Wednesday, June 24, 2020

Kind is the New Classy

Title:
Kind is the New Classy

Author:
Candace Cameron Bure

About the Author: (Amazon)
Candace Cameron Bure lights up the entertainment industry as a role model to women of all ages, reaching millions of fans. She is an award-winning actress and producer, New York Times Best-Selling Author, wife, and mother of 3.

Candace is currently performing as the lead in the third season of Netflix's Emmy nominated original comedy series Fuller House where she reprises her role as D.J Tanner. Fuller House celebrated multiple wins for People's Choice Awards, Teen Choice Awards, and Kids Choice Awards for Seasons 1 & 2. Candace took home the win at the Teen Choice Awards for "Best Comedy TV Actress" two years in a row. Candace recently made her directorial debut on an episode of Fuller House Season 4, which will release this December.

On ABC Network's long-time running talk show The View, Candace wrapped her second season as co-host in December 2016. Candace and her co-hosts were nominated both years for a Daytime Emmy Award, and the show itself also received yet another nomination for Outstanding Talk Show.

A woman of many talents, Candace released her fifth and sixth book in 2018, Kind is the New Classy: The Power of Living Graciously, and her first children's book Candace Center Stage. Her third book, Dancing Through Life: Steps of Courage and Conviction chronicles her journey of self-discovery that came by leaping out of her comfort zone on season 18 of ABC's Dancing with the Stars. It includes the highs and lows, the roadblocks, and the personal victories that she experienced while competing on the show.

Candace is both outspoken and passionate about her family and faith. Candace and her husband, former NHL star Valeri Bure, have been happily married since 1996. Together with their 3 children, Natasha, Lev and Maksim, they split their time between Los Angeles and Napa Valley, California which is home to their highly rated boutique wine label, Bure Family Wines.

Book Summary: (Amazon)
“The world has a way of defining you if you don’t know who you are before you get out there.” —Candace Cameron Bure

As a woman in today’s world, you know what it’s like to feel pressure on all sides from clashing cultural expectations. How can you stay true to who God has uniquely created you to be in the face of the script you’ve been given? What’s more, how can you stand your ground with grace?

The classy confidence you know and love—whether it’s on set at Full House or Fuller House, Dancing with the Stars, The View, or Candace’s Hallmark films—is no act. But it hasn’t come easy. In fact, learning to stay true to herself with grace has been one of the biggest fights of Candace’s life.

The secret, she has learned, is kindness: it’s classy, unexpected, even counter-cultural, and ultimately wins the day.

In Kind Is the New Classy, Candace reveals the thought patterns and practices that have empowered her to stay centered in who she is while practicing radical graciousness toward others. Whether you’re navigating major life choices, questions of calling and career, relationships, or personal goals, this book will show you how to:
Keep your cool under pressure
Respond to criticism with grace
Stay grounded yet go places in life
Stay true to who you are despite the expectations of others
Stay centered in what ultimately matters the most
Kind Is the New Classy is your permission to go off-script, to say goodbye to society’s “should’s” and to step into a new way to flourish as a woman today.

I'd Recommend To:
Christian Women

My Rating:
10/10

My Thoughts:
LOL the theme of this year must be reading books that I planned to read a long while ago but never got around to but now I can read them! I received this book back in 2018, which is a lot more recent than Watersmeet but still two years overdue. I'm a huge Candace Cameron Bure fan so I ordered the signed copy, and she signs her name the same as me - with a little heart above her name.
Anyways, I'm not one to annotate in books but I found myself highlighting a lot in this book - here are a few examples:
"...kindness have been shown to stimulate the production of serotonin, the chemical that calms us down and makes us feel happy. Kindness also produces endorphins, the chemicals that make us feel pleasure. And kindness produces oxytocin, which makes us feel calm, promotes social bonding, increases trust and generosity, and helps our bodies fight disease by strengthening our immune system" (pg 87)
"the ones who show kindness out of concern for others - have 23 percent less cortisol, the stress hormone" (pg 88)
"When our gifts align with our purpose, we feel fired up too. ... Those are stirrings, I believe, that are worth listening to. Those are the stirrings of the Spirit" (pg 107)
"God is an ambitious God. His ambition is as holy as it is wild: to save the whole world" (pg 109)
"...the gardener who prunes the branches so that the garden can grow according to His good design" (pg 211)
This book is very in-powering (a phrase used in the book if you don't get what I mean by in-power vs empower). Candace uses her real life examples to basically show how you can help find your purpose then use that purpose to live your best life, all while staying kind to those around you and yourself. While reading this book, I realized I'm already a lot kinder than I thought as well as areas I definitely could improve my kindness; I also realized how I can use my passions of the water and the animals in it to better serve God - by sharing that beauty and amazingness that He created with others. I see God the most while I'm under the sea, with the humpbacks and the whale sharks and the sea turtles and the minnows, so I want to be able to share that with others as well, which inspired me to take the leap to put my Mermaid Camp plan into action rather than having it just stay a "maybe, one day".
I also now actively search for ways I can be MORE kind. For example, while I was reading this book I was dealing with a "Karen". I'm a lifeguard at the pool and it's been cold, so while people will come sit in the sun, they don't really get in the water (which frankly, I don't get because the beach is less than a football field away from this pool so if you're just coming to the pool to sun, why not go to the beach? But people are crazy). Anyways, it's real windy at the pool because it's in a wind tunnel between a bunch of condo buildings. So this couple came and sat right next to my lifeguard stand because the stand partially blocked the wind. Sitting there for 9 hours a day, I need some music to keep my mind sane, so I have a small speaker next to my lifeguard stand that you can only hear if you're within about 20 feet of it. The days leading up to this, I put on several different stations to see if I got any feedback from anyone, and the day before I had on the Margaritaville station; three different families told me that they loved the music I had on that day! So this day, I had the Margaritaville station on again due to the positivity I received from it. So this lady that sat right next to my chair comes up to me and says "I really hate to be a Karen, but I hate music so can you please turn it off. If it wasn't so windy we'd sit over there but it's just too windy". Being the nice person I am, I turned it off, figuring they'd only stay a few minutes because it was so cold and nasty out. This couple ended up staying for 5 hours!!! Every time I would think to myself "I'll give her 10 more minutes then I'm turning my music back on" I remembered to practice my kindness and my patience, as this was happening literally as I was reading this book. So I persevered and lasted the whole rest of the day without music, which was actually like painful for me but it showed kindness to this lady. Now I think to myself "wait. How can you be more kind?" when I'm in a situation that will try to test me. So far, it's been working (mostly. I'm still struggling w my grandmother because she's so harsh).
So overall, I really like this book as it's really helped me to become a more positive, kind, and purposeful person. At the end of every chapter there's a "Your Turn" section where she puts into simple, easy steps how you can practice being kinder and classier. If you don't want to hear talk about God, this isn't the book for you, but if you like God and want to make your life just a little bit better, I'd check it out. My mother is next to read this book! She's hoping it will help inspire her and give her a more positive outlook on life - I think it just might.

Wednesday, June 17, 2020

Watersmeet

Title:
Watersmeet

Author:
Ellen Jensen Abbott

Series:
Watersmeet, book 1

About the Author: (Amazon)
Ellen Jensen Abbott thinks that life would be perfect if she could move to the White Mountains of New Hampshire where she grew up. Until she can convince her friends and family to join her, she's content to be writing, teaching English at the Westtown School, and living in West Chester, PA. Her debut novel, Watersmeet, was an IRA Young Adult Award Notable Book, and was nominated for YALSA's Teen Top Ten. The sequel, The Centaur's Daughter, is "fast paced and full of romance, suspense, and adventure and handles prejudice and acceptance in thought-provoking ways," according to The School Library Journal.

Book Summary: (Amazon)
From her birth, Abisina has been outcast--for the color of her eyes and skin, and for her lack of a father. Only her mother's status as the village healer has kept her safe. But when a mythic leader arrives, Abisina's life is ripped apart. She escapes alone to try to find the father and the home she has never known. In a world of extremes, from the deepest prejudice to the greatest bonds of duty and loyalty, Abisina must find her own way and decide where her true hope lies.

I'd Recommend To:
Fans of fantasy & Ren Faires

My Rating:
8/10

My Thoughts:
Well, this book review has been 11 years in the making. You ever already have a big list of books to read, then get another, then life gets in the way and you end up not reading any of the ones you previously had, nor the new ones you've acquired? Yeah I guess that's what's happened here... I received this ARC back in 2009 and planned on reading and reviewing it right away, but then came high school, then college, then the real world, and I guess it just got put on the back burner, and I'm so sorry Ms. Abbot! BUT I've finally read it thanks to our extra long time-out due to Coronavirus, and now I'm ready to read the next two books in the series.
Want to hear something else that happened in my long journey of reading and reviewing this book? I was on a kayaking adventure and planned to kayak to a little beach and sit and read on it, but the weather took a sudden turn for the worse and although the kayak never flipped over, my bag and everything in it was SOAKED so poor old Watersmeet not only really met the water but then took about a month to dry out enough to wear I could read it again! It's certainly been a wild ride but here we are, finally having read the book and now I'm ready to review it for you.
Okay, so.
This is a story of Abisina, a girl with copper skin and dark hair. Because she's not blonde hair, blue eyed (like myself), she's considered an outcast in her village and the only thing that literally saved her life when she was born was the fact her mother is the village's healer and the town elder owed her a favor. But now an ancient evil has come to down, planning to kill everyone basically. Unfortunately, Abisina's mother is one of the many lives he takes, but thanks to the help of few kind humans and dwarves, Abisina is able to make it out alive and start on a journey to a town called Watersmeet, where her father is the man in charge. Finally! She makes it there! But she comes from a town that thrives on hate and exclusion, and Watersmeet is the exact opposite - Watersmeet is a place where all are welcomed and accepted. Can Abisina unlearn the teachings of her past village and come to accept and love the creatures of Watersmeet? Although it took me even longer to get to this book than it took Abisina to make it to Watersmeet, the timing of reading this couldn't be any more perfect. We are all facing the exact same situation Abisina was put in - here in the United States, we are a country divided. Hate and racism fueled by fear run amuck in our country, just as they did in Abisina's home village of Vranille. We are at a turning point in history, for one way or another; will the American people choose to continue living in fear and hate or will we learn to love and accept one another as Abisina must learn to do in Watersmeet?
I absolutely loved all the magical creatures in this book - centaurs, dwarves, fairies, minotaurs, uberwolves, fawn, humans. It had me dreaming of being in such a magical land at night when I was alseep. I would LOVE to be able to go to a place like that in real life, and the past few years I've been working at Renaissance Festivals where people do dress up and act like such creatures, which is why I'd highly recommend this book/series to rennies.
There is a final battle that I feel was really rushed compared to the rest of the book, and I understand it's about the journey not the destination, but I just feel the length of the time in Watersmeet and the battle were not properly proportionate to the time in Vranille and on the trek to Watersmeet. Additionally, there were a few times when the language used was a word I had never heard of and had to look up to understand the meaning of the sentence, and I'm now 23 so I think if I were 12 like when I was supposed to originally review this book, that problem would've occurred even more. Because of these reasons, I'm ranking the book only an 8/10. However, I definitely still recommend people read it and once I find more time I will totally be checking out the 2nd and 3rd books in the series.

Friday, September 29, 2017

STONE HORSES

Image result for stone horses bandImage may contain: 4 people, people standing and sunglasses

STONE HORSES is a new band local to the DC/Baltimore area.
They've recently had an EP come out, and tonight is actually my first time listening to it because I'm an awful fan. But I gotta admit, I'm impressed. A great band of guys with some great new music.
Most of the band is comprised of members of Charm City Devils, a relatively well established rock band, so it's no surprise the album literally rocks. But (again because I'm an awful fan) the new album really did impress me and go above my expectations.
The album is made up of 6 songs (at $5.99 that's less than $1 a song - what a deal!), but I'm just gonna talk about my top three.
My number one favorite on this EP is Flirting with the Devil, track five. Honestly it sounds like a The Pretty Reckless (my favorite current band) song, and in fact I started playing "Take Me Down" (The Pretty Reckless) on top of "Flirting with the Devil (STONE HORSES) and I think I made something because it's insanely good and works together extremely well. Okay, let me specify - not the entirity of "Take Me Down" just the beginning of the "sign with the devil" part until the end over just before the 3 minute mark of "Flirting with the Devil". Don't go stealing my ideas now, though. But yeah, it works and it sounds good and usually I get really mad when songs are too similar, but in this case I really like it. Maybe it's because I love both bands (my uncle calls me a groupie for both of them, but if ya look up the definition of a groupie I am not). But no matter the reason, "Flirting with the Devil" is definitely a great song. So kudos to the band.
I can't quite decide on the order of the next two in terms of my favorites, but they sound quite different from each other, which showcases the band's range and flexibility quite well. So I'm just going to go in order on the album.
Up first is track number three, "Weiland". I'm guessing by the title it was probably inspired by Scott Weiland of Stone Temple Pilots, but I have to admit my STP knowledge is extremely lacking so if it really is I couldn't tell ya. However, I absolutely love the rhythm of it. It's just a fun song. It reminds me of the early 2000s but a lot of times when something reminds me of something everyone else doesn't see it so take that with some salt. I don't wanna use the term vibes because I'm going to use that in my next song analysis but it really does just have some great vibes that, like I said, are just fun. It doesn't sound like anything else on the album (in my opinion), which is another reason it immediately stood out to me. I dig it.
The other song I really liked was track six, "Roads". "Roads" is the last track of the album and it's a song that I would totally jam out to in the bath. Like some snake charming, totally relaxed hand feeling the music waves in the air type stuff. Also, fun fact, when my dad first bought the album (way before me because I suck) he played all the song previews and the dog even really felt this one. So I guess more of a dog charming than snake charming song, but still it just gives out those vibes. This is a song you have to close your eyes and just go with the flow. Let the music move you (and your head). Unfortunately, because of how intensely the music chills (relaxes) you, it kinda makes the lyrics and vocals tune out a bit but the instrumental vibes more than make up for it. Now that I'm typing all this out I think "Roads" is my second favorite as it moves you. Isn't that what music is supposed to do?

You can buy the EP on iTunes and check out STONE HORSES on Spotify and other streaming sites. Don't forget to request them at your local rock radio station as well! They've also been featured on Sirius XM Octane and the Nikki Sixx show!
Want to see them live? Here's some of their upcoming concert dates:
September 29, 5:30pm Breakaway Sports Lounge, Hagerstown, MD
October 6, 8:30pm, Metro Gallery, Baltimore, MD
October 8, 4:20pm, Fells Point Fun Festival, Baltimore, MD

Check them out on social media at the links below.
www.stonehorsesmusic.com
https://www.facebook.com/StoneHorsesMusic/
http://instagram.com/stonehorsesmusic
https://twitter.com/StoneHorsesBand
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjD-FxijX7B9iCHdA6Eim8g
http://bandsintown.com/stonehorses

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

The Unraveling of Avery Snow

The Unraveling of Avery Snow (Past Lives Series Book 2) by [Sloat, Christy]

Title:
The Unraveling of Avery Snow

Author:
Christy Sloat

Series:
The Past Lives, book 2

About the Author (Amazon):
Christy Sloat is a SoCal born girl who resides in New Jersey currently with her husband, two daughters and Sophie her Chihuahua. Christy has embraced the love of reading and writing since her youth and was inspired by her grandmother’s loving support. Christy passes that love of reading, writing, and creativity to her daughters, family, and friends. When you do not find Christy within the pages of a book you can find her being mommy, wife, crafter, and dear friend. She loves adventurous journeys with her friends and can be known to get lost inside a bookstore. Be sure to venture into her Past Lives Series, The Visitor’s Series, and watch for many more exciting things to come. 
Check out her website www.christysloat.com
Blog http://christysloat.blogspot.com/, Facebook: Christy Sloat Author www.facebook.com/christysloatauthor. Twitter: ChristySloat

Book Summary (Amazon):
As Avery Snow settles into her life and relationships with those around her, she fights to forget her past lives. All of which she spent with Landon, who still has no recollection of who she really is. It seems better that way. Even though she still feels a draw to his soul, she chooses to ignore it.

For now everything is fine. Her boyfriend, Dallas, has opened a new restaurant. Her friends, Ianni and Kerri, are settling into their lives as well. But when news of a new Dark Guide is revealed, Avery is forced to start thinking about the life she truly leads. One that is very abnormal. One she is desperate to forget. This Dark Guide is determined to make Avery pay for the death of someone she held dear.

Now Avery’s life has gone from seemingly perfect to falling apart. What will be at stake next? Her life? Her love? And who will be there in the end to help her up off the ground? 

Even the strongest love can unravel. 

Will Avery be able to hold it all together, or will she just let go?

I'd Recommend to:
7th-10th grade girls, Hallmark fans

My Rating:
4/5

My Thoughts:
Well. Although the last book (see my review of the first book in the series here) did have it's fair share of romance, it had an even amount of paranormal. I'd say about 35/65, romance/paranormal for the first book. This one, however, did a complete turn around being about 70/20/10, romance/paranormal/boring fluff. That's not to say it wasn't a good book; it just went in a different direction than the first.
In fact, it was such a good book that last night it (or the heat) kept me up so I gave in and just finished the book. I spent $4 to finish the book in a day. Oh well, guess it was one I couldn't put down.
I also realized that the reason the first book had some errors and the overall style/flow was juvenile was because this book (and series) was purposefully styled that way to better give off the impression that you are directly in Avery's thoughts, like I sometimes do with my blog posts (especially on my travel blog). I'm not sure why I didn't quite realize that in the first book, but as it became apparent to me in this one it made more sense and bothered me less.
In terms of the story line, you can tell from the beginning that Dallas and Avery's relationship is falling apart. Honestly, I was rooting for Landon since Avery met him and it was about time Dallas and Avery realized they weren't meant to be. If you're reading this book, I assume you read the first and know that Dallas is the reincarnation of Garrison, a man that killed himself in Avery's past life because she chose Landon over him. I thought that the reason Avery was staying with Dallas in this life was to make sure he didn't have the same reaction, so when they finally ended it, I was relieved. Many events led up to that though that had me pretty mad at Avery, so much so that I almost started with a review last night while only halfway through the book (I didn't though and now I've forgotten what I wanted to type). But the ending honestly did surprise me so that's a good plot twist, since I could pretty much see the other ones coming from a mile away.
It was a good ending though. I am pleased. Hopefully I will get to sleep tonight.

Monday, September 25, 2017

The Many Lives of Avery Snow

The Many Lives of Avery Snow (Past Lives Series Book 1) by [Sloat, Christy]

Title:
The Many Lives of Avery Snow

Author:
Christy Sloat

Series:
The Past Lives, book 1

About the Author (Amazon):
Christy Sloat is a SoCal born girl who resides in New Jersey currently with her husband, two daughters and Sophie her Chihuahua. Christy has embraced the love of reading and writing since her youth and was inspired by her grandmother’s loving support. Christy passes that love of reading, writing, and creativity to her daughters, family, and friends. When you do not find Christy within the pages of a book you can find her being mommy, wife, crafter, and dear friend. She loves adventurous journeys with her friends and can be known to get lost inside a bookstore. Be sure to venture into her Past Lives Series, The Visitor’s Series, and watch for many more exciting things to come. 
Check out her website www.christysloat.com
Blog http://christysloat.blogspot.com/, Facebook: Christy Sloat Author www.facebook.com/christysloatauthor. Twitter: ChristySloat

Book Summary (Amazon):
Avery Snow led a boring, no thrills life. After her father left the family when she was young, Avery’s mother died when she was only twelve, leaving her all alone except for her Aunt Paulina. Now, at twenty-six, Avery is very used to being lonely.
She enjoys her job at Sunrise Estates, it’s the one place where she doesn’t feel left out. Her boss, Kerri, is her best friend and Lucy O’Shea, a resident at the home, is a good friend to her as well. The night Lucy dies in Avery’s arms she delivers a haunting message to Avery. She tells her that there is a man looking for her from a past life. And he will stop at nothing to have her.

Now Avery is unable sleep for more than a few hours, her dreams are keeping her awake. She is too terrified to sleep for the dreams are too vivid and too real. The only catch? She cannot remember what they are about. Until her Spirit Guide, Ianni, comes to help. Ianni shows Avery her past lives and tells her about the man who is stalking her soul. Now Avery remembers every life she has ever lived and she remembers the man she shared them with. He will not give up until she falls in love with him. The problem is Avery is in love with someone else. Ianni must help keep Avery from making the wrong choice. One her soul doesn’t want. She also must keep her safe from the Dark Guides who are after Avery.
Now Avery must make choices she never has before. This once lonely girl is now surrounded by Spirit Guides, psychics, Demonic Angels and two men fighting for her love.

Do you believe in reincarnation and a love that can last lifetimes?

I'd Recommend to:
7th-11th grade Supernatural fans

My rating:
4/5

My Thoughts:
The storyline in this book was very compelling, and I must admit, after I finished I immediately spent the $3.99 to buy the second book in the series.
There were some grammatical and formatting errors that were a bit distracting, but maybe someone with not as much schooling wouldn't notice.
I have to admit that I have clearly been slacking on my reading for a few years now (yes, it wasn't just the reviews that stopped - the reading also stopped), but for some reason I was drawn to reading this book and now I think I will get back into reading and reviewing; so thank you to this book for helping me remember reading is enjoyable.
Anywhos, onto the specifics of the book.
So basically Avery and Landon are soul-mates that have found each other in all their past lives and have once again, this time due to fate, have found each other. However, in their second lives, they were in love with other people and ruined their relationships to be with each other. This time, Avery is in love with Landon's cousin, Dallas (who may or may not be the reincarnation of her old love from the second life). Together, they must all come together, along with some angels, a watcher, and Avery's deadbeat dad, to defeat the demons trying to take Landon's soul.
Avery is so distraught by her dreams that she doesn't sleep much. Her family and friends are becoming concerned. Then she finds out about all this supernatural stuff and, well, life gets interesting.
The story was relatively fast paced and I read it pretty much all the way through, only stopping to sleep.
What really got to me was the theme that souls can connect with each other in their dreams. I've always believed that and this book, although obviously fiction, laid out a very believable explanation of the paranormal world around us. I won't go into much detail for fear of either spoiling the book or sounding crazy myself, but if you have any interest in that kind of thing, I recommend giving the book a read. It's quick and easy and will leave you wondering.
The ending is not how I would have ended it, but it ended in such a way that I needed to know what would happen next, so I bought the next book. I never buy books; I just collect the free ones. But knowing the next sequence of events was apparently worth $4. Must be a pretty good first book then. Go pick it up.

Friday, February 12, 2016

D.M.K.


D.M.K. (Dunbar,Merrill,Karl) is a relatively new rock band composed of singer Scott Dunbar, guitarist Ted Merrill, and drummer Brian Karl, often with bassist Percy Trayanov.

Drummer Brian Karl, Bassist Percy Trayanov,
me, Vocalist Scott Dunbar (from left to right)
 I had the privilege of watching D.M.K. perform last October in Baltimore, Maryland. The energy in the room was through the roof. Unfortunately, it wasn't a packed event, but with the high level of excitement, it was easy to believe it was. Guitarist Ted Merrill is a local Marylander, so that only added to the excitement in the room. In addition to the vivacious audience, the passion and love of music held by the band was unmistakable. Vocalist Scott Dunbar showed more love for his band, supporters, and fellow musicians than I've seen in a while. It is clear he is living his dream and doing what he loves most. Combine Dunbar's spirit with the talented work of the instrumentalists and you get a memorable show with a great band.

Check out their Facebook here, and look for them on iTunes!
D.M.K. performing at Baltimore Soundstage on Oct 25, 2015
For those of you wishing to see D.M.K. perform live for yourselves, you're in luck! Here are their upcoming tour dates, with more constantly being added, so be on the lookout for them. 
2/20/16 with Tester at the Tavern in Framingham, MA
3/3/16 with Y&T at Soundstage in Baltimore, MD
3/11/16 at Gussy's in Astoria, NY
3/25/16 with Danger Danger at Mexicali Live in Teaneck, NJ
4/15/16 with Enuff 'Z Nuff at Elmhurst, NY


Monday, December 14, 2015

Sea-less Surfing



Technology is always evolving; we see it in our smartphones, our electric cars, and our tablet laptop hybrid concoctions. But it's not just our cool toys that are developing technologically, our environment is too. Large ponds that are actually wave pools are popping up with man-made waves big enough to surf. This advancement will not only change the rules of the surf, but could go on to change the Olympics in time for Tokyo in 2020. 

There are three important positions that can be taken when exploring this new trend - technological, business, and the surfer. 
Wave pools are a popular attraction at many theme parks and have been for many years. However, now there is the capability of creating actual ocean-like waves, with no time for flat-spells, constantly and consistently - two things you're not likely to get in the real ocean. Each wave only takes about 90 seconds, so there's plenty of time for plenty of rides. Four major technology companies in this area currently are set to compete for head title of this new sensation within the next two years. Surf Snowdonia and Wavegarden currently lead the pack. 
In August, Surf Snowdonia opened to the public bringing about the reality of this being a serious business venture. They almost reached their maximum capacity every day it was opened for the first two weeks. Drawing in $30-70 a surfer, it shouldn't take long to profit off of the $7 million expense to build the creation. Once they perfect the barrel wave technology, profits and customers will only increase. Another park is planned to open next year in Austin, Texas. 
This idea definitely draws in surfing fans from around the world. It' a great way to learn how to surf for beginners, yet provides constant waves for pros. However, it isn't the ocean. It lacks the saltiness of the sea, the marine life, and the overall depth and danger associated with riding a huge wave in the middle of the ocean, far from land. Paul Evans, editor of Surf Europe Magazine, for example, is not at all excited about the idea of a perfect wave pool. 

What Evans and the article seem to overlook is the fact this could very well be game changing for the world's view on surfing as a sport, as well as giving new hope to land-locked people. With this technology, waves are always available, making it now eligible to be an Olympic sport. People who have always wanted to try to surf yet live nowhere near the water's edge now have the opportunity to learn and try to surf, almost quite literally in their own backyard. This technology has opened up the world of surfing to the entire world. 


Wave creating and wave riding technology has been previously introduced by many parks, but neither have quite perfected it. Thanks to Wavegarden and Surf Snowdonia, we are closer than ever before.


*This post was originally published on my Info System class's blog