Saturday, November 26, 2011

Geek Girl Book vs. Geek Charming Movie

Geek Girl is a book by Cindy C Bennett and Geek Charming is a Disney Channel Original Movie. Geek Girl and Geek Charming are both very similar in many ways. This post is here to compare and contrast the two.
Well, for starters, they are both about boy geeks and their not-very-geeky love interests. In Geek Charming, the female role is a highly-popular once geek, while in Geek Girl, the girl is a rebelous goth chick, with an inner geek.
Obviously, the biggest difference, is that Geek Charming (though based off a book) is a movie and Geek Girl is a book. 
In Geek Charming, the 'geek' confronts the popular girl to get her to be in his movie, while in Geek Girl the goth goes up to the 'geek' to try to change him. In both, they end up becoming 'geeks' themselves. 


Here are the reviews I wrote for both, so you can compare and contrast them yourself. 
GEEK GIRL:
In Geek Girl, a goth makes a bet with her friends that she can turn a geekly nerd into a bad boy. Jen starts out on her quest to turn Trevor, only to find herself quickly falling for him, and even starting to like some of the things that he enjoys. She decides to drop the bet, but her friend, Beth, doesn't like this. She tells Trevor about the original bet, which angers and upsets him. Jen and Trev start to ignore each other, and the only way to find out if they can overcome the hurt is if you read Geek Girl yourself. 
This book was so good, I started it and literally did not put it down until I finished it! I haven't read a book that good in a while. It has the classic plot of two people from completely different worlds falling for each other. The book itself is written in the present, as if those things are going on as you read them. Most books tend to use past-tense of most things, not really giving you the same "in the story" feel (where you feel like you are actually in the story) that you get in this book. I really enjoyed that, since it made you feel more into the book and connected with it, as if you were a part of it. In some parts, it was quite easy to believe that you were Jen. Other parts, you wanted to feel sorry for her, and the emotions throughout this book definatly come alive when you read it. This is a book I would definately recommend to my friends, and I'm sure most people would agree.



GEEK CHARMING:
Dylan Shoenfield is the most popular girl in school, and all she wants is to be Blossom Queen at the Spring Formal. When a film geek needs to do a documentary to win a trip to LA, he picks Dylan, hoping to find out the secrets of being popular. Instead he finds a smart, funny, caring girl whose boyfriend breaks up with her right before Spring Formal. Her friends ditch her, and she finds out who was and will be always there for her, even from before her mother, Past Blossom Queen, died. 
This was a cute little family movie, much to be expected from being on the Disney Channel. The movie was based on the novel, and it does make me want to read the book. 



Both are definitely great, and I recommend the two to whoever wants to check them out!

Friday, November 25, 2011

Thanksgiving Giveaway!!

I am so thankful for all of our PrincessReviews followers that we are having a giveaway just for the followers!!
You MUST follow PrincessReviews to enter!!! 
To enter, simply leave a comment with how you follow PrincessReviews and your email so we can contact you if you win. Please leave one comment per way you follow (ex. if you follow on GFC and Networked Blogs, you'd leave two comments). 
This is an international giveaway.
The winner will receive a personalized thank you note and a signed picture of Tasha.

Black Friday

Black Friday is definitely one of the most popular shopping days of the year, in the United States at least. People wait in line for days to get items for a discounted price, the crowds are crazy, and I have never, ever gone. I really want to, but my parents are always working, and though my grandmother offered to take me this year, she wouldn't buy me anything most likely. 
But if you've gone, we'd love to hear about your experiences, your purchases, and any advice you might have for future Black Friday-ers!

Thursday, November 24, 2011

HAPPY THANKSGIVING

Happy Thanksgiving to all! I am so thankful for each and every one of you! Without you, PrincessReviews wouldn't be. Thank you so much to all of you guys! I love all of you! 
What are you thankful for? 
Leave a comment and let us know!

Saturday, November 19, 2011

Unlovable Giveaway!

Sherry Gammon, author of Unlovable, is nice enough to give away a copy of Unlovable here on PrincessReviews!!
This giveaway will run until today until Saturday, December 17th, so that it will have time to get to the winner by Christmas.
To enter, simply "like" Sherry Gammon's facebook page, and leave a comment with your Facebook name (so we know that you liked it), and your email (so we can contact you if you win).
You can recieve additional entries by following PrincessReviews (it doesn't matter how, but each way will earn you one additional entry), and by following Sherry Gammon's blog, Word Paintings Unlimited. Leave an additional comment for each additional entry, stating what blog you follow and how (GFC, Networked Blogs, email subscirber, etc). Again, don't forget to include your email in case you win.
Random.org will be used to select the winner!
Thank you, and Good Luck!

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Geek Girl

Title:
Geek Girl

Author:
Cindy C. Bennett

Publisher:
Cedar Fort


Imprint:
Sweetwater Books

Pub Date:
12/08/2011

ISBN:
9781599559254

Category:
FICTION - JUVENILE: Action & Adventure (incl. Interactive Adventures): Action & Adventure

Summary: (back of the book)
“Think I could turn that boy bad?” My two best friends—my only two friends, really—follow my gaze and laugh.

“Trevor Hoffman?” Beth scoffs. “No way, Jen.”
“I bet I could,” I say, shrugging.
“Why him?” Beth asks. “Why not any of the other nerds sitting there with him?”
“Because,” I say slowly, “he isn’t your typical run-of-the-mill geek. Trevor Hoffman is different. He would be a little more difficult to take down, more of a challenge, you know?”
Jen’s life of rebelling and sneaking out is growing stale. In an effort to combat her boredom, Jen makes a bet to turn Trevor, a nice little geek, into a “bad boy.” She’s immediately pulled into Trevor’s world of sci-fi movies, charity work, and even—ugh!—bowling. Unexpectedly, Jen discovers that hanging out with Trevor isn’t so bad after all. But when Trevor finds out about the wager, all bets are off.
I'd Recommend To...
anyone, friends, girls

My Rating:
5/5

My Thoughts:
In Geek Girl, a goth makes a bet with her friends that she can turn a geekly nerd into a bad boy. Jen starts out on her quest to turn Trevor, only to find herself quickly falling for him, and even starting to like some of the things that he enjoys. She decides to drop the bet, but her friend, Beth, doesn't like this. She tells Trevor about the original bet, which angers and upsets him. Jen and Trev start to ignore each other, and the only way to find out if they can overcome the hurt is if you read Geek Girl yourself.

This book was so good, I started it and literally did not put it down until I finished it! I haven't read a book that good in a while. It has the classic plot of two people from completely different worlds falling for each other. The book itself is written in the present, as if those things are going on as you read them. Most books tend to use past-tense of most things, not really giving you the same "in the story" feel (where you feel like you are actually in the story) that you get in this book. I really enjoyed that, since it made you feel more into the book and connected with it, as if you were a part of it. In some parts, it was quite easy to believe that you were Jen. Other parts, you wanted to feel sorry for her, and the emotions throughout this book definatly come alive when you read it. This is a book I would definately recommend to my friends, and I'm sure most people would agree.

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Mr. Young

TV Show:
Mr. Young

Channel:
Disney XD

New on:
Tuesday-Thursday
8PM

Starring:
Brandon Meyer

I'd Reccomend to...
Middle Schoolers

My Rating:
3.8/5

My Thoughts:
Mr. Young is about Adam Young, a 14-year-old genious who has been asked to be hired by NASA, being a teacher at a High School. Echo is a girl in his class who he is crushing on, and his best friend is also his student. Slab is the bully. The series is about everyday life and issues at the school, when your teacher is your age.
The mother cannot act, at all! It is horrible! The sister's is okay, but definately could improve! The rest of the cast is fine. That's my only major issue.

Monday, November 14, 2011

A&P

Review of “A&P” by John Updike
by Tasha Nicole Haight


Have you ever done something on an impulse or out of anger, and immediately regretted it? Well, that’s exactly how Sammy felt when he quit his job at A&P, hoping to impress a few girls dressed in bikinis when they get kicked out because of their inappropriate attire. In “A&P”, John Updike develops the theme to not make a major decision out of anger. He does this by clearly explaining the situation in which Sammy impulsively quits his job, which he soon regrets.

Things start to go bad as soon as three bikini-clad girls walk into the A&P store, and Sammy cannot look away. When the girls walk in, Sammy can’t even think straight. “I stood there with my hand on a box of HiHo crackers trying to remember if I rang it up or not” (Updike). He states that “it’s one thing to have a girl in a bathing suit down on the beach, where what with the glare nobody can look at each other much anyway, and another thing in the cool of the A & P, under the fluorescent lights” (Updike). Sammy is mesmerized by the girls and would do anything to impress them.

Once the girls have found what they needed, the manager, Lengel, sees them and kicks them out causing Sammy to get angry. “Girls, this isn’t the beach” (Updike) starts Lengel’s tirade on how they are inappropriately dressed and should not come back without proper clothes on. Angrily, Sammy hits the No Sale tab. He starts “defending a privileged upper class that does not even acknowledge his existence” (Peck), making him madder. When Lengel sends them out, Sammy acts on an impulse.

Sammy quits. He very soon regrets it, too. He knows that he doesn’t really want to quit, he just wants to impress the girls, but the girls completely ignore him and leave. “But it seems to me that once you begin a gesture it’s fatal not to go through with it” (Updike). Still with a chance to keep his job, and knowing he doesn’t want to hurt his parents by quitting, but also knowing he threatened to quit, and believing you cannot back out of a proposal, Sammy quits with rue. Lengel tells him that he will “feel this for the rest of your life” (Updike) and Sammy knows it to also be true. It was stated very well when a critic wrote that “this noble and still uncorrupted youth has acted rashly and lost everything” (Peck). As Sammy leaves the store, his stomach drops when he realizes what he’s done.

Like Sammy, if you do something impulsively, or angrily, that will affect you in the future, without a strong cause or reason, you might very soon regret doing so. Sammy acted out of anger and the need to impress those who ignored him, and it cost him a job, some of his pride, and he regretted it faster than he actually did it. The theme is used in this story to prove that and to show how making decisions impulsively is not so good and that you should try to think things through before committing what could be a life changer.



Works Cited

Peck, David. “A & P”. Masterplots II: Short Story Series, Revised Edition (2004): 1-2. Literary Reference Center. Web. 9 Nov. 2011.

Updike, John. “A&P”. Short Story Handout.

Sunday, November 13, 2011

Unlovable

Title:
Unlovable

Author:
Sherry Gammon

Published:
January 20, 2011

Genre:
Fiction, YA, Thriller, Suspense

About the Author: (Smashwords)
Unlovable is the debut novel for author Sherry Gammon, and is the first novel in the Port Fare Series. Seeking clean romance novels for her and her three daughters to read and enjoy was no easy challenge. It was because of this frustration the PORT FARE SERIES was born. UNLOVABLE is book one, book two titled UNBELIEVABLE is the story of Cole's journey for love, and the final novel in the series, UNBEARABLE, is Booker's story.

Sherry has been writing for several years. Her work has been in several newspapers, and an educational Magazine.She and her husband,along with their children and a couple of crazy dogs, call Upstate New York home.

Summary: (Smashwords)
Port Fare, New York, has fallen into the clutches of true evil. The Dreser brothers have arrived with a scheme to increase drug sales in the area by whatever means possible. Seth Prescott is part of MET, Mobile Enforcement Teams, a branch of the DEA. He's been assigned to work undercover at Port Fare High, and things aren't going very well, until senior Maggie Brown enters the equation. He's harbored a secret crush on her from day one, and now that she is in the center of the case, he's trying to stay clear and objective while walking the line between business and unrequited love.

Maggie is truly the poster child for Heroin Chic, complete with jutting bones and dark-ringed eyes, but is she an addict, or is there another reason for her appearance? She struggles with her feelings for Seth, fearing he is just another person who will eventually let her down, as everyone in her life has done thus far.
Maggie has spent her life caring for her alcoholic mother. A task that has left her heavily burdened and alone. Before long, her mother's health takes a turn for the worst, sending Maggie's life into a tale-spin.
While Seth works relentlessly to inject fear into the dealers and flush them out into the open, Maggie fights to stay alive as the hunt turns deadly.
Seth and Maggie's romantic journey is one of humor, heartbreak, and self-discovery.

I'd Recommend To...
Teenagers

My Rating:
4.8/5

My Thoughts:
Well, first of, let me just say that I have a 5-page English Paper, some Spanish homework, and Honors PreCalc Extra Credit that I need to do, that's due in about 16 hours, that I haven't even started because I was too preoccupied with this book! Oh, and I have to create 1 minute, 30 seconds choreography to dance to Barbie Girl, too. But that's not due until Thursday. Oh well! xD
Just kidding, it's only a 5-paragraph English paper, not 5 pages (the rest are all true though, and I have to annotate another story for English, too) hahahahahaha!!! But seriously, this book was so good that I did not want to put it down, at all.
Seth Prescott is an undercover MET agent, posing as a senior at Port Fare High School, in western New York. It is his job to find out who is using drugs, especially heroin, so he can track down the dealer, to track the supplier. He is handsome, rich, and powerful enough that when he is assigned to be friends with the populars, he has no problem - in fact, the head cheerleader, Hillary, develops a "crush" on him, though he instead notices a quiet, much too thin, girl named Maggie Brown. A while later, while trying to sum up the courage to ask her out, his mission gets switched to watch out for Barbara Brown, and her daughter, none other than Maggie Brown herself! From the start, Seth doesn't believe she is doing drugs, especially with her 4.0 GPA and kid-loving nature, but none the less, has to make sure. Little does he know, she has noticed him, too, and falls well into his plan, though her guard is up, and she won't let him get to far in her heart, since her own mother, a drunk 24/7, has not once told her she loves her, and instead only expresses her love toward Vodka, throwing nasty, emotionally-scarring, hurtful verbal abuses at her daughter. Eventually, she lets her many walls down, only to have some drug dealers try and kill her mother, and break her heart, telling her the truth about who Seth is. After a while, they come to terms with each other, expressing a common theme of "true love conquers over all". This book is a roller-coaster of emotions for Maggie, and since it is so, well, its hard to image it ever actually happening, but its written so life-like that it definitely seems real, that at some points its an emotional roller coaster for those reading it, too.
Unlovable was one of those rare ones where I could actually visualize what was happening, and that never happens. It happened for part of one other book, but usually the visualizing happens in daydreams during class after I've read a good book.
The plot was pretty good and had you on edge pretty much the whole time. At some parts, like when you knew that Maggie was going to find out and flip out on Seth, you could predict, but the prediction always turned up to be at least a little bit different of the actual storyline.
The dialogue was very realistic as well, so props to that! The teenaged librarian spoke with such a teenagish dialect, it truly made the story more realistic. She used "like" all the time, something that I myself happen to do all the time, so I could relate, making the story more real.
In the story, it seemed Booker and Cole, sometimes even Seth, were saying how young Maggie is. She most definitely is too young for Booker, being 10 years her elder, but Seth is only 3 and a half years her senior, which to me seems the perfect amount of an age difference.
One thing that sort of bugged me, but not immensely, was the fact that Seth comes from the rich side of town, while Maggie is often referred to as "Trailer Trash". It seems in all plot lines, the two come from different worlds, such as this. Other examples are one being human while the other is a vampire, one being a geek, the other a princess or goth, or something other than the usual for whatever the scenario may be. But I guess that it simply adds to the well-known saying 'Opposites attract'.
The Preface and part of the last chapter before the Epiloge did confuse me a bit. It was the exact same,
"Before I could reach his lifeless form, Alan grabbed my face and lifted me onto my tiptoes; my lungs battered begged for air. Dragging his slimy mouth along my neck he muttered, “I’ve waited so long to have you, I’m afraid I’m not going to be able to control myself as long as I’d hoped.”

He then stopped and pinched his eyes shut before dropping me back to the ground. “No, Alan, you can wait a bit longer for your revenge,” he counseled himself while stroking my hair. “But maybe a little taste wouldn’t hurt.” He jerked my face to his, dropping his foul lips to mine.
Something inside me snapped. If I was going to die, I was going to go out fighting, so fight I did. I raked my fingers over his face, digging up flesh, and while forcing my thumbs into his eyes, I brought my leg up between his, hard, crushing his groin.
He stumbled and fell on top of me, pinning my battered body to the ground. His weight added unwanted pressure to my already tender ribs, and I screamed out.
However, Alan’s screams overshadowed mine; he was in serious pain. I began scratching, biting, and punching every inch of him I could make purchase with, holding nothing back. Still reeling from my well-placed knee, he spewed out a list of profanities a mile long as I broke free and forced my broken body across the kitchen floor toward the gun. I was almost to the drawer, when, from his prostate position, he hooked my foot, dragging me back several feet.
I looked back at his sweaty face, now scarred and bleeding thanks to my fingernails as he leered at me. “You. Will. Pay. For. That.” Reaching into a pocket by his left knee" (Gammon 3), yet then, in Chapter 1, it went to talk about a girl whom Alan had previously killed who had a 6th degree black belt in karate, or something along those lines. When I got to this part in the last chapter, it throughly confused me, but I kept reading anyway, and assumed that the author provied that as the preface as a way of foreshadowing, instead of having that lead up to how the story would start, which was an interesting way of doing so, even if it was a bit confusing.
Overall, I really did enjoy this book and I cannot wait to read books 2 and 3 in the Port Fare series, Unbelievable and Unbearable. I would definately recommend this book to my friends, and I hope most of you get the chance to read it.

Saturday, November 12, 2011

Geek Charming: The Movie

Movie:
Geek Charming

Channel:
Disney

Times:
Premiered Yesterday (Friday, November 11, 2011) @ 8.
Encore is at 9PM on Sunday, November 13, 2011

Starring:
Sarah Hyland, Matt Prokop

I'd Reccomend to...
Families

My Rating:
4/5

My Thoughts:
Dylan Shoenfield is the most popular girl in school, and all she wants is to be Blossom Queen at the Spring Formal. When a film geek needs to do a documentary to win a trip to LA, he picks Dylan, hoping to find out the secrets of being popular. Instead he finds a smart, funny, caring girl whose boyfriend breaks up with her right before Spring Formal. Her friends ditch her, and she finds out who was and will be always there for her, even from before her mother, Past Blossom Queen, died.
This was a cute little family movie, much to be expected from being on the Disney Channel. The movie was based on the novel, and it does make me want to read the book. It did remind me a lot of Geek Girl (review to come), though there were obviously many differences, and a post will be up later comparing them.

Friday, November 11, 2011

Once Upon A Time

ABCs-Once-Upon-a-Time_gallery_primary.jpgOh, I like almost all kinds of magic and fantasy and science fiction stuff. So I knew this was my type of show.

Once Upon A Time is on ABC on Sundays. Check your local listings. The premise of the show is that all the fairy tale characters have lost their memories and have been trapped in our world in a town called Storybrook for 28 years due to the Ultimate curse cast by the evil queen who tried to kill Snow White. But a hero is coming and the ultimate battle will begin.

Three episodes have aired so far and I had to record them on my DVR so I ended up watching all 3 episodes almost back-to-back and I am hooked. The second show had me talking back to the screen. For me, that means it has gotten inside my head and I won't rest until I see the end.

The show is set up to show what's going on in the present in our world and in a series of flashbacks in fairy tale land. But it interweaves the past with the present so well that I had no problem following it. If you have questions about the present, then the flashbacks explains the who, what and how. There are surprises throughout though so everything is not as easily resolved as you would think. I can not really tell much about it without telling the story.

And based on the preview I saw at the end of the third show, every fairy tale looks like they are going to have a part of their stories told. And these are not the way I remembered the fairy tales. They each seem to have a unique twist to them. Like Snow White being a thief and bandit in one part. But all the stories are blended together because of the central characters and the fact that none of the characters can ever leave the town (or bad things will happen).
The cool thing about this show, so far, is that you already know the ending (good wins over evil), but they still keep you interested enough to see how it happens. Because characters are popping up and angles are being explored that put obstacles in the way to an easy ending. It has action and drama and true love all leading you toward happy endings because of course, that's how all fairy tales end.

I give it a 5 out of 5 (so far)
TV-PG rating with some violence and scary situations.

Sherry Gammon Interview

PrincessReviews, Sherry Gammon
1. What is Unlovable about?

Unlovable is about enduring, never giving up. Maggie, a 17 year old senior at Port Fare High has been dealt a pretty tough hand in life. She has to care for a truly cruel mother, and try and get through high school with good grades so she can get scholarship money for college. Her mother gets involved with some pretty wicked people and puts Maggie's life in danger. Enter Seth Prescott, undercover cop and all around hottie!

2. Is this your first published book?
Yes. It is not the first book I have ever written, but it is the first book I tried to publish.

3. How old were you when you decided you wanted to publish a book?
Probably twenty. It was after taking a writing class in college. The teacher encouraged me to publish after I had written a story she liked.

4. What is your favorite candy?
Snickers---with almonds!

5. Which character from any of your books are you most like?
I gave each of my main characters one of my personality traits. Why? It really helps me to feel closer to the character, it helps me to identify with them. So I guess you could say I am like all of my characters in some way or another.

6. What inspires you to write?
I love to write. Writing helps me to find closure on things that bother me, and I find it to be a very helpful outlet for my brain. When my head is too crowded with thoughts, writing helps me deal with the overload.

7. What style do you consider your clothing fashion?
Jeans and tee shirts!
Does that affect your writing in any way?
No, it is just very comfortable;}

8. Who is the main character in Unlovable and can you describe her?
Maggie is 17, skinny, and devoted to her mother. She is tough, she doesn’t trust anyone, and she relies on even fewer! I love Maggie. She is a fighter who never gives up!

9. What's your favorite TV show?
Bones and Psych! I don't watch very much TV, but I do enjoy those two shows.

10. Thank you! Is there anything else you'd like to add?
THANK YOU! I appreciate book bloggers so very much. You are our line to the reader, the lifeline it you will, and you help us out so very much! -And I've heard the pay sucks!;}}

Check out her facebook and her blog, too!

Monday, November 7, 2011

Phineas and Ferb: Across the 2nd Dimension

Movie:
Phinease and Ferb: Across the 2nd Dimension

Starring:
Vincent Martella, Allison Stoner, Ashley Tisdale, Mitchel Musso

Channel:
Disney

I'd Recommend to....
6-13 year olds

My Rating:
4.5/5

My Thoughts:
Phineas and Ferb find out that their pet platapus, Perry, is truly a secret agent. They go into another demention where Dr. Doofinsmirtz is evil and has taken over. Phineas and Ferb need to get back to thier world, along with Perry.
I love Phineas and Ferb, so naturally I loved this movie. The ending was cute, but I can't give it away; you have to watch it yourself!

Friday, November 4, 2011

Take Me Home Tonight (movie review)

Take Me Home Tonight (film 2011)
Starring Topher Grace and Anna Faris
My rating is 2 out of 5.
Yes, harsh I know. And I usually like 80’s throwback movies. The clothes alone are worth watching 80's inspired movies. I rented it from Redbox. I had a free code and it was between this or Bridesmaids. I had heard Bridesmaids was funny, but the lure of seeing 80’s clothes and dancing was too strong.
This movie is about this supposedly really smart guy, an MIT graduate, named Matt (Topher Grace) who works at a video store (the actual videos that have brown tape in them that takes 10 minutes to rewind). He does not know what he wants to do with his life, so he’s not making any decisions at all. His twin sister Wendy (Anna Faris), who seems really smart too, has applied to graduate school and is too scared to open the letter from the university at the beginning of the movie and instead accepts a marriage proposal from her idiot boyfriend.
First of all, they totally don’t use Anna Faris’ comedic talent in the movie. Then Topher Grace’s character hovers between average and a loser. He sees his high school crush, Tori (who for the whole movie I thought was Kristen Stewart from those Twilight movies and she was actually Number 6 from the I Am Number Four movie), and spends the whole movie trying to woo her without telling her the whole truth about himself.
It was a mediocre movie at best. Not even a good romantic comedy. And Topher’s “sidekick” Barry (Dan Fogler) is not even funny. I did not laugh at this movie and the dancing was not 80’s enough. Anybody could have played the part of Matt and Wendy. The music was classic 80’s and I liked the songs. I knew some of them (not because I was an 80’s child but because I listen to the Big 80’s Weekend on B98.5 FM out of Atlanta every weekend.) The acting was decent, but the script was not really original in the least. I guess it was supposed to be like the movies from that era, and unfortunately became too much like the movies from that time concerning storyline. So since I’ve probably seen more 80’s movies than people my age (34), I’ve probably seen this storyline a few times.
I would not recommend this movie nor would I watch it again even if it came on TV and nothing else was on. I didn’t give it a 1 out of 5 because I like Anna Faris, even if she was not funny in this one.

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Happy Halloween (IK, it's late!)



Sorry! I know this is late, but

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!
(October 31)


HAPPY ALL SAINTS DAY!!
(November 1st)

and to our Mexican friends....(and whatever other countries celebrate it, though none do it like Mexico!)
Happy EL DIA DE LOS MUERTOS!!!!!
(November 2)

Zombies vs Unicorns, Yeah That's Right

I'm not much of a horror book fan, but Zombies vs. Unicorns balanced it out with humor. The two editors try to convince the reader that one or the other is better. Some of the stories are (to quote the editors) "haunting," while others are for pure enjoyment. Many of the main characters are young adults under 18 and so this book is geared to that audience. It shows that strength and good sense can happen at a young age as these characters face adult situations (mainly in the post-infection worlds of the zombie stories). I am well past YA age but I enjoyed the stories. It made me wonder, though, what is the lure of such dark fantasy for this age group? I would be very hestitant to let my 14 year old read this.

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

Turned at Midnight

Turned at Dark: A Bonus Shadow Falls Short Story
Title:
Turned at Dark

Author:
C.C. Hunter

Series:
Shadow Falls

Format: Kindle Edition


File Size: 132 KB

Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin (March 15, 2011)

Sold by: Macmillan

Language: English

ASIN: B004QGY35W


Summary: (amazon.com)
Independent and strong-willed Della Tsang did not believe in ghosts, until she sees her dead cousin in a dark alley. She did not believe in vampires, until she turns into one. Should she follow her vampire cousin’s lead and walk away from everything she knows, or join Shadow Falls, a camp for special teens.

Don’t miss the first book in the Shadow Falls series, Born at Midnight, on sale March 2011.

I'd Recommend to..
anyone who wants a short read

My Rating:
4/5

My Thoughts:
Della gets attacked when coming home from a party, and is turned into a vampire. She needs to learn how to deal, and needs to decide how to do that.
Its a quick short story, but that doesn't mean it isn't good. It's a nice, quick, easy read and I'd recommend it if you have like 15 minutes of boredum lol.