid that if I do we won't be together. I'm afraid it will make it very hard to find someone to be with if I do. But as I said I want this baby. I was on birth control and still got pregnant. So I believe thats a miracle and I think its selfish to kill a baby just because its the wrong time. Have any advice? 
 It's really quite simple. If he loves you, he will stay with you and love you and your kid. If not, I've seen tons of tv shows where people with kids find people to be with. Sorry its short advice, but I think it kindda gets to the point.


Thursday, October 6, 2011

Suicide is NEVER the Answer



This is from the website Suicide.org :


If you are not in immediate danger because of thoughts of suicide, but need someone to talk with about your suicidal feelings, please do not hesitate to call one of the following national suicide prevention lines:

1-800-SUICIDE (1-800-784-2433)
1-800-273-TALK (1-800-273-8255)

Suicide Prevention Lines

You may call these suicide prevention numbers from anywhere in the United States, 24 hours a day. People are waiting to help you. Call a suicide prevention number right now if you need to. And always remember that it is never okay to act on your thoughts of suicide. Never. Again, call a suicide prevention number now if you need to.

Never act on your thoughts of suicide.

Extensive suicide prevention hotline numbers, categorized by country or state, can be found on the Suicide Prevention Hotlines pages of this web site. Go to the Suicide Prevention Hotlines index page now if you need to.

Suicide is never the answer.

Getting help is the answer.



If you do not need to call any of the suicide prevention numbers above, then please read on. . .
Welcome, my friend, you are not alone. I am very pleased that you are here. And let me remind you that there is nothing more important than your life. Nothing.
My name is Kevin Caruso. I am the Executive Director of Suicide.org and I would like to share some important information with you. The first thing that I want you to know is that virtually every person that I have talked with who attempted suicide, and survived, was glad that they lived. So the emotions that were causing the suicidal feelings did pass. Things got better; the sun did come out. So, let me extend that hope to you.
If you are in intense emotional and/or physical pain, remember that your judgment is being clouded by that pain. If you are considering suicide, you are trying to end that pain. Please do not confuse ending your pain with ending your life. The two are very different.
Let me also tell you that if you are suicidal, you probably are suffering from clinical depression, bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, postpartum depression, PTSD, or something similar. And if you have something along these lines, you actually have a chemical imbalance in your brain -- and you cannot possibly think straight because of it. That is beyond your control. You are not weak. You just need some treatment. This imbalance can occur for several reasons, from genetics to a traumatic life experience, and it is extremely common for people to have this imbalance, so do not feel like you are alone. You are not.

This imbalance may be rectified in several ways, but first you need to be assessed so that the cause may be understood. I would request that you please go to a medical doctor.
The doctor can determine if there is a secondary problem (such as a thyroid problem) that is causing the imbalance. If so, an appropriate medication may be prescribed to you. Next, you should visit a therapist. This will allow another assessment to occur and will also allow you to begin talking about your feelings. If the therapist determines that you need a prescription, he or she may refer you to someone who may assist you in that area.
Please leave the option open for taking medication. Some people erroneously believe that they can simply use will power to control their suicidal feelings. The problem with this thinking is that, again, there is probably a chemical imbalance in the brain. And that needs to be treated with medicine. So let me ask you this, my friend. If you had a broken leg, would you get treatment or would you just keep walking on it, writhing in pain, and trying to convince yourself that you just needed will power to overcome the pain? You would get treatment, and you would do so immediately. You would not even think twice about it. And I would most respectfully submit to you that your situation is similar. If you are diagnosed with clinical depression, or something similar, then there is a physical cause for your condition. And you need to seek treatment immediately. It is not just emotion. Please understand this, my friend. The brain, after all, is an organ. And sometimes needs treatment.
If you cannot afford to see a doctor or therapist, please seek out some clinics that have reduced rates. There are many affordable places to go. You can call 1-800-SUICIDE (1-800-784-2433) or 1-800-273-TALK (1-800-273-8255) to get listings for clinics in your area. Do not hesitate to call. You can also check in your phone book.
After your initial assessment, you will need to see a therapist long enough to work through all of the issues that are bothering you. Do not be in a hurry -- things will get better. You may feel like you are on an emotional roller coaster ride, but those ups and downs will level out.
My friend, thank you so very much for being here. It means a lot to me because the mere fact you are here indicates that you are reaching out, and that you really do want to live. So, I want you to do something else that is very important. Please make a commitment to stay alive. To not die by suicide, no matter what. Make this commitment for all of the people who care for you, and for yourself. Remember that if you try to end your pain by ending your life, you will start a world of pain for the loved ones that you leave behind. And you will deprive yourself of many wonderful things that you have yet to experience.
Thank you for making that commitment.
Now, my friend, I have told you the things that you should do. So, please get started. Please make an appointment right now to see a doctor and a therapist. If you can't do it now, do it as soon as possible. I care about you very much, and I love you very much, so I want you to get better as soon as possible.
One final thing. Relax. That's right. Relax. Take some deep breaths and do something that you enjoy that relaxes you. Take a bath. Go for a walk. Listen to some nice music. Just take it easy. And engage in these activities that relax you on a regular basis. And let me tell you, my friend, you are on your way. On your way to a better life.
Always remember that there are phone numbers that you can call
24 hours a day, 7 days a week,
from any location in the United States:

1-800-SUICIDE
(1-800-784-2433)

1-800-273-TALK
(1-800-273-8255)
Take care of yourself, and take action now. Your life is extremely important.
And do not forget the commitment that we made together, that you will not end your life -- that you will never, ever, under any circumstances end your life.
You are awesome!
You are a great person!
And I love you!
Take care,
Kevin Caruso
Suicide.org
Founder, Executive Director, Editor-in-Chief
Senior Writer, Forum Administrator 

Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Blog Posting Sorry!


Hello, all! I'm terribly sorry that I haven't been posting lately, I've been extremely busy. I'm going to try to post more often again, so keep checking back often!

Just a reminder, if you would like to join the Princess Reviews team and create your own posts, just send me an email, leave a comment, or post on my Facebook wall! We'd love to welcome anyone who wants to join!
Thank you!