Saturday, March 29, 2014

Updateee

Hey ya'll!
I usually give you updates every couple months, but I haven't really been doing that lately. So I'm going to take this time to update you about what's going on in my life right about now, but as for the other posters I'm not too sure about their lives, so that's up to them to update you.
Anyway, as ya'll might know, this year I'm a senior in high school. I also am dual enrolling at the local college (where I go to college but am still in high school, so really it's just cheaper). So now that cheer's been over and done with, even though I still have a bunch of other extracurricular activities to keep me busy, I'm pretty much focusing on picking a college for next year and filling out as many scholarships as I can. I've been accepted to all the schools I've applied to, and am now trying to decide where I'm going to end up and working on financials.
My top choice is Eckerd College in St. Petersburg, Florida. It's right on the water and perfect for Marine Biology. I hope to minor in Marine Biology and major in International Business with a possible double major in International Relations. One day I hope to own my own company in the Caribbean.
In addition to all the stress of the last couple months of senior year, I'm steadily getting more books and am planning on tons of reviews for ya'll! There's also a simple "Donate Here" badge in the sidebar that will be to donate to PrincessReviews so that we can hold more extravagant giveaways and such.
Thank ya'll for all you do - there wouldn't be a PrincessReviews without you!!
Thanks so much,
TashaNicole


Sunday, March 16, 2014

Saving Raine Blog Tour

Frederick Lee Brooke’s latest, Saving Raine, is a radical departure from his previous quirky and funny Annie Ogden Mystery series. In this first installment of The Drone Wars, he reveals his dark, dystopian, action-packed sideand, boy, chaos has never been so entertaining.

"...a fast paced, well written, plot driven exciting sci-fi story full of adventure."--Kamilah Bryant, Amazon reviewer

"...a fantastic look into what our future may become." --Marsha Jeanne Thalleen, Amazon reviewer
This tour has a MASSIVE giveaway! Make sure to enter the Rafflecopter below!

About Saving Raine

Matt, Raine went to California because her parents thought it was safe. It’s not. You’ve got to get her out as soon as possible. She could die, Matt.

When 19-year-old Matt Carney gets a cryptic message from his father telling him to go to California and save his girlfriend, Raine, he doesn’t hesitate—he grabs his AK-47, revs up his blue pickup, and gets ready to make the 2,300-mile roadtrip.

But cross-country travel in 2021 isn’t easy—or, sometimes, even possible. The U.S. has become a near-military state: 17,000 checkpoints severely restrict interstate movement, Predator drones target innocent civilians without cause, and explosions rock cities daily. Matt and his stepbrother, Benjy, face deadly attacks from a corrupt government, ruthless local law enforcement, and bloodthirsty terrorist groups as they embark on their trek. They’re about to find out that their trip is much more than a private journey, and their success could change the face of the country—forever.

Can Matt and Benjy outrun the drone missiles raining down on their heads? Can they avoid assassination by government officials hell-bent on taking over what little is left of the country? Can they outsmart the deadly schemes set in motion against them?

Break the rules.
Save the girl.
He only gets one chance before she’s gone forever.

Genre classification: Action/adventure; sci-fi/dystopian

About Frederick Lee Brooke

Frederick Lee Brooke launched the Annie Ogden Mystery Series in 2011 with Doing Max Vinyl and following with Zombie Candy in 2012, a book that is neither about zombies nor sweets. The third mystery in the series, Collateral Damage, appeared in 2013.

Saving Raine, the first book in Fred’s entirely new series, The Drone Wars, appeared in December, 2013.

A resident of Switzerland, Fred has worked as a teacher, language school manager and school owner. He has three boys and two cats and recently had to learn how to operate both washing machine and dryer. He makes frequent trips back to his native Chicago.

When not writing or doing the washing, Fred can be found walking along the banks of the Rhine River, sitting in a local cafe, or visiting all the local pubs in search of his lost umbrella.

Find Frederick Lee Brooke on his websiteFacebookTwitter, and Goodreads.

There's a huge giveaway for this tour, too! You can find the Rafflecopter code for the tour here: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/MjJiZDNhMmE4MDhkNmJmYTVkNTI2ODAxNzAxY2FjOjEy/

Friday, March 14, 2014

Hard Magic Book Review


Hard Magic (Book 1 of the Grimnoir Chronicles) by Larry Correia
Imagine a world where having "magic" is commonplace but still feared. Imagine a world changed and molded by the introduction of this phenomena, where any child could be born with the powers to change gravity or be able to create fire from their fingertips.
This is the world Jake Sullivan, a private eye, grew up in and it's ever changing. He's a magic user called a Heavy; he can change gravity. When Sullivan goes to prison for accidentally turning a man to mush while defending a boy with magic abilities, he gets a second chance. All he has to do is help capture other criminal magic users. His last job to square with the law happens to be capturing his ex-girlfriend. Before he can take her down, a group of well-trained magic users come to her aid and whisk her away. Things start to get fishy from there, and Sullivan just can't let a mystery go.
I liked this book. I like history and this book is set in the 1920-1940 era. But the twist is that because magic is in the world, familiar events and famous people take on new meanings. Perhaps things happened the way they did because of magic.
The characters were believeable and consistent. The setting was appropriate. It made it easier for there to be more intrigue and good old fashioned hard investigation. No Google.
It has a great plot. Each section was like a mini adventure with rising action and climax, but each one led to the big finale. There were minor questions but I believe it's a series, so maybe I'll find out later.
I recommend this for those who like magic, history, gumshoe, and superheroes. By the way, it's a thick book. Be prepared for the long haul, but remember it uses minor adventures that bring pieces to solve the mystery and prepare the hero for the big battle.
Rating 5/5

Friday, March 7, 2014

Best Western Plus Rocket City Inn Review


Best Western Plus Rocket City Inn
Huntsville, AL


I was very happy with the accommodations at this hotel. Check in went well. We were greeted in a timely manner. The guest services representative was courteous and was able to add a night to our original internet reservation with no problem. She was also able to use our government discount with no problem.

We were on the first floor. The room was clean. I liked that there was an option for a non-smoking room. There was even a sign that stated that a cleaning charge would be added if a guest smoked in the room. The Internet wi-fi was fast and easy to access. The television stations were suitable.

The only things "wrong" in the room was that the pull out sofa bed springs were broken on the end. But we were still able to sleep there. But like all pull outs, it wasn't very comfortable. The king-size bed was comfortable and clean. The pillows were on the small size. :-)

The other thing that concerned me was the first floor window was able to be opened from the inside. There was only a clamp/latch to keep it closed. I'm not sure about the security of this feature. But it was nice to be able to get fresh air into the room. We didn't even have to use the A/C or heater unit. I was just concerned about security.

The breakfast left something to be desired. The hours were 6am-9am. We arrived at 7am and the food was almost gone and a bit dried out, there also wasn't any milk left. There was one hotel staff member who came in and out to check on things. They were friendly but the food wasn't replenished until around 7:30am. The presentation made everything easily accessible. The food just didn't look or taste good.

We didn't use the fitness room. We did go in and all it had was a treadmill and some mirrors. The outdoor pool was closed for the season. We didn't use the Media station, but it was easily accessible on the first floor near the fitness room.

I would definitely go back to this hotel and recommend it to friends and family. We had a good experience. We stayed here December 2013.

Rating 5/5

Thursday, March 6, 2014

Graham Parke Guest Post - CHI Raffle Winners

“I'm very polite by nature, even the voices in my head let each other finish their sentences.” – from Completely Flappable
 
Each year I organize an event during which I give away free books and raffle off some prizes. This year I thought it would be fun to donate the proceeds as well. I'd chosen Child Helpline International as they support toll-free child helplines worldwide, and help highlight gaps in child protection systems. I'd like to thank everyone who picked up a copy of "No Hope for Gomez!" or "Unspent Time", and I'm happy to be report that we raised over a thousand dollars for the CHI. The Kindle HD Fire goes to: Daniel Wakefield Regs,
Graham Parke
PS -lets see how far we can get next year ;)

Wednesday, March 5, 2014

I, Walter Giveaway

I, Walter

by Mike Hartner



I, Walter is the first in a series of books in a saga which will span continents and time to arrive in present day North America. 
Each in the series will be connected, though that connection may not be obvious for several more books.  
It's almost like looking at a menorah (sic). Many lines, seemingly individual, connect to center at different points. 

Walter Crofter was born into Elizabethan England.

In a country and a time where favor and politics were both deadly, can an honest boy stay true to himself?

Especially given his family background?

 

About the Author 


Mike Hartner was born in Miami in 1965. He’s traveled much of the continental United States. He has several years post secondary education, and experience teaching and tutoring young adults. Hartner has owned and run a computer firm for more than twenty-five years. He now lives in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, with his wife and child. They share the neighborhood and their son with his maternal grandparents.


Book Details

·         224 pages
·         Genre: Historical Fiction
·         Age: Young Adult
·         Available from: Amazon.com
·         ASIN: B00C7FJ7B4

Review Excerpts

"I, Walter is a grand tale of adventure that reminds me of the Patrick O'Brien's Aubrey/Maturin adventure series but with a noble innocence and, a most refreshing, charming slant. Romance, adventure, mystery, rescues, deception, and vivid descriptions make I, Walter a most enjoyable and inspirational read of chivalry. This CBR reviewer looks forward to reading more of the Crofter saga from Mike Hartner" Chanticleer Book Reviews
“This book truly is New York Best-seller material!" Charity Langley, Author

Contact Details


·         Website: www.mikehartner.com

1 copy will be given away! Winner may chose type of copy (Print, Audio, EBook in United States or Audio or EBook Internationally). To enter, follow PrincessReviews & leave a comment (WITH YOUR EMAIL SO WE CAN CONTACT YOU IF YOU WIN!) on this post. Winner will then be chosen using Random.Org on March 18th!! 


Tuesday, March 4, 2014

Mike Hartner Guest Post


On Family and Its Role in I, Walter by Mike Hartner

        Family. That word alone means different things to different people. To me, it meant a father, a mother, and several brothers. But, much more importantly to me, it meant love. My family was bathed in, and surrounded by love. And that is the most encouraging thing in the world.
         So place yourself in the family of Walter Crofter. His father, Geoff, is wishy-washy at best, mostly spineless, and allows people of wealth to get away with nearly anything simply because he’s afraid of losing their business even more than he already has.  
         Walter’s brother Gerald saw the way customers treated their father, and his reaction was to rise among the ranks of the illegals in London. He was trying to inflict pain on a class of people that had physically and emotionally scarred both him and his father. Every step he took, every challenge he received was an opportunity to pay the wealthy back for the injustices they served upon the Crofter family.
         Geoff and his wife loved their children, but they remembered better days.  Those mystical days of the past where their benefactor had made headway, and dragged them a few inches further toward respectability. What they didn’t realize is that when this benefactor gave them a few inches, he was really mocking them...like a class of high school hyenas does to a brainy nerd.
         And yet, as much as they all loved each other, Walter didn’t feel it. He felt responsibility towards his parents AFTER he had at least partially succeeded. He knew the bond was there with his father, but when he found out about his mom’s death, his reaction was much less strong because he wasn’t attached to her.
         He strove to find fortune and love in his life, realizing that he couldn’t make it in London, on London’s terms. He would have to do it on his own.
         His love for Maria drove him to do many things during his time at sea. 
And his respect for many of the sailors he was with made him feel like they were all brothers.
         By the end, Walter has made his own family. He has a loving wife, and good children. And he has managed to make peace with his father and his past. 
         This is the peace that comes from being loved and respected. And it also leads to a space in which it is possible to ‘forgive yourself’.
         And isn’t that the most difficult thing of all. Not remembering or forgetting, but putting things in context and forgiving.
         Walter Crofter’s biggest lesson was to forgive himself. And the only way it could happen was by drawing on all the love that he was being given.

         And that is the meaning of family.


Monday, March 3, 2014

Magic Within Giveaway!

  
 TITLE: Magic Within   
Assigned ISBN: 978-1-77155-071-0
Publication Date: February 2014
Author’s Website Address: sarafitzgerald.net

Author Biography:
Sara lives with her husband and seven-year-old daughter in Salt Lake City.
She loves romance, intrigue, writing and exploring the city with her family.

Her two favorite parts of the day are reading bedtime stories with her daughter and hanging out with her husband.

Back Cover Blurb 
Nancy, a purple-haired witch, has never fit in with the kids in town. She has always felt something was deeply wrong with her. When Josh, her best friend, is attacked by a werewolf, Nancy seeks a potion to save him from the werewolf curse within him. But Josh’s fate--werewolf or human--is his to decide, when the potion is injected during his transition at thefull of the moon.
 
Nancy, too, must make a choice. Her mother, her best friend, and a
steadfast young man all see the magic within her. Can she finally accept who she is and give love a chance? 

Excerpt for Josh

In the blackness of the night, Josh growled from deep inside his body. The pain was intense. More than anything he’d experienced. He gasped and stared at the alluring full moon. His body violently twisted.
He looked at his contorted hands; claws were forming. He was changing into a werewolf. This couldn’t be possible. He never even tasted human flesh and yet he’d always envied the power and freedom of Eric. To have no restraints. Nothing to constrain his behavior. Pure freedom.
“No!” he screamed into the night. Not him. Yet the stupid darkness had always appealed to him. He had even wanted to be a bloodsucker. Did evil lurk within his soul? Was this his fate? To be changed into a monster?
He frantically looked for Nancy, Nick and his sister. They were floating barely above him on the broomsticks. Horror flooded their faces, and tears filled his sister’s eyes.
Samantha dipped her broom lower. “No, Josh, please don’t do this.”
Nick raised his gun. Nancy quickly pushed it down.
Josh’s body quivered. “Kill me.”

1 E-Book Copy (PDF Version) Giveaway! 
To enter, simply follow PrincessReviews & leave a comment (WITH YOUR EMAIL SO WE CAN CONTACT YOU IF YOU WIN) on this post! Random.Org will then be used to find a winner.
Entries close March 18th!