Thursday, December 29, 2011

CD Giveaway Winners!

Congratulations to 
GUSH 
and 
ORCHID 
for winning the CD GIVEAWAY!!
They will both be receiving a mixed CD of 20 songs of my choosing in their desired genres. 

Thank you!

Monday, December 26, 2011

Christmas Cookies

I bought some Otis Spunkmeyer oatmeal raisin cookies from my nephew to help with his fundraising, and those cookies were so good! I said "were" because I ate most of them. I think my kids had like five out of an entire pail of the bake ready deliciousness! I give these cookies a 5 out of 5. So if your niece or nephew or grandkids are selling them, buy more than one package, one for them and one entire one for you. Well, maybe two, I mean I think it only made like 36 cookies. That's way too few. Since all my Otis cookies were gone before Thanksgiving, I was feeling the cravings for oatmeal raisin cookies. I decided to try Betty Crocker. I didn't have high hopes. I mean what was better than an Otis Spunkmeyer oatmeal raisin cookies? So it came in a package that required mixing. Great! Q-time with my little girl. Well I didn't wait for the stick of butter (yes an entire stick, my arteries!) to "soften" properly so some of the teaspoons of mix had whole chunks of cold butter in them. Added some water and an egg. Baked them and they smelled good. So really good. And it was agony waiting for them to cool. I didn't even wait for my daughter to come back from putting on her pajamas to try one. So good! Even my daughter is asking for one for every meal for dessert. Why did I ever doubt Betty? I give her cookies 4 out of 5 only because I had to add my own raisins.

The Best Christmas Pageant Ever

Title:
The Best Christmas Pageant Ever

Author:
Barbara Robinson

About the Author: (Inside Cover)
Barbara Robinson was born in Portsmouth, Ohio, and received her B.A. from Allegheny College. She has written several books for children, including the sequel to The Best Christmas Pageant Ever entitled The Best School Year Ever. Her short stories have frequently appeared in well-known women's magazines.

Summary: (Inside Cover)
The Herdmans are absolutely the worse kids in the history of the world.
Called one of America's favorite Christmas stories, and now a classic television movie, The Best Christmas Pageant Ever has been a favorite of young readers the world over since 1972. Funny, memorable, and outrageous, it is the story of a family of incorrigible children who discover the Christmas story for the first time and help everyone else rediscover its true meaning.
The Herdmans-Ralph, Imogene, Leroy, Claude, Ollie, and Gladys-are horrible. They awful things like lie and steal and smoke cigars. They threaten to stuff pussy willows down their enemies' ears and set fire to Fred Shoemaker's old tool house. They are the worst thing that ever happened to their school, and it's hardly surprising when they extend their reign of terror to the church and take over the annual Christmas pageant.
The Herdmans have never heard the Christmas story before, and their interpretation of the events, which includes beating up Herod and finding some decent gifts for the Wise Men to bring, promises disaster and has the whole town up in arms. But the Herdmans are no ordinary kids, and this year's Christmas pageant is full of surprises for everyone, especially the Herdmans themselves.

I'd Recommend to...
Grandparents/Parents to read to their Children

My Rating:
3.7/5

My Thoughts:
The Herdmans are just overall bad people. They can't do anything nice or right and always mess things up and make them disasters. At least, that's what the people of their town think. But when Charlie opens his mouth and mentions that they get refreshments at church, the Herdmans decide to check it out for themselves. Soon, it is time for the Christmas Play. The main roles are cast by who would like to volunteer for them, and only the  Herdmans volunteer. The play is taken over and run by these creatures thought to be "the worst kids in the history of the world". 
They have never heard the Christmas story before, and truly get into learning about it, and truly caring. At rehearsals, they never once managed to get through the entire play once, yet on the night of the play, it goes wonderfully with a few surprises that only seemed to make the experience more real. 
This book proves that even the worst kids can turn out to be pure at heart; they just need the chance and to be taught how to behave. A touching story, this book had my grandmother in tears and in giggles pretty much the entire time.
I would suggest that each night at the bedside, parents or grandparents read a chapter or two to their child before they go to sleep, starting a week before Christmas Eve (there are seven chapters). It's a good book to do that with, and it creates family time that is needed in each family.

Sunday, December 25, 2011

Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked

Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked Poster

Movie:
Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked


Starring:
Justin Long, Matthew Gubler, Jesse McCartney, Christina Applegate, Anna Faris, Amy Poehler, Alan Tudyk


Time:
87 minutes


Rated:
G



Genres:
Animation, Comedy, Family



Date it Came Out:
December 16, 2011


Director:
Mike Mitchell


Summary: (IMDb)
Playing around while aboard a cruise ship, the Chipmunks and Chipettes accidentally go overboard and end up marooned in a tropical paradise. They discover their new turf is not as deserted as it seems.


IMDb Rating:
2.9/10



My Rating:
9.5/10



I'd Recommend to...
Families


My Thoughts:
Before flying off to the International Music Awards, the Chipmunks and Chipettes are off on a family vacation - a cruise in the tropics. Alvin behaves as any chipmunk-kid would, but it almost gets them kicked off the ship. When he is doing the one thing allowed - shuffleboard - he gets bored. When he sees a kite flying high in the sky, he comes up with a scheme to use it to go hang-gliding. The winds become too strong, and Alvin and his team helping to keep him from letting the wind take over, fly into the air, pulling the chair the string is tied to, and Dave, their manager/father, with them. They fly into the sky, and Dave goes to the real glider  in hopes of going after them. Ian, the chipmunks and chipettes old manager, tries to stop him, and they end up dropping the flotation and plummeting into the water, far behind the disappearing cruise. The chipmunks all make it to an island, and using Ian's bird costume as a floaty, Dave and Ian soon arrive at the island as well.

When Simon gets bit by a spider, he becomes Simone and takes the fun, careless-ness of Alvin and makes it his own, upsetting Alvin. Simone shows his affection towards Jeanette majorly, and Brittany becomes sad that she is no longer the pretty one. 
Finally, they have found each other - Dave and the 'munks.  But when the volcano on the island starts to erupt and the greedy island-goer, Zoe, has captured Jeanette in hopes of uncovering the hidden gold, will Alvin and the gang make it out on time? You simply must watch the movie to find out!
It was a cute movie with a good plot line and cool songs. The chipmunk voices were less annoying than I thought they were going to be. A whole movie of hearing those high, squeaky voices? Not as bad as it sounds. I usually don't like movies, but this one I enjoyed. I definitely suggest people go to see it. 



Saturday, December 24, 2011

Revealing Eden

Title:
Revealing Eden

Author:
Victoria Foyt

Series:
Save The Pearls

Book:
1

About the Author: (inside book cover)
Victoria Foyt's previous novel, The Virtual Life of Lexie Diamond, a young adult super-natural mystery, met with critical acclaim, including a Must Read, five-star review from TeensReadToo.com: "Foyt has created a compelling character and an electrifying story that will hold readers until the last page."
An accomplished screenwriter and actress, she graduated from the University of Miami in her hometown of Coral Gables, Florida. She speaks fluent French and Spanish, and lives in Santa Monica, California.
You can connect with her at VictoriaFoyt.com or Facebook.com/VictoriaFoyt.

Summary: (inside book cover)
Would you betray your loved ones-and maybe your entire race-to avoid a horrible death?
In a post-apocalyptic world where resistance to an overheated environment defines class and beauty, Eden Newman's white skin brands her as a member of the lowest class, a weak and ugly Pearl. The clock is ticking: if Eden doesn't mate before her eighteenth birthday, she'll be left outside to die.
If only a dark-skinned Coal from the ruling class will pick up her mate option, she'll be safe. But no matter how much Eden darkens her skin and hair, she's still a Pearl, still ugly-cursed with a tragically low mate-rate of 15%.
Just maybe one Coal sees the real Eden and will save her-she has begun secretly dating her handsome co-worker Jamal. But when Eden unwittingly compromises her father's secret biological experiment, she is thrown into the eye of the storm-and the remaining patch of rain forest, a strange and dangerous land.
Eden must fight to save her father, who may be humanity's last hope, while standing up to a powerful beast-man she believes is her enemy, despite her overwhelming attraction. To survive, Eden must change-but only is she can redefine her ideas of beauty-and of true love.
Acclaimed writer Victoria Foyt blends equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this captivating novel set in a terrifying future, which is all too easy to imagine.

I'd Recommend to...
Teenagers

My Rating:
4.8/5

My Thoughts:
Its the future. Global Warming has threatened to take out the planet, and most of it is too hot for people. People are forced to live underground in tunnels, and the Meltdown has wiped the population of most whites, rearranging the system.
Eden Newman is a Pearl (a white). She is upset by this an wishes to be a Coal (black). She must mate in the next 6 months, or else they leave her outside to die in the heat, with no Oxy (the drug everyone is on in the time period). She's been dating Jamal, a coal, hoping he would be her mate. Unfortunately, he turns against her and was just using her. She sets the place on fire, and Bramford saves her and her father, taking them to the Rainforest. Many feelings are experienced and expressed, and Eden grows in several ways.
I would totally recommend this book and I can't wait until the next one comes out. I liked the uses of the Spanish language in it, how it wasn't all English. I also enjoyed the scientific names of all the creatures that were included-it showed that Victoria Foyt really knew what she was talking about and that she is a very intelligent woman, much like the Spanish words did.
I was captivated before I even opened the book! The cover had me hooked and the story just kept me going. On the cover, the title is pushed forward, as if it was brial. So I was already almost mesmerized as I opened the cover of the wonderful book. As soon as I started reading, I truly could not stop. I wouldn't go to bed until late at night, because the book would keep me up; I just simply had to finish! Finally, I did. And it still leaves me wanting more! I cannot wait to read the next book in  the Save the Pearls series and find out more about the adventures of Eden, Ronson, and Logan.

Friday, December 23, 2011

Robe of Skulls Giveaway WINNER

Only 3 people entered this giveaway. :(
Oh well.

The winner of the Robe of Skulls Giveaway is...
GUSH!

Thursday, December 22, 2011

Unlovable Giveaway WINNER

A giveaway was recently held here on PrincessReviews, from November 17, 2011 until December 17, 2011, for a copy of Unlovable by Sherry Gammon. Sherry was willing enough to sponsor, support, and provide for this wonderful giveaway.
Random.org was used to select a winner from the comments received on the giveaway's post. There were a few entries, but only one could win.

The winner of Unlovable is....
JENNIFER S!!!!!!

Congratulations and thank you to all who entered!
There are always fun things and giveaways on PrincessReviews, so come back as often as you can!

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Kleenex Cool Touch

I've had a runny nose ever since it started to get cold out. My nose started to get red, chapped, and sore. The other day, my mother came home with a box of Kleenex Cool Touch Tissues for me to use. I was a bit skeptical at first, since regular tissues didn't seem to be working. This is going to sound a bit dramatic, but these tissues send me to Heaven every time I use them. The are so soft, and the cooling effect is definitely there! They feel amazing against my skin, and my nose is no longer irritated, even though it is still running just as much. 
Its really amazing how they're actually doing what they're advertised to do. Not many products actually fulfill their purposes or expectations, but these tissues went well beyond my expectations! I would definitely recommend these to anyone in need of a tissue or anyone with an irritated nose, or just anyone in general! These tissues make having a bad nose fun! 

Tuesday, December 20, 2011

Darkness

Darkness (The Brookehaven Vampires, #2)
Title:
Darkness


Author:
Joann Martin Sowles


About the Author: (GoodReads)
Joann I Martin Sowles is the author of The Brookehaven Vampires series. Her first release, Laney, is now available. Book 2, Darkness, will be released in 2011. 


Summary: (Goodreads)
Not long ago, Laney Alexander was living a carefree life, that is, until she was thrown into a world full of creatures only the imagination thought possible. Now, after surviving a terrifying night, Laney and Oliver are lying low at Julz's place, relieved to be in each other's arms once again. But fate seems to have other plans... 
Julz is not happy to have visitors in her home and emotions run high. Laney is pushed to her limits as she watches Carter fight for his life and her relationship with Oliver becomes strained as she discovers secrets about Julz that could tear them apart. 
As she reaches her boiling point, disaster strikes and her life is shattered. Laney must come to terms with what has unfolded. Will she lose her way and let the darkness consume her or will she find her light in Oliver? 
Secrets will be revealed. Hearts will be broken. Lives will be lost. Darkness will fall.



I'd Recommend to..
People who've read Laney


My Rating:
3/5


My Thoughts:
To me, this book didn't make much sense because of the fact that I didn't read the first book in the series, Laney. There were several references about what had previously happened, but since I didn't read it, I didn't understand them. This book is definitely a continuation of Laney, so if you liked it, I'd strongly recommend reading Darkness. 

In the beginning, I didn't really 'get' the plot, but as I read more, I did. Towards the end, (when Carter and Delaney get drunk) I was laughing out loud and I just couldn't stop. It was so funny! And I could also see parts of it playing in my head, like a movie. To me, that makes a good book. 
I just would have included a bit more on why she didn't think the town was safe and what had gone on before the book started. 

Monday, December 19, 2011

The Call of the Wild

Title:
The Call of the Wild

Author:
Jack London

About the Author: (GoodReads)
Jack London was an American novelist and short-story writer whose works deal romantically with elemental struggles for survival. At his peak, he was the highest paid and the most popular of all living writers. Because of early financial difficulties, he was largely self educated past grammar school. 
London draws heavily on his life experiences in his writing. He spent time in the Klondike during the Gold Rush and at various times was an oyster pirate, a seaman, a sealer, and a hobo. His first work was published in 1898. From there he went on to write such American classics as Call of the Wild, Sea Wolf, and White Fang. 

Summary: (GoodReads)
An unusual dog, part St. Bernard, part Scotch shepherd, is forcibly taken to Alaska where he eventually becomes leader of a wolf pack.

I'd Recommend to...
English students

My Rating:
2.5/5

My Thoughts:
In The Call of the Wild, Buck is the main character. Buck is a 140 pound St. Bernard / Scottish Shepard dog mix. In the beginning of the book, Buck lived in the Santa Clara Valley, not having to do anything he didn't want to. He was 'head-dog' of his grand, royal, comfortable life and he was living life and enjoying every minute of it. But when his greedy gardener cannot pay his gambling wages, Buck is secretly sold to Canadian mail carriers in the Arctic. Buck is forced to become a sled dog. He is a quick learner and is soon living the way the Huskies do. His instincts start to kick in. He fights, kills, and becomes alpha in his team. Soon the instincts get too strong and when he finds his masters dead, after killing the Indians responsible, goes off to join a local pack of wolves.
This novel is all about adaptation and accepting change, which is why the theme of this is "Adapting to change is a necessary key to survival". Buck is taken to a completely new terrain where absolutely nothing is even remotely similar to his previous life as a pet. He learns quickly though, and he needs to. Several times Buck would have been killed if he didn't quickly adapt. Curly, another dog taken to the arctic, died immediately when he tried to make friends. Dogs get into tons of fights in Alaska (where this story takes place), including Buck, and if he could not have adapted he would have been killed. It is also very, very cold in the arctic, where as in California, where he is from, it rarely gets below 70 degrees. Buck also didn't get much food up North and would have quickly died without his body accepting the change in the amount of food he was to receive. 
The Call of the Wild is all about Buck and his changes. It is a classic. It's also a book of literary merit, and therefore is required to read in most English classes. Outside of English, I'm not sure I would have read this, but I'm glad I did. 

Sunday, December 18, 2011

Victoria Foyt Interview


What inspires you to write?
A burning question usually inspires me, what if? In Revealing Eden (Save The Pearls Part One): what would happen if global warming turned today’s prevailing beauty standards upside down? In the story, because Caucasians have less melanin in their skin to protect them from the sun’s burning rays, they are branded as inferior Pearls. Dark-skinned people, or Coals, have more resistance to the Heat, and therefore, now rule society. Eden Newman, a lithe blue-eyed blonde, would be considered gorgeous in our day, while in the future she has to beg for a mate or suffer an early death. The direction in which my “what if” question took me greatly surprised me, as it often does.

How old were you when your first novel was published?
In my forties, that’s all I’ll say. Looking back, I see that the seemingly circuitous path I took from studying foreign languages and literature in college, to acting and screenwriting and directing afterwards, all provided key tools I would need as a novelist. Meanwhile, I was accumulating invaluable life experiences and insights, which gives a writer his or her unique “voice.” By the time I started my first novel in my thirties, my words flew onto the page, and I haven’t stopped since.

Which films did you co-wrote?
Several indie films, all of which were directed by Henry Jaglom: Babyfever; Last Summer In the Hamptons, Festival In Cannes, Going Shopping and Déjà vu, which is my favorite, and has become somewhat of a cult classic. My work as a screenwriter definitely improved my sense of dialogue and place. It also added a distinctive visual orientation to my writing.

Which have you starred in?
All of the above, except for Festival In Cannes. At the time it went into production, I was busy writing a novel and had to turn down the starring part. It was a tough decision, but finally, I needed to commit to my heart’s desire, which I’m glad I did.

What's your favorite Bath and Body Works scent?
I love Warm Vanilla Sugar—both seductive and comforting. I discovered it years ago at their shop in the charming city of La Jolla and couldn’t resist it.

What is Revealing Eden about?
REVEALING EDEN (Save The Pearls Part One) is a fantasy sci-fi adventure romance that, to my amazement, fulfills all of the requirements of each genre and yet, is a unique page-turner. I didn’t set out with such lofty goals, I simply had to tell Eden’s story, which in truth, is a pastiche of my own fears and dreams. Doomed unless she mates soon, Eden Newman, a white Pearl, hopes a Coal from the dark-skinned ruling class will save her. But when she unwittingly compromises her father’s secret biological experiment, perhaps mankind’s only hope, Eden is cast out—into the last patch of rainforest and also the arms of a powerful beast-man she believes is her enemy, despite her overwhelming attraction to him. To survive, Eden must change—but only if she can redefine her ideas of beauty—and of love.  

Which was your favorite magazine to be in?
I was thrilled when my publicist announced that I was going to be in Vogue! I immediately decided to lose 5 pounds, but I was in Italy at the time. Who can diet there? I fretted about what to wear and was very relieved when I learned that the magazine’s stylist would bring a selection of clothes. Great, as long as they didn’t bring bathing suits, I joked. The day came and two lovely stylists arrived at my house with several wardrobe trunks. I watched with great anticipation as the women unpacked the items, setting out Louboutin shoes, which had just started to become popular, accessories, and then, oh no—a rack full of bathing suits! I stared dumbfounded at the skimpy suits. It was a mistake. Didn’t they know I’d had two kids? I hadn’t prepared anything else to wear and, near tears, began frantically to root through my closet. Finally, the editor and I pulled together something simple that, in the end, reflected my style best. It was so much fun.  

Who was your favorite talk show host? Why?
I adore Oprah! She’s so authentic and powerful. She radiates real beauty. I praise her efforts at encouraging reading. And I admire her motto: “live your best life”, which isn’t about competition, but being true to yourself. When I wrote an article for her magazine, O at Home, the efficiency, professionalism, and positive nature of her staff impressed me, and seemed to reflect Oprah’s great qualities.

Can you describe Lexie Diamond?
Lexie Diamond believes that cyberspace is the key to a realer reality than the so-called real world, or “Bubble,” in which everyone else is trapped. She has a hard time understanding why people don’t see how fake their lives are, or why their “Monitor A” type speech clearly doesn’t match the subtext she “hears” on “Monitor B” Disaffected and socially inept, she finds solace in her alter-ego, a computer she names Ajna-Mac (ajna is the Sanskrit word for third eye.) Then a tragic accident rocks Lexie’s cyber-driven world and forces her to navigate the real world. With the help of an unexpected ally—her first actual friend—not only is Lexie drawn in a mystery surrounding the accident, but she discovers more magic in the Web that she ever dreamed possible. Along the way, her beliefs are challenged, her family is turned upside down, and her future is threatened. Finally, Lexie must decide what is real and what is virtual.

Do you have more of an East-Coast style or more of a West-Coast style?
My style is more tropical, an island mentality. I grew up in Coral Gables, a suburb of Miami, just off Biscayne Bay, and spent my days swimming in warm water, often eating lobsters that my brothers caught off of our dock. That sense of freedom and oneness with nature has never left me. Even in the midst of intense production or social activity, I can tap into a wellspring of inner peace that I discovered when sailing on calm seas.

Which book was the most fun to write?
REVEALING EDEN (Save The Pearls Part One) was a thrill to write. One of the great gifts of being a writer is what your characters reveal about yourself. Eden Newman, the seventeen-year-old protagonist, uses her head, not her heart, to navigate the world. I definitely have had to work at opening my heart and, like her, to stop judging myself based on my appearance. I loved watching Eden transform from this oppressed, frightened girl to someone who is willing to embrace her strength, her inner beauty and even, true love. And then, I really enjoyed creating her surly love interest, beastly Bramford, who turned out to be so hot!

Which character from any movie, or any book, or any television show are you most like and why?
I’ve always identified with Lucy from the Peanuts comic strip. She is slightly out of touch with social cues and clearly in need of some TLC.

Is there anything else you'd like to say?
I love to hear from readers! Please visit me at VictoriaFoyt.com or at facebook.com/VictoriaFoyt. And thanks for all the cool videos you’ve uploaded at SaveThePearls.com. You make it all worthwhile.

Victoria Foyt, PrincessReviews's Tasha Nicole

Saturday, December 17, 2011

The 12 Days of Facebook

I did NOT create this and in NO way am I trying to pass it off as being my own! 
This was someone's Facebook status and I liked it, so I figured I'd share it with all of you!

On the First Day of Christmas, my Facebook gave to me, a Creep Who Won't Stop Inboxing Me!

On the Second Day of Christmas, my Facebook gave to me, 2 Friends-A-Poking, and a creep who won't stop inboxing me!

On the Third Day of Christmas, my Facebook gave to me, 3 Photo Tags, 2 friends-a-poking, and a creep who won't stop inboxing me!

On the Fourth Day of Christmas, my Facebook gave to me, 4 Game Requests, 3 photo tags, 2 friends-a-poking, and a creep who won't stop inboxing me!

On the Fifth Day of Christmas, my Facebook gave to me, 5 Drama Queens, 4 game requests, 3 photo tags, 2-friends-a-poking, and a creep who won't stop inboxing me!

On the Sixth Day of Christmas, my Facebook gave to me, 6 Party Invites, 5 drama queens, 4 game requests, 3 photo tags, 2 friends-a-poking, and a creep who won't stop inboxing me!

On the Seventh Day of Christmas, my Facebook gave to me, 7 Stalkers Stalking, 6 party invites, 5 drama queens, 4 game requests, 3 photo tags, 2 friends-a-poking, and a creep who won't stop inboxing me!

On the Eighth Day of Christmas, my Facebook gave to me, 8 Friends Complaining, 7 stalkers stalking, 6 party invites, 5 drama queens, 4 game requests, 3 photo tags, 2 friends-a-poking, and a creep who won't stop inboxing me!

On the Ninth Day of Christmas, my Facebook gave to me, 9 Busted Barbies, 8 friends complaining, 7 stalkers stalking, 6 party invites, 5 drama queens, 4 game requests, 3 photo tags, 2 friends-a-poking, and a creep who won't stop inboxing me!

On the Tenth Day of Christmas, my Facebook gave to me, 10 Corny Topics, 9 busted barbies, 8 friends complaining, 7 stalkers stalking, 6 party invites, 5 drama queens, 4 game requests, 3 photo tags, 2 friends-a-poking, and a creep who won't stop inboxing me!

On the Eleventh Day of Christmas, my Facebook gave to me, 11 Friends Just Watching, 10 corny topics, 9 busted barbies, 8 friends complaining, 7 stalkers stalking, 6 party invites, 5 drama queens, 4 game requests, 3 photo tags, 2 friends-a-poking, and a creep who won't stop inboxing me!

On the Twelfth Day of Christmas, my Facebook gave to me, 12 Dudes I'm Blocking, 11 friends just watching, 10 corny topics, 9 busted barbies, 8 friends complaining, 7 stalkers stalking, 6 party invites, 5 drama queens, 4 game requests, 3 photo tags, 2 friends-a-poking, and a creep who won't stop inboxing me!

Merry Christmas!

Friday, December 16, 2011

I've Never Been to the Ukraine: Book Review The Septavalent Stone


The Septavalent Stone
by J.O. Jones
I was not ready for this book. I had read an excerpt of the story on J.O. Jones’ blog (http://theseven-piecestone.blogspot.com/). It was the first chapter. It was interesting and funny and it hooked me. I bought it on Amazon Kindle and downloaded it for 99 cents. It took me about a month and a half before I got a chance to finally read it. And then it took me another two or so weeks to read it.
The first chapter is not what the book is about. I had gotten to know and like those characters and then most of them disappeared. So we’re left with Uncle Jeffrey who is only a gateway character to our hero? Andrew, Uncle Jeffrey’s estranged sister’s son (nephew).
So this book is about Andrew who goes to a magical medical school for people with “unique” ailments (like being a ghost that starts living. Apparently to ghosts living is the worst thing that could happen to them) and how Andrew’s family ends up causing more trouble at a school with secrets that it doesn’t want to be revealed. Andrew is from Nigeria where I have never been and the magical medical school is in the Ukraine where Andrew AND I have never been. It is a really interesting combination.
I’m not totally sure what to make of this book. It is not like other books I have read about magic or fantasy or medicine for that matter. The locales are new to me and I am just in awe of the originality of this story and how it was all laid out. The main character Andrew becomes just like the reader in some ways because he has no idea what is going on and no one will tell him. Everything is revealed layer by layer until by the end you’re like. “Oooohh! I get it. I think.”
So I still haven’t told you what happens in the story. Well, after a lengthy and almost boring stay in chapters 1, 2 and 3, we finally get some action. Andrew has spent the first couple of chapters getting his visa to go to the Ukraine for school. There are some sparse exciting parts, but not enough to have gotten me through it any faster. So he finally gets to the Ukraine and everything is fantastic! There is magic, medicine and lots of mystery. (Loved the fairy wallpaper, by the way.)
It is not until almost nearing the end that we find out that Andrew has the Septavalent Stone and that he could unlock its power. But the stone in the wrong hands…you know the deal. He has a bossy cousin named Aloysia who is also at the school and who is bent on getting the stone. She’s Uncle Jeffrey’s daughter who turns out to be a BIG help and not a bad person after all because she seems to know everything and figures out everything, but still just tells Andrew information in bits and pieces. I guess that little plot device kept me reading because I was like “What is going on?”
Well, this is getting long. So I gave it a 4 out of 5. There are some grammar errors. I was kind of mad that many characters were introduced and then never heard from again without so much as a good-bye. Other characters were completely useless and they still spent a lot of time talking. And then it bugged me that the point of view jumped around a bit from character to character without warning, but it wasn’t that hard to follow. And Andrew was too passive. But the incredible background, locales, entertaining and diverse personalities, completely weird medical practices and ailments as well as the cool mysteries (yes, that’s plural) kept me reading to the end; and I liked how it ended between the cousins.
Get past the first couple of chapters and you’re in for a surprise. This could totally be a series about the school and/or the other characters, not necessarily Andrew. I would definitely read more by this author.

Austin Jones - Tooth Pick Booty

Okay, so I know this song isn't serious (besides, I think the lyrics are totally...odd!) but Austin can seriously rap! Just thought I'd post this so you all could decide for yourself what you think, and go buy it on iTunes if you like it! I like it, and if I get any iTunes giftcards for Christmas, I'm definitely going to buy it! :D
 http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/tooth-pick-booty-single/id488421297 is the link to go get it!
So what do you think of Austin's new song? (Well, new version.) Post a comment below to let us know! Or you can let him know on his facebook page!

Thursday, December 15, 2011

Swag Giveaway

This is an International Giveaway! The winner will receive  a bookmark signed by Amy Brecount White, a picture signed by Tasha Nicole (owner of PrincessReviews), a Courage bracelet, and a pen!
To enter, simply follow PrincessReviews and leave a comment with your GFC name and email address!
Random.org will be used to pick the winner.
You have until January 1st to enter!

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

CD Giveaway


4 Lucky PrincessReviews Followers will win a mix CD made with 20 songs selected by Tasha Nicole, the owner of PrincessReviews. You get to pick the genre - or type of music - of the songs on the CD though, and Tasha has a huge selection of songs so you're sure to get something you will like! 
This is a contest for people in the United States and Canada only! You may enter until December 25th! 
To enter, you must follow PrincessReviews on GFC. 
How to Enter:
Write a comment with your GFC name and email address. Then put which genre you would like the CD to be!
If you are PrincessReviews's friend on Facebook, create a SEPARATE comment with your Facebook name, email address, and preferred genre. 
Random.org will be used to choose winners.

GENRES AVAILABLE:
Country
Pop
Rock/Metal/Alternative
Hip Hop/Rap

Thanks, Good Luck, and Happy Holidays!

Tuesday, December 13, 2011

The Robe of Skulls Giveaway

It's the Holiday Season, so we're gonna be having Holiday Giveaways here on PrincessReviews!
This giveaway is for a paperback copy of The Robe of Skulls (The First Tale from the Five Kingdoms) and a cardboard bookmark. This is a US only giveaway!
To enter, simply FOLLOW PRINCESSREVIEWS on GFC, and leave a comment with your GFC name and email. If you are PrincessReviews's friend on Facebook, add an ADDITIONAL comment with your facebook name and email.
Random.org will be used to pick the winner.
You have from now until December 20, 2011 (Next Tuesday) to enter!
Thanks and Good Luck!

Monday, December 12, 2011

Happy Feet 2

Happy Feet Two Poster

Movie:
Happy Feet 2

Starring:
P!nk, Brad Pitt, Matt Damon, Robin Williams, Elijah Wood, Sofia Vegara

Rating:
PG

Length:
100 Minutes

Genre:
Animation, Comedy, Family

Release:
November 18, 2011

Director:
George Miller

Writer:
George Miller and 7 others

IMDb Summary:
Mumble's son, Erik, is struggling to realize his talents in the Emperor Penguin world. Meanwhile, Mumble and his family and friends discover a new threat their home -- one that will take everyone working together to save them.

I'd Recommend To...
Grandmothers

My Rating:
3.5/5

My Thoughts:
My grandmother loved this movie, and all of the music in it. I didn't want to be there, so I didn't really wanna watch it, look forward to it, or have fun, but I did find myself enjoying it a bit. 
Bill and Will the Crill definitely seemed to me to be a gay couple lol but I thought Erik was so cutee lol. I liked his big blue eyes. 
umm...my grandmother said there was a lot of symbolism that kids don't get or understand and stuff in it, so thats why older people should see it. 

Sunday, December 11, 2011

People's Book Prize Nomination

The Fearsome Beastie
The Fearsome Beastie (see PrincessReviews's review here) is a Nominee for the People's Book Prize!!!!
Giles Paley-Phillips, the author, would very much appreciate any votes that she can receive for her wonderful children's book!
You can vote for it by clicking here, or by going to http://www.peoplesbookprize.com/book.php?id=679.
Thank you! :)

Wednesday, December 7, 2011

5th Year! Yay National Novel Writing Month!

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo www.nanowrimo.org) is an online contest open worldwide to writers and aspiring writers of all ages. They have the regular writing contest, which is to write a 50,000-word novel in 30 days (November 1-30). They also have the same contest in the Young Writers Program: 50,000 in 30 days (November 1-30) for ages 17 and under. They have a similar contest April 1-30 called Script Frenzy for those who like to write scripts rather than novels. And they just started Camp NaNoWriMo to write novels over the summer (July and August 2011 was the first year).

This is a totally free contest and you can sign up anytime throughout the months that the contests are held (example: November 25 or April 17). And you win cool prizes like a certificate of completion and badges to put on your website announcing to the world that you are a participant or winner. I know. You’re thinking, “What’s the point?” The point is that this is for YOU, the writer. I think this is a really awesome concept. I give this contest a 5 out of 5.

What I really like about this contest is that it is on an honor system. The rules are that you must write a completely new story starting from page 1, line 1, and first word. (It’s ok to outline, though) You must write 50,000 words between November 1 and November 30 and upload your manuscript for verification when you hit 50K. It even tells you how to encrypt it if you’re worried about people taking your idea. If you cheat in the contest, the only one you are cheating is YOU. This is a great experience to see what you can really do. And it is totally ok if you don’t reach 50K by the end of the month. Everyone is still cheering for you because you started that novel.

There is a great support system of pep talks emailed to you if you want. You can subscribe to forums. And there is a forum for everything you can think of for every genre and style of writing. You can participate in write-ins in your area. A write-in is just meeting somewhere with other writers who are doing the contest too. This is a great way to network with local authors in your area. There is a region for you almost anywhere around the country and around the world.

NaNoWriMo is run by a non-profit organization called the Office of Letters and Light. That’s NON-PROFIT which means they do it out of the kindness of their hearts. But they have no aversion to a donation of $10 or so. You can even buy cool T-shirts, hats, coffee mugs, decals, etc. to help support the programs. They partner with school, libraries, and educators. This is about promoting reading and writing and enjoying the craft. This is the 13th year that they have hosted the contest. This is my 5th year entering the contest. I’ve won 3 times (completed one year at 11:50pm November 30th, whew!). Didn’t even get close 1 time. And “Was I supposed to be doing something this November?” 1 time.

But I have had fun every year. I just stop thinking about writing that perfect novel and just write for the enjoyment of writing a story. So what if the novel you wrote in November sucks. YOU WROTE A 50,000 WORD NOVEL IN 30 DAYS! That’s AWESOME! Besides that’s what December is for: editing.

By the way, they also have sponsors now that are also offering cool prizes like free copies of the book you wrote during the contest or discounts on writing software if you do win.

Footloose


Movie:
2011 Version of
FOOTLOOSE

Starring:
Kenny Wormwald,
Julianne Hough

Rating:
PG13

My Rating:
3/5

My Thoughts:
I'm not gonna lie, this movie totally depressed me. Maybe it was that it started off with a car accident, and just over a month before I saw it, my friend died in a car accident. Maybe it was that the main guy reminded me of a friend who doesn't talk to me anymore. Maybe it was that the main girl is so skinny and pretty and I wished I looked like her. I'm not quite sure what it was, I just know it depressed me. Just listening to the "Footloose" song depressed me up until like 2 weeks ago. But it's all good now:) lol
According to my mom, this movie was pretty much just like the original, except the ban on the original didn't start because of car accident.
In this movie, dancing, loud music, and tons of other teenage-ish things are banned in the small, Georgia town,  because a few years before kids died in a car accident coming back from a dance. When Ren McCormic moves in from Boston, he doesn't know any of thier crazy laws and gets into tons of trouble. He decides to stand up for dancing, since he thinks he can change that, when he couldn't change his mother's cancer. they have a dance, and I think the law gets lifted. I had to pee towards the end, so I'm not quite sure if the ban was lifted or not, haha.
mkay, well I have a mega busy day tomorrow and it's late. So I'll review something else probably Friday, cause like I said, I'm mega busy tomorrow.

Monday, December 5, 2011

Lack of Posts

Sorry, guys, about the lack of new posts! I've been really busy with Cheerleading!! :)
Anyway, I have tons of things to review, so I'll try getting them up ASAP. I don't like leaving the blog without a new post each day, so I'm terribly sorry.
Thanks for your understanding!
~Tasha Nicole <3