Friday, April 26, 2013

Fun Galaxy Review


I chose Fun Galaxy in McDonough, GA for my daughter’s 7th birthday party. The children had a blast. It is a very large, very clean facility. It has a skating rink that looks too be made of rubber or a durable plastic. It also has a large indoor playground divided into two sections, one for toddlers and the other for children up to 11 years old. There is also a skateboarding area, arcade games and a mechanical bull.

The price is reasonable and includes admission/skates, admission/skateboard/helmet, or admission/playground. There is a discount for bringing your own gear and a discount for combining activities. 
The snack bar pizza is pretty good and the drinks fresh.

It is a new facility so all the skates and everything else is new. There are picnic tables set up throughout for seating. The birthday price was ok for 10 children which includes the birthday child. I was happy with the service I received before the birthday party as a visitor and during the party.

I would recommend this facility and I will return.

Rating 4.8/5

Friday, April 19, 2013

Cheddar's Casual Cafe Review


Cheddar's restaurant just opened in McDonough, GA. We took our daughter for birthday. We went straight after school on Monday because I had driven by Cheddars on several occasions and its parking lot is always full.

Fortunately, I picked the right time. We were seated right away. The staff  were friendly and the service quick. I had gone online and looked at the menu so we ordered our food as soon as we sat down. It came out quickly and was delicious. The children ordered chicken fingers, fries and Sprite. I ordered the New Orleans Pasta and Peach Tea. My husband ordered the Braised Fall-of-the-Bone Roast and Raspberry Lemonade. My Peach Tea was a little too sweet for me. Our server immediately offered a different drink. I ordered a Mango Tea. It was too sweet as well.

For dessert, my daughter ordered the Hot Fudge Cake Sundae. It should’ve been called Chocolate Death. It was a huge piece of cake, moist and delicious. We all shared it. Then my husband had the mini Key Lime Pie. It was definitely mini. It came in a shot glass that was almost too small for the spoon.

The prices were reasonable and the service great. We will go back again. I recommend this restaurant for a casual home cooking-like experience.

Rating 4.5/5

Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Kerry Taylor Guest Post

This post is by Kerry Taylor!!


I am a mother, entrepreneur, IT Engineer, poet and foremost a woman. I say this because, at times, we as mothers forget we are individuals too. We hide under motherhood to excuse and justify our movements in life.
I have 3 children aged from 17 to 1 years old, they keep my on my toes 24-7. They are the biggest aspect of my life. They keep me thinking of new adventures all the time, and sometimes they stop me taking some of them too.
I am known to be rather wild at times. A special quote from my 17-year-old the other day – Whilst picking on his younger brother, I pointed out that they have all come from the same stomach. So, he should not act like he is the superior one. His reply – That is the problem Mother, we came from somewhere far worse than your stomach!!
Recently, self-published my first book of poetry called Stones of My Heart: One Woman’s Life Journey. It details all the different stages in my life from childhood, to teenager, to motherhood, to a wife and finally to a single mother. What makes it different from most? Everything, I am an average woman, fighting to survive in the world, and I have had too many kickbacks and keep trying to survive. That counts for a lot in my eyes and others.
The next book of poetry, I have written is called Life’s Pebbles: Her Journey Continues. It will be followed by Gravel of Moments: She Speaks Her Truths. Currently, writing my biography, my first novel which will enable my readers’ to piece all the puzzles together.
Also, I have started writing romantic comedies, the first one to be released is Fly, Pray, Love. It is a laugh out loud Cross Atlantic comedy about How Beyonce met Brad Pitt! Followed by Blind Dating, which is a heart-warming comedy about a woman who commences chat dating to discover the person she decides to meet is someone she already knows. I have just completed Love or Money, about two roommates, who set on a quest to get engaged, Kelly claims Money Can’t Buy me Love, whereas Heather begs to differ in this laugh out loud romantic comedy. Newly realeased, She Said: He Said, a book which is a prime example of why Men are from Mars and Women are from Venus! Nearly Natal, a funny book about different types of mothers!
 
 
Links to Amazon:
 
 
Other social media reaches:
Facebook: kerrytaylor2012
Twitter:@KerryTaylor2012

Monday, April 15, 2013

Sophia: Within Giveaway!!

Jordana Lizama, author of Sophia: Within is kindly hosting a giveaway here on PrincessReviews! :)
From Amazon: (http://www.amazon.com/Sophia-Within-ebook/dp/B00BHMOQSC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361490835&sr=8-1&keywords=sophia+within)

Book Description

 February 17, 2013
Only time will tell if Sophia, Alec and the world are ready to accept the mission that has been passed down for many generations. This is more than a story of reincarnation. This is a story that never ended following the reign of the Greek gods.

What has been hidden for thousands of years is about to surface in a small New England town. The impact on this rural village is ageless, but only the chosen time travelers know what is happening, the reason it is happening and how to control the outcome.
The Men of Ages have walked the Earth unnoticed since the time of Greek mythology and have kept their ancient war alive by transporting the lead warrior in a most unusual time machine. There is only one way to stop the cataclysmic demise of the human race and Sophia is the answer. But, Sophia is a teenage girl faced with many human and nonhuman desires that create a tortuous path from antiquity to the present day. Love conquers all; or, so it seems.

Who Can Enter:
PrincessReviews Followers

How to Enter:
Follow PrincessReviews
Like Sophia:Within on Facebook
Follow @JordyLizama on Twitter
LEAVE A COMMENT WITH YOUR EMAIL (so we know how to contact you if you win)
      IF YOU DO NOT LEAVE AN EMAIL WE HAVE NO WAY TO CONTACT YOU IF YOU WIN!!!

What you Win:
Digital copy of the book, along with a Digital Dedication from the author!

When to Enter:
Monday-Friday
April 15-19, 2013

Thank you and Good Luck!!

Random.Org will be used to select a winner from the comments below!! 


Sunday, April 14, 2013

Life Under the Sea

This post is created by Tasha Haight.



Life Under the Sea
by Tasha Haight
            It was our second to last stop on our journey. The loneliness of being a foreigner without friends accompanying me was starting to sink in; I missed my best friend. Being out of the country I call home, the only way I could reconnect with those back in the States was online, and that was a rare opportunity to come by, given our busy schedule. So, I started to write in the "Notes" app of my iPhone everything I would want to tell people when I returned to America.
            Little did I know I would write several pages on one adventure alone.
Whale Rib
(Picture from Google Images)
            Back in 5th grade, a marine biologist came to our school for career day. I walked into the classroom she was located in hoping she would be just as interesting as the cosmetologist, the one that told me I had red roots in my hair, that I had just come from.  Stepping into a classroom that's like any other, average, something that seemed out of place immediately caught my eye: A bone. Not just any bone, a giant whale rib was sitting upright on the floor against the poster-covered wall. Bones usually gross me out; blood I can't handle. But something about this bone intrigued me. Maybe it was the size, easily as tall as the top of the top cabinet. Or maybe it was simply the fact that that bone had come from a whale, a wondrous creature of the majestic sea.
            Sometime between then and now, reality made me realize that if I want everything I want from life (a maid, a cook, a dog, and a boat), I would need to be rich. After researching it a bit, I figured that marine biologists only make about $40,000 a year, while lawyers make around $89,000, starting salary. Besides, before getting to learn about the creatures of the deep, one must first understand the human body, and that would require more studying of icky, gross body parts that wouldn't otherwise be required. No thanks. I liked to argue; I could easily go through the required extra schooling to afford my expensive ideal lifestyle. But is that what I really wanted?
me and my family getting ready
to go in the water
            Riding the boat out to the reef, listening to the professional talk about everything we would have a chance to see in our expedition, I wasn't so sure. My mother helped zip my wetsuit. Putting on the snorkel, mask, and flippers, I knew I couldn't wait to get into the water. Like many beach trips, the water was calling me.
            Even though back at home it was summer, in Australia the chilliness of winter reached most parts of the country. Fortunately, Port Douglas is one of the more northern parts of the continent, so it was only around 75 degrees Fahrenheit. The coolness of the water was still felt through my flippers, but I continued in, deeper, until slowly, the water engulfed my body.
            I'd never really been good at snorkeling; the water would always somehow get in the mask and I'd choke. I could scuba around my pool for hours, but could never correctly snorkel. Somehow, the yellow snorkeling set containing a yellow mask and a yellow snorkel kept me afloat.
Clam Coral
Picture from Google Images
Squirt (pic from Google Images)
            Looking down at the complex mix of colors below me, I understood why it is called the Great Barrier Reef. It truly is great. Cute little fish swam below me, in and out of the maze of their protective coral clumps. I spent about 10 minutes alone simply watching a purple clam coral contract and expand. It was hypnotizing. I even saw a sea turtle, one that could have easily been Squirt (from the 2003 film Finding Nemo), had he been based off of a real sea turtle.
            My bright orange flippers and the hot pink logo on my wetsuit were nothing in comparison to the shades and tints of colors that could only be found outside of this natural phenomenon in Crayola's most advanced box of crayons. I had to get a closer look. Snorkeling at the surface of the water was simply not working for me. I wanted more. I needed more.

            After putting on the air helmet, I headed down, down, down, onto a platform several meters below where I had been snorkeling. A guide also came down, to help show me some creatures I might not have otherwise noticed. The things he held were interesting, but not as fascinating as the Red Bass.
Red Bass (pic from Google Images)
            Looking around, amazed at all the flora and fauna of this underwater habitat, a giant red fish swimming towards me grabbed my attention. It looked like it had fangs! Two sharp teeth hung out of its mouth, one on each side. I wasn't afraid though. As the fish got closer, so did more! More of what I called "vampire fish" swam toward me, the guide, and the other people on the platform. Still, I was not afraid. Even though I could see how pointy its teeth were, I reached out to pet it. As it swam by, the smoothness of its body reminded me of that of a dolphin, although they aren't even the same type of animal (dolphin being a mammal, and the red bass being a fish).
Me with the Red Bass Fish
            As I reluctantly got out of the water, I couldn't help but appreciate the beauty of nature, something I'm not sure I've ever done before. Usually I've just taken it for granted, but not then. In the notes app on my phone, my list of things to tell Kaitlin, I wrote:
Snorkeling in the
Great Barrier Reef
            The Great Barrier Reef is soooo gorgeous. It makes me realize why I've pretty much always wanted to be a marine biologist. I love it. All the coral and fish - spectacular. It's amazing!
            My experience that day in the Great Barrier Reef  made me hopeful I could mix Marine Biology and Law. Maritime law exists, and so does international law, and I'm sure one of them would gladly appreciate a lawyer specialized in marine life. Now my goals are set and I'm ready to achieve them. I will mix my passion and need for riches, and I will live a wonderful life. 

Friday, April 12, 2013

Griffin Skate Inn Review


Griffin Skate Inn in Griffin, GA is a great little place to skate and have fun. We went on Friday “Disney” session from 4:30-6:30pm. It’s great skating for younger children without worrying about “bad” music or being knocked down by teenagers. They also have Tuesday Christian music night. It is a great price (includes admission and skate rental) and the staff is friendly and helpful. It is a bit old and I would recommend eating before going, but they do have snacks and drinks. I recommend this skating rink for families on a budget. 2489 N Expressway, Griffin, GA 30223, 770-228-6066

Rating 4/5

Friday, April 5, 2013

Starlight Family Fun Center Review


Starlite Family Fun Center in Stockbridge, GA is an ok facility. I went there on a holiday because I saw an ad that stated that admission would be free that day. I was scouting for places to hold my daughter’s birthday party. However, I apparently didn’t read the ad because the attendant wouldn’t give me the discount because I didn’t have the ad with me. But I had obviously seen the ad and mentioned it. You would think that would be enough. Customer service oriented businesses would more than likely have accepted this fact. But Starlite didn’t. We went in anyway against my better judgment.

It is flashy and pricey. You pay for admission. You pay another fee for skate rentals. You pay another fee to rent a PVC pipe on wheels to help beginners. You pay to get into the indoor playground. You pay for the arcade games.

The service did not make me feel welcomed. We ate at the snack bar and the wings we ordered were still frozen. The pizza was not very good. The rink is large with a clean wood surface. Some of the music was not what we would let our children listen to. The indoor playground is small and a bit cramped and the staff comes around stopping children in their play to check to see if they have wrist bands for the playground. You must have a wrist band for skating and a wrist band for the playground. No discounts offered for both. I had already paid for my children to skate. We were there an hour before they wanted to play in the playground so I went over to purchase wrist bands for them. The attendant “required” me to bring the children over to see their bands before she would sell me more. Why? We were already in the building so we had obviously paid. Rude. I was not happy with my experience. The birthday packages were not a good deal either.

I would not go back and I would not recommend. I should have heeded the reviews.

Rating 1/5