Saturday, August 31, 2013

Forever Fredless Cover Reveal!

Suzy Turner would like to reveal the cover for her new chic lit, Forever Fredless, here on PrincessReviews! Her guest post/reveal is below!! 


Drum roll, please...




Cover Reveal
Forever Fredless by Suzy Turner
Kate Robinson has spent the past two decades yearning to find her soul mate, the boy she found and then lost during a family holiday. Shortly after her twenty-eighth birthday, however, she inherits a fortune from an old family friend and becomes something of an overnight celebrity. Can her new-found fame lead her to him after all this time?
Forever Fredless will be available from online bookstores from October 2013

For more details about Suzy and her books, visit: 
http://suzyturner.com
http://suzyturner.blogspot.com
http://facebook.com/suzyturnerbooks
http://twitter.com/@suzy_turner
http://pinterest.com/suzyturnerbooks

Friday, August 30, 2013

WonderWorks Review


WonderWorks in Myrtle Beach, SC.

We booked the tickets through a vacation package with Pirates Voyage (which we loved). We had no problem presenting our printed-online tickets. However, my children did not like Wonderworks so much. They are ages 7 and 3. My older child was a bit scared of the creaking sound of the building and the fact that it is upside down.

I thought is was a wonderful idea. There are many exhibits that challenge the mind and body. It is a hands-on indoor science amusement park. There are many things to explore and a few "rides." My children were too small to really "ride" on much. They did enjoy the bubbles and looking at the exhibits. But we ended up going through the four or so floors pretty quickly and they did not want to return. We also went when there were several summer camp groups going through so it was pretty crowded.

It is right off the Boardwalk. We walked through the Boardwalk and feed the greedy ducks and fat fish :-) but did not visit any other attractions or shopping. We'll have to do that on a future trip.

I recommend this attraction for families with children at least 10 years old or just taller children.

Rating 4/5 stars

More reviews at www.cheresevinescharmingwords.wordpress.com

Monday, August 26, 2013

Candy and the Cankersaur


The pictures in this book were simply delightful! They were so cute, any kid would certainly like this book, if just for the pictures alone! This book had some pretty intense vocabulary for 3-9 year olds to understand, but I suppose that's why there are pictures to go along with it. All in all, it was a cute story, and it certainly makes me wish I had a pet Cankersaur! 


From the author: 
"Candy and the Cankersaur" is a picture book about a girl who receives a dinosaur as a gift and her determination to train him to be a good pet.  It's a fun homage to Syd Hoff and will make all dinosaur-crazy boys and girls happy.
"Candy and the Cankersaur" is available on Amazon, Nook, iTunes and Kobo.
As a bedtime story Picture Book it’s aimed for children ages 3-6.
As a read-alone Picture Book it’s appropriate for children ages 6-9.

Sunday, August 25, 2013

Collateral Damage

Collateral Damage (Annie Ogden, #3)
Annie is engaged to Salvatore, but when her ex, Michael, comes to Chicago to find her, things get a little wild. First, he attacks her on the street, then he creeps into her sisters apartment. After confronting her fiance, Michael takes Annie on a road trip back to Florida for a big army reunion party. Annie and Michael leave the party to go get dinner, and while they're gone someone is murdered. The murder is blamed on Michael, even though he wasn't even at the crime scene. Annie makes it her mission to get Michael out of jail and find the real killer, even if it costs her $10,000 for an attorney.
When Salvatore won't come down to help, Annie gets her friend, June, to help, but while finding information, her questionees end up dead. Going back to warn the person she first talked to, she runs into (literally) the murderers who drug her & take her to a place to die. Salvatore, worried about Annie's safety, comes  looking for them and with the help of the police, finds and rescues them. Now that Annie was endangered, Salvatore also makes it his mission to find the real killer. Nothing can stop him.
The murders in this book, though clearly centered around a drug ring, were very intertwined and complicated, which made for an interesting read. This book had a lot of detail, but not so much that it was boring (it was far from boring!), which was appreciated. Sometimes I was at a loss for guesses for who the killer would be, but most of the time I had a pretty good guess (which turned out right!), but I guess that's just the Nancy Drew in me. Having that assumption made me want to finish reading it even more to see if I was correct, and I didn't want to put the book down until I knew. I liked this book, and I think most people will too.
Just a warning, narrations flip back and forth between Annie & Salvatore. It's clear who's narrating, but sometimes that can bother people so it's good to let you know.

Friday, August 23, 2013

Man of Steel Movie Review


I didn't really want to see this movie. I'm not a Superman kinda girl. If I was, I prefer Christopher Reeves. The last Superman movie was awful (Superman Returns). However, I did enjoy many elements in this CURRENT installment of the Superman franchise. I liked the more science-fiction element of the movie.

It begins on Krypton (sp?) and gives the audience a better understanding of Superman's origins. It actually made sense and didn't rely so much on "comic book" logic. It actually sounded plausible.  I'm not a comic book reader, but the stories behind some of these characters are so out there, I'm like "Yeah, right." Don't get me wrong. I have enjoyed most of the movies so far that have come from comics, so no hate comments PLEASE!  I watched the cartoons as a kid. I loved X-Men and Spiderman cartoons. Although I did have to adjust to the way the characters were portrayed on the big screen. I never heard much about Iron Man, but the movies are now part of my favorites...Go RDJ!

But I'm getting off the subject. I was impressed with Superman's back story. I liked the fact that he had a spiritual background that was brought prominently to the front. The hero is just an average person like anyone else who is searching for his identity. When he finds it, he has to make a choice.

Henry Cavill does a pretty good job. But he was just big for no earthly reason! Well, they saved money on not having to pad the costume. I think anyone could've played Lois Lane the way Amy Adams portrayed her. And why was Laurence Fishburne in this movie at all? Did he need gas money for his jet or something? Kevin Costner was Kevin Costner, doesn't matter which movie. Loved Christopher Meloni! Ok I just like him because I liked his character on Law & Order so he can do no wrong. Russell Crowe was creepy as always. And the antagonist played by Michael Shannon was convincing, very convincing! His haircut probably added to the (whisper this now:) "I think he's insane" factor.

I didn't give it 5 stars because some of the fight scenes were boring. How? They kept repeating the same sequences: someone's thrown into a building completely destroying it and they get up unharmed. Someone ELSE is thrown into a building completely destroying it and they get up unharmed. No variety. Nothing to make me say, "Did you see that?!" But I do recommend this movie even if you don't want to see it. It has a plot!

More reviews at www.cheresevinescharmingwords.wordpress.com

Tuesday, August 20, 2013

Pretty Face


Hayley lives in Santa Monica, California. You know, the city near Hollywood? With all the supermodels and actresses and insanely fit and handsome people? It's no wonder she's so insecure, and her mother certainly isn't helping by buying her a talking scale. Life seems to get even more upsetting when her crush likes her best friend. In an attempt to help, her parents send her to Italy for the summer where she discovers she's more than just a pretty face. With the help of her loving host family and a local boy, Hayley can finally accept herself as she is.
I feel like this is a great book to relate to, which makes it tons easier to read. I also like the descriptiveness and use of the Italian language because it really transports the reader to another country. Learning about Italy, accepting oneself, and how not-so-good Americanized culture is, is made fun in this book. I'd recommend this book to high school females.

Sunday, August 18, 2013

Perfect Girl


Ruthie likes her best friend, Perry. But she needs help getting his attention and it seems like someone else has his. Breaking her mother's rules, she calls her aunt in New York - the goddess of love. Glad to come help, Martha is quickly found back in Odessa, Delaware to help her niece through the stages of her crush. 
This book is a quick and easy read explaining a girl's first crush and her desire to be wanted. I liked it because it's setting is right down the road from me, yet I learned several interesting facts about Delaware from the character of Mr. Arthur. It seems like a great middle-school read to me! 

18 Things Guest Post & Giveaway

Thanks for hosting us, Princess Reviews!!! I decided to spend this fine morning at Jumpin' Java Coffee House, one of Olga's favorite hot spots off Washington Street in her small hometown of Grand Haven, Michigan. I'm sitting at a table by the front window to keep an eye out for her. Ah, here she is, sporting Capri jeans and a red Wonder Woman t-shirt, her red curly hair done in french braid pigtails.
Me: Hey, girl. How are you today?
Olga: I'm happy! Is that for me? *points to a coffee mug in front of the empty seat*
Me: Of course! I know better than to approach you with a bunch of deep questions in the morning without giving you coffee first.
*takes a seat and groans after her first sip*Olga: Hmm, Chocolate-drizzled Snickers flavored whipped mocha. So . . . deep questions? How deep are we talking about here?
*Me grinning as I refrain from a That's What She Said joke. Afterall, Olga is only eighteen years old*
Me: Umm, nothing too heavy. Lots of questions about Nate. Speaking of Nate, will he be joining us today?
Olga: He's supposed to stop by after he finishes band practice with the Cantankerous Monkey Squad
Me: Awesome! Oh, I hope he brings his guitar and sings a song for us because that's, you know, kinda sexy *fans self*
Olga: Hey, watch it! That's my man you're talking about.
Me: Right, sorry. So tell us a little bit about your story.
Olga: Well, it's very emotional. Growing up, I was always a bit of an outsider but I always had my best friend, Conner, to keep me company. We've known each other since kindergarten. Then, last April, he died in a freak accident and I was there to see it all go down and wasn't able to save him. I was really torn up about it, even downed an entire bottle of pain pills. That's when my parents forced me to see a counselor and that's where I met Nate. Ultimately our story is about love, grief, longing, self-doubt, growth, and the bonds of friendship. It has lots of fun stuff but it's also poignant.
Me: Well, sounds like a beautiful story *toot, toot;~)* Now in the novel, 18 Things, your counselor tells you to write a life list of 18 things to do the year you turn 18. Is there anything on the list you wish you could take back?
Olga: Yessss! The roller coaster. Ugh . . . I can't believe that . . . well, I guess I should let the readers find out what happens.
Me: For sure. So, what was your favorite thing from the list?
Olga: Going on my first date, of course! And speaking of the devil, here he is.
*At 5-foot-10, Nate enters wearing a blue t-shirt and baggy khaki corduroys, unfortunately covering up most of his lean and muscular body. He has a boyish face dominated by large, ocean blue expressive eyes, and his hair is crammed under a wool cap, a few coffee-colored strands peeking out onto his forehead*
Nate: Hello, ladies. *slides into chair next to Olga and sees her empty cup* Uh-oh, someone needs more coffee. *pulls out wallet*
Olga: It's okay. I'll get it. I know Jamie is dying to ask you some questions. *winks at me and walks over to the counter, the rich stimulating smell of brewing coffee drawing her closer . . .oh, sorry, POV problem for a second--hate those!*
Me: So Nate, when did you know you wanted to be more than just friends with Olga?
Nate: From the first moment I saw her.
Me: You're just trying to score brownie points for when Olga reads this!
Nate: *holds up hands and laughs* I'm totally not! It's the truth.
Me: Okay, then. Boxers or briefs?
Nate: Boxers for sure. *adds suggestive eyebrow-wiggle as Olga walks over with 3 cups of coffee, one for each of us*
Olga: Everything okay here?
Me: Yes, of course. Totally behaving myself. So Nate, what's the best thing about Olga?
Nate: She's hot. *Olga slaps his shoulder* Kidding, well not really but I'd have to say everything. She gets emotional over things but not in a drama queen kind of way. She's super smart and kind of dorky--loves to write poetry and watch Star Wars and she's never without a book. When I first met her last year she was all hunched over, like she was trying to disappear, so beautiful in her vulnerability. I knew right away I wanted to do something to make her feel better.
Me: Aww! That is so sweet. What would be your idea of a perfect date with Olga?
Nate: That's easy. Of course it's anywhere she is, anywhere she'd want to go.
Me: I like a boy who gives a girl what she wants! Olga--what's your idea of a perfect date with Nate?
Olga: Hmm, probably grabbing a cup of coffee right here in the morning, then heading down the street to the beach and reading a good book while we're stretched out on a towel next to each other, Nate strumming his guitar and serenading me. Then catching a movie at the theatre with the Jedi Order later.
Me: Oh, right. The Jedi Order is the reference you guys use for your group of friends in the book. Tell us a little bit about them too because they play a really important part.
Olga: Well, there's Nicole. She's the self-sacrificing best friend. Tammy is really strong. She puts up a front but she cares fiercely for her friends too. Sean is a big goofball. Kyle is incredibly loyal. Conner is . . . was . . . bigger than life. He's the one who started calling us the Jedi Order so we continued the tradition in his memory. Nate joined as an honorary member this year. He's really honest and and definitely brings out the hidden risk taker in me.
Me: I'm sure Conner would've loved your list and the way it brought you together this past year as a catharsis to heal and move on while honoring his memory. Will there be a sequel to your story?
Olga: We're just some of the many voices in your head. You tell me.
Me: Oh, right. Yes, yes of course there will be:-) There’s even a sneak preview of the next book, 18 Truths, at the end of 18 Things. Depending on how edits go, the second book will be out in December or January. I’m writing the last book in the trilogy, 18 Thoughts, now . . . or I should be.
I'll leave you two love birds to yourselves. Don't do anything I wouldn't do *wink, wink* And guys, just remember that love brought you together. There’s gonna be lots of things, and people, who try to keep you apart in the near future. It’s up to you to decide if you’re gonna let them. *I get up, coffee in hand, and shuffle toward the door*
Nate: Whoa, whoa . . . you can’t just leave after a comment like that! What’s going on?
*I pause, looking over my shoulder at their expectant faces*
Me: Sorry, I have to go. Just remember that the best time of all is now. Enjoy your journey together. You never know when it will all change, but you’re only 18 Truths away to another life changed.

Jamie Ayres writes young adult paranormal love stories by night and teaches Language Arts to young adults as a public school teacher by day. She lives in southwest Florida with her husband and two daughters. 18 Things is her debut novel. Visit her website at www.jamieayres.com.
18 Things is available here:
Add 18 Things to your TBR list!


Enter to win an ECOPY of 18 THINGS simply by leaving a comment with your email! 
(Must be following PrincessReviews)
1 winner
Enter now until September 8th.

Saturday, August 17, 2013

Souls Set Free E-Copy Giveaway

Kimmie Easley has generously donated an ecopy and print copy of her book, Souls Set Free. This is the giveaway for the e- copy.
Souls Set Free

What to Win:
E-book Copy of Souls Set Free

How Many Winners:
1

Entry Requirements:
Follow PrincessReviews
Submit a review of the book once read

How to Enter:
Leave a comment WITH YOUR EMAIL

Who Can Enter:
anyone (international)

When to Enter:
August 17-25,2013

Book Description:
Emma Carter isn’t your average loving mother and wife. Actually, she’s not loving at all. Unable to move on from a tormented childhood of abuse she’s now at risk of losing her own family. Hopeless, she goes to bed every night secretly longing to not wake up the next morning. That all changes the day her mother is murdered while living on the streets. Emma must now face all of the pain she has spent years trying to numb with pills and alcohol when she is forced to travel back to her hometown to identify her mother’s body. 
If only it were that easy…
Will reliving the abuse all over again help Emma forgive her mother or send her spiraling back into a world she fought so hard to survive?

Print Copy of Souls Set Free Giveaway

Kimmie Easley has generously donated an ecopy and print copy of her book, Souls Set Free. This is the giveaway for the print copy.
Souls Set Free

What to Win:
Print Copy of Souls Set Free

How Many Winners:
1

Entry Requirements:
Follow PrincessReviews
Submit a review of the book once read

How to Enter:
Leave a comment WITH YOUR EMAIL

When to Enter:
August 17-25,2013

Book Description:
Emma Carter isn’t your average loving mother and wife. Actually, she’s not loving at all. Unable to move on from a tormented childhood of abuse she’s now at risk of losing her own family. Hopeless, she goes to bed every night secretly longing to not wake up the next morning. That all changes the day her mother is murdered while living on the streets. Emma must now face all of the pain she has spent years trying to numb with pills and alcohol when she is forced to travel back to her hometown to identify her mother’s body. 
If only it were that easy…
Will reliving the abuse all over again help Emma forgive her mother or send her spiraling back into a world she fought so hard to survive?

Friday, August 16, 2013

Andy Smithson: Blast of the Dragon's Fury Book Review



Andy Smithson:Blast of the Dragon's Fury
by L.R.W. Lee

Why did I wait so long to read this?! I absolutely loved this book. It has adventure (quests), dragons, knights, humor, good principles, friendship and self-discovery.

Andy Smithson is a kid that has kind of gotten lazy. He doesn't feel heard or seen by his parents and he just lets things happen to him because no one is going to listen to him anyway. But one day he is "beamed" to a different place where dragons and Pegasus' exist. Andy is welcomed warmly and sincerely, which is new to him. He is also gets the opportunity to earn trust and respect, even from adults.

I enjoyed reading about Andy's adventures. The Prologue was funny as well. The characters seem genuine and easy to relate to. The setting takes some getting to use to because it was hard for me to imagine the landscape and how people functioned under the "curse." But the author keeps it well in our minds. The pacing and end-of-chapter cliffhangers kept me reading.

There are many good principles brought up in the book. Although they were quite obvious to me (an adult) they may be a good "nudge in the right direction" for the middle graders who are the target reading group.

I would definitely recommend this book to middle graders, boys and girls, especially if you like magic, dragons, knights, and quests (sorry no princesses). This is only the beginning for Andy. Will he be able to break the curse? I can't wait to read the next adventure.

Rating 5/5 stars

More reviews at www.cheresevinescharmingwords.wordpress.com

Thursday, August 15, 2013

AK Taylor Giveaway


Big thank you to author, AK Taylor, who is generously donating 3 ebook sets of Neiko's Five Land Adventure and Escape from Ancient Egypy to be given away here!

What to Win:
Ebook Set of Neiko's Five Land Adventure and Escape from Ancient Egypt

How Many Winners:
3

Who Can Enter:
anyone (international)

Entry Requirements:
Follow Princess Reviews
Follow AK on Twitter: @A_K_Taylor
Like AK on Facebook: www.facebook.com/AKTaylorsBooks
Add Ak Taylor's books to their Goodreads shelf
Like AK Taylor's Amazon page: https://www.amazon.com/author/aktaylor

How to Enter:
Leave a comment WITH YOUR EMAIL (so we can contact you if you win)

When to Enter:
August 15-22, 2013

About the Books:
Neiko's Five Land Adventure:
The Indians and the Crackedskulls are locked in the turmoil of war.
Neiko – a warrior with the glistening title of “the Chosen One” – finds herself facing a collection of enemies. Her archenemies, Raven and Bloodhawk, have come up with a scheme to destroy her reputation with the help of a phony Indian chieftain.
However, during the unfolding of their plan, Neiko finds out that a land she thought she had only imagined is actually real - and more terrifying than she ever imagined. It turns out that Ramses - the arch-villain of her collection - has sinister plans of his own for Neiko, whom he eventually traps in Qari.
Neiko must find her way back home and turn the tables on her enemies, but what she finds out during her travels in Qari will change her entire existence for all eternity.
Escape from Ancient Egypt:
Seeking his revenge on Neiko for exposing him, Francesco banishes Neiko into ancient Egypt just like he did her friends eleven years ago. During her stay there, she unravels the mystery of what happened to her four friends. Now she's faced with a bigger problem--how to get home. After a series of unfortunate events, Neiko is now entangled with Pharaoh Ramesses II. Francesco also comes to make sure their fates are sealed. Can Neiko and her friends beat impossible odds and return to Hawote and back to the present?
Back to the Future meets The Ten Commandments with magic and a Native American twist!


Wednesday, August 14, 2013

Arresting Behaviour Giveaway!

Author Morticia Knight is kindly giving away a copy of her MM erotic romance here on PrincessReviews!


What to Win:
E-Copy of Arresting Behavior

How Many Winners:
1

Who Can Enter:
international

Entry Requirements:
follow PrincessReviews
follow Morticia Knight on Twitter @morticiaknight

How to Enter:
Leave a comment with your email  so we can contact you if you win

When to Enter:
8/14/13-8/20/13

Book Blurb:
Native American Quinn and Detective Jake come from two opposing worlds. But when opposites attract, the result is explosive.
The Bondage Butcher has just claimed his third victim, and newly promoted homicide detective Jake Gutierrez is anxious to speak to the one man who has been intimate with all three victims—Quinn Verdugo. The reclusive and mysterious artist and poet stays just out of Jake’s grasp, until one night when they catch him trespassing at his ancestor’s ancient ruins.
Quinn is devastated by the recent murders, and for the men he once dallied with. Not trusting his heart to anyone since a cruel rejection in his teens, he trusts the police department of Mesa, Arizona even less. He is determined to find the bastard who is committing these gruesome murders, and take care of things himself.
When Jake and Quinn finally meet face to face in the interrogation room, both men are startled at the direction things take. Agreeing to work together, they have no idea the dangers they have yet to face. But what is more dangerous – the murderer, or the spark that has been created between the two very combustible men.

Tuesday, August 13, 2013

Fallen Crest High Giveaway!

Author, Tijan, is generously donating an ecopy of Fallen Crest High to be given away here on PrincessReviews!


What you Win:
E-Copy of Fallen Crest High

How Many Winners:
1

Who Can Enter:
anyone (international)

Requirements to Enter:
Follow PrincessReviews

How To Enter:
Leave a comment WITH YOUR EMAIL (so we know how to contact you if you win)

When to Enter:
August 13-18,2013

Amazon's Book Description:
Mason and Logan Kade are two brothers who did their own thing. They were rich and expected to attend her school, Fallen Crest Academy. They chose public school and now Samantha has to live with them. The problem is that she doesn't care at all: about them, about her friends, about her cheating boyfriend, or even about her parent's divorce. But maybe that's a good thing. Maybe change is a good thing.
This book contains adult/mature young adult situations.

Monday, August 12, 2013

Greg James Guest Post!

Why I Write YA Fantasy
By Greg James
Why do I write YA Fantasy?
            The simple answer would be because it’s fun. I’ve always had a fertile and over-active imagination so the creation of a whole world with its people, creatures, lands and seas gives me plenty to do while I’m in the process of telling my story. But the simple answer doesn’t cover everything.
            I am fascinated by mythology, not only the historical kind but modern mythologies that have been created by writers like J.R.R. Tolkien, Robert Jordan and H.P. Lovecraft in their respective fantasy worlds. To read about the old stories is one thing but to make mythology living, breathing and happening now is something else. To reinterpret the old stories and put your own spin on it, and hope that people understand and like what you are doing, is daunting, exciting and a challenge.
            Then there are superheroes. Batman, Superman and Spiderman are all a part of our modern mythology, one that we have created that maps our imaginative world in the same way that the Gods of Greece and Egypt once did for antiquity. This also brings me to another reason why I write YA Fantasy rather than just Fantasy in particular. Batman, Superman and Spiderman are all boys. There aren’t that many girls who take the lead in modern mythology. Things are changing in that respect but it’s a slow change and when I decided that I wanted to write YA Fantasy, I knew that my main characters were going to be girls. It was time to have some young women who could swash some buckles, conjure up demons and dragons and save the world without having to be a damsel in distress who falls into the arms of a much more capable male hero. That is why Sarah Bean is the Living Flame in The Sword of Sighs and it is why Robyn Redsparrow will be the hero in A Witch of the Sea in 2014.
            So, why do you read YA Fantasy? What do you look for in the genre and why do you find it exciting?

About the Author
Greg James is a Fantasy author based in London, England. He has been writing stories since he was a child. He enjoys long walks around his home city of London as well as reading, writing (of course) and thinking up new imaginary worlds to entertain his readers with. You can find out more about Greg James at the following links:


Sunday, August 11, 2013

For the Sake of Revenge Paper Copy Giveaway!

Author DL Atha has kindly donated 1 paper copy of For The Sake of Revenge to be given away here on PrincessReviews! :)

What to Win:
Paper Copy of For the Sake of Revenge

Who Can Enter:
anyone (international)

How Many Winners:
1

Requirements for Entering:
Follow PrincessReviews
Like For the Sake of Revenge Facebook

How to Enter:
Leave a comment on this post WITH A WORKING EMAIL (so we know how to contact the winners!)

Dates to Enter:
August 11-17, 2013!

Amazon's Book Description:
How far was Tamara willing to go for the sake of revenge? And who would pay the price? She didn’t know as she tipped the bottle of vampire blood up to her lips but she was about to find out.
Stepping off the ferry in Sitka, Alaska was bittersweet for Tamara Semenov. A decade earlier she had abandoned her mother and high school sweetheart, Peter, to marry a man she hardly knew only to find herself in an abusive relationship. Now ten years later, she had escaped with her life but at what cost. Her mother was dead.
Although the police had ruled her mother’s death an accident, Tamara was convinced her estranged husband was to blame and to make matters worse, she knows she is his next target. 
While putting her mother’s affairs in order, Tamara finds the blood of a vampire named Adrik, who as a human was falsely accused of raping a wealthy Russian heiress and excommunicated from the Church. For the sake of revenge, he willing condemned himself to vampirism.
Learning that the blood could tie the living to the undead, Tamara seeks out a connection with the long buried vampire in hopes of striking a deal, his freedom for her revenge. Will he be the edge she needs to out maneuver her estranged husband or will she become entangled in a two century old web of revenge?

For the Sake of Revenge E-Book Giveaway!

Author DL Atha has kindly donated 2 ecopies of For the Sake of Revenge to be given away here on PrincessReviews! :)

What to Win:
E-copy of For the Sake of Revenge

Who Can Enter:
anyone (international)

How Many Winners:
2

Requirements for Entering:
Follow PrincessReviews
Like For the Sake of Revenge Facebook

How to Enter:
Leave a comment on this post WITH A WORKING EMAIL (so we know how to contact the winners!)

Dates to Enter:
August 11-17, 2013!

Amazon's Book Description:
How far was Tamara willing to go for the sake of revenge? And who would pay the price? She didn’t know as she tipped the bottle of vampire blood up to her lips but she was about to find out.
Stepping off the ferry in Sitka, Alaska was bittersweet for Tamara Semenov. A decade earlier she had abandoned her mother and high school sweetheart, Peter, to marry a man she hardly knew only to find herself in an abusive relationship. Now ten years later, she had escaped with her life but at what cost. Her mother was dead.
Although the police had ruled her mother’s death an accident, Tamara was convinced her estranged husband was to blame and to make matters worse, she knows she is his next target. 
While putting her mother’s affairs in order, Tamara finds the blood of a vampire named Adrik, who as a human was falsely accused of raping a wealthy Russian heiress and excommunicated from the Church. For the sake of revenge, he willing condemned himself to vampirism.
Learning that the blood could tie the living to the undead, Tamara seeks out a connection with the long buried vampire in hopes of striking a deal, his freedom for her revenge. Will he be the edge she needs to out maneuver her estranged husband or will she become entangled in a two century old web of revenge?

Blood Reaction Giveaway!

Author D.L. Atha has kindly donated 2 ecopies of Blood Reaction to be given away here on PrincessReviews!! :)

What to Win:
E-copy of Blood Reaction

Who Can Enter:
anyone (international)

How Many Winners:
2

Requirements for Entering:
Follow PrincessReviews
Like For the Sake of Revenge Facebook

How to Enter:
Leave a comment on this post WITH A WORKING EMAIL (so we know how to contact the winners!)

Dates to Enter:
August 11-17, 2013!

Amazon's Book Description:
Annalice, a single mother and physician, is ready to immerse herself in the mundane chores of her farm as a diversion from her hectic professional life. But she becomes the victim of a home invasion, the supernatural kind. Vindictive and cruel, Asa, a century old vampire, takes brutal control of her life and home.
Forcing her to strike a bargain in exchange for her daughter's life, Annalice must not only accept his presence but also bow to his depravity. Facing threats to her only child, she relies on her skills as a physician to unravel the clues to the vampire's existence, attempting to beat him at his own game.
Caught in a race against a genetic timeline, Annalice struggles to survive the Blood Reaction.

Saturday, August 10, 2013

My Haunting Love Giveaway!


J.S. Wilsoncroft has generously donated 2 e-copies of her paranormal romance to be given away here on PrincessReviews! :)

What to Win:
E-Copy of My Haunting Love

How Many Winners:
2

Who Can Enter:
anyone (international)

Entry Requirements:
Follow PrincessReviews
once read, review My Haunting Love and submit a copy to PrincessReviews for a guest post (PrincessReviews will also forward your review on to Wilsoncroft)

How to Enter:
Leave a comment on this post with your email (so we can contact you if you win!)

When to Enter:
August 10-17, 2013

Amazon's Book Description:
Calista Rose is a 16-year-old deaf girl who senses something strange in her new home. Soon she meets a ghost named John and becomes smitten with his handsome good looks and charming ways. Little does she know, falling in love with him brings out the true evil that lingers inside her home. Can she survive 
My Haunting Love?

Friday, August 9, 2013

Epic Movie Review


We saw this movie at the second run theater and I enjoyed it. My children thought otherwise. I took my 7-year-old nephew and I don't think it had enough action fighting for him. My 7-year-old daughter said it was ok. The three year old just likes cartoons.

I had no prior knowledge of who was in the movie besides Amanda Seyfried. The voice work seemed to matched the characters pretty well. The animation looked good. The jokes were kind of juvenile, but humorous. Nothing laugh out loud. The plot was standard. It kind of reminded me of Arthur and the Invisibles or The Borrowers. I did have a hard time remembering characters names except for M.K. because they said it like 50 times.

I was entertained, but not thrilled or awed. I would recommend the movie for families. Nothing too graphic or gross.

Rating 4/5 stars

More reviews at www.cheresevinescharmingwords.wordpress.com

Monday, August 5, 2013

The Serious Kiss


Libby is a freshman. Libby is the only girl in her family. Libby is the daughter of an alcoholic. And it kills her. 
It kills her to see her father rot away to nothing. It kills her to be so ashamed of her life. It kills her to be on her own. But there's nothing she can do about it. 
Until she learns to let go. 
Just as her life is seeming to work out, her father's alcoholism costs him his job and his family their house. They must move into her thought-to-be dead grandmother's retirement village comprised of trailers and "mobile homes" that aren't very mobile. Libby's life sucks. How can she adjust? Why now, when her life was just starting to take a turn in the right direction? 
Basically being on her own, she desperately searches for the love her parents now do not provide. Before she left her old home, she made a goal of having a "serious kiss" before her next birthday. Now it seems like letting go is the only way she's going to come close to any kind of kiss, let alone a serious one. 
Mary Hogan did a marvelous job of creating Libby's voice in this book and of creating such a harsh reality that I'm sure is actually happening in some families. Bravo to her! The father's addiction really played a key role in this book and set the story. Without his problem, none of this would have happened to this family. Hogan did a really great job developing the complexity of alcoholism and explaining it in a way that makes people get it. I seriously recommend this book, especially to teenagers, but also to children and spouses of alcoholics because I feel like it's something they can relate to. 
I look forward to reading more by Mary Hogan, and I'm sure once you read The Serious Kiss you'll agree with me. 

Friday, August 2, 2013

Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman Book Review


Fat Charlie got his name from his father Anansi, and for those who don't know who he is--like me--Anansi is an African god popular in folktales. Remember the tale of Brier Rabbit? It is based on the tales of Anansi The Trickster who often appeared as a spider or a man in his folktales. Unfortunately for Fat Charlie, he didn't know his father was a god or a trickster. He also didn't know he had an equally tricky brother.

Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman is an engaging story about Charles Nancy whom everyone calls Fat Charlie because his father gave him that nickname and whatever name Anansi gives things, it sticks. Fat Charlie grew up in England with his mother after she left her husband Mr. Nancy (Anansi) and Florida in the US. He's always been wary and complacent probably, because of all the tricks is father played on him as a child. Fat Charlie and his father did not have the best of relationships and so it takes a fluke phone call to find out that his father has died.

As Fat Charlie travels back to Florida to take care of his father's affairs, he finds out that (1) his father was a god (Can god's die? You'll have to read to see), and (2) he has a brother. When Fat Charlie's brother Spider enters the scene only trouble can follow.

I enjoyed this book. I listened to the audio version read by Lenny Henry. He was excellent with the voices and accents, bringing each character alive. Many of the characters are from Saint Andrews in the Caribbean and several others from London. I was thoroughly entertained by not only the development of the characters, but also Henry's ability to bring them to life, authentically I thought. I liked every character even though I was a little angry with Fat Charlie for not standing up for himself early on. But each character has to have time to grow.

The settings were great. The reader follows Fat Charlie through Florida, London and Saint Andrews. The feel of each place contrasts with each other. It provides that physical disruption to match the emotional disruption happening inside of Fat Charlie as memories and new experiences turn his life upside down.

The dialog is easy to follow and flows well. I did enjoy the banter.

The fantasy element is what makes the story shine to me. It pulled me in and taught me some about folktales and a bit of magic in the history of oral storytelling. The plot is engaging and peculiar.

Neil Gaiman is also the author of Stardust (one of my favorite movies) and Coraline. He has a bit of a quirky style of writing. I highly recommend this book.

Rating 5/5 stars
Read more reviews from Cherese Vines at www.cheresevinescharmingwords.wordpress.com