Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Sony Noise Cancelling Headphones MDR-NC40

A 20 hour plane ride (not including the first 3 hour plane ride + however long wait time to connect) would not be manageable without a decent pair of headphones. Headphones are not just necessary to listen to music, but to watch movies, tv shows, and other videos. They are also necessary to drown out the world and to escape from everyone.
Thank God for my Sony Noise Cancelling headphones! they truly are ah-may-zing! They are definitely high quality. Once you insert the included battery into the battery compartment and turn the headphones "on", they really do focus on the music and drown out all other sounds from the rest of the world. It's wonderful! Don't believe me? Turn the off and listen to music regularly, like you usually would. you'll hear the difference. and there is a difference. Such a major one, in fact, that when I switched "on" to "off" to back "on" again, I went "Woah!". Honestly, I thought all the hype over noise-cancelling headphones was nonsense, though previously I did have another pair of noise-cancelling headphones, but these make me realize what all the commotion was/is about! It's absolutely stunning and well worth the money. I would definitely recommend them to all of my friends!
These headphones also come with an adapter and a padded case with places in the case for an extra battery and the adapter. The case is of good size and easy to pack in a carry-on, purse, or other small bag. Like any good pair of headphones, these are flexible to head sizes and can be extended as needed. The headphones are on-the-ear headphones, instead of over the ear, headbuds, or those ear-shaped buds.
I really like these headphones, a lot, and I think you will too! i rate this 5/5 stars. Good job, Sony!
They are definitely a must-have for music lovers like me!

Sunday, July 29, 2012

Book Revew: Living Happily Ever After...Separately

Living Happily Ever After...Separately
by Lise Stryker Stroessel
I would give this book a 3.5 not quite 4 stars. It was a quick and easy read. The author voiced a lot of concerns that married couples with some problems go through. The author and her husband found something that worked for their relationship. She does point out that this "option" is not for everyone and suggests counseling and/or support when considering living apart. This is not a how-to manual. It is the author sharing her experiences and hoping to help others consider something other than divorce especially if the couple still loves one another and are committed. She does discuss spirituality briefly and its relationship to the individual and joining lives with another, but it is not overbearing or preachy. The book reads more like an article series and not really a complete self-help book . This a nice, light read.

Friday, July 27, 2012

Born This Way Foundation and Office Depot

Lady GaGa has teamed up her Born This Way Foundation with Office Depot! There is a collection of products you can purchase at Office Depot where a portion of the money will go to the Born This Way Foundation. These items include bracelets, Sharpies, Post-Its, and gift cards! Each product includes an inspirational reminder on it! These reminders are Be Brave, Be Amazing, Be Yourself, Be Kind, Be Accepting, and Be Involved. People should be reminded of these things daily, and these products are a great way to remind yourself!
I think its really interesting that after you use the giftcard, you get to keep it as a keychain (it has a hole in it for a chain) to be that reminder for you! Honestly, I think it's a really good idea and I can't wait to use mine! :)re

Thursday, July 26, 2012

More from Marissa Carmel!

Brought to you by Marissa Carmel



Bibliography-
Marissa Carmel has been writing since a young age and although it has always been for personal enjoyment, she finally decided to breakout and share her imagination with the world. She hopes that her universe is as fun and intriguing to her readers as it is to her. Marissa Carmel is originally from NJ but moved to Maryland several years ago, she enjoys reading, writing, and catching up on her DVR library. She is currently working on the sequel to iFeel, Gravitational Pull, which she hopes to release sometime in 2012.
Book Blurb-
Lust. Anger. Hate. Desire. Love. Happiness. Joy. iFeel.

Liv Christianni is isolated, alone, tortured and withdrawn, saddled with the torrential downpour of the world’s emotions. Accepting of her providence Liv has lost all hope, until one day fate steps in and spins the course of her life like a spiraling top. Hunted by a Spirit Stalker, Liv is forced to gain control of herself and her surroundings, threatened by the touch of her immortal love; she must find a way to survive both physically and emotionally as her reality is shaken up like dice on a Craps table. Can she find the courage to accept her true self? Can she love unconditionally cognizant of the condemning consequences? Can she rise from the ashes to become the person she was always meant to be?

Funny, witty, real, and poignant, iFeel rips into your soul, and sets your emotions on fire.

If you are a fan of Charmed or Supernatural, The Vampire Diaries or The Secret Circle this series is for you!
Excerpt-
I direct my anger towards the mocking bottles of crazy pills settled in the cabinet. I attack them; clearing all the glass shelves in one angered fit. Tiny orange bottles fly all around my white tiled bathroom, exploding an array of colored pills against the walls and floor. It feels like I am bombing my past; liberating my future and releasing myself from whatever binds me. I want to be free, and if that means destroying my whole apartment in the process to get there, I am willing to do that.
I can feel the rage course through my veins; my head throbs and my throat burns as I thrash at my tiny bathroom. All I can hear are the voices of people who mean the most to me, those who encourage me, those who support me. To my surprise, the loudest voice is the one who is farthest away. Justice’s words echo against the tiled surface, telling me to let go, to accept my fate, to be magical and not mental. It makes me miss him all the more, but what he said finally makes sense.
My breaths pulse quickly in my lungs, as if the air is thinning. I have worked myself up into a crazed frenzy to expel my true self. My enraged fit has resulted in a bathroom bloodbath, me versus myself.
And I won.
Reviews-
This author has written this for the YA crowd and there are delightful and zany comments that make the reader intrigue as to what the next action or event will be. They lived the life of young people, partying, eating and enjoying life but at the same time death is lurking at the door. This is a sweet sentimental emotional zany plot. A lot of suspense, mystery and action wrapped in the pages. As a reviewer I highly recommend it because it is unique and pleasurably entertaining to read. As a reader it tugs at the heart as the author explores the human heart and soul from the highs to the lows of forever love and has charming mysterious Justice protecting her against all evil, it has endearing qualities of intimacy and breaking down the barriers of truth and the unknown discovering a powerful bond between a man and a woman that comes once in a lifetime. -MTMC2 http://lifeachangesorg.blogspot.com/2012/06/ifeel-by-marissa-carmel.html
I Feel great, on fire, changed, content about this book. This book is indeed a different kind of writing. I enjoyed the story very much. Extreme beings combust with contact. One that hides from all public life simply to keep from feeling every emotion from everyone around her. Destined to spend her life in lock up inside her own apartment. The other one an angel sent to protect all that is good and to keep evil from harming this "feeler". Seraphs and empaths ignite and paint the town in flames in this story. Characters that will open your heart, can make you laugh, show anger in large amounts and also open your eyes on things we take for granted. Good read for sure. Loved the flow and design of details.
Great for all YA, Angels & Demons, and Fantasy fans alike. Will recommend to all. KUDOS AUTHOR Marissa Carmel. Happy Reading
from Tammy @ GREATMINDSTHINKALOUD

♥♥~♥♥♥ "iFeel" by Marissa Carmel is a quick enjoyable read!I loved all the different characters they were a lot of fun!The plot, story line and events were well written & very enjoyable! I highly recommend this book! A great read! I hope to read more from this author! :)♥♥~ ♥♥ - Jeannie, Goodreads
What I enjoyed most about this book is the emotional connection that you are able to have with the characters towards the beginning of the book. I loved the deep arising romance within iFeel and the suspense. I always felt that I had to keep on reading the book, I could never put iFeel down which is what I love about books. Not being able to put the book down means that they are truly excellent and a must-read. I would highly recommend iFeel. –Mackenzie, Goodreads
Contact Info-
Twitter- @MarissaCarmel
Facebook- Marissa Carmel
Goodreads.com
Purchase Links-





Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Marissa Carmel Guest Post


This guest post is by Marissa Carmel! 

You plan, God laughs. This is the story of my life.
There are ideals and expectations I assume everyone has; whom you will marry, what your career will be like, where you will raise your kids. And yes, I had all those ideologies in my head, except mine were more like, have a career, don't get married and absolutely no kids. Boy was I wrong. Today I am married with two kids, and living in a state I only passed through on occasion. And my career? Well let’s just say, I have more than one, and I never saw that coming. Who needs more than one career? Apparently me. To make a long story short, I started my first career as a logistician, yawn, I won’t bore you with the details. The second career came shortly after.
I've always loved to write. Always. My imagination constantly runs away with itself, and I am without doubt following it. My best subject was creative writing. So when I would write, it was primarily for me (or a good grade). As time went on though, I found myself imagining more and more and wanting to create, but my life was so busy, and what would it get me anyway? Until one day my mother- in- law dropped a bomb that would change my life. She was talking to one of my husband’s cousins who was complaining about getting her college degree (she was already married with 4 kids. Yikes. I’d be complaining too.) And my MIL, the wise woman that she is simply said, honey, time is going to go by anyway, so you might as well do it. Well, it felt like the sky fell on me. The advice wasn’t even directed at me, but it resonated. I started writing that night. And never stopped.
My husband once asked where my creativity comes from, and in return I asked him if he ever heard voices in his head. His reply, I needed to see a shrink. I told him a keyboard and a curser is the best therapy. I have always loved the supernatural, thanks in part to my mom; Charmed was one of our favorite shows to watch together and still is. So when I started writing, it only felt natural that it took on a paranormal feel. But I didn't want to write about vampires or werewolves or really anything that had been done. I'm like that; I always tend to steer towards the opposite of popular and then proceed to make fun of it. So I started researching, and brainstorming, and concocting my mix of love, humor and emotion. Liv was already an entity in my head, festering. I'd often imagine a dark haired girl with amethyst eyes, suffering and alone. When I finally established who she really was, and what kind of supernatural elements she would posses, (an Empath-someone who can feel the emotions of others- with active abilities) I asked myself, what would it be like for someone like that to carry the world's emotions? Torrential I thought. What would it be like for her to fall in love? Even worse than torrential.The story evolved rather quickly after that, but I didn't rush it. It took me a little over a year to write, over two years to edit. I learned a lot about my writing style during that time, developed my voice and really tried to give it a life-like feel.
So here I am almost four years later, a husband, 2 kids, and a home in what feels like a foreign country; a daytime career and a nighttime career, all jumbling together, fighting for a piece of my time. Go hard or go home, my husband and I always joke, if we have a story, it needs a theme and that is it. I wouldn't change it though, not for anything. Life is nothing, if not a venture - (I have no idea who said that).

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Allen Wyler Guest Post

This guest post was brought to you by Blue Dot Literary and Allen Wyler!

THE CHALLENGES OF WRITING A MEDICAL THRILLER

People who read medical thrillers are usually interested in medical details, just as readers of legal thrillers find law interesting. What is difficult is adding sufficient medical detail to satisfy a reader without making descriptions or facts boring. This is one reason I try to move my stories along at a fast clip. Thrillers are intended to thrill, not lecture. Fast pace, good plot, interesting characters are the elements that should be in a medical thriller.

THE RESEARCH BEHIND DEAD END DEAL

This is a blitz-pace thriller about a Seattle neurosurgeon who, while in Korea, is framed for a murder. Now hunted by police he must evade a professional hit man while trying to find a way back to the United States. I figure it’s Three Days of The Condor meets Michael Crichton.

I got the idea for the story when I was a guest lecturer at a medical school in Seoul, South Korea. I was staying at the Walker Hill Sheraton hotel across the Han river from the hospital. So all the scenes (hotel, downtown Seoul, and the Korean hospital) were from notes and snapshots I took while there. (I always travel with a small point and shoot camera in my pocket). The brief description of the surgical procedure comes from my own experience.

My neurosurgeon protagonist, Jon Ritter, escapes via a route I personally took when figuring out how he might return to the United States without a passport. Again, the scenes were written with the help of snapshots. So, the short answer to the question is that all the research for the story came from personal experience. By the way, I find digital photography a great help when writing. I view a relevant snapshot on the screen as I write. This help me accurately describe what I’m seeing.

MY PATH FROM NEUROSURGEON TO AUTHOR

Writing always interested me. Even in grade school I read like a fiend. So it seemed like a good idea to major in English instead of the traditional chemistry or zoology when I was taking my premed courses. This caused me considerable grief because it was difficult to get in all my required credits. But I figured once I got into medical school I’d never have another shot at the literature courses. And that’s exactly what happened —medical school and post graduate training consumed all my time. Then one Saturday, after starting practice, I came home from making rounds at the hospital and decided to start writing. Just like that. I began a novel that ended up to be really awful. Then I wrote another one, which was better but still not ready for prime time. At that point I started trolling for an agent and finally secured one, but could not sell my work. Years later, I got the call I’d been waiting for. It was quite a thrill. I guess, in the end, my biggest challenge was finding enough time to devote to writing. For me the writing process is difficult and requires a ton of work. I now enjoy the luxury of having sufficient time to work on my craft. It’s a dream come true.



WHAT ARE THE CHALLENGES OF WRITING A MEDICAL THRILLER

People who read medical thrillers are usually interested in medical details, just as readers of legal thrillers find law interesting. What is difficult is adding sufficient medical detail to satisfy a reader without making descriptions or facts boring. This is one reason I try to move my stories along at a fast clip. Thrillers are intended to thrill, not lecture. Fast pace, good plot, interesting characters are the elements that should be in a medical thriller.

WHAT WAS THE RESEARCH BEHIND DEAD END DEAL

This is a blitz-pace thriller about a Seattle neurosurgeon who, while in Korea, is framed for a murder. Now hunted by police he must evade a professional hit man while trying to find a way back to the United States. I figure it’s Three Days of The Condor meets Michael Crichton.

I got the idea for the story when I was a guest lecturer at a medical school in Seoul, South Korea. I was staying at the Walker Hill Sheraton hotel across the Han river from the hospital. So all the scenes (hotel, downtown Seoul, and the Korean hospital) were from notes and snapshots I took while there. (I always travel with a small point and shoot camera in my pocket). The brief description of the surgical procedure comes from my own experience.

My neurosurgeon protagonist, Jon Ritter, escapes via a route I personally took when figuring out how he might return to the United States without a passport. Again, the scenes were written with the help of snapshots. So, the short answer to the question is that all the research for the story came from personal experience. By the way, I find digital photography a great help when writing. I view a relevant snapshot on the screen as I write. This help me accurately describe what I’m seeing.

DESCRIBE YOUR PATH FROM NEUROSURGEON TO AUTHOR

Writing always interested me. Even in grade school I read like a fiend. So it seemed like a good idea to major in English instead of the traditional chemistry or zoology when I was taking my premed courses. This caused me considerable grief because it was difficult to get in all my required credits. But I figured once I got into medical school I’d never have another shot at the literature courses. And that’s exactly what happened —medical school and post graduate training consumed all my time. Then one Saturday, after starting practice, I came home from making rounds at the hospital and decided to start writing. Just like that. I began a novel that ended up to be really awful. Then I wrote another one, which was better but still not ready for prime time. At that point I started trolling for an agent and finally secured one, but could not sell my work. Years later, I got the call I’d been waiting for. It was quite a thrill. I guess, in the end, my biggest challenge was finding enough time to devote to writing. For me the writing process is difficult and requires a ton of work. I now enjoy the luxury of having sufficient time to work on my craft. It’s a dream come true.


Monday, July 23, 2012

Brad Cotton Guest Post

A Unique Lit Fiction Novel with Moving Dialogue!






A Work in Progress is a new literary fiction novel by author Brad Cotton. The book has received great reviews and is on sale from July 23rd to August 3rd! Download your copy here.

In addition, Brad is doing a big giveaway, including a $100 gift certificate to Amazon and signed copies of his book!


Tweet, like, follow, share, blog and grab a copy of his book to enter.

Get your copy of A Work in Progress today! On sale on Amazon only. http://www.amazon.com/A-Work-in-Progress-ebook/dp/B007QVX42M/ref=tmm_kin_title_0



About A Work in Progress


Writer Danny Bayle’s life is in shambles. His true love has left him and his grandfather — the last and most important influence in his life — has just passed away. Danny has spent the last few months languishing, unable to write a single word, but at the urging of a friend ventures out into the world in an attempt to jumpstart a new life, befriending in the process an interesting assortment of characters including an author, a musician, an artist, and an elderly retired nurse. Garnering the attention of more than one woman, Danny sees his new friends unwittingly begin to shape what could just be the story of his life. But will he ever let go of the girl that got away?

About the author


Born and raised in Toronto, Brad Cotton has been writing professionally for over a decade. An average guitarist, a subpar painter, and a horrible juggler of anything larger than a tangerine, he is currently married to a woman, but does not have a cat, a drum set or any children. A Work in Progress is his first novel.


Learn more about the author and his work at: http://www.bradcotton.com/“>http://www.bradcotton.com/

Sunday, July 22, 2012

Spam Comments

As you all know, I LOVE getting comments, and I usually reply to each and every one of them! 
Recently, I have been receiving a lot of comments posted by Anonymous which somehow automatically go to spam. I've been unspamming them and reply to them, like I usually do. But it seems as if they are the same 3 or 4 comments that keep getting posted over and over! So I will no longer reply to these spam comments, but I will keep allowing them to be posted. 
If you post something under anonymous and it goes under spam, don't worry, I'll still reply, as long as it is not one of the 3 or 4 messages that I keep getting repeated! I will know whether it is a legit comment or not by reading it, because I will continue to read each and every comment.
If you think I won't see your comment or you want to further contact me, feel free to email me! Thank you!(: 

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Marissa Carmel Blog Tour


BLOG TOUR FOR AUTHOR OF “iFEEL”
MARISSA CARMEL!


Starting July 18th – August 31st
GMTA Independent Publishing presents Author Marissa Carmel as they host a Blog Tour in honor of her new release “iFeel.”
If you are interested in hosting Marissa on your blog please send us the information below so we can schedule her for an appearance.

Name:
Name of Blog or Site & URL:
Date or dates you’d like to host her:
Guest Post, Interview, or Live Event:
E-book Giveaway and/or Review:

Thank you so much for taking advantage of this wonderful opportunity. Keep in mind any dates currently are available from July 18th – August 31st.  Feel free to reply with the above information to mail to: greatmindsthinkaloud@gmail.com

“iFEEL” by Marissa Carmel is available at Amazon.com in Paperback and E-book format:
E-BOOK: http://www.amazon.com/iFeel-ebook/dp/B008AM5KBY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1341788061&sr=8-1&keywords=ifeel

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

2 Weeks, No Posts! Whaat?!

Just a quick little update, as to why there won't be AS MANY new posts in the following 2 weeks as there usually are. Mi familia y yo (my family and I) will be going on a vacation for 2 weeks to the land down under - that's right, Australia!
I'm not sure if there'll be free wifi at our hotels or not, and even if there is, I'm not sure how much time I'd be allowed on it, so don't expect many posts while I'm gone.
You can definitely still expect SOME posts, because Cherese Vines won't be going with me (she's just a fellow blogger) and she always has some AMAZING posts to share with you all here on PrincessReviews! Her posts will still go up, as well as 1 or 2 from me that were scheduled to post from before I left.
But once I get back, you can definitely expect TONS of posts, all about what to do there, where we went, movie reviews (gotta do something on the plane!), more book reviews, and just a lot of really awesome posts.
So please try to deal with your suffering while I'm gone, because when I get back, it'll be like I never left.
Thank you all for your understanding, and for the next 2 weeks please enjoy a mostly Cherese-filled PrincessReviews!

Tasha Nicole, Amber, Trish, and Julia (even thought Tasha is usually the only one in her family posting) will be gone from July 10, 2012 to July 23, 2012.

Monday, July 9, 2012

Advice for New Bloggers!


Hello, fellow bloggers! I've recently received a few comments asking for some advice for new bloggers. So, I figured I'd just make a post for you all.
First off, I just want to say, thank you all so much for visiting my blog and commenting and participating in stuff. Without you wonderful followers, there'd be no blog and no need for this post. So thank you. Also, thank you all for asking me about some blogging tips. That means I'm doing something right and that legit means a lot that you think my blog is good enough that you'd ask me for advice on blogs and blogging. 

Some really basic advice that anyone is likely to give, but that truly will help, even if it seems like it won't, is don't give up. Keep blogging, blogging, blogging - nonstop, everyday. Don't overblog and post more than 2-3 things a day (I've lost followers by doing that), but have at least 1 post scheduled to post everyday. The more posts your blog has, the more times it's likely to show up on Google or other search engines, the more likely you are to gain followers, which makes your blog more successful. 
Also, make sure that you blog about something you love and are interested in. DO NOT try to start a blog about something you hate or you really don't care about, just to try to get followers or to have something to do. You won't stick with it; you'll hate it; and it won't get anywhere.

So, I previously mentioned being shown in search engines, such as Google and Yahoo. This is a major contributor to viewers. If you go to Google or Yahoo or Bing, there is usually a link somewhere near the top of the page where you can add your link to the search engine. Be sure to do this to most websites that allow. Publicity is a major, major factor to getting followers and viewers and in my mind, the more people that want to read your blog, the better it is and the more successful it is. 
You also want to create facebook pages and twitter accounts and tell all of your friends to "like", "follow" or "add as friend" to help spread the word of your blog. The more people that know, the more people will talk and share and the more people will come to your blog. 

Another really important little piece of advice that I don't really think is talked about much when people ask for help with their blogs, is to contact people who know about the area you want to take your blog in the direction of. Don't be shy when it comes to asking for things for your blog. That's what email was created for! I never talk on the phone to people; I'm too shy; But I ALWAYS email people for help with things.
Most people are more than willing to help you out, but others aren't so friendly and WILL tell you no. Do NOT let these people get to you. Just say "Thanks anyway" and move on. Email some other people and companies. Keep going. Because there's only a few bad apples in the bushel, the rest are more than eager to help you out, so don't let the rotten ones keep you from finding the golden ones. 
For example, if you want to do a review blog, such as PrincessReviews, you should be contacting authors, publishers, and even fellow review bloggers, for some help. Asking for items to review, asking to do interviews, and asking to have guest posts sent to you are what helps make a blog great. 
Photography blogs should contact photographers- to get tips, to see about using some pictures, etc - education blogs should contact schools and teachers, etc. Find professionals that know a lot about what you want to blog about and contact them. Not just one, but lots. 

A lot of blogs and websites do blog tours and blog hops. These are things where there is a common theme and people go from blog to blog to see posts about this theme. These are great to get into when you are first starting your blog off, as they bring lots of traffic to your blog and to other blogs. 
To find some that are still in the "sign up" phase, just google blog tours or blog hops. You're sure to find a lot to choose from. 

Those are the really big, main pointers that I feel most starting bloggers should know. If you have any questions, or want to further contact me about it, feel free to leave a comment or email me! I will return your comment/email. Always. 

Thank you and good luck!
Happy Blogging!
TashaNicole

Sunday, July 8, 2012

Guest Post by Sherry Gloag

This post is brought to you by Sherry Gloag! 



Multi-published author, Sherry Gloag is a transplanted Scot now living in the beautiful coastal countryside of Norfolk, England.  She considers the surrounding countryside as extension of her own garden, to which she escapes when she needs "thinking time" and solitude to work out the plots for her next novel.  While out walking she enjoys talking to her characters, as long as there are no other walkers close by.
Apart from writing, Sherry enjoys gardening, walking, reading and cheerfully admits her books tend to take over most of the shelf and floor space in her workroom-cum-office.  She also finds crystal craft work therapeutic.

Blurb
For Prince Liam, families meant bad news, unwanted commitments, and the loss of his personal freedom.  Love spawned white picket fences, slippers at the hearth with a wife and kids making demands, so why did those images disappear when he met Melanie Babcot?
Melanie Babcot fought hard to escape the horrors of her youth and vowed to remain single and free, so when paid to protect Prince Liam from insurgents why did her personal pledge fly out the window?

****
EXCERPT 1:
Liam Fitzwilliam Gasquet stared in amazement at the blooming patch of red milliseconds before the pain exploded in his arm. Some trigger-happy idiot had fired in his direction. Indignation didn’t have time to take root before another bullet kicked the dust at his feet.
Not ‘trigger-happy’.
Intentional.
The rebels had found the fourth and youngest son of Jean-Phillipe Gasquet, ruler of the tiny kingdom adjacent to the Swiss border. When had they discovered his whereabouts?
With a reluctant sigh, he faced the truth of it. They hadn’t ‘found’ him at all. They’d followed him.

EXCERPT 2:
“And now, my sweet wife, it is time for me to go.”
Emotions churned in his chest. Love, betrayal, grief for the loss of a lifestyle he’d  come to love.
“And where do you think you are going?”
The sharpness of her voice sliced through his mourning.
“It is better for you not to know.”
“And why is that?” The full weight of an Arctic freeze laced her voice.
“It’s better I go alone.” How could he reveal the reasons?
Her gaze, as cold as a glacier, challenged him to continue, and when he didn’t she thumped his chest with her fist.
“Nothing to say?” she jibed. “Well, you listen to me.”
Before he guessed her intention, she shoved him away.
“You’re right. You have to leave today, but you’re not going
alone.”


EXCERPT 3:
The ping of metal--on--metal shot him out of his musings and he glanced across in time to see his wife propelling herself in his direction. Taken unaware, he fell back with her full weight pinning him down. A prolonged rattle, followed by a spattering of bullets, ended his struggles to sit up.
“Saints alive, Mel, what the heck’s going on?”
She didn’t move, didn’t answer.
“Mel?”
Wriggling from beneath her, Liam fought the urge to stand and pull her into his arms. The trash truck increased speed and, Liam swore, found every pothole in the road.
“Mel?” Gently he lifted her head and discovered a ribbon of blood trickling from a gash in her forehead. Fear turned to acid, burning his throat. A bullet wound? Or had she hit her head when tackling him?


EXCERPT 4:
“Liam, why do you suppose your every move has been tracked by palace security since you left three years ago?”
Frustration laced the security chief’s voice. “Why do you suppose your father tried to keep you close to home?”
“I suggest you tell me.”
“We knew you were the target.”
Liam heard the hard edge in his companion’s voice. “You have proof of this?”
“Get real. You’ve spent three years rebelling against your father and your position. If you’d wanted to, you could have gone back to working with your horses, but you were too intent on defying your father to follow your heart’s desire, to listen to
anything anyone else said. So, no, we didn’t think you needed to know.”
Paxman leaned his hand out the window, stuck a flashing blue light on the car roof, floored the pedal, and sailed past a convoy of vehicles.


His Chosen Bride
Blurb:
        Prince Henri Gasquet is happy to let his father, the king, choose his bride for him until he meets Monica Latimer.
Monica Latimer is not prepared to risk letting any man close enough to learn about her Gift. A gift that normally has men running for the hills when they find out about it.


Excerpt:

She lost track of time until the flames caught her attention once more. They flickered from orange to gold, to silver, to white.
A flurry of snowflakes masked the flames and for a second Monica watched the most beautiful, pristine snow-scene she’d ever seen. Her lips curved in longing. How she’d love to get a toboggan and slide down that slope. She knew where it was, and had done just that many times in her childhood, first with her parents and then, in clandestine manner, with her brother. Sneaking an old tin tray from the back of her mother’s walk-in pantry, she’d then grabbed Billy’s hand and they’d rushed out the back gate, heading for the lakeside track that led up into the hills.
Darkness, dense and thick with grief dropped over the scene. Startled and disconcerted by the strength of emotion emanating from the vision Monica shifted to her knees, ready to stand, when a voice, a deep male voice, sharp with fear called out her name.
“Monica!”
She knew she’d never heard the voice before, and yet—it was as familiar to her as the image she saw in her mirror each morning.
“Help me, Monica.”
Desperate for more clues, she searched the darkness within the flames until it sputtered and faded. With a curse she jumped up and ran for the phone. With her outstretched hand hovering over it she halted and let her hand drop to her side once more. What could she say? What would the police or rescue team think of her if she called them and told them she’d seen a vision of a man in distress?
They’d laugh in her face and classify her as a lunatic. Well, maybe not. It wouldn’t be the first time she’d contacted them with positive information but something—an instinctive gut reaction told her what she’d seen this time hadn’t happened yet.











Saturday, July 7, 2012

American Eagle Skinny Kick Jeans

American Eagle's newest style of jeans is called the Skinny Kick! They are a combination of the classic flare and the sizzling skinny. My two favorite jeans combined into one! What could be more perfect??
American Eagle Outfitters describes their new Skinny Kick Jeans as "Sits low on waist; skinny fit; 17" leg opening". These jeans are available in 4 colors/shades: Faded Dark, White, Antique Medium, and Sun Faded Destroy. (The ones I am sporting in the two pictures above are Antique Medium.) Prices on these jeans range from $39.95 to $49.95. You can buy them in stores or online at American Eagle Outfitters
Honestly, I truly really like these jeans. They are mega comfortable and I could easily wear them all day - in school, walking town, taking tests, sitting all day, standing all day - without feeling the need to change them or wear yoga or sweat pants instead. Some jeans leave a mark where they come on your hips/waist (even if they correctly fit you and you don't need a different size!), which can be extremely uncomfortable and even painful at times, but with these jeans, that problem doesn't seem to occur. It just depends on how jeans are cut, and these jeans are cut to wear they won't hurt you in any way. 
I like these jeans and would definitely recommend them to people.
Also, they come in a bunch of classic jean colors - white, dark, regular, and destroyed - which is great because you can easily find outfits with them and can dress them up for more formal events (like with the white skinny kicks), or dress them down for less formal things (like with the destroyed skinny kicks). 
I think some people put jeans into style categories (or at least they used to) - boot cuts/flares for hippies, skinnys for punks, destroyeds for rebels, etc. - but with these jeans, it's the perfect mix of all of it, so that anyone can wear it and not feel isolated. Anyone can wear these and fit into any group of people, easily. I think that's what I love best about them. They're jeans anyone can wear and feel comfortable and confident in. 
And that's really key to any great outfit, or any great pair of pants/jeans. Because if you can't wear your clothes with confidence, why wear them? 

Friday, July 6, 2012

Hurley Tribal Print Bikini

This bikini is available at PacSun! 
I got it at PacificSunwear (PacSun) for $6.99 a piece (top and bottom) because they were having a sale. I looked on the Hurley website to try to find pictures for you (the pictures above are from PacSun's site; the one to the left is me), but I could not find it anywhere on the site, so I think it has been discontinued or something at Hurley which was why it was on sale at PacSun for such an inexpensive price. If you would like one, I would suggest you hurry and get one because I don't know how many more are available if they have indeed been discontinued. 
This bikini has a halter top and a regular bottom. It's not a string bikini, but a regular bikini. This makes it acceptable for the ocean where waves could easily untie string bikinis and expose parts that should stay covered. It won't just fall off, unless you obviously get it in not your size. 
It's really comfortable and you can wear it for hours without feeling the need to take it off. The halter isn't very noticeable, unlike some where the knot/bow from being tied behind your neck start to push into your neck and hurt, on your neck until after a while, too. 
It's cute; it's comfortable; what's not to like?
I would recommend this bathing suit. :)

This is Hurley Bikini Style H6462P.

Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Seventeen Dorm Makeover Contest

Seventeen has hooked up with Bed Bath and Beyond to provide you with a dream dorm! Enter on Seventeen's website by uploading a picture of your current room. Just for signing up on Bed Bath and Beyond's website, you get 20% off one item! Not bad, huh? Every little penny counts in college, so happy 20% off! :)
Don't forget to go to www.seventeen.com/campusandbeyond to enter! :)

Maze of Bones, The 39 Clues: Book Review

I really enjoyed this first installment of The 39 Clues. Each book in the series is written by a different author. Book 1 Maze of Bones is written by Rick Riordan the author of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. Maze of Bones begins with the death of Grace Cahill the grandmother of Dan and Amy Cahill who are eleven and fourteen respectively. Since Grace Cahill was very wealthy over 400 people show up to her funeral in order to see what she left them in her will. However, only a select few are invited to the reading, Amy and Dan among them. The twist comes when Grace's lawyer plays a video message to the family revealing that the Cahill clan is a powerful family that has helped to shape world history. If this was not fantastic enough, Grace challenges the family to embark on a quest for 39 clues leading to a treasure where only one Cahill will become the most powerful person in history, or they can take $1 million dollars each and walk away. Many walk away, but Amy and Dan Cahill have a feeling that their grandmother wanted them to take on the challenge even though she never mentioned it to them. So they enter the challenge, burning their $1 million dollar checks. With their parents dead and no one else who really cares about them, Amy and Dan trick their caregiver Nellie into accompanying them on the chase which has them running away from their guardian Aunt Beatrice and Social Services. But not only do the children have to figure out the clues and how to pay for their travel, they have to compete against their family members. The Cahill clan are not only mean, rude and greedy, but some of them are also trying to kill Amy and Dan because they believe Grace gave the children inside information on how to win the challenge. Although the children go through some scary moments fighting to find the next clue and stay alive, it is not too gory or frightening for young readers. The book pulls heavily on historical facts to guide Amy and Dan to their next clue. However, it is not boring recitation of facts. It is presented in interesting and exciting ways. In this book, the focus is Benjamin Franklin. I'm looking forward to the next 38 books. Rating: 4/5

Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Matt Frend Guest Post

This guest post brought to you by GMTA and Matt Frend, who's book comes out July 4th!


Why write?
Why not play music, make a film or be a game developer. The key for me is imagination. Although music, film and gaming have their own magic, giving people the recipes to make their own imaginary banquets is something special again.
In a sense, characters belong to the reader as well as the writer, much like having acquaintances whose actions of course we have little control over. I like to think I write with respect for the reader in mind. I don’t feel this is in conflict with an artistic commitment to be free of popular or commercial influences; it’s more of a guideline to assist with staying within the bounds of reason or good taste. I sometimes have to rein the fast gallop back to a working trot, listening instead to the reader looking over my shoulder.
When I start reading a novel I feel there’s a bond of trust I’m entering into – an expectation that I’ll be going on a journey with the writer at the helm. So now in return I aspire to meet that expectation when I write.     
As a side note to this, Life Before Death had its own motivation for being written. It was more out of loyalty than fulfilling any personal dream. It is a heavily fictionalized memoir, the purpose of which is to deliver the primary message contained in the book.
 I make no excuses for the controversial nature of its content. It’s life as it happened. Much like that saying, life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.
One benefit writing a novel has given me is a goal to keep on writing after finding I enjoy it so much. Unlocking the imagination and finding an outlet for it has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my altogether too short life. The bouncy puppy of inspiration must be played with or it will burst.
I highly recommend writing in all its forms to anyone – keeping a diary; jotting down a simple rhyme - even scribbling away with your personal history as I have done. Apart from being a lot of fun it can have a therapeutic effect.
I am very thankful for it.

Matt Frend's Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/matt.frend 
Matt Frend's Goodreads Profile:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5752739.Matt_Frend 

Monday, July 2, 2012

How To Look Like You

Due out July 5, 2012!

Title:
How To Look Like You

Author:
Rose McClelland

Summary: (CrookedCat Publishing)

Have you ever had a frenemy? Someone you smile at sweetly but secretly you are filled with jealousy? Meet Chloe and Ella.
While Chloe sees herself as dowdy, quiet and going nowhere, Ella is brimming with talents: acting, singing, and outward-sitting, bronzed boobs.
Yet, Ella envies Chloe’s steady relationship with Aidan, her stick-thin figure and her perfectly poised style. As a result, Ella feels overweight, over-single and over-the-hill.
As Ella begins to work alongside Aidan, she develops feelings she shouldn’t have. When he invites her to join his band, it’s no surprise Chloe reacts by slamming the door off the handle.
Then Chloe begins a strategy of her own: Operation Simon. If she starts to go out more often with the bloke from work, surely Aidan would take notice?
Will Aidan smell Simon’s advances? Will Chloe and Aidan’s shared plans go ahead?
Will Ella become a friend or an enemy?
Find out How To Look Like YOU.


About the Author: (CrookedCat Publishing)

Rose McClelland lives in Belfast and writes chick-lit/women’s fiction. Her debut novel ‘The Break-Up Test’ received lovely reviews on Amazon including: “Rose McClelland’s voice reads like the younger sister of Marian Keyes with a more streetwise but vulnerable edge.”She is delighted to see her second novel ‘How to Look Like You’ also published by Crooked Cat.Rose wrote a short play which was directed by Rawlife Theatre Company and performed in The Black Box Theatre, Belfast. She writes book reviews for ‘Judging Covers’ and writes a mixture of theatre reviews and author interviews for her blog.Rose has been writing creatively since her twenties. She started writing her first novel six years ago and is currently writing her fourth book.

I'd Recommend to...
Girls ages 15-45

My Rating:
5/5

My Thoughts:
How To Look Like You was honestly one of the best books I've read in a while. It was full of drama and wondering and wanting and I loved it. I'm a sucker for things with tons of drama, and this was right up there.
Ella is an upcoming actress, trying to get her foot in the door. She still needs to pay her expenses though, so she is out looking for a job at a bar. This is where she meets Adian. Adian and Ella fancy each other immediately, but Adain has a girlfriend, Chloe, and Ella has a booty-call, Robb. But Robb also has a girlfriend, Stacey, and just uses Ella to "get it on" with. Chloe is jealous of Ella, even though she fancies a coworker, Simon. Mary is jealous of Chloe, because she, too, fancies Simon. Simon wants Chloe, but does not want to interfere with her and Adain. Later, Ella and Stacey, along with Robb, are both put on a reality show. How they respond to each other and finding out about Robb's cheating is quite interesting, but I won't spoil it for you.
It's like a giant love shape-with-a-lot-of-sides. It's amazing.
You can pretty much tell how things will end, who will end up with who, if Ella will become an actress, what will happen with people, etc, from not far into the book, but it is still fun to read and keeps you hooked. You want to continue to read more. So much so, that I read this book as continuously as time allowed me to, and I finished a lot quicker than I thought I would.
I was really, truly a fan of this book and hope to read some more by Rose McClelland.

Sunday, July 1, 2012

Interview with Lee-Ann Graff-Vinson





I got the chance to interview author Lee-Ann Graff Vinson! Check it out below!




1.       You seem to be a big supporter of the military. Is this because you have a family member in the military or do you just support them?
 I have met quite a few brave men and women over the last five years who have sacrificed more than just their “time” served. War does not simply end when the fight is over. Battle scars, both mental and physical, last the lifetime of those who have served to keep our freedom. The choice to write military novels and shorts is simply my small contribution to the struggle these brave warriors have to face on a daily basis. 2.        Love and Liberty happens to involve the military too. Would you mind telling us a bit more about what Love and Liberty is about?
Captain Dana Jenkins of the United States Army is about to embark on a mission that will change her life. This isn’t Dana’s first deployment, but it is proving possibly to be her last. As part of the platoon traveling from Camp Liberty, Iraq to Camp Taji, Dana’s convoy gets ambushed. She and the surviving soldiers are taken prisoner by the merciless Iraqi rebel group, Al-Moofoona. Their only hope lies in the hands of their fearless leader, Captain Jack Parsons—the man with whom Dana has fallen hopelessly in love.Captain Jack Parsons can only sit and watch as what is left of his platoon is ordered into the back of a truck. Along with his men, they’ve taken the only woman he’s ever allowed to penetrate his heart. Jack is going to do everything in his power to save them all before it’s too late. http://www.amazon.com/Love-and-Libery-ebook/dp/B0073YCGJE/ref%3dsr_1_5?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1333129108&sr=1-5www.gypsyshadow.com/Lee-AnnGraffVinson.html 3.       You also have a picture book out for children. What is Queen Emily's Enchanted Kingdom: Sugarland about?
When Emily goes to sleep at night, her dreams take her into an Enchanted Kingdom. She is transformed into Queen Emily, the ruler of the land. Her most beloved friend and favorite bedtime stuffy comes alive. Together, they solve the mystery of the candy covered Kingdom. In the process, Queen Emily learns an important lesson about what can happen when you eat too many treats!https://www.createspace.com/3832950 http://www.amazon.com/Emilys-Enchanted-Kingdom-Sugarland-ebook/dp/B007NPO3K8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1332791807&sr=8-1  4.       Which did you enjoy writing more: the adult book or the children book?
  I enjoy them both. The picture books are an escape from the “real life” struggles I write about in my military novels. I also love making up the stories and illustrations with my daughter. We work as a great team together. I write military/romance and erotica genres as well. Any story I am currently working on is one that brings me joy. I simply love to write.    5.        Do you have many international friends that are fellow authors?
 I do actually. The internet is a wonderful tool for marketing, but one of the advantages of social media is the ability to make friends around the globe. It is truly amazing. 6.        Where does most of your support come from?
 I am Canadian, but as I do write American military books, most of my support comes from the US. However, I have noticed that my work is also read in other parts of the world as well, including the UK and Australia. 7.       Where do you find your inspiration?
 My children not only provide me with endless entertainment, they also supply me with a great deal of my ideas for the picture books. The news, Twitter, Facebook and daily life supplies me with the rest. I find I don’t have to look very far in order to find a worthy topic to incorporate into a current or future story. 8.        Do you prefer chocolate or peanut butter?
 Chocolate covered peanut butter. Add in a glass of wine and you have a new best friend. 9.       How many children do you have? Pets?
 I have a daughter, age 8; a son, age 5; and a Brittany Spaniel, age 1. 10.    Thank you!
 The pleasure is all mine. Thank you so much for allowing me the opportunity to appear on your fabulous blog!