Thursday, March 31, 2011

Ke$ha

Search Amazon.com for Ke$ha

Ke$ha is a pop sensation that is breaking the charts with her catchy songs all over the world.
Born Kesha Rose Sherbert, Ke$ha sang back up for Flo Rida and other musical groups before her hit single, Tik Tok, made her famous, and soon to be internationally famous. Other songs such as Blah, Blah, Blah, Take It Off, DINOSAUR, and Your Love is My Drug, were featured on her first album, Animal. We R Who We R was her next major success, and was the starting song on her next album, Cannibal, along with other hit sensation, Blow. The Harold Song, Sleazy, and C U Next Tuesday, also featured on Cannibal, are sure to be her next hits!
I love Ke$ha and all of her music. All of her songs are very catchy, upbeat, energetic, and fun! They are all great songs to dance or work out to or just to listen and jam out to! I would definately recommend Ke$ha to most music lovers, but especially to those who love Pop music, pop/rock music, Lady Gaga, Katy Perry, and Avril Lavigne. I wouldn't really tell older people (50+) to listen to it, but I'm sure they'd enjoy it just as much!!!
*Ke$ha has been, many times, reffered to as a "GaGa Wannabe" which in no way, shape, or form is true! They are both performers, and perform! They're music might both be simillar, but she is NOT trying to be Lady GaGa!
So, go check out Ke$ha today!

Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Fly Girl: Book Review

, I read a lot, hands down. So today I finished 'Wing Girl', a novel written by Sherri L. Smith. I relly enjoyed this book, its a great novel which expresses the universal idea of GIRL POWER! The novel takes place during WWII, when the WASPs, the Women Airforce Service Pilots where just getting started. Ida Mae Jones, a fair skinned Negroe housecleaner, loves to fly and WASP was a great oppratunity for Ida; until she figured it was an association for Whites only. Using her fair skin, Ida fakes as a white woman to get her opprtunity to fly. Along with her two new friends, Patsy 'Cakewalker' Kake & Lily Lowenstein, Ida, using her new identity learns how to fly better than she already can, as well as finding herself. This book is really good, with many tragadies and triumphs.
Book Summary (Back of the Book)*:
All Ida Mae Jones wanted to do is fly.
Her daddy was a pilot, and even years aftre his death, her connection to him still feels strongest when she's in the air. But in the 1940s Louisiana, being black and being a woman are two sstrikes against her, no matter how light-skinned she may be.
When the United States enters the World War, the army forms a group called the WASP-Women Airforce Service Pilots-and Ida finally sees her chance to take action: do what she loves and help her brother who is stationed overseas. As if being a woman in a man's army is not hard enough, Ida must use her light skin to pass as a white girl to be accepted as a WASP.
But Ida soon realizes that a new name and new outfit can't hide who you really are inside. She can't escape the burden that comes from denying one's family and self. As she chases her dreams, Ida finds out it's not what you do but who you are that really makes the difference after all.

*I DO NOT OWN THE BOOK SUMMARY!*
Book Title:  Wing Girl
Author: Sherri L. Smith
Publisher/Year: Scholastic/2008
This book is currently a Maryland Black Eyed Susan nominee.

Keep Reviewing!

Kate!

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Worldweavers: Gift of the Unmage

This book is an excellent book for the preteen! It is a mix of Alice and Wonderland meets the Magic world. This is the first in a series of books, that begins with a child being born a family with the expectations of having special magical powers. Her family is disappointed in her, since she can not do any magic. Everyone else in her family has special powers but not her. In her family's attempt to have her find her powers, she is transported to other "world". It is in this world that she learns the truth about her powers. Once she discovers this, she is allowed back home. Once home, she must attend a school for the non magical (since she still can not perform magic). It is at this school that she becomes her true self. She then must solve a mystery with the help of her new friends. This book includes a little of everything--mystery, fantasy, friendship. I would definitively encourage my daughters to read this series.

Monday, March 28, 2011

Interview with Adrienne Wilder

Hey Adrienne Thank you for being here with us. =]
I am about to start Blood Bonds. I'm very excited!
So your book Darwin’s Theory Book 2: Secrets is out March 28, 2011. *cough cough* Today! Go check it out everyone! *cough*

How excited are you for that?
A: I think I’m more nervous.  You know, shaky knees, sweaty palms, the kind of butterflies you get on a first date. 


What inspired you to write?
A: My mother.  But then, she had to do something to stop me from drawing on the walls!

 
What was the first story you can remember that you really got into and had to write?
A: The Fat Cat Who Sat On The Hat.  I think I was four.

What authors influenced you as a writer?
A: Stephen KingDean Koontz, Anne McCaffery, J.R. Ward, Jordan Castillo Price, Tracy Hickman, Margaret Weise, and many, many more.

Your favorite character?
A: Now that question isn’t fair.  I’m not supposed to like one more than the other.  Actually, it’s probably whichever I'm currently writing about. In this case Darwin.

What is the one thing that every writer needs to have or do?
A: You need to have faith in what you write and coffee. Lots and lots of coffee.

Are your books different to your personal favourite books by other authors?
A: Yes.

Do you choose your covers?  
A: In the case of the Darwin’s Theory novella series, I actually got to do the artwork.  Which was super cool!  For City of Dragons: Blood Bonds I was able to describe what I wanted and the cover artist, Ann Cain, worked it up.

Who is your favorite new author?
 A: Wow, another tough one.  I’d have to say it’s probably a tie between Kim Dare, and Sloan Parker. 
 
How did you start 
writing?
 A: I picked up a pen and went with it.

How long does it normally take you to write a book?
A: Depends on the book and how fast the story is hitting me.  I think I average probably a thousand words a day.

What are you most excited about this year?
A: A number of things.  The Darwin Theory novella series, my first self publish adventure (Stained), and always City of Dragons because with luck, book 2 for that series will be out shortly.

What book do you wish to see come out as a movie?
A: City of Dragons: Blood Bonds

What author in the same genre as you do you think is going to be the next big thing?
No clue.  There are so many new writers out there...correction so many GOOD writers out there...it's anyone's guess.

Thank you Adrienne so much!

Sunday, March 27, 2011

The Juliet Club

 Title:
The Juliet Club

Author:
Suzanne Harper

Publisher/Date:
Greenwillow Books 2008

About the Author (from Goodreads):
Suzanne Harper has published two young adult novels, The Secret Life of Sparrow Delaney and The Juliet Club. She is currently working on a third young adult novel and a middle-grade series.
Summary (Back of the Book):
Kate Sanderson has been burned by love. From now on, she thinks, I will control my own destiny, and I will be reasoned and rational. But life has other things in store for Kate. Namely, a summer abroad studying Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet in the very town where the star-crossed lovers met, Verona, Ital. Kate is thrown together with two other American teens and three Italians for a specail seminar - and for volunteer duty at the Juliet Club, where they answer letters from the lovelorn around the world. Can Kate's cool logic withstand the most romantic summer ever? Especailly when faced with the ever-so-charming Giacomo and his entracing eyes...?

Rating::
942067842067802946782067814067048574860/5

My Thoughts:
"Everyone who falls in love ends up living her [Juliet's] story."
Kate fell in love, once. And he broke her heart. She swears never to let love fool her again and to be single the rest of her life, but a trip to Italy makes that extremely difficult. Especially when she is playing the role of Juliet, and Giacomo her handsome Romeo. Not to mention, in order to fool thier friend's foul prank they must pretend to love each other to start with. When it turns real, not even Kate is strong enough to withhold love.
Wow. This book was so...wow. I am at a loss for words. It was absolutely magnificent and I loved every minute of it! It was a book I most definately did not want to put down! I actually had a movie playing in my head while reading it! It had me predicting what would happen next - like forreal, who ever does that?!?! - and wanting more! It definately helped that I had already read Romeo and Juliet  and seen both the 1968 version as well as the 1998 film adaptations. You can definately tell that Suzanne Harpers did her research!
There were exactly 5 acts, the last one with only one scene, as all of Shakespeare's plays. There were many quotes, much Italian language, and the plot was simillar to that of the original Romeo and Juliet and it definately shows that a lot of thought, research, time, and hard work went into the making of this book which just made it even more maginificent.
It was definately one of the best books I've read in a long while and I would definately recommend it!

She has also written three original novels based on the Hannah Montana TV series (Rock the Waves, In the Loop, and Swept Up) and a number of novels (under the pen name N. B. Grace) based on High School Musical.
Her nonfiction books include: Boitano’s Edge: Inside the Real World of Figure Skating (with Olympic gold medalist Brian Boitano), The Real Spy's Guide to Becoming a Spy (with Peter Earnest, executive director of the International Spy Museum), Terrorists, Tornados,and Tsunamis: How to Prepare for Life’s Danger Zones (with Lt...moreSuzanne Harper has published two young adult novels, The Secret Life of Sparrow Delaney and The Juliet Club. She is currently working on a third young adult novel and a middle-grade series.
She has also written three original novels based on the Hannah Montana TV series (Rock the Waves, In the Loop, and Swept Up) and a number of novels (under the pen name N. B. Grace) based on High School Musical.
Her nonfiction books include: Boitano’s Edge: Inside the Real World of Figure Skating (with Olympic gold medalist Brian Boitano), The Real Spy's Guide to Becoming a Spy (with Peter Earnest, executive director of the International Spy Museum), Terrorists, Tornados,and Tsunamis: How to Prepare for Life’s Danger Zones (with Lt. Col. John C. Orndorff), and Hands On! 33 More Things Every Girl Should Know: Skills for Living Your Life from 33 Extraordinary Women.
She earned bachelor's degrees in journalism and English from the University of Texas-Austin and a master's degree in creative writing from the University of Southern California. She now lives in New York City.

YA New Summer Reads Competition

Hey guys!

This is for authors! 


Book Twirps is about to launch the first ever Young Adult New Summer Reads competition. Our hope is to find a hidden gem in a book that may otherwise go unnoticed.
This competition is available to any book (published or self-published). The only stipulation is that it must be published between January 1 and August 1, 2011. Also, only the author, author’s agent or author’s publisher may submit the book.
Since this is the first year of the competition, our resources are a bit limited, so we will only be accepting novels in the final categories:
  • Contemporary Teen Fiction & Teen Romance
  • Paranormal/Fantasy & Dystopian Teen Fiction
  1. Submissions will begin April 15 and go through April 30, 2011.
  2. A maximum of 50 entries will be accepted in each category
  3. The judges will begin reading excerpts on May 1
  4. The top 5 in each category will be announced on May 22. These 5 will move on to the final round.
  5. The top 5 authors MUST send a copy of their book to each judge. The book must be received by June 1.
  6. The winners in each category will be announced on August 1.
  7. Each judge will post their review of the winning book on their site, as well as here on Book Twirps, Good Reads, Amazon, Barnes & Noble and LibraryThing.
  8. Each judge will also host a Q&A with the winning author in the category they judged on their blog, and also host any giveaways the author would like to participate in.
To find out more about the competition, visit the following links:


-Kati <3

Friday, March 25, 2011

Shadow Walkers

Title:
Shadow Walkers

Author:
Brent Hartinger

Publisher and Date:
Flux 2010

About the Author (Back of the Book):
Brent Hartinger is the acclaimed author of Geography Club and the recipient of a Scandiuzzi Children's Book Award, a GLAAD Media Award, a Lambda Award, and other honors. He teaches at Vermont College and is the founder and editor of the fantasy website http://www.thetorchonline.com/ .
Visit him online at http://www.brenthartinger.com/

Summary (Back of the Book):
Zach lives with his grandparents on a remote island in Puget Square in Washington State. With only his little brother, Gilbert, to keep him company, Zach feels cut off from the world. But when Gilber is kidnapped, Zach tries the only thing he can think of to find him: astral prokection. Soon, his spirit is soaring through the strange and boundless astral realm - a shadow place. While searching for his brother, Zach meets a boy named Emory, another astral traveler who's intriguing (and cute).
As Zach and Emory track the kidnappers from the astral realm, their bond grows - but each moment could be Gilbert's last. Even worse, there's a menacing, centuries-old creature in their midst that devours souls nd posses physical bodies. And it's hungry for Zach.
"I felt this wierd chill, so cold it made me gasp."

Rating:
4/5

My Thoughts:
Zach's parents died 2 years ago and ever since he's lived with his grandparents on a small island. Finding the island a trapped, boring place, he always turns to the internet. But when he gets his internet taken away for a week for not taking out the trash, he reads a book he finds in his room, his dad's old room. The book is about astral projection and how to get into the astral realm.
While Zach is on a rowboat, Gilbert gets kidnapped. After finding the internet to be of no help, he remembers about the astral realm and decides to give it a try, and it works. He compares the internet to the astral realm several times throughout his adventures, and his internet experiences seem to help him survive. There he meets Emory (who says "For the record" quite a lot!) and with his help, they find Gilbert and save his life.
It was a bit odd reading about Zach because he is gay and I've never read a book starring a homosexual person, but that didn't make the book any worse or better than if he had been straight. It was still a great book and I would definately recommend it.

Queen of the Night by J.A. Jance

, This book is another great suspense from J.A. Jance. The story involves several different "situations" or "cases" that are all interlinked with one another. One of these situations involves Dr. Lani Walker and her relationship within her Indian tribe and how she fits in with both her adoptive family and her native Indian family. The next situation involves her father and his old partner and an unsolved case. However the story that ties it all together is about a man who looses it and goes on a rampage killing his family. He then continues kills everyone who did him wrong. Dr. Walker is the doctor in care of the only person that is not killed. She along with a Border Patrol Officer work together to make the best out of the situation. This book keeps you in suspense from the begin to the end.Do not start this book at bedtime or you will be up all night trying to finish it. I can't wait until the next novel to see where J.A.Jance takes this group of people.

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Austin Jones Interview!!

Austin Jones is a star-in-progress, being both a singer and a dancer! I had the pleasure of interviewing him, and hopefully you like him and will buy his music.

Princess Reviews, Austin Jones

1. How old are you?
18.

2. Can you describe your type of music?
Pop, or electro-pop
3. Who inspires you?
Jordan Witzigreuter (Lead singer of The Ready Set), and Christofer Ingle (Lead singer of Never Shout Never)

4. When did you start to sing?
Started out in choir in 6th grade.

5. How did people start to know you and your music?
I began to promote my music on facebook, and youtube in November of 2010.
6. What audience do you try to appeal to?
I don't 'try' to appeal my music to a specific audience. I feel that anyone can connect and relate to my music.

7. What's your favorite television show?
Don't have one. :/

8. Are you planning any upcoming tours?
Haven't planned any tours yet, but I plan to begin doing shows soon.

9. What do you like to do besides music?
I also dance. I'm on Aspire Dance Company (ranked 1st in the midwest and 5th in the nation).

10. Do you plan on going on American Idol?
Nope. :)


Check out his facebook page, his youtube page, his MySpace, and buy his debut album, by clicking on the links! (The underlined words!)

Saturday, March 12, 2011

V05 Extra Body Shapoo & Conditioner


So, If your like me, you can't to squat with your hair because its flat. Well, I went to Dollar Tree a while back, and I needed some shampoo & conditioner, so I grabbed V05 Extra Body.

At first, I was hesitant because most of the volumizing shampoos & conitioners don't work on my hair. I was suprised to see the results.


Brand: V05

What is it anyway?: Shampoo & Conditioner

My Ratings: 9.5/10

My Review:
As I said, I was pretty stunned by my results. This stuff actually works, and it works so well, that I find it hard to use both the shampoo & conditioner with out my hair being fro-like, in a good was. :D
Its cleans my hair and smells good. Its like winning double lotto. Ha!
But seriously, this stuff is really nice, and I highly recommend it to someone who needs body to their hair.

Keep Reviewing!
Kate!

Friday, March 11, 2011

Consumed

See the review of Possessed here.

Title:
Consumed

Author:
Kate Cann

Publication Date:
February 2011

Ages:
14 and Up

Grades:
9 and Up

Length:
336 Pages

Classification:
Teen Fiction

About the Author (Back Cover):
Kate Cann liives in England with her husband, daughter, son, and dog. She worked as an editor for many years before writing several books for teens, including Possessed, Spanish Holiday, and Grecian Holiday. For more about Kate and her novels, visit http://www.katecann.com/ .

Summary (Inside Cover):
The evil hasn't disappeared ... it's growing stronger.
Rayne's countryside escape has proven to be anything but-the remote mansion house where she lives and works holds terrible secrets, and she eels trapped there.When a charismatic but troubling new manager shows up, things take an even more sinister turn.
Rayne doesn't know who to trust; even the ghosts of Morton's Keep seem to be warning her that something is wrong. It's up to Rayne to overcome the ancient evil lurcking here-but can she overcome the power before it consumes her?

My Rating:
4.6-9/5

My Thoughts:
Wow, this was such a great book! It was one of those books that I'd dream about when I slept while I was not yet finished the book, and one whom I constantly think about after I've read...until I get hooked up into another book!
This takes place right after the first book in the series, Possessed, leaves off. Rayne moves from the great city of London to Maracle Lees, out in the country, on a desperate attempt to get away from the hustle-and-bustle of the city, and her obssessive boyfriend. There she meets and falls for St. John, who is no Saint at all! He is trying to unearth a dark magic at Morton's Keep, but Rayne and her other crush, Ethan, stop him. Thinking him defeated, they go back to the Sty, where Rayne is living, to attempt a failed kiss. Consumed starts the morning after.
There is tons and tons of action in this book! Murders, assults, fires, daggers, ghosts, and more help make Consumed one of the best reads of February! I would love to tell you in more detail what happens, but frankly, my fingers hurt! So, I suggest you get out there and read this book ASAP!

Happy Reading, my friends! :)
~Tasha!~

Weekend Brain Parties!

OMG!!! The last time we had a Weekend Brain Party was FOREVER ago and I'm so sorry!
I have forgotten the question, so we will just restart the fun!

But, there will be no "winner" this time - everyone who answers correctly will be called a winner!

This weekend's question -
WHAT KING WAS INVOLVED IN THE EARLY FORMS OF BALLET?

To answer the question, simply post your answer in a comment below!!
Have fun and keep thinking!

Thursday, March 10, 2011

Judgement and Wrath by Matt Hilton

Look out Lee Child,  Matt Hilton might just capture some of your readers!Matt Hilton's character Joe Hunter is ready to take on Child's Jack Reacher.  This story involves the main character Joe,  a former Special Forces member and his will to save the girl. With the help of his best friend Rink (also a  former special forces member and now partner in a PI business), they set out to help a girl from an abusive boyfriend--only to become involves in a much bigger caper--to bring down a sociopath. This story keeps the reader in suspense from the first chapter! It is so good you won't want to put it down. I will definitely be on the look out for Hilton's next adventure for Joe Hunter.

reviewed by Trish

EdenFantasys

Sheer halter mini dress - ChemiseSheer halter mini dress - ChemiseEdenFantasys is an online adult retailer with many romantic and sensual products, such as the Sheer Halter Mini Dress. It comes in Black and Red, and both are best sellers. For only $14.99 you get the Chesmise and Stockings. One size fits most and the red has a higher star-rating than the black, though not by much. EdenFantasys describes it as "Hot and sexy, just the way you like it! This red/black halter dress is a great addition for any steamy night. The dress is adorned with beautiful lace trim, to make your curves look delicious, and has a three-snap closure in the back. It features floral garters with adorable thigh high stockings. Put it on for any romantic escapade."


EdenFantasys is currently having a Spring Sale, so hurry on over while it lasts!

Spartan Heart E-Book Contest!

Kristine Cheney is the author of Spartan Heart! A paranomal book that is sure to be a hit! Yoshay Lama recently did a review of her book and is currently having a contest for an e-book version of it!

Kristine has asked me to put up the following information on it: Here's a contest for your fans. :) I received a beautiful 5 star review from the fabulous book blogger Yoshay Lama. Please feel free to check it out at www.yoshay.com. She is a wonderful hostess and fellow book lover. CONTEST TODAY!! Anyone who leaves a comment or question at my review on her awesome blog site today will be entered for a chance to win my e-book Spartan Heart, Part I. :)


So, if you are interested, feel free to enter!
 
Here's a little bit about the book from the Spartan Heart Facebook FanPage:
Sent away to college in America, Evangeline swore she would never return to England. Anger loses its value when tragedy forces her home to assume ownership of the family's beloved Greco-Roman museum.

Placing a foolish, drunken kiss on a Greek statue in the museum's basement, Evangeline unknowingly frees a Spartan prince from an evil oracle's curse. Suddenly, her lonely life is invaded by the rakish man with knowing emerald green eyes who never eats or sleeps, and seems to know her every thought and feeling.
Falling in love is dangerous, especially when it's with a man who has already been claimed by the bitter oracle Demona. From the moment of her kiss, Evangeline is swept into Dorien's world of mystery, danger, and passion. The Oracle's fury only mounts as they unravel Demona's darkest secrets, but not before Demona finds out about their unborn half-breed immortal twins.
Demona uses her knowledge of the future to manipulate, but sometimes love has a will, and a heart...of its own.

Here are some other related links you can check out!:


Monday, March 7, 2011

Monday Madness


Welcome to Monday Madness!

IMM is a meme Kati started at Bewitching Books with some inspiration from The Story Siren.

The idea behind Monday madness is not only to tell the crazy things happening in your life but things about the blog.

Anyone can participate in Monday Madness and you are not limited to only sharing About the blog or yourself. You can whatever you want!



Sunday, March 6, 2011

The Blood of Cain

TLTitle:
The Blood of Cain

Author:
T.L. Gray

Publisher and Date Published
Fireside Publications October 20, 2009

about the author: (back of the book)
T. L. Gray lives in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains just west of Atlanta with her family, friends, four dogs and one cat. In childhood when asked what she wanted to be when she grew up she replied, "A Queen". Subce that title isn't available within a democracy, she chose the next best thing...an author.

Summary (back of the book):
Tegan Dacre loves fast cars, loud music, and beautiful women, however he carries a secret that keeps him isolated rom the general population; he has strange silver eyes, heals really fast, and hasn't aged in over a hundred years.
The darkest secret of all - he has a blood thirst that must be statistfied by each new moon.
Believeing himself unique, Teagan's world gets turned upside down when he meets an unruly family of immortals seeking their father and maker, none other than the world's first murderer, Cain.
Everything Teagan thought he knew about himself is transformed when he learns how vampires came to be and for what purpose he was made.
For everything, there's a price to be paid, Teagan wonders if he'll be strong enough to pay it.

My rating:
somewhere between a 4.6/5 and a 5/5! *****

My Thoughts:
A long time ago, back when the Earth was first created, the son of Adam and Eve, Cain, killed his brother, Abel, out of jealousy. God then cursed him by not allowing anything to grow when he tried to farm. Lilith, the one person who did not turn on him after he murdered his brother, gave him a fruit from the Garden of Eden and on her deathbed, as her last dying wish told him to eat the fruit. He did, and found himself with new ablities, silver eyes, the inablity to die, and a thirst for blood. Cain became an immortal. A vampire.
He walked the Earth for thousands of years, and finally found a friend he could keep, Abital. When Abital is about to die, Cain accidently turns him into an immortal as well. Through the years, they travel the world, see many great things, and creat a family of immortal vampires.
This is Cain's story.
It is also Teagan's story.
Teagan was turned into an immortal and thought Cain to be dead. Tatiana, Cain's 2nd immortal created, the first Daughter of Cain, found Teagan and took him to the rest of their family. In a search for Cain, they go to Seattle, Washington, where they find Cain and and ugly truth. One of Cain's sons or daughters wants to destroy him and take over the world. When one of Cain's sons gets the wrong idea and tries to hurt Teagan, Cain looses his focus in killing the betrayer and it escapes. All but one live, the betrayer still on the loose.
I can not wait to read the next book in the series, The Arcainians.

Wow. I thought this book was just phenominal! I love paranormal-type books and this one was not an exception! It was well-written, had a stellar plot, and was just an overall outstanding story!

It had some religous aspects, like Adam and Eve and the Garden of Eden, Jesus' birth and crusifiction and resurection, but it wasn't trying to convert you to a certain religon, it was just part of the story, so even if you don't like reading about religous things, you can still totally read this book. I'm part of the International Order of Job's Daughters, and as I was sitting here typing up my summary of the book, I realized that Cain's story reminds me of Job's story, from the Bible and I thought that was kind of cool, even though it could've totally been a coincidence.

I'm super-excited for the next book in the seires and I strongly suggest that you check out The Blood of Cain!

Check out the Blood of Cain's website too! And T.L. Gray's site would be a cool thing to check out as well!

Friday, March 4, 2011

Queens of all the Earth.


Author: Hannah Sternberg
Series: ---
Publisher: Bancroft Press
Publication Date: 06/15/2011
How Received: ARC
Rating: 5

Summary:
As her freshman classmates move into dorms at Cornell University, Olivia Somerset suffers a nervous breakdown. When months of coaxing and analyzing fail to rouse Olivia from her stupor, big sister Miranda decides the sisters should fly off to Barcelona for some "vacation therapy."
When a mistake at their Barcelona hostel leaves the Somersets in a large co-ed dorm room, Olivia and Miranda are saved by kindly Mr. Brown and his son Greg, who happily volunteer to surrender their private room. But while Olivia feels an instant connection with brooding Greg Brown, Miranda sides with fellow guest and cocky American travel writer Lenny:
The Browns are just plain weird, and must be avoided at all costs.

In the midst of urbane Peruvian priests-in-training and Scottish soccer fans, from the shops of La Rambla to the waters of the Mediterranean to the soaring heights of Montjuic, Miranda works to protect her still-fragile sister while Olivia struggles to understand her burgeoning adulthood, her feelings for Greg, and the fear that makes the next step in her life so impossible to take.


Review:
The beginning is Captivating. Although it can be a bit confusing at times. It is beautifully crafted. Seems very confusing I hope its just the ARC. After the beginning hooks you it drags for a few chapters. Miranda and Lenny are my lest favorite characters. All they do is whine and judge people. I loved the story line but the author wrote fro many peoples point of views. She should have just stuck to olivias and gregs story. From either of those peoples point of view. Although I said the story was confusing it was also mesmoring. It hooked you and kept you reading. Very nice quick read. In the end it was sad I always like a happy ending. But I guess it left room for a second book. I guess it may seem like I didn't like the book but that is untrue although many faults it was amazing.

Tuesday, March 1, 2011

Hot (Sweaty) Mamas: Five Secrets to Life as a Fit Mom


Author: Laurie Kocanda, Kara Thom
Series: ---
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Publication Date: March 29, 2011
How Received: Publiasher
Rating: 3

Summary:
Authors, moms, and fitness enthusiasts Kara Douglass Thom and Laurie Kocanda work to balance motherhood and fitness. They know other moms struggle to make exercise a priority in their lives because they speak with similarly minded women at seminars and on their blogs. It was from these conversations--and the interest in them--that the idea for Hot (Sweaty) Mamas was born. This book is perfect for every mom or mom-to-be thinking about starting an exercise program, as well as moms already pursuing their fitness goals. Hot (Sweaty) Mamas reaches a wider audience than other fitness books that merely focus on "getting your prebaby body back" by presenting advice on how to pursue fitness despite a busy schedule, how to carve out time with or without kids to work out, and how to get the support needed to pursue fitness goals. Moms who find it difficult to start or stick with an exercise program will learn how to reframe their thinking. Women who continue to work out and struggle with the guilt sometimes associated with taking "me time" will be reassured. Mothers-to-be will feel better prepared to pass a legacy of health and fitness to their children and make fitness and motherhood coexist. Thom and Kocanda reveal the secrets to being a fit mom inside Hot (Sweaty) Mamas.

Review:
The book wasn't for me. Just because I am not a new mom. Or a mom at all but I read it any ways and had my friend write up a quick review. So here it is!
"The book wasn't for me.. I thought it could have done without the whole "have the right mind set." I really think its more for older moms who want to stay or get in shape. I do like that there is some really good info, and the way the book is laid out. I'm a new mom of a 5 month old but i'm only 19. I lost a lot of baby fat right away. I would have liked a simpler version where it just got to the point. Where it told me how to get fit and stay that way."