Monday, December 27, 2010

Review: The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

Title: The Knife of Never Letting Go
Author: Patrick Ness

Hardcover, 479 pages
Published May 5th 2008 by Walker Children's

Recommended: 14 and up

Goodreads Summary:
Todd Hewitt is the last boy in Prentisstown.

But Prentisstown isn't like other towns. Everyone can hear everyone else's thoughts in a constant, overwhelming, never-ending Noise. There is no privacy. There are no secrets.

Or are there?

Just one month away from the birthday that will make him a man, Todd unexpectedly stumbles upon a spot of complete silence.

Which is impossible.

Prentisstown has been lying to him.

And now he's going to have to run...



My Thoughts:


Prentisstown is not your typical happy-go-lucky town.  Everyone can hear everyone's thoughts, in the Noise.  There is no escaping.  Todd Hewitt is the last boy in town, and he has one month until he is thirteen and officially a man.  The Noise germ has killed all the women in their town, and Todd has accepted everything Prentisstown has told him.  Until the day he hears the quiet.  And he meets a girl.  And now he must run, because Prentisstown has been lying to him all his life.  


This has definitely been one of my favorite books.  Ever.  I spent an evening reading when I should have been studying.  But it was worth it.  The Knife of Never Letting Go is a Dystopian that has romance, suspense, action, and the frightening thrills of growing up in a world where everyone hears your thoughts.  In the world of Dystopian it is refreshing to read about a world where there is no censorship enforced by others, but censorship that you must force on yourself.


Todd and Violet were an uber cute couple.  (Please ignore the fact that I used uber cute in an actual sentence.)  Even though they're twelve, I really loved the romance/non romance.  It wasn't like all out kissing/hand holding/hugging, but it was really cute :)  I think I've completely girl-ified this review and book, but this really is a "boy book."  No staring into each other's eyes and murmurings of "I love you" in the moonlight.  


The book in general was just awesome.  Had a total twisty, loopy plot and it definitely didn't end the way I thought it would.  Just as I thought it would have a happily ever after, it stabs me in the back with the ending.  You'll just have to read it to know what happens ;)


As a side note, I love love love Manchee!  He is adorable!  And I love how loyal he is to Todd, even when Todd is mean to him.  I don't want to spoil, but many tears were shed over Manchee.  As well as many laughs and smiles. 


Overall: 5/5 stars.  I'm completely obsessed with this book.  I need book 2 now!!! Fortunately, the entire trilogy is out already, so if you decide to read it, you won't have to wait :)  I would recommend this to all "boy book" fans and dystopian fans :) 

Sunday, December 26, 2010

Merry Christmas!/Happy Holidays!/ Holiday Comments Post

I hope everyone had a very merry Christmas, a very happy Hannukah, a very merry Kwanza, or whatever holiday you celebrate, I hope it was wonderful.
If you get gifts during your holiday, let us know what you got! If not, tell us a bit about your holiday! We love interatction, and a holiday post is just the place to do it! So think of this as your Holiday Post for Comments lol.

Friday, December 24, 2010

Weekend Brain Parties!

This week's question:
How do you say Merry Christmas in Spanish?

How to answer:
leave a comment. Correct answers will be used at Random.org to select a winner!




We did have a winner last week!



Last Week's Question:
When is Christmas?

Last Week's Answer:
December 25

There were 2 correct answers, but only one was chosen!

Congratulations to Samita, our winner!

2010 Survey

Thank you to everyone who comes to PrincessReviews!
We would like to make this site more favorable to you guys, the readers.
To help us do so, please take 5-10 minutes out of your day to comeplete this survey. We really appreciate all your honesty and you taking the time to complete the survey, as it will help PrincessReviews in the year 2011.
Thank you!
You can take the survey by clicking here.

Thursday, December 23, 2010

Winner, Winner, Chicken Dinner! lol

Congratulations to the winners of our Midwinter's Eve Giveaway Contest and our 100 Follower Giveaway Contest!!!!!!! Both were a very sucessful event and we plan to have many more in the future!!

Midwinter's Eve Giveaway:

The Prize: Palace of Mirrors by Margaret Peterson Haddix

The Winner:
CHI KITTIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



100 Follower Giveaway:

The Prize(s): A Snowflake Necklace, a YooHoo and Friends, and Princess SillyBandz

The Winner(s):
JESSI E. won the YooHoo
DONNA/HAPPY BOOKER won the Snowflake Necklace
JULIA C. won the Princess SillyBanz

Please congratulate all of these people!

Tuesday, December 21, 2010

PrincessReviews has taken over the Internet!

PrincessReviews has taken over the internet!
You can now add PrincessReviews as your friend on Facebook, MySpace, and Twitter!!!!!!!!!!
Facebook - Princess Reviews
MySpace - Princess Reviews
Twitter - PrincessReviews
all have the same avatar:

Midwinter's Eve Giveaway!

This starts at 12:01 on Tuesday, December 21st! at 12:01
Welcome to the Midwinter's Eve Giveaway Hop, with hosting blog I am a Reader, not a Writer!!!!! Thanks so much for coming, and be sure to check out the other blogs, for thier giveaways, too! (Linky listed at bottom of post!)

The Prize for this wonderful giveaway is...
 Palace of Mirrors by Margaret Peterson Haddix!

Summary (from Inside Cover):
"Somewhere in the world I have a tiara in a little box. It is not safe for me to wear it. . . . It is  not safe for me even to tell anyone who I really am. But I know- I have always known"
Cecilia knows that she is not just another peasant girl; she is actually the true princess, in hiding until the evil forces that killed her parents are vanquished. A commoner named Desmia is on the throne as a decoy.
As she gets older, Cecilia finds it harder to study statesmanship and palace protocol secretly at night and then pretend that she has nothing on her mind other than scrubbing the gruel stains out of her best apron by day.
Cecilia knows that it is time to take charge. Along with her best friend, Harper, she flees to the capital city, determind to reclaim her throne and face the danger head on.
When Harper and Cecilia reach the gamed Palace of Mirrors, they discover complications: Princess Desmia believes an entirely different version of the story.
Acclaimed author Maragaret Peterson Haddix returns to the charmed world of Just Ella, where a princess-in-hiding and a pretender to the throne discover that nothing is as it appears.

I read this book and rate it 5/5 stars!! You can own it today, just by winning this giveaway!!!

Random.org will be used to pick a winner!

How to Enter:
Leave comments for the following! (Manditory + Extra)
Leave a different comment for each thing you do!Manditory Entries:
Follow This Blog and leave a comment saying how you follow (1 comment for each way you follow)
Extra Entries:
Be a friend of PrincessReviews on Facebook (leave facebook name)
Tweet about this contest (leave link)
Facebook status about this contest (leave link/name)
Blog about this contest - the one at PrincessReviews, not it in general (leave link)

Thanks for entering and good luck!!!!

Be sure to check out these giveaways, too!





BE SURE TO LEAVE AN EMAIL OR I CANNOT CONTACT U IF U WIN!!!!
Leave an email in each comment!

Friday, December 17, 2010

Winter Break Goals

I know my school's winter break doesn't start for another week, but here are my goals I plan to try to achive this winter break. In the comments section, leave me some of your goals!

My goals:
  1. Read, read, read! So I have books to review on here!
  2. Try to interview some authors for here
  3. Create a stats binder for PrincessReviews for 2011.
  4. Come up with things to do on PrincessReviews in 2011.
  5. GO TO THE HOLLISTER IN SOHO! <3
  6. Do any extra credit I can for school
  7. Play in the snow
  8. Enjoy the break
  9. Sleep in
  10. Work on writing the book I want to write
What are your goals?
Leave them in the comments below!

Weekend Brain Parties

This week's question:
What day is Christmas day?

Leave a comment with your answer. Correct answers will be used in Random.org to select a winner

Thursday, December 16, 2010

Great Expectarions - Charles Dickens Review

 Search Amazon.com for great expectations by charles dickens
 Title:
Great Expectations
Author:
Charles Dickens

Page Length:
518

Published Date:
1860-61

Recommended for:
High Schoolers/College Students

Summary (from Goodreads):
No other novel in the English language so epitomizes upward mobility, the rise from poverty to wealth, as Great Expectations. Often considered to be one of Dickens's best novels, it tells the story of young Pip who is mysteriously helped by two people: escaped convict Magwitch and the eccentric dowager Miss Havisham. Here is storytelling at its best, alive with bigger-than-life characters, plot twists that turn on a dime, and scenes that burst off the page with color.
What I Think:
This story is not as hard as everyone says it is, it is just very wordy. I would not have read it on my own, but other people might, and that is good.
It is not a bad book at all, it wasn't even that boring. It just explains stuff a lot, and I think that's what some people don't like about it.

My Rating:
3.5/5 stars

Sunday, December 12, 2010

3-in-1 Review: Shade, Personal Demons, and Nightshade


So, I have this issue of reading too many books.  In fact, I read so many books, I end up running out of time to review them all.  So today, I'm just going to do quick reviews of 3 books and put it in one post.  I'm just weird like that.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Shade
Author: Jeri Smith-Ready

Hardcover, 309 pages
Published May 4th 2010 by Simon Pulse



Goodreads Summary:

Love ties them together. Death can't tear them apart.
Best. Birthday. Ever. At least, it was supposed to be. With Logan's band playing a critical gig and Aura's plans for an intimate after-party, Aura knows it will be the most memorable night of her boyfriend's life. She never thought it would be his last.
Logan's sudden death leaves Aura devastated. He's gone.
Well, sort of.
Like everyone born after the Shift, Aura can see and hear ghosts. This mysterious ability has always been annoying, and Aura had wanted nothing more than to figure out why the Shift happened so she can undo it. But not with Logan's violet-hued spirit still hanging around. Because dead Logan is almost as real as ever. Almost.
It doesn't help that Aura's new friend Zachary is so understanding—and so very alive. His support means more to Aura than she cares to admit.
As Aura's relationships with the dead and the living grow ever complicated, so do her feelings for Logan and Zachary. Each holds a piece of Aura's heart...and clues to the secret of the Shift.

My thoughts:
I generally do not like ghost stories.  They all tend to be similar, and characters that linger in the past can make the book a little boring for me.  But Shade was definitely not like any ghost story I've ever read before.  I was even a bit lost in the beginning, wondering, what kind of book is this supposed to be?  Once I actually started getting into the story, I could see that it was completely original and I was in love.  And this book had a real "I have no idea who she is going to end up with" love triangle, which is rare for me to find.  The ending had me spazzing out, and I am extremely excited for the next book! :D

Overall: 4.7/5 stars :D (If you don't like decimals, might as well just round).  I would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for some fresh, original paranormal YA. 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Personal Demons
Author: Lisa Desrochers

Paperback, 364 pages
Published September 14th 2010 by Tor Teen



Goodreads Summary: 
Frannie Cavanaugh is a good Catholic girl with a bit of a wicked streak. She's spent years keeping everyone at a distance—even her closest friends—and it seems her senior year will be more of the same...until Luc Cain enrolls in her class. No one knows where he came from, but Frannie can't seem to stay away from him. What she doesn't know is that Luc works in Acquisitions—for Hell—and she possesses a unique skill set that has the King of Hell tingling with anticipation. All Luc has to do is get her to sin, and he’s as tempting as they come. Frannie doesn’t stand a chance.

Unfortunately for Luc, Heaven has other plans, and the angel, Gabe, is going to do whatever it takes to make sure that Luc doesn’t get what he came for. And it isn't long before they find themselves fighting for more than just her soul.

But if Luc fails, there will be Hell to pay…for all of them


My thoughts: 
I've been dying to read this one forever, and finally just decided to buy it since I couldn't find it at the library.  Although from reading the summary, it sounds cheesy and cliche, it really is not.  Luc was not the demon I thought he'd be, Gabe was not the angel I thought he'd be, and Frannie was not the Catholic girl I thought she'd be.  (Wow, that was a slightly repetitive sentence lol).  Towards the end, Luc got... dare I say it, nice?  And Gabe was starting to look less of a goody-two shoes.  So I am conflicted Team wise.  A great new creative twist on a classic concept.    


Overall:  4.5/5 stars :D (If you don't like decimals, might as well just round).  
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Nightshade
Author: Andrea Cremer

Hardcover, 454 pages
Published October 19th 2010 by Philomel(first published 2010)



Goodreads Summary: 
Calla Tor has always known her destiny: After graduating from the Mountain School, she'll be the mate of sexy alpha wolf Ren Laroche and fight with him, side by side, ruling their pack and guarding sacred sites for the Keepers. But when she violates her masters' laws by saving a beautiful human boy out for a hike, Calla begins to question her fate, her existence, and the very essence of the world she has known. By following her heart, she might lose everything— including her own life. Is forbidden love worth the ultimate sacrifice?


My thoughts:
So, I read this in one sitting.  May possibly be my favorite werewolf book I've ever read.  I LOVED Calla, and all the characters in general.  They were all full of life, and had so much personality.  And Ren... oh Ren.  I loved both Ren and Shay, but I think Ren won out for me in the end :) What I was pleasantly surprised about was all the little bits of philosophy, censorship, oppression, and all that lovely stuff we talk about in English class.  I guess you could say it has more depth than your stereotypical YA novel.  Ends in a cliffhanger, so I am eagerly anticipating for Wolfsbane (the next book).  


Overall: 5/5 stars :D I have no idea how I'm supposed to wait 6 months for the next book.  

Saturday, December 11, 2010

Holiday Hop Winner!

Sorry this is late, I've been sick.

Congratulations to
The Freebie Junkie
the winner of the Holiday Gift Giveaway Hop
held on PrincessReviews!!!!!!!!!!

You have been emailed. Please reply with your Jasamere username ASAP!

Saturday, December 4, 2010

Merry Kinzmas Giveaways!!!!


Frequently Asked Questions directly from the Webkinz website

if it is in italics, it is straight from the Webkinz site

What are Webkinz pets?
Webkinz pets are lovable plush pets that each come with a unique Secret Code that lets you enter Webkinz World and play with a virtual version of your pet.


What are all the cool things I can do in Webkinz World?
Where do we start? First, you adopt your pet and name it. Then you can custom design a room for it. You can play games in the Arcade, or compete against other players in tournaments. You can answer quizzes in Quizzy's Question Corner and enter contests, too. All of these things earn you KinzCash, which you can use to go shopping for your pet in our W Shop. The W shop is the section of the website where you can buy toys, furniture and clothes. There are stories to read and fun daily activities. The best part is that we add things to Webkinz World frequently, so it's always getting bigger and better.


How do I find out more about Webkinz World?
There are lots of ways. For a sneak peek, click on “Take a Tour” on the home page. Inside the site, you can click on the yellow help button at the bottom right of the dock to open a Help File for more information on the area you are in. You also get a Webkinz Guide when you first sign up which explains everything about the website.


Webkinz World sounds awesome - how do I sign up?
Access to Webkinz World comes with the purchase of Webkinz plush. Our Store Locator on the main page can help you find the nearest retailer.


Can I join Webkinz World for free?
No, unfortunately, you must first buy a Webkinz pet, which gives you one year of access to our site. To find the nearest store where you can buy Webkinz pets, go to the main Webkinz page and click on the Store Locator button in the lower right.


I just bought a Webkinz pet - how do I register?
On the welcome page, click on "New Member." Ms. Birdy will guide you through the rest of the registration. You will need your Secret Code in order to register. Your Secret Code is around the ankle of your Webkinz pet.


OK, I'm registered. How do I get back on the site later?
The next time you visit us, just click on "Log In" and enter the username and password you picked when you first registered.


How many Webkinz pets are there?
There's a link to our collection on the main page - just click on the COLLECTIONS CATALOG after closing this window. Once you're logged in, you can also check out the MEET THE WEBKINZ PETS section in the newspaper. The Webkinz family is always growing, so check back often!


Why do some Webkinz pets have a W on their paws?
The pets without a 'W' on them are part of the first generation of Webkinz pets! We now put the letter 'W' on every Webkinz pet's paw, so if you see a pet without a W, you know it is a first generation Webkinz pet!


Where do I buy new Webkinz/Lil'Kinz pets? Can I buy them online?
To find a store, go to the main Webkinz page and click on the STORE LOCATOR button. Newly released Webkinz or Lil'Kinz pets may take a week or so to arrive at your local store, but you can always go in and pre-order them. If you find a store does not have the Webkinz pets you are looking for, ask them to order it. They will be more than happy to do this for you. There are also some online stores where you can buy Webkinz pets. Just Google the word WEBKINZ.


How much are the Webkinz plush pets? Can you make them cheaper?
Sorry to say, but the prices of the Webkinz Plush Toys are not in our control. Ganz provides each retailer with a suggested retail price. However, it is up to the retailers to price them. You may have to shop around to find the best priced Webkinz pets.
If you want to know where you can get a Webkinz pet, be sure to check out the Store Locator on the main Webkinz World page: www.webkinz.com.


Can I machine wash my pet?
No, your Webkinz Plush pet should not be washed in a washing machine. If they are looking a little scruffy, and a bit of a wash seems like a good idea, please wipe it with a damp cloth with a little, teensy-tiny bit of baby shampoo. Next, wipe it again with a damp cloth, this time with no soap.


What's the catalog for?
You can view the Webkinz Catalogue from the home page. The catalog is just another way to look at all the wonderful Webkinz pets. You can even check off the Webkinz pets you want to adopt next and add them to your wish list!


How do I make a Wishlist?
To create a Wishlist, simply click on the "Collections Catalog" button and check the box next to any pet you are interested in collecting. When you have checked all of the boxes you want, click on the "Wishlist" button and you'll be able to print a copy of your new Wishlist!


How did you come up with Webkinz World?
GANZ Inc. has loved stuffed animals for a very long time. So we thought, wouldn't it be great to have a place where your stuffed animal came to life so that you could care for it like a real pet? To make the pet more real, we decided it could be happy or sad, healthy or sick, hungry or full. Taking care of your pet matters!
Of course we wanted it to be as fun as possible so we added games and trivia and lots of fun items that we thought Webkinz owners would enjoy working for to purchase for their pet!
Webkinz World will continue to grow and expand so that fans like you can enjoy your pet to the fullest.


How do you come up with your ideas?
We have a whole team of people here always working on new ideas to make Webkinz World better for everyone. We also get ideas from the surveys and emails we get from all of you.


How often is Webkinz World updated?
We generally update Webkinz World every two weeks or so. But not everything on the site can be updated every two weeks, so keep watching the Newz section to check what's new!


When did Webkinz World begin?
Webkinz World began on April 28, 2005. It is getting bigger and better every single day! We've got a huge team of technical wizards, creative writers, awesome artists, and terrific support people who work hard to make Webkinz World wonderful! We hope you're enjoying your time in Webkinz World...you never know what might happen next!

For more Webkinz Q&A, click here.

Hopefully that gave you a little better understanding on what Webkinz, so that you now have knowledge of the Webkinz giveaways we are about to have!!!!!!!

As a Christmas Present to all of my wonderful followers,
we are having 2 Christmas Giveaways!!!
Both have to do with Webkinz, which is why it's a Kinzmas giveaway.

The 1st giveaway:
A Webkinz Account!!!!!

The Prize:
A Webkinz Account!

Who can enter?
Anyone
This is an INTERNATIONAL giveaway!!!

What is in this account?
56 pets
68 rooms
10,314 KinzCash
73 items when you open the page
20 new messages (as of 12/4/10)
TONS of rare items, gems, collectables, and more!

How much is this account worth?
This account is worth OVER $600!!!!!!

Why are you giving it away?
I simply don't play on Webkinz anymore, and I do not want it to go to waste, after I've put so much time, energy, and money into it. So, I decided that I'd give it to someone who will take care of it for a while.

If I don't like the username, can I change it?
I would let you change it, but unfortunatly, Ganz doesn't, so no.

Requirements:
You MUST follow PrincessReviews
You (or whoever you are winning it for) MUST be active online
You (or whoever you are winning it for) MUST play on Webkinz AT LEAST 3 times a week
Put the word Monkey in the spot on the form where it says Webkinz so I know you read the rules
I need a GOOD REASON (preferably an essay) on WHY you want to win!
You CANNOT change the password!
You MUST take care of ALL of the pets, not just one or two.

How to Enter:
Still want to win after reading all those rules, huh? GOOD! That means you will most likely take care of the account, and I praise you for that.
To enter, simply fill out the form here.

How do I start to play if I win?
I will email you a contract which you must read and reply back with an I Do, letting me know that you will use the account.
After you have confirmed that, I will email you the username and Password.
As stated in the rules, you cannot change the password.
Then, just log onto Webkinz and start playing.

Ends:
December 23rd at Midnight

Giveaway #2:
Zumbuddy Prize Pack!


The Prize:
an orange Zumbuddy AND an orange Zumbuddy Klip

Who can enter?
Sorry, this one is for people in the United States of America only.

How much is it worth?
About $20

The Rules:
You MUST be a PrincessReviews follower
You MUST have a Webkinz account, or give it to someone who does have a webkinz account!

How to enter:
Fill out the form by clicking here.
I will email the winner and they have 48 hours to reply or a new winner will be chosen.

Ends:
December 27th
(If you are giving them to someone as a gift, tell them it just hasn't arrived yet) 

Good Luck and Merry Christmas!

Friday, December 3, 2010

Angelfire by Coutney Allison Moulton

I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for this eARC :) Made me very very very happy :) 


Title: Angelfire


Author: Coutney Allison Moulton


Published February 15th 2011 by HarperCollins / Katherine Tegen Books


Goodreads summary:
This debut, the first novel in a trilogy, is achingly romantic, terrifying, and filled with blistering action. 

When seventeen-year-old Ellie starts seeing reapers - monstrous creatures who devour humans and send their souls to Hell - she finds herself on the front lines of a supernatural war between archangels and the Fallen and faced with the possible destruction of her soul. 

A mysterious boy named Will reveals she is the reincarnation of an ancient warrior, the only one capable of wielding swords of angelfire to fight the reapers, and he is an immortal sworn to protect her in battle. Now that Ellie's powers have been awakened, a powerful reaper called Bastian has come forward to challenge her. He has employed a fierce assassin to eliminate her - an assassin who has already killed her once. 

While balancing her dwindling social life and reaper-hunting duties, she and Will discover Bastian is searching for a dormant creature believed to be a true soul reaper. Bastian plans to use this weapon to ignite the End of Days and to destroy Ellie's soul, ending her rebirth cycle forever. Now, she must face an army of Bastian's most frightening reapers, prevent the soul reaper from consuming her soul, and uncover the secrets of her past lives - including truths that may be too frightening to remember.


My thoughts: 


Ellie seems to be your typical high schooler.  Well, that is until some of her nightmares start becoming reality.   She meets Will, the boy who seems to randomly pop up into her life, and yet she feels like she knows him from somewhere.  As it turns out, Will reveals Ellie's true past to her, and she learns that she is the Preliator, has been reincarnated for the past one thousand-something years, and her main job is to kill demonic reapers.  She must now learn to fill her role as the Preliator, and defeat "Enshi" before it destroys her soul. 


I ended up loving this book a lot more than I thought I would.  I really adored the writing and the characters.  Ellie was snarky, and read more like, well,  a real teenager would.  Will was... hot.  And I love him for his root beer float obsessions.  I love YA couples that can kick-butt together instead of someone just hiding in a corner.  All of the characters in general were all well developed and well written.  


This books is the perfect combination of humor, romance, action, and general awesomeness.  My only complaint I think is maybe some questionable plot points, but I think more will be revealed in the next book :) I also wouldn't have minded if Cadan was in it more ;)  For those who don't know who Cadan is, I we're probably in the same club.  He isn't in Angelfire too much, (maybe around 10 pages), but I can't help loving the mysterious guy.  He's coming in more in the next book, and I shall DEFINITELY add that to my TBR list :D 


Psstt you can also read the first 100 pages now! So go check it out here!


Overall: 4.5/5 stars :D  If you want to read some fresh original YA debuts, look no further than Angelfire! I will be eagerly anticipating the next book in this trilogy! 

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Holiday Gift Giveaway Hop!

Jasmere is willing to donate $25 credit to the winner!  


Holiday Gift Giveaway Hop

Welcome to the Holiday Gift Giveaway Hop! This event has been months in planning and I am super excited that the day is finally here! I have up for grabs $25 in Gift Certificates to be won!

Please check out the wonderful prizes donated by my very generous sponsors. I invite you to check out their sites or bookmark them to visit after the hop ends. Have fun everyone!

Unfortunatly, this is a United States of American ONLY contest. :(


Once a winner is chosen, I will ask them to create and account, or tell me the username, then email me the username of the account and I will email it to Jasmere and they will credit it with $25!!!

How to Enter:
Main Entry:
Visit http://www.jasmere.com/ and leave a comment telling me which item you like best.
Extra Entries (1 new comment each additional entry):
Follow PrincessReviews (say how you follow, too)
Email Subscribe PrincessReviews
Add Princess Reviews on Facebook as a friend

Giveaway ends on December 5, 2010 at 11:59 pm EST. The winners will be selected by random.org and notified by email and will have 48 hours to reply back before a new winner is selected. Good luck!

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa

I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the eARC :)  Never thought I would actually get approved, and it was definitely one of the best Thanksgivings ever.  Woke up everyone in my house from their Thanksgiving nap with my screaming and hyperventilating.  


Goodreads summary:


My name is Meaghan Chase. 

I thought it was over.That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron fey that will drag me back, kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished prince who's sworn to stay by my side. Drag me into the core of a conflict so powerful, I'm not sure anyone can survive it. 

This time, there will be no turning back.


My Thoughts 
*(I'm going to try to make this spoiler free, but may contain a couple spoilers from the first 2 books):


Loved this.  So much love.  I've loved the first two books as well, but this may be my favorite :D  The Iron Queen picks off right where The Iron Daughter left off.  Meaghan must defeat the Iron fey and prevent them from destroying all of Faery (did I spell that right?) all under 400 pages.  And don't worry, there is plenty of Ash, Puck, and Grim along the way :) 


It might not have been as obvious in Iron Daughter, but Meaghan has really matured in this series.  Went from being the typical awkward high schooler, having to depend on others to guide her, to a strong, and confident individual.  I think Julie Kagawa ended this book perfectly.  It blew me away of how perfectly everything fit together, and how right it felt.  


Something to be thankful for is there shall be a fourth book!  Not much details yet, but it's called The Iron Knight and I believe it is focusing on Ash.  At the end of Iron Queen, there is a little snippet which leads perfectly into the Iron Knight.  So I'm extremely extremely extremely excited for that. 


Overall: 5/5 stars. Legit.  On February 1, 2011 run to a bookstore.  

Sunday, November 28, 2010

Bad Apple by Laura Ruby


Title:
Bad Apple

Author:
Laura Ruby

Page Numbers:
247

Publisher and Date Published:
2009 by HarperTeen

Summary (from Inside Cover):
"If I really wanted to open up, I'd confess that I really am the liar everyone believes I am."
High-school junior Tola Riley has green hair, a nose ring, an attitude problem, and a fondness for fairy tales, which are a great escape from real life. Everyone thinks she's crazy; everyone says so. Everyone except Mr. Mymer, her art teacher. He gets her paintings and lets her hang out in the art room during lonely lunch periods.
But then rumors start flying and Tola is suddenlt the center of a scandal. The whole town is judging her - even her family. When Mr. Mymer is suspended for what everyone thinks is an affair, she has no choice byt to break her silence. Fairy tales won't help her this time . . . so how can she tell the truth? And, more importantly, will anyone believe her?

About the Author (from the back cover): Laura Ruby
Laura Ruby lives in Chicago with her faily. She spent much of her misguided youth writing angry, angsty poems and dyeing her hair lots of colors not found in nature. She is the author of GOOD GIRLS and PLAY ME as well as several other books for children and adults. You can visit her online at http://www.lauraruby.com/ .

My Thoughts:
Tola is suspected of being the victim of her art teacher, Mr. Mymer, abusing her in a love affair at an art museum. This story, told in Tola's point of view, tells what really happened, that she was in no way, shape or form, abused or in a love affair with him. Its a book that anyone can relate to,  whether they are currently a teenager in high school going through typical teenage stuff in the book, or an adult remembering what it was like to be that girl. She gets bullied, has friends, has a good boyfriend (sorta - they're not offically going out), and is the typical teenager. Except for the fact she has green hair, is obbsessed with the gruesome Grimm's tales, and is accused of wrong-doing.
I liked this story, and I think you will too, so I encourage all to go out and buy it today!!
I can not wait to check out other books by Laura Ruby!! :)

My rating:
4.9/5 stars


Fall Contest Winners!

No one entered the fall contest, so there are no winners. :(
Be sure to enter the next contest!!!!!!!

Why I Love PrincessReviews Giveaway Winners!!!

Congratulations to:
Daisy - who won a necklace
Aik - who won SillyBandz
Vivien - who won a signed picture of the creator of PrincessReviews

Thank you all who entered!

An email was sent out, please reply by December 1st to claim your prize!

Gratitude Giveaway Winners!!!!!!!!!!

I would like to start off by saying Thank You to everyone who participated in the Gratitude Giveaway held at PrincessReviews! Because of all of our wonderful followers, we had 82 entries!!!!!!!!! :)
Since we had over 75 entries, 4 winners were chosen to recieve one of the 5 books listed below.
The winners are...drum roll, please.....
1. Jacque Stengel!!!!
2. Lisa Faber!!!
3. Linda Henderson!!
4. Lora1967!

I have emailed them and if they do not reply before December 1st, 2010, a new winner will be chosen!

Thier prizes:
   

Saturday, November 27, 2010

Grown Ups

  Title: Grown Ups
Length: 102 minutes

Rating: PG-13

Genre: Comedy

Release Date: June 25, 2010

Director: Dennis Dugan

Writers: Adam Sandler, Fred Wolf

Stars: Adam Sandler, Salma Hayek, and Kevin James

IMDb Summary: After their high school basketball coach passes away, five good friends and former teammates reunite for a Fourth of July holiday weekend.

IMDb Rating: 5.8/10 stars

My rating: 9.8/10 stars

My Thoughts:
When Coach "Buzzer" passes away, Lenny, Eric, Kurt, Marcus, and Rob, get together to go to his funneral. Lenny only has a day to stay, since his fashion designer wife, Roxanne, has to be in Milan for a fashion show. He convinces ber to stay one more day, and by the end of the 2nd day, she will not go and wants to stay. The movie is about the grown ups being the kids, and teaching the kids how to be kids. Greg, Lenny's son, (played by Jake Goldberg <3 ) beats the son of the guy on the other basket ball team that lost when coach buzzer was still alive and they demand a rematch basketball game. When it comes down to just Lenny and that guy, Lenny can easily win, but decides to be the better person and lets the other team win. When asked why he did this, he replies "They need to learn how to win and we need to learn how to loose".

I thought it was a good movie and I enjoyed it, but let me know what you thought!

Six Word Saturday



Six Word Saturday is a meme hosted by Show My  Face, where you have to describe your life or something else in a phrase using only six words.

I'm describing:
My Dog

Description:
My dog is nice and smart.

You're turn! Describe your dog (or if you don't have one, why you don't have one) in 6 words in  the comments section!

Then check out these cool blogs!
http://www.showmyface.com/2010/11/six-word-saturday_20.html

Pet Bloggers Hop



The Pet Blogger's Hop is just another blog hop where we go from blog to blog and see all the new blogs out there!

Friday, November 26, 2010

Weekend Brain Parties

Weekend Brain Parties is a meme created by me where there is an acedemic question that needs answering and the correct answers get put into a giveaway.

Last week's winners:
None. No one entered. :(

This week's question:
About how much money do people in the USA spend on Black Friday alone?



Don't forget to get your blog in it too!

Five Questions Friday!


http://fivecrookedhalos.blogspot.com/search/label/five%20question%20friday
Question for Friday, November 26th: Today's Questions all come right off the top of my wee lil' brain! (PS...feel free to come to my community to offer up your best question suggestions...we're in need of some new ones!)


1. What is your favorite part of a Thanksgiving meal?
The turkey! And all the other good food!
2. Are you a host or a guest for Thanksgiving this year?
Guest at my grandmother's
3. When you think of one Thanksgiving tradition, what comes to mind?
The traditional dinner and going to my grandmother's
4. You have two pieces of pie in front of you and you HAVE to eat one...do you choose pumpkin or pecan?
Pumpkin
5. Are you a Black Friday Shopper?
Nope :(

Social Parade Follow on Friday

Smart and Trendy Moms

Social Parade Friday is where you go around to other blogs and follow them!

(Again I can't seem to get the linkly list, so click on the button to go to it!)

Hop Along Friday!

Hop Along Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Chubby Cheeks Thinks. It is all about going to new blogs and seeing what blogs you like! 

I'm not sure how to post this linky up, so go here for the list of awesome blogs to visit!

Aloha Friday!

Aloha Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Kailani at An Island Life, where the goal is to take it easy on postings on Fridays.
For the meme, a simple question is asked, and the answer doesn't have to be long.

This week's question is:

Black Friday . . . love it or avoid it?


My answer:
I'd love to go shopping on a Black Friday, but I never have. So for now, it's avoid it.

What's your answer? Post below in a comment!

(Linky is not here because I'm not paying $5 for it)

Thursday, November 25, 2010

Holiday Hop Sponser!

We have found a sponser for the Holiday Gift Giveaway Hop! :)

Jasmere is willing to donate a $25 credit to thier site to us for the giveaway!  Unfotunatley, it is only open to people from the United States of America. :(

If you have another sponser that would be willing to donate something internationally, I'd really appreciate it if you could help out! Send me an email at princessreviews@aol.com if you can! Thanks!


On another note, leave me a comment saying what Christmas/Winter Holiday item(s) you want me to giveaway here, and whether you want it US, Us/Can, or Inter. 
Thanks!

Happy Thanksgiving!

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

Happy Thanksgiving, to everyone here, from PrincessReviews!

Here at PrincessReviews, we are thankfull for our wonderful followers!

What are YOU thankful for? We want to know! Leave a comment telling us what you're thankful for!!!

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Breaking the Spine's Jill. Blogs can post what book they can't wait to read!

I have a ton of books that I have that I have not yet read, but can't wait to read!

The current book I have that I can't wait to read the most is If You're Reading This, It's Too Late by Pseudonymous Bosch.
 I got this book at last year's book fair and can't wait to start it!

Summary (from Wikipedia):
For 500 years, the secret society of the Midnight Sun has been waiting for the homunculus, the man-made man, to rise, and now the evil Dr. L and Ms. Mauvais are going to throw Cass and Max-Ernest to the sharks unless they tell them where he resides. After going on an excursion with their science teacher, the two are tricked by Dr. L after receiving a note from Pietro saying he will meet them on a ship, from which they barely escape. After finding out their teacher is really Owen, the accent changing member of the Terces Society, they are introduced to the great magician himself, Pietro, who gives them a mission: find the homunculus before the Midnight Sun does. Max-Ernest also finds out that 'Terces' is "secret" backwards. Cass is grounded when she returns home, because she was missing for too long. While on the Midnight Sun ship, Cass and Max-Ernest discover a strange ball, which enables her to hear all types of sounds by putting it to her ear and makes wonderful music when held carefully. Cass also discovers a birth certificate. The name is unrecognizable, thus making Cass wonder if she was the wrong girl the Terces Society wanted. She ignores it, even though it pains her, and continues her mission.

This time teaming up with a new classmate named Yo-Yoji as well as Max-Ernest, the three need to escape the grasp of their parents, and find the alchemist's grave... but Dr. L and Ms. Mauvais have other plans.

Teaser Tuesday



I know I'm a day late, but I still want to participate!

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading.

Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
Grab your current read
Open to a random page
Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers.

My Teasers:
from Bad Apple by Laura Ruby

pg. 103
"When my mom sits down, she doesn't even look at me. She's as rigid and virtuous as a nun."

3 part reviews? What?

Why was my last review in 3 parts, you ask?
Well, I reviewed it on my phone, same as this post. Since I am not paying for internet on my phone to actually create a post, I have to send a text message email to this blog as my post. My phone only allows me to send 1000 characters (letters, numbers, symbols, and spaces) per message. Every time I hit that 1000 mark, it won't let me type anymore and I have to send a new message, which posts as a new post.
For more info on email posting, you can comment this post or email me at princessreviews@aol.com and I'll send you some more info on how to do it, or at least how I do it.

Thank you for your understanding, and I hope you continue to come back to PrincessReviews.
Please realize that I will use Blogger.com to create most of my posts, not my phone, so this 3 part reviews thing will be rare.
Again, thank you! Come again!

This message was sent using the Picture and Video Messaging service from Verizon Wireless!

To learn how you can snap pictures and capture videos with your wireless phone visit www.verizonwireless.com/picture.

Note: To play video messages sent to email, QuickTime� 6.5 or higher is required.

Part 3 of Raven Stole The Moon Review

from Scratch, the main character is a woman who lost a loved one 2 years ago, exactly.

I would give this book a 2\5 on my liking, but I think for quality I'd have to give it a 3.7/5.
Check out this book if you want, or not.