Saturday, June 30, 2012

Busch Gardens Tampa Review


I booked a package deal online. It was Buy 2 Nights, Get 1 Night Free at a Busch Garden Tampa Official & Approved Hotel. We chose the Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa North. We loved it. I also purchased the Busch Gardens Tampa with Adventure Island Free Length Of Stay Ticket. I thought that meant I could go to either park as many times as I wanted for the length of my stay. Unfortunately, the tickets were for one (1) day at Busch Gardens and (1) day at Adventure Island only. I didn't find that out until I was going through the gates at the park. So I ended up having to get a rain check because it was raining HARD and didn't look like it would let up anytime soon. The weather was supposed to be sunny the next day. The guest relations person was very nice about helping us get our rain check. However, I was very disappointed in the misleading advertisement of the ticket. Here is what the ticket's Legal Terms states: "Unlimited admission to Busch Gardens Tampa & Adventure Island. Ticket expires 14 consecutive days from date of first park visit. Valid during regularly scheduled operation hours." Nowhere does it state that this ticket is for one (1) day at each park.

So we came back the next day and had a wonderful time at the Sesame Street Safari of Fun. We ended up staying there most of the day so we only went on two other rides in the entire park. It was a bit disappointing. We tried to make it to the Cheetah Run show and the other scheduled shows, but the park is just so big it was hard to make it anywhere in time. Plus we had a full-sized stroller that we brought from home and couldn't take on the train or the Sky Ride. So we were slow going getting around the park. But we did feed the kangaroos. Which costs $5 per cup for the feed. It is free just to go in and see them. Most of the kangaroos were probably full from an earlier feeding and didn't eat much so don't bother buying the feed. We saw flamingos as soon as we got in the gate and even took pictures beside them. We saw alligators, elephants, tortoises, tigers, orangutans, and gorillas. The children had a good time. Sesame Street Safari of Fun had rides just the right size for all the children. The only thing they didn't like was the Grover Flyer roller coaster. I guess it was too fast for them. They saw a show with Elmo, Cookie Monster, Zoe, and Grover. They took pictures with Big Bird. There are two water play areas and a clean bathroom for the children to change from their regular clothes into their swimsuits. Play was great for even my one-year-old. There was a tree house, rope bridges, the biggest jumpy thing I have ever seen, merry-go-rounds, boat rides, etc. The entire park is incredibly clean.

I also ordered dining plans for us. For adults it ran about $32 and $15 for children to eat ALL day at select restaurants throughout the park. It was worth the money and the selection was good. If you've ever been to an amusement park, you know one meal break can run you $50 or more easily. So to eat all day for $32, every time you go through the line was pretty awesome. Meals included an entrée, side, dessert and drink. The portions are good as well. I would definitely recommend the dining plan to anyone visiting the park.

The trains that took us from the parking lot to the park entrance ran regularly and the wait was not bad at all. It ran very smoothly and I was pleased with it.

Busch Gardens is a VERY big park and it would take several visits to see it all. We didn't get to go to Adventure Island because we were only there Thursday evening through Sunday. It was raining all day Friday. Although the Busch Gardens is open 365 no matter what the weather, we chose to go to Busch Gardens on our sunny day, which was Saturday. We left on Sunday morning so we couldn't go to Adventure Island. Overall, we had a great visit except for the ticket mix-up. I would definitely recommend Busch Gardens reword that ticket deal so no one else is confused. I would recommend this park to families and any others. I would go back again.

Friday, June 29, 2012

Remembering Zane Giveaway!

J.S. Wilsoncroft, author of Remembering Zane, is giving away three (3) copies of an ebook version! All you need to do is follow PrincessReviews and leave a comment with your email so we know how to contact you if you win! Random.org will be used to select the winners!!


How Many Winners:
3

What to Win:
Ebook of Remembering Zane

Who Can Enter:
Followers of PrincessReviews
International

How to Enter:
Leave Comment WITH EMAIL

Dates:
Saturday and Sunday
June 30 & July 1
(Winner won't be chosen until later - I'll be in OBX until July 3rd)

Summary from Amazon:
 June 19, 2012
Second Edition. E-book, Novella, Write More Publications "Pocket Book."
Synopsis: At ten years old, Bonnie Reese knew the minute she laid eyes on Zane Withers that he would forever have a place in her heart. After years of dating, then finally going their separate ways, Bonnie always dreamed that eventually they would find their way back back to each other.
But those dreams were shattered, along with her heart, when she received the devastating news that her beloved Zane had been killed. As she faced her worst nightmare of going to his funeral, Bonnie runs into Zane’s best friend, Jonathan Wood. Little did she know, Jonathan had deep feelings for her since the seventh grade. Now that his best friend is gone, will Jonathan have the courage to tell her that he’s loved her since high school? Or will he keep his secret to himself forever? Will Bonnie let go and let love find her again?

Buy The Book Here:

Hampton Inn and Suites Tampa North Busch Gardens Review


We went to Tampa, FL for a short vacation. We stated at Hampton Inn & Suites from May 31-June 3, 2012. We had a little trouble finding the hotel because the road that it is on is a circular road and we entered the first drive when we got off the highway and had to travel all the way around the drive to find the hotel. So when you exit the highway, go to the second Hidden River Parkway entrance off of Fletcher Ave.

I made my reservations through Busch Gardens website as part of a package. So when I went to the front desk, all I had to show was my ID and credit card. We arrived around 5p.m. on May 31st and the front desk attendant was very nice and helpful. We had a room on the fourth floor, and as we were bringing in our bags, a nice hotel employee invited us to the Manager's Reception. She was very nice to our children. I believe her name was Nicole. She was the one everyone was raving about on the reviews. It was kind of cool that she was the next person we met upon arriving. I actually chose the hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor.

The room was nice and what I expected. Clean and comfortable. I chose the suite for a little more room for me, my husband, and three children. There was a good-sized kitchen with a bar and three stools, a refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave and two-eye stove. There were plates, cups, mugs and utensils in the cabinets and drawers and a coffeemaker. The living area was a good size too. It had a sleeper sofa (it had a tear in it and sagged a bit from use, but surprisingly NOT uncomfortable to sleep on), coffee table, side table and chair, TV and stand with drawers, a desk and chair. Down a short hall there was a small closet off to the side. Then you entered the sink area. To the right was the toilet and tub room with a door that could be closed. To the left was the bedroom with two full beds, a chair with ottoman, another TV and stand with drawers, a closet and table for our suitcase with a door that could be closed. We requested a crib online and it was also in the room. It rolled and there was plenty of room to roll it from the living room into the bedroom without even obstructing any walking space. There was an A/C unit in the living room and one in the bedroom. We went down for the Manager's Reception and had hot dogs, salad and drinks. Nice dinner that the children actually ate and we didn't have to go out, although there were places to eat close by. We swam in the hotel pool before it got dark and it was warmer than I expected and basically clean.

The next day it rained--hard. He had a good, complimentary Continental breakfast of waffles and eggs. The dining room was kind of crowded but we found a place. We decided to risk going to Busch Gardens, hoping to see some inside shows and then return on Saturday for the rides. The free shuttle ran 8:30, 9:30 and 10 I believe. We were able to get seats on the 9:30 although it was kind of small and only had six seats in addition to the front two. Well, when we got to the gates at Busch Gardens, I found out that my tickets were NOT for two days (I'll be reviewing Busch Gardens elsewhere regarding that mix-up). So we had to get a rain check (no pun intended). I called the hotel and they sent the driver back to get us no problem. Busch Gardens was only a 10-12 minute drive from the hotel so it was very convenient. We ended up staying in the hotel all day while it rained. It was fine because we put cartoons on for the children in the bedroom and my husband and I watched TV/dozed in the living room. Later that evening when the rain stopped, we went out to eat at Olive Garden which wasn't very far either.

Saturday morning, we went to breakfast again. It was really full in the lobby that morning, but the nice attendant found me and the children some chairs and set us up nicely at desk in the lobby. She even joked with me about when I was going to start eating because I was running around trying to get the children's breakfast. So after breakfast, we decided to drive to Busch Gardens just so we could stay until close. I believe the last shuttle left at 6p.m. and the park closed at 8p.m. We returned to the hotel tired but it was a nice park.

Sunday morning, the lobby was really, really crowded so I made some waffles and took them up to the room to eat in the kitchen. Afterward, check out was simple and we got right on the highway which was about 2 minutes away. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to families. We will stay there again if we go back to Busch Gardens or Adventure Island.

Thursday, June 28, 2012

The Statue of Ku


The Statue of Ku is the second book in the Moa series by Tricia Stewart Shiu. 
Moa, in her new human body, and her new friends, are all in for another adventure, this time, in Egypt! They are trying to located the Statue of Ku, an heirloom that is rightfully Moa's. Moa and Hillary jump into a limo and are taken to a private jet to the royal palace of the King of Egypt, but when Moa doesn't have any identification, they are taken to a holding cell. Thankfully, the Prince needs their help to find the statue, so they are taken to the palace. There, they meet Molly and Heidi, and having no money of their own and being allowed room and food at the palace, they reluctantly decide to stay and help the prince locate Moa's statue. 
But while they are at a traditional Egyptian market, looking for the statue, Moa gets lost. Molly, Heidi, and Hillary go out to look for her, but end up trapped in a crate with a baby when Hillary falls and a baby thief claims she can help. 
Meanwhile, Ku is telling us his story, at the same time. Ku's family had a healing power that skips some generations, so when Ku is discovered to have this power, he is worshiped and does not have to do chores, since people will come up to his family to  be healed and will provide the family with food and supplies. But day while meditating, he is drawn to someone calling out for help. When he goes in to help, a monster steals his healing powers. Later that night, his family is taken and killed, all except for him and his brother. He finds his brother the next day. His brother dies in his arms. 
Ku then goes to search for people, since his whole village has been killed, and stumbles upon a man who makes him his slave. Am, a girl slave, and a pet monkey whom he nursed to health, are his only friends. When the slave owner, Fet, has the monkey killed, Ku feels like another family member has died. Am and Ku plan to escape, but Am dies trying to reach Ku. Ku then walks the desert alone until he comes across an oasis, where very kind people help him. They later make him leave. 
This book also has rituals in it, as did the last one. But I kind of skipped over them this time, feeling that the stories were more important. 
This series had a WONDERFUL transition from the 1st book in the series to the 2nd book in the series. Bravo to Tricia! You did not have to read the first book in the series to know what was going on in this book, and if you didn't read it you wouldn't have any problems in this book. She told you everything that happened in Moa, in a tasteful way, and got you into what was going to happen in The Statue of Ku. It really is a lot harder than it seems to find a series where you can just read the 2nd, or 3rd, or whatever book without having to read the first one. So good job, Tricia! 
Also, I really liked how we got to know Ku, the person the statue is of, so that we got to understand a bit more about this search, and Moa (since she is a descendant of Ku), and some more history. It was also an interesting way to get you to keep reading. It would stop one part (either the Ku part or the Moa part) at a suspenseful part so you would keep reading until you got to the next part, but by then, you would have past a suspenseful part in the other part, so you'd just keep reading, and reading, and reading until the book was done! That's how I got from 15% to 64% in a matter of a couple hours. It really is a brilliant tactic to use. 
I would definitely recommend this book, and I look forward to reading more from Tricia! 

(To know how Ku's life went, or what happened with Moa, Molly, Hillary, and Heidi, read The Statue of Ku by Tricia Stewart Shiu) 



As part of this special promotional extravaganza sponsored by Novel Publicity, the price of the Moa and Statue of Ku eBook editions have both been dropped to just 99 cents this week. What’s more, by purchasing either of these fantastic books at an incredibly low price, you can enter to win many awesome prizes. The prizes include $600 in Amazon gift cards, a Kindle Fire, and 5 autographed copies of each book.

All the info you need to win one of these amazing prizes is RIGHT HERE. Remember, winning is as easy as clicking a button or leaving a blog comment--easy to enter; easy to win!

To win the prizes:
        
  1. Purchase your copies of Moa and Statue of Ku for just 99 cents
  2.     
  3. Enter the Rafflecopter contest on Novel Publicity
  4.     
  5. Visit today’s featured social media event

About Moa: Eighteen-year-old, Hillary, anticipates adventure as she embarks for trip to Honolulu, but gets more than she bargained for when Moa, an ancient Hawaiian spirit, pays her an unexpected visit. Get it on Amazon.

About Statue of Ku:  The second book in the Moa Book Series, "The Statue of Ku" follows Hillary and Moa as they jet to Egypt on the Prince’s private plane to reclaim Moa’s family heirloom, the inimitable statue of Ku. Get it on Amazon.

About the author: Tricia Stewart Shiu combines her addiction to the written word with her avid interest in the healing arts and all things metaphysical in her novels Moa and Statue of Ku and looks forward to finding new ways to unite her two loves. Visit Tricia on her websiteTwitterFacebook, or GoodReads.

Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Pre-Written Interview with Tricia Stewart Shiu

Please enjoy this interview with Tricia Stewart Shiu, author of the paranormal YA novel with a literary bent Moa. Then read on to learn how you can win huge prizes as part of this blog tour, including $6000 in Amazon gift cards, a Kindle Fire, 5 autographed copies of Moa, and 5 autographed copies of its sequel, Statue of Ku.



1. The Moa Book series has a metaphysical theme. Do you have any expertise in this area?

I am an energetic intuitive and have a talent for creating powerful healing essential oil blends and gem elixirs. The unearthing of these talents occurred as I embarked on a metaphysical journey, which included studies in mediumship, pagan and Huna rituals as well as an energy healing technique called “Crystalline Consciousness Technique.” I also studied a variety of shamanic clearing methods and healing rituals.

2. You get pretty heavy into the metaphysical. Are you, in fact, a witch?<strong>

Like, Hillary, I question who I am on a daily, sometimes hourly, basis. For centuries, women have been persecuted and even killed for being labeled a witch. I have studied many forms of healing rituals and magic and discovered that I have talents for using essential oils and crystals for the highest good. Others, who have witnessed the results of my practices, have called me many things: healer, shaman, and yes, witch. I choose not to accept any of these names but to embrace all of them as one growing changing name—wishealer or heshitch—to coin a phrase...or maybe not. As I discover more talents, gifts and unique parts to myself, this unusual word is sure to undergo a metamorphosis and may grow to the size of Moa's real, and quite lengthy, Hawaiian name.

3. What are your favorite books and how have they touched you as a reader?
Albert Einstein said, "Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.” The books/stories that touch me most echo the theme of humanity and self discovery and include a sense of adventure and wonder. Ray Bradbury's short story, Frost and Fire is a shocking, but tender story about a boy's journey into a world where people only live eight days. James Joyce's Portrait of an Artist as a Young Man inspired me to unleash my inner censor and allow my truth to shine though my writing. If I could wish anything for those who read my books, it would be the gift of self acceptance and self acknowledgement.

4. How long does it take you to write a book from start to finish?

Good question. I went back into my notes and discovered that it took me exactly three months and ten days to write Moa from beginning to end. That seems to be my average writing speed, three months. My aunt Rebecca Gummere is my editor extraordinaire. We have developed a comfortable and productive working rhythm that balances creativity and structure and brings such joy and enrichment to the work.

5. Who designs the covers for your books?

The brilliant and talented Sydney Shiu took the cover photos when she was six during a trip to Hawaii. Scott Torrance brought his years of experience in photographic art and design to the layouts.

6. What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The time between stories is the most challenging for me. When I am inside a story and writing I am filled with peace and joy. When I finish and have to leave that world, I mourn the loss of this comforting place--the same is true when I finish reading a great book. Nevertheless, I believe that this sadness brings with it a great opportunity and depth of creativity and I wouldn’t change a thing about the process.

7. Any take-away message you want readers to grasp?

Each of us has at least one divine gift to remember. The moment we wake up and retrieve the memory of who we are and what we are here to do, that's when the adventure begins.

8. When did you first consider yourself an author?

I was in middle school and read James Joyce’s Portrait of an Artist for the first time. About an hour later, I was overcome by an urge to write, an impulse I readily indulged. Time stood still, I still can't quite remember what happened during that frenzied period of first creation. All I remember is coming to with pages upon pages filled with words in front of me. It felt incredible to express myself so freely. I've never looked back.

9. Did you start out writing novels?

No. I started out writing short stories when I was young. Then when I began acting, I wrote one-woman shows and plays, eventually combining my efforts of performance and writing in a piece called Doing Lunch which made it’s way into a short film trilogy directed by Hal Trussel. That film won “Best Dramatic Short” at the Houston Film Festival.

10. What was your main source of inspiration for the Moa book series?

When I was five, I was visited by a vision. I'll never forget it, I was running down the stairs and the entity, a girl with dark hair, stopped me in my tracks. The spirit said that I would go through a deeply challenging time in my life, but would resurface, later in life, with unimaginable joy and fulfillment. That vision stayed with me. In middle school, I would sit quietly at my desk adding up the years to figure out exactly when my life would turn around.

And then I forgot. I got busy, my work and the stress of family life took over and I was completely overwhelmed and in desperate need of a vacation. My husband, daughter and I decided to go to Hawaii.

When the plane landed in Honolulu, I remember feeling the difference in the atmosphere as I disembarked. The air made me somehow, remember that there was a part of me that knew…something…what was it?

Never mind, I was in Hawaii it was time to see the sights! So, I sped off to see Diamond Head, Waikiki Beach and then headed home for an afternoon nap before an evening luau. As I drifted toward sleep, I heard my name being called. In my mind's eye, I saw a beautiful young woman with dark hair, who said her name was Moaahuulikkiaaakea’o Haanaapeekuluueehuehakipuunahe’e—Moa for short.

And then I remembered.



As part of this special promotional extravaganza sponsored by Novel Publicity, the price of the Moa and Statue of Ku eBook editions have both been dropped to just 99 cents this week. What’s more, by purchasing either of these fantastic books at an incredibly low price, you can enter to win many awesome prizes. The prizes include $600 in Amazon gift cards, a Kindle Fire, and 5 autographed copies of each book.

All the info you need to win one of these amazing prizes is RIGHT HERE. Remember, winning is as easy as clicking a button or leaving a blog comment--easy to enter; easy to win!

To win the prizes:
        
  1. Purchase your copies of Moa and Statue of Ku for just 99 cents
  2.     
  3. Enter the Rafflecopter contest on Novel Publicity
  4.     
  5. Visit today’s featured social media event

About Moa: Eighteen-year-old, Hillary, anticipates adventure as she embarks for trip to Honolulu, but gets more than she bargained for when Moa, an ancient Hawaiian spirit, pays her an unexpected visit. Get it on Amazon.

About Statue of Ku:  The second book in the Moa Book Series, "The Statue of Ku" follows Hillary and Moa as they jet to Egypt on the Prince’s private plane to reclaim Moa’s family heirloom, the inimitable statue of Ku. Get it on Amazon.

About the author: Tricia Stewart Shiu combines her addiction to the written word with her avid interest in the healing arts and all things metaphysical in her novels Moa and Statue of Ku and looks forward to finding new ways to unite her two loves. Visit Tricia on her websiteTwitterFacebook, or GoodReads.

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Tricia Stewart Shiu Guest Post

Please enjoy this guest post by Tricia Stewart Shiu, author of the paranormal YA novel with a literary bent Moa. Then read on to learn how you can win huge prizes as part of this blog tour, including $6000 in Amazon gift cards, a Kindle Fire, 5 autographed copies of Moa, and 5 autographed copies of its sequel, Statue of Ku.



The Story Behind Moa
by Tricia Stewart Shiu



I've always loved Hawaii and was thrilled when my husband booked a visit for us to see his relatives in Honolulu, Hawaii in October of 2006. We packed light and brought our daughter, who was three-years-old at the time.

Our condo was close to parks and monuments that oozed history. We enjoyed wandering around and indulging in the local cuisine. I even tried poi and liked it!

The morning after we arrived, I rose early to push my daughter’s stroller through the quiet, cool morning air. It felt like such a gift to experience Honolulu before the rest of the island was up.

After a hearty island breakfast, we headed out for a morning at our favorite sandy reprieve, Kuhio Beach. The water was calm and protected by a breakwater. Our daughter enjoyed digging and splashing and my husband and I sat sit nearby without worrying about the strong current.

Afterward, we headed back to our condominium, ate a light lunch, and took a luxurious siesta. Although I'm not usually a mid-day napper, the fresh sea air and sun lulled me into a light sleep—the kind where I felt like I was awake, but I was actually deeply asleep.

I heard a voice say my name and a part of me awoke. I use the word “part” because I could definitely feel my body touching the soft material on the couch. And yet, another part was keenly aware of a young woman with dark hair standing over me. It felt real, but dream-like, so I decided to go with it and ask her her name.

She pronounced a long Hawaiian string of letters, which seemed to go on for minutes. After repeating the name three or four times, she told me to call her “Moa.” Through my exhausted, sleepy haze, I remember being skeptical. If this was, indeed, a dream, I would ask as many questions as possible. So I did.

Why was she here? Where did she come from? How could I be sure she was who she claimed to be?

Instead of any answers, she flashed a mental picture of a woman and said that she was a long lost friend of my husband’s. She told me her name and explained that my husband’s family and she had lost touch 15 years before and had been orbiting around one another trying to reconnect.

I awoke from that nap, slightly groggy. That was an indication that I was definitely asleep. Perhaps it was just my creativity kicking into overdrive, I reasoned, and decided to go on with my day. We walked to a park with my daughter and began playing. Suddenly, there was a squeal and my husband and I turned to see the woman from my dream charging toward us with her arms stretched out wide. As she spoke, I tried to gather my wits. Here was the same woman from my dream, someone I’d only seen a mental picture of, and she was standing on the grass right in front of me.

She and my husband exchanged numbers and promised to keep in touch. For the next few hours, I tried to make sense of what happened. I had never had an experience like this before, but there was no denying that I saw a picture in a dream before I met someone and then they showed up in real life.

When I went to sleep that evening, Moa visited again. She answered the other questions I’d asked earlier that afternoon and wanted me to know that I was protected and should share my experience with the world. Since this was definitely my first metaphysical encounter, I had no idea how to form the correct words to share what had happened. How on earth, I asked Moa, am I supposed to convey such undocumented, unsubstantiated, unusual information?

She said that our world exists on many levels which all play simultaneously. Her analogy was of a DVR. Several shows can be playing at the same time but are on different tuners. That, she said, is where she existed.

When I awoke, I began writing and continued to do so. The story evolved into “Moa,” then the sequel, “Statue of Ku.” My daughter, now seven, took the cover photo and illustrated, as well. The photo was taken a few years ago on the North Shore as we played on the beach. The artwork has been compiled over the last two years.

Since my visit with Moa, I began an extensive and sometimes circuitous search to explain my metaphysical experience. I took classes on mediumship, Huna, energy work and through my education, I learned to create healing essential oils and elixir sprays and incorporated that information in the book. Not only did my experience with Moa inspire me and guide me through four-and-a-half of the most challenging years of my life, I also believe that writing about those events and including information I received about that inspiration and guidance, brought my own deep physical, mental, emotional and spiritual transformation and healing. Writing, editing and publishing Moa has opened doors to a new way of understanding myself, those around me and the energy we share.

Whatever your belief or understanding of the metaphysical world, I believe that if one person is transformed through learning, then we are all transformed. I truly believe the Moa I met came through in this work and, just as I connected with her as I wrote, those who read the book will experience her as well.



As part of this special promotional extravaganza sponsored by Novel Publicity, the price of the Moa and Statue of Ku eBook editions have both been dropped to just 99 cents this week. What’s more, by purchasing either of these fantastic books at an incredibly low price, you can enter to win many awesome prizes. The prizes include $600 in Amazon gift cards, a Kindle Fire, and 5 autographed copies of each book.

All the info you need to win one of these amazing prizes is RIGHT HERE. Remember, winning is as easy as clicking a button or leaving a blog comment--easy to enter; easy to win!

To win the prizes:
        
  1. Purchase your copies of Moa and Statue of Ku for just 99 cents
  2.     
  3. Enter the Rafflecopter contest on Novel Publicity
  4.     
  5. Visit today’s featured social media event

About Moa: Eighteen-year-old, Hillary, anticipates adventure as she embarks for trip to Honolulu, but gets more than she bargained for when Moa, an ancient Hawaiian spirit, pays her an unexpected visit. Get it on Amazon.

About Statue of Ku:  The second book in the Moa Book Series, "The Statue of Ku" follows Hillary and Moa as they jet to Egypt on the Prince’s private plane to reclaim Moa’s family heirloom, the inimitable statue of Ku. Get it on Amazon.

About the author: Tricia Stewart Shiu combines her addiction to the written word with her avid interest in the healing arts and all things metaphysical in her novels Moa and Statue of Ku and looks forward to finding new ways to unite her two loves. Visit Tricia on her websiteTwitterFacebook, or GoodReads.

Monday, June 25, 2012

Moa



Title:
Moa

Author:
Tricia Stewart Shiu

Series:
Moa

About the Author: (Amazon)
Tricia Stewart Shiu is an award winning, screenwriter, author and playwright, but her passion lies in creating mystical stories. Her latest series, The Moa Books, which includes Moa, The Statue of Ku and The Iron Shinto, were, by far her favorite to write.

Summary: (Goodreads)
Hillary Hause is not a witch. But, everyone in her conservative small town thinks so. When she is given a trip to Hawaii for graduation, this energetic eighteen-year-old anticipates adventure but gets more than she bargained for when Moa, an ancient Hawaiian spirit, pays her an unexpected visit.
With the help of her older sister, Molly and her seven-year-old niece, Heidi, Hillary embarks on a journey in which she not only saves herself, her family and Moa, but also the Hawaiian Islands. In the end, she learns to accept herself and her spiritual gifts warts and all.

I'd Recommend to...
adult women for a nice summer read

My Rating:
4.4/5

My Thoughts:
Hillary is an odd child that never really fit in at school. Now she has graduated and is visiting her sister in Hawaii. When a spirit comes to her about saving Hawaii, Hillary is unsure of what to do or say. Her sister, Molly, does not want to get involved in fear of influencing her daughter, Heidi, in a way she wouldn't like. But when Moa, the spirit, brings up Steve, Molly's dead husband, Molly is persuaded into joining to help.
They have three (3) days. Can they do it?? 
Each chapter started with a "ritual". That was interesting and honestly, it's like 2 books in 1 - a spell book and a story. You can tell that Tricia Stewart Shiu knows a lot about protection and self-energy. 
She also is clearly very knowledgeable about Hawaiian history. So, you have a spell book, a history book, and a novel, all in one wondrous story.  I really enjoy it when the author knows what they are talking about and it's not just a "fluff" story, as some books nowadays are. It really does add to the story and makes it a million times better. 
I am already reading the next in the series, "The Statue of Ku", and will most likely read more by this author!

Tour Notes:

As part of this special promotional extravaganza sponsored by Novel Publicity, the price of the Moa and Statue of Ku eBook editions have both been dropped to just 99 cents this week. What’s more, by purchasing either of these fantastic books at an incredibly low price, you can enter to win many awesome prizes. The prizes include $600 in Amazon gift cards, a Kindle Fire, and 5 autographed copies of each book.
 All the info you need to win one of these amazing prizes is RIGHT HERE. Remember, winning is as easy as clicking a button or leaving a blog comment--easy to enter; easy to win!
 To win the prizes:
        
  1. Purchase your copies of Moa and Statue of Ku for just 99 cents
  2.     
  3. Enter the Rafflecopter contest on Novel Publicity
  4.     
  5. Visit today’s featured social media event

About Moa: Eighteen-year-old, Hillary, anticipates adventure as she embarks for trip to Honolulu, but gets more than she bargained for when Moa, an ancient Hawaiian spirit, pays her an unexpected visit. Get it on Amazon.
 About Statue of Ku:  The second book in the Moa Book Series, "The Statue of Ku" follows Hillary and Moa as they jet to Egypt on the Prince’s private plane to reclaim Moa’s family heirloom, the inimitable statue of Ku. Get it on Amazon.
 About the author: Tricia Stewart Shiu combines her addiction to the written word with her avid interest in the healing arts and all things metaphysical in her novels Moa and Statue of Ku and looks forward to finding new ways to unite her two loves. Visit Tricia on her websiteTwitterFacebook, or GoodReads.

Sunday, June 24, 2012

Spaghetti Dinner Fundraiser - Dover, DE (Advertisement)

SPAGHETTI DINNER

ALL YOU CARE TO EAT



JULY 14, 2012
4-7 pm

ADULTS: $8.00                         YOUTHS (5-10): $5.00
                                                                 Under 4: FREE

Sponsored by: BETHEL #7
1478 Wyoming Mill Rd.
Dover, DE. 19904


Call for more information: Carolyn (302-632-9509) or Mollie ((302-229-5416)

Saturday, June 23, 2012

Dawn Colclasure Guest Post

Guest post by Dawn Colclasure! 

The Mother-Daughter Book: A Treasure to Cherish



When I received a review copy of Between the Lines, a new novel by Jodi Picoult and her daughter Samantha van Leer, I had to smile. Seeing yet another mother-daughter book reminded me of my own newest book, which happens to be a book that my daughter and I co-wrote.

Admittedly, when I asked my daughter, Jennifer Wilson, if she wanted to co-write a poetry book about dogs with me, I did so on a whim. I thought it would be a fun project for us to do. Something just for her and I to share together. I never imagined that one day, our little collaboration project would turn into an actual book. But Jennifer knows that I am not someone who just writes a book then tosses it to the wind. I have been writing books since before she was born, and she is well aware of how I write books on the computer that turn into real books that people can hold in their hands. And so it happened that she asked me if our little book will be sent off to a publisher, just as she knows I have sent my own books off to publishers.

At first, I wasn’t sure about doing anything with the manuscript. Because it was short, and because it had her own hand-drawn illustrations of dogs, I wasn’t sure if there was a publisher willing to take this manuscript on. But I remembered how an author I know had her own mother-daughter book published recently, so I asked that particular publisher if she was interested in this book. She gave the green light and we were soon on our way to getting Dogs Forever: Poems for the Dog Person into print.

While Jennifer and I worked on our book, we did not work on it as mother and daughter. We worked on it as two writers. I was impressed by how, at the age of 10, Jennifer acted mature enough and professional enough to work with me, accept my feedback on her poems and understand the need to meet deadlines. I had to wonder if these habits were ones she adopted after years of watching me work on my own books in such a way. She also drew pictures for the book and I was even more excited about how she was going to debut not only as an author but also as an illustrator.

After the book was published, I felt like I was walking on air. Wow, I now joined the ranks of all the other mother-daughter authors out there. Our book was in the same league as all of the other mother-daughter books out there, because ours was a mother-daughter book, too. Jennifer was also excited when Dogs Forever was published. Her teacher showed it off to her class and we donated a copy of the book to her school. Now she has her very own book in her school’s library!

This became a book that was very special to both of us. It was special because it was something we, as a mother and a daughter, created together.

Of course, this new experience in our lives has not changed us. Jennifer and I still have our mother-and-daughter moments – and not always the pleasant kind. We still have our own boundaries and we both pursue our own interests.

Still, writing a book together has become an experience that the two of us will always cherish. This is something special for us and we are grateful to our publisher at Great Minds Think Aloud Publishing for helping to make this happen for us. It was a dream come true for my little girl, and the start of her journey into the world of writing and illustrating books.


Friday, June 22, 2012

The Prodigal Husband: Book Review

The Prodigal Husband is about Tori and Jake and what happens when their 15-month-old daughter is killed in a car wreck. Jake runs away and disappears for a year, thinking it's all his fault. The reader finds out that it is partially both their fault and then not their fault at all. Let me explain, as an inspirational (Christian) fiction book, the main focus is that everything is in God's control and that we should be forgiving of others as indicated by the title. In the parable told by Jesus in the Bible, the prodigal son asked for his inheritance early, went out and spent it up partying and such until he was destitute. Poor and ashamed, the son returns home hoping that his father will at least give him a job. However, when the father sees the son, he welcomes him with open arms and holds a celebration, giving the son back his status in the family.
Well, Tori doesn't exactly welcome Jake back with open arms. In the first place, Tori found Jake in bed with his business partner Sheila. So Tori takes her daughter and goes to her mother's house. Jake goes there and demands they come home. When Tori refuses, Jake takes his little girl and leaves. Shortly after, they are in a car wreck where the girl dies. Jake blames himself and leaves and doesn't contact anyone except Sheila for a whole year. When Tori has just about given up on Jake returning, cuts her hair, gets a new wardrobe and plans to go file for divorce, here comes Jake. As Tori and Jake try to mend their marriage, many things surface to try to keep them apart, namely Sheila who is "in love" with Jake.
I talked back to this book the entire time I was reading it. Some of the stuff going on was just not plausible. All I have to say is that these are some real Christians in this book because some of the dirt that Sheila was doing should've got her at least a slap across the face. But no, there is no slapping, just strong words. And if Jake was not as thick as a tree trunk, I don't know who is. He could not be persuaded that Sheila had any ulterior motives and that she was just a good friend. I would have left Jake's dense and possessive @$$. Sheila was not a real villain either. She was more like comic relief. Her poorly thought out ploys to break up Jake and Tori were pathetic. The subplot between Tori's cousin Charlene and Jake's brother Shepherd was just foolish. The author built up a conflict between Charlene and Shepherd which ended up falling flat for me.
The writing was ok, not very involving because I kept coming out of the story to yell at the characters. Also, it was filled with African-American history of the Carolinas that seemed forced and out of place.
The author started out with some good drama but didn't follow through. I haven't read much Inspirational fiction, but this didn't have much in the way of conflict. The characters obviously loved each other and it was just a matter of time for them to get back together. I mainly forced my why through it to see how they did it.
Rating: 3/5

Thursday, June 21, 2012

Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother: Book Review

Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother by Amy Chua was an easy, conversational read. It is the memoir of a Chinese American woman born of immigrant parents and how she raised her children the "Chinese" way even in American society and what she learned. It seems like an honest memoir. I don't know why people were sending this woman hate mail. It was her story, her life. They would not want anyone telling them how to raise their children. So who are they to say that she raised her children wrong? I believe she did an excellent job. Her girls are achievers who know their self worth and know that they are capable of anything and everything. I'm impressed with the author's tenacity and love for her girls. Just reading through this I'm wondering how much sleep she was able to get. How she ever really had any time for anything else. But I believe she put the emphasis on the right things for her daughters. I would be doing well to have a third of the passion she has for her children. I was all on board with her Chinese way of raising children, but I think she went overboard when it came to spending all the money she did to get her girls in with the most sought after music teachers. When it comes to money, I am realistic and frugal. I will and have spent more on my children's education than most people I know, but I'm not crazy. I know what kind of spending is ridiculous. She paid thousands of dollars, paying for one of the music teacher's and the teacher's boyfriend's travel expenses driving about 14 hours round trip, gas and hotel rooms, food, etc. to help her daughter prepare for an audition to study with a renown teacher. I'm all for getting my children the best I can, but within reason. That was my only problem with her method. I just would adapt it to my own temperament and that of my child's. I think that was the ultimate lesson that the author learned. That each child and parent is different. And that a little give doesn't make you too lenient of a parent. In my opinion the parents who are too lenient and settle thinking that everything is the teacher's fault that their children aren't achieving is the problem. She gave all she could to make her children the best they could be and at the same time showing them that they have what it takes to achieve at anything. Great read. It gives me proof that my children can be the best, and a little pushing won't scar them for life.
Rating: 5/5

Mike Evers Guest Post!

An introduction to the Hopfield Tales – by Mike Evers



Mike Evers – The story so far…
First, I would like to thank Tasha for giving me an opportunity to write about my work on her wonderful blog.  I am the author of The Spirit Archer - a historical children’s novella published through GMTA Publishing.  It’s a coming-of-age story and it features a famous English legend in a way which is probably a bit different to what you’re used to. I know Tasha has already helped get the word out about Spirit Archer, so I’m already in her debt.
I’ve also written The Chaosifier - a YA contemporary fantasy novel, which I’ve put on Amazon.  It’s about a group of magical creatures who are tasked with solving some fairly major problems (WW3 for example!) and end up on quite an adventure.

Viking Raven Banner


The Hopfield Tales
All of the stories I’ve written so far are set in the fictional town of Hopfield.  The name is an amalgamation of the town where I live and a village nearby (Mirfield and Hopton).  I moved to this area about seven years ago and immediately loved the place.  This part of Yorkshire has gentle rolling moors and woodland and there’s a definite charm and character to the local people.  I’ve always loved the gentle humour that the books of James Herriot (the vet) brought to the people of Yorkshire and I’ve tried to some extent to capture some of this in my work.  The wilder moorland of Bronte Country is not too far away, so there’s a great tradition of fiction in the area.  My debut novel, The Chaosifier, featured Hopfield as the location of the heroes’ secret base, but the story later expands out to London and Europe. 
I have known about the famous English legend connected to my town and it gave me the inspiration to write Spirit Archer.  I enjoy writing in the Paranormal/Urban Fantasy genres and the idea of bringing the spirit archer to life in the context of a cosy Yorkshire town really appealed to me.  I’ve got a background in history and I really loved researching the period of King John as part of the archer’s back story. At the time I started it, the first edition of The Chaosifier had been out for a few weeks and I was very keen to get another story out fairly quickly – hence the decision to write Spirit Archer as a novella. 
However, after I’d started Spirit Archer it soon dawned on me that it might be good to do a couple more novellas to go with it, which I could then call the Hopfield Tales and publish with my ace publisher, GMTA.   Perhaps then at a later date (in a year or so) we might have the option to put the three stories together in a single package and call them - The Hopfield Tales.  The Spirit Archer is the first of these tales.
Campaign of the Gods
The second tale will be Campaign of the Gods (COTG).  I’m probably about two thirds of the way through this right now and I’m very excited about it.  I don’t want to reveal too much, but I guess I can give you a bit of a teaser about some of the objects, places and characters, which in turn will hint at what the book’s about. You can expect an urban fantasy tale with a healthy dose of Norse mythology and Vikings:
·         Stuart Gooding – Loving husband and local policeman in the town of Hopfield
·         Joanne Kirby – Head teacher of local children’s school
·         Tr– Norse God of Battle
·         Thor – Well known Norse God of Thunder  and sworn  protector of Asgard and Midgard
·         Asgard– The realm of the Norse gods
·         Midgard– The realm of humans (e.g. Hopfield) 
·         Fenrir – The great and dreadful wolf – the bane of the gods
·         Ivar Ragnarsson (aka Ivar the Boneless) – Legendary Viking commander and berserker who invaded England in the 9th Century.
·         Campaign of the Gods – Fabulous board game played occasionally by Norse gods. It may be a bit faulty at this juncture…
So, there are some of the ingredients for the second story, but I’m not going to tell you the whole recipe just yet – you’ll just have to read the book when it comes out.  It may not be quite what you expect, but expect an action-packed Midsummer’s romp.
Campaign of the Gods will hopefully be out August-ish (all being well).  The third tale is already lurking in my mind and will probably take a completely different direction. It could be a darker autumn/winter tale to go with the spring and summer ones that are the first two.  Wait and see :o).
Mike

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Sherry Gloag Interview!

I recently had the chance to interview author Sherry Gloag! :) 

1. What age did you start to take writing seriously?
I had two attempts at writing seriously.  The first was in the early 1990’s, and the next from 2006.  The second attempt has been stimulating, frustrating, awe-inspiring, and such a learning curve it sometimes took my breath away J

2. When was your first book published?
The Brat, published by The Wild Rose Press in October 2010 was my first published book.  It is a contemporary romance with a dash of suspense.

3. What color is your hair?
I believe ‘Pepper and Salt’ is an apt description.

4. Who is your favorite musician?
This is actually not an easy answer because it totally depends on my mood.  In Classical it ranges from Tchaikovsky to Carl Jenkins and Faure to name just a few.  For relaxation Medwyn Goodall.  Then there’s Eva Cassidy, Katie Melua, and several jazz musicians, too.

5. What is your favorite television show?
Difficult question since I watch very little television.  Usually something in the detective genre, then again, I try never to miss Dancing on Ice.  

6. What is your favorite food?
Chicken, because it is so versatile, followed closely by vanilla ice cream J

7. Do you like red or blue more?
Again, it depends on my mood, because I like both colours.  Red is so cheerful, and blue can be so relaxing.

8. How long have you gone without sleep before?
I need my sleep, always have!  I did manage to stay awake through one might but a couple of days later the earlier lack of sleep caught up with me!

9. Where does your inspiration come from?
Anywhere and everywhere, is the short answer, but is doesn’t answer the question completely because there are times the story turns up, usually courtesy of one of the characters who will give me a scene, a sentence and a tone of questions and we go from there.

10. Thank you! Is there anything else you'd like to say?
Thank you for the opportunity to say that From Now Until Forever is one of those stories that started with a sentence. “Liam Fitzwilliam Gasquet stared in amazement at the blooming patch of red milliseconds before the pain exploded in his arm.” The opening sentence and grew from there.  What I didn’t know until about a week after this book was published was that the other three sibling would demand that their stories be told, so without knowing it, I’d written the first book in my first series!  His Chosen Bride is the second story in the series and both are published by Astraea Press.  Books three and four are taking a little longer than I anticipated to complete because these brothers are twins and keep walking in and out of each others’ story!
Thank you, Tasha, for having me here today.  I’ve enjoyed my visit.

Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Dragon's Pupils: The Peaks


Title:
The Peaks

Author:
Martin Chu Shui

Series:
Dragon's Pupils

Summary: (Amazon)
Powerful and invincible they ride across vast desert landscapes, hunting and slaying vampires under the cover of night. Jian Ke, the sword guests are more famous than ever! Admired by millions of TV fans around the nation as they pursue a life of action and adventure: a splendid tapestry depicting Liz, Henry and Sue at the top of their game. With her paintbrush in hand Liz is prepared to take on a hoard of vampires, an army of aliens and even her first kiss from the man of her dreams, Sue’s handsome older brother. 
Life couldn’t be better until everything falls to pieces. 
Liz must now face her biggest fears as the world she once knew slips through her fingers. No-one will be left untouched by the chaos which ensues. Armed only with her knowledge of Tai Chi, Liz must fight for what she has lost and begin the climb of her life. An unforgettable journey will take her to the Peaks.
“Dragon’s Pupils – The Peaks,” the second instalment of the Dragon’s Pupils series, follows the drama of Liz’s life as she fights monsters, wields magic and longs for forbidden love. It is a journey which will take you through Australia’s most beautiful landscapes and ultimately witnesses the transformation Liz undergoes, as she rises to meet her latest challenge.

About the Author:
No info found

I'd Recommend to...
Teens

My Rating:
4.8/5

My Thoughts:
Liz, Henry, and Sue are back for more Jian Ke adventures in the second Dragon's Pupils book, The Peaks.
Rose is new in town and is very popular. Henry is attracted to her, and she strings him along. Sue gets jealous and decides to get drunk. In her drunkenness, she tells Blake and his friends about her secret.
Henry and Sue loose all memory of their powers, and all three Jian Ke (including Liz) loose their power. Rose then disappears, only to reappear months later as a commander for the SSF, a government agency that protects citizens from evil.
The SSF starts to kill like crazy,and any animal caught talking English is immediately considered evil. It's up to Liz to help her friends regain their powers and save the animals, especially since the gun used to kill them turns them into vampires. But can she do it?
This was a good book and I definitely can't wait to read the next book in the series! As most of my wonderful followers would know, I love the classic vampire-werewolf paranormal thing, but this book provides an almost "classic" feel to the fantasy genre and it really is a refreshing read. Another great thing I really enjoy when reading these books is the culture that you learn from them; I love learning new things about Chinese culture that I would most likely have lived my whole life not knowing if I hadn't read this book.
Like I said, I'm looking forward to reading the next one, and hopefully many more from Martin Chu Shui.

Monday, June 18, 2012

Frederick Lee Brooke Pre-Written Interview

Please enjoy this interview with Frederick Lee Brooke, author of the genre-bending mystery Zombie Candy. Then read on to learn how you can win huge prizes as part of this blog tour, including $550 in Amazon gift cards, a Kindle Fire, and 5 autographed copies of the book.



1. What was the inspiration behind your novel, Zombie Candy?

There was a famous golfer whose wife chased him out of the house with a golf club in the middle of the night a couple of years ago. It was funny that she attacked her husband with his own weapon of choice. I got to thinking what must be going through a woman's mind in that situation? I thought it would be interesting to explore the thought processes of a woman who discovers that her husband is a serial cheater. After the denial comes anger, but there is also a phase of grief. There's guilt. Maybe she blames herself, rightly or wrongly. Candace oscillates between wanting revenge and wanting her husband back, and as the novel winds up she makes discoveries about herself that I thought a woman in her situation would be likely to make.

2. Do you think Zombie Candy will appeal to true zombie fans?

What's a true zombie fan? I don't want to give anything away, but any active zombie fan who participates in zombie walks, goes to festivals, etc. will love Zombie Candy. That being said, this is a book that has elements of mystery, horror and romance all in one. It had quite a few early readers, fans of all different genres, and the consensus is that it really works.

3. The book contains some of Candace's favorite recipes. Why?

I confess, I love to cook, and it's such an important part of my life, it just felt natural to have Candace want to share her recipes. We are all vulnerable to being attacked through our taste buds. I like reading about cooking, and I love watching cooking shows on TV. I feel like I'm learning something and tasting it at the same time. It felt right for this to be really important for Candace. At the same time, her husband Larry is so incredibly lacking in appreciation of her talents, not just the cooking itself, but organizing complex meals and directing the preparation of them by her class of twelve people. These are amazing skills, and Larry is blind to them. I thought marriages are sometimes like that, where people get to a point where they are totally ignorant of what their partner is great at.

4. There is a no-cilantro label on the back cover of the book. What is the significance of it?

Candace is a gourmet cook, and her cheating husband Larry insists on covering all his food with cilantro. This is one of those minor points of contention in a marriage that flares up and becomes important, like a trigger. I thought it was funny. And it seems a lot of people really do have strong feelings about cilantro, either for or against. When I was searching for a good graphic I came across pages on the internet like ihatecilantro.com and facebook.com/i-hate-cilantro.

5. After starting out in Chicago, why did you decide to set the story in Tuscany?

I've been fortunate enough to travel to Italy forty or fifty times in my life, sometimes for a two-week vacation, sometimes just for a very short trip. I absolutely love it there, from the food to the language to the beauty of the countryside and the architecture. In Zombie Candy, Candace realizes at a certain point that she has to get Larry out of his comfort zone. This is a guy who travelled all over the country every week for his work, and cheated on Candace with waitresses, flight attendants, whoever. He can adapt just about anywhere. But in Tuscany Larry discovers two things: 1) it's not so easy to find a willing waitress or flight attendant to spend the night with him; and 2) there are zombies here.
6. How would you describe the way you work as a writer?

I guess I'm a bit of a chameleon, able to adapt pretty well to circumstances around me. My wife and I have three boys and they are not quiet. I can do most revision with significant background noise and interruptions. Only when I'm writing a first draft or doing some serious planning work do I need peace and quiet. Then I'll often take a walk in the forest anyway. It helps a lot to be adaptable. If I had to put off writing every time someone asked me to cook dinner or help them with their homework, my book would never have been finished. For me, being able to jump right back in has been the key to being able to finish big projects.

7. Did you always want to be a writer?

I was an early reader and this led to curiosity about writing stories. My sister and I wrote stories during long car trips. In high school and then in college I dreamed of writing novels, but I only started writing short stories after graduating from college. That writing phase lasted about five years, and I learned a lot about writing, but life got in the way, with marriage and job and career and kids. Only when my kids were halfway grown and my career reached a certain level of success did I find a way to return to writing. Now I'm fulfilling a lifelong dream.

8. What process do you go through to define your characters?

I start with an image of them as basically good or basically evil, and put them into a context or a situation, and then just basically make sure there is plenty of conflict. My characters are never perfectly white or black. I think we're drawn to weaknesses. We want to watch them mess up, and see how they'll extricate themselves. Of course, sometimes all my planning goes out the window. It's a cliche to say that characters surprise you with their actions, but they do. They're defined by what they do and what they say. I did some acting in high school and have always loved the theater, and knowing what it means to be in character helps me be in character when I'm writing dialogue. My books are fairly dialogue-driven. What the characters say reveals what they are thinking and feeling.

9. What writing advice did you receive that was most beneficial to you?

I had to learn to love conflict. The conflict is the story. The conflict shows the true colors of your characters. I grew up in the suburbs in a family where we avoided conflict at all costs. We talked like diplomats. So embracing conflict has been something I had to learn.

10. You're an indie author. Any thoughts on the divide between independent publishing and traditional publishing?

I think the market will sort itself out, but it's going to take time. Good books will find their way into readers' hands somehow, whether in printed or electronic form. We need our stories every day. We can't live without stories. For me personally, independent publishing has been the perfect solution. I found an excellent editor who professionally edited my manuscript. I like the idea that I can control the timing of the publication of my books. If my first book, Doing Max Vinyl, had been traditionally published in April 2011 instead of the way I did it, it probably would have hit the remainder tables by Thanksgiving, and it would be out of print now. I think Zombie Candy might spark some interest in Doing Max Vinyl, so it's a benefit to readers as well as to me that it continues to be available, rather than going out of print and being forgotten. E-books are clearly here to stay, because the consumers (readers) and providers (authors) are the big winners. The only losers are the bookstores, publishing companies, agents and others who refuse to adapt.



As part of this special promotional extravaganza sponsored by Novel Publicity, the price of the Zombie Candy eBook edition is just 99 cents this week. What’s more, by purchasing this fantastic book at an incredibly low price, you can enter to win many awesome prizes. The prizes include $550 in Amazon gift cards, a Kindle Fire, and 5 autographed copies of the book.

All the info you need to win one of these amazing prizes is RIGHT HERE. Remember, winning is as easy as clicking a button or leaving a blog comment--easy to enter; easy to win!

To win the prizes:
        
  1. Purchase your copy of Zombie Candy for just 99 cents
  2.     
  3. Enter the Rafflecopter contest on Novel Publicity
  4.     
  5. Visit today’s featured social media event

About the book: Weaving elements of mystery, horror and romance in a hilarious romp that starts in Chicago and ends in a quaint medieval town in sun-drenched Tuscany, Zombie Candy is a genre-hopping knee-slapper of a novel. Get it on Amazon.

About the author: Frederick Lee Brooke has worked as an English teacher, language school manager and small business owner and has travelled extensively in Tuscany, the setting of part of Zombie Candy. Visit Fred on his website, Twitter, Facebook, or GoodReads.